Nokia Lumia WP8

WhatMan
post Sep 9 2012, 12:01 AM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(FastCoder @ Sep 8 2012, 11:47 PM)
Gold can't be mass-produced. Cars and phones can be mass-produced.
And TVs can also be mass produced, more so than smart phones. If you think gold is not a proper comparison, then there are other examples.

http://www.amazon.com/Leica-M9-Digital-Fin...k/dp/B002NX13LC

See the price there? Many times more expensive for HDTV, yet it is nothing more than a camera. So how do you value the price of a product?

If you say it is a silly comparison, then why is a 40" LCD TV may cost up to RM20k, more than 10 years ago?
And how much do you think phone nowadays cost more than 10 years ago? How much for 4GB RAM over 10 years ago? What about 1TB HDD over 10 years ago?

If you want to play cost & time factor, please take a look at this:

ezmeer94
post Sep 9 2012, 12:14 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Sep 8 2012, 11:46 PM)
Yes. I would too, although I use an Android. But it gets increasingly frustrating after some time.
yes it is a wise choice thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
FastCoder
post Sep 9 2012, 12:50 AM

757 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 9 2012, 12:01 AM)
And TVs can also be mass produced, more so than smart phones. If you think gold is not a proper comparison, then there are other examples.

http://www.amazon.com/Leica-M9-Digital-Fin...k/dp/B002NX13LC

See the price there? Many times more expensive for HDTV, yet it is nothing more than a camera. So how do you value the price of a product?
And how much do you think phone nowadays cost more than 10 years ago? How much for 4GB RAM over 10 years ago? What about 1TB HDD over 10 years ago?

If you want to play cost & time factor, please take a look at this:

The price plunge of consumer electronic devices have been fairly consistent historically. Once there is little or no difference between many competitors, prices would drop like a bomb. What we probably have at the moment is a duopoly - Samsung and Apple, with both demanding huge profit margins from their customers.

Once a third or fourth successful player comes in, the high margin game is over and we customes would get to enjoy great prices.

XeactorZ
post Sep 9 2012, 01:13 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

record mono video ??
btw I didn't get it

http://t.co/PbzVCTJv
g5sim
post Sep 9 2012, 02:07 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Sep 8 2012, 11:42 PM)
convince my friends to buy the lumia800 today:)...am i being a responsible friend??
got my sister to buy her college son a Lumia 610. The nephew wanted a S2! I got him at facebook intergration!!! he fb ALOT!!!!

One monday i expect to see a girl in the office owning a Lumia 610 as well! She is currently using the S2.

i was like why tf you want to spent a 1K for a phone yadda yadda yadda yadda yadda ...
g5sim
post Sep 9 2012, 02:16 AM

5,750 posts

Gold can't be mass-produced. Cars and phones can be mass-produced.

If you say it is a silly comparison, then why is a 40" LCD TV may cost up to RM20k, more than 10 years ago?
its expensive because consumers are willing to pay it. the same device can cost 2.5K at launch and after 12months - cost 1K. I cant see how LC/Plasma TV price will continue to go down. The price is at same as the tube TV at the time the market was flooded with LCD/Plasma.

At the end of the day - i want value for the device that I buy. Lumia 610 is now selling at RM650 nokia warranty. AP warranty is around RM500. I dont see how huge price difference next year at this time. Thats my argument when i suggest people to buy phone. I also check what people do with their phone! There is just toooo much shit on high end expensive phones that people NEVER NEED or NEVER USE.
FastCoder
post Sep 9 2012, 02:41 AM

757 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 9 2012, 02:16 AM)
its expensive because consumers are willing to pay it. the same device can cost 2.5K at launch and after 12months - cost 1K. I cant see how LC/Plasma TV price will continue to go down. The price is at same as the tube TV at the time the market was flooded with LCD/Plasma.

At the end of the day - i want value for the device that I buy. Lumia 610 is now selling at RM650 nokia warranty. AP warranty is around RM500. I dont see how huge price difference next year at this time. Thats my argument when i suggest people to buy phone. I also check what people do with their phone! There is just toooo much shit on high end expensive phones that people NEVER NEED or NEVER USE.
Yes, I go for value too. Even though I like the Lumia 920, I might only buy it once an even newer top-end Lumia comes out, which causes the Lumia 920 to go down in price by 30 to 50%.

But if the 920 is itself is selling at launch time, cheaper than both the IP5 and S3 by 30%, then I would go for the 920 right away.

zhongbie
post Sep 9 2012, 03:54 AM

89 posts

cool , this phone weight 185g , i think that feeling holding on hand should be great, coz i like a phone with higher weight , tongue.gif

Added on September 9, 2012, 3:57 am
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 9 2012, 02:13 AM)
record mono video ??
btw I didn't get it

http://t.co/PbzVCTJv
record video with mono sounds? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zhongbie: Sep 9 2012, 03:57 AM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 9 2012, 04:41 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 9 2012, 02:16 AM)

sifu the only phone that have good value is iphone. 4S is still RM2199 close to 1 year di

S3 from 2K ++ now drop to RM1799 in few months
ezmeer94
post Sep 9 2012, 07:02 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 9 2012, 04:41 AM)
sifu the only phone that have good value is iphone. 4S is still RM2199 close to 1 year di

yea the i devices really hold their prices well
even the iphone 4 is more than 1k the s2 is like rm800++ now
static
post Sep 9 2012, 08:48 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(FastCoder @ Sep 9 2012, 02:41 AM)
Yes, I go for value too. Even though I like the Lumia 920, I might only buy it once an even newer top-end Lumia comes out, which causes the Lumia 920 to go down in price by 30 to 50%.

But if the 920 is itself is selling at launch time, cheaper than both the IP5 and S3 by 30%, then I would go for the 920 right away.
I tried to look for the expected value, but seems like it's gonna be an expensive one.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Europe-to-g...-leaked_id34237

At least RM2k. I don't generally spend more than RM1.5k for a phone tongue.gif

Really like Lumia 920, wanted to get Lumia 800 when my HTC broke but then it doesn't support tethering (at that time) and no front camera.
g5sim
post Sep 9 2012, 10:16 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 9 2012, 04:41 AM)

the problem with iphone is I would rather find out that i brain cancer and have 1y to live than to be associated with a product bought by people who queue "for days" just to get their hands on the product and when they got it, they had this sense of proudness that make me want to vomit!!
FastCoder
post Sep 9 2012, 02:01 PM

757 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 9 2012, 10:16 AM)
the problem with iphone is I would rather find out that i brain cancer and have 1y to live than to be associated with a product bought by people who queue "for days" just to get their hands on the product and when they got it, they had this sense of proudness that make me want to vomit!!
Yes, these people can behave as if, by owning one, that they have achieved something very great in the life. How pathetic. I definitely don't want to be associated with this kind of shallow-mindedness.

This post has been edited by FastCoder: Sep 9 2012, 02:02 PM
SUSMamapapamsia
post Sep 9 2012, 03:04 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Sep 9 2012, 07:02 AM)
yea the i devices really hold their prices well
even the iphone 4 is more than 1k the s2 is like rm800++ now
Yes. Thats why i love apple stuff. My 3gs can still sell for 600-700 after 3 years .

My htc onex bought at 2000 dropped to below 1500 in less than 3 months..ridicolous!

Never ever buy android again
aspire2oo6
post Sep 9 2012, 06:15 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Like i buy phones not because how shallow minded people are i buy because of good resell value.

Just imagine i can always use the latest phone and my depreciate value only RM100 - RM300 anually rather than 1 year lose 1K then must top up 1K to buy the so called latest phone.

Your 1 phone value depreciate 1k for my iphone depreciate is 3 generation of iphones le.

Then for your 2 generaton phone value depreciate 2k for the iphone is like 6 generations le

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 9 2012, 06:17 PM
DavidWKW
post Sep 9 2012, 10:06 PM

Love.Joy.Peace
940 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 5 2012, 11:44 PM)
HAHAHAHA first time in 1 year i see the windows phone section in lowyat got 53 people viewing
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 6 2012, 12:07 AM)
Windows phone section got

Windows Phone
(62 Active Users)
Great^^ We are growing smile.gif

QUOTE(Fazri9900 @ Sep 6 2012, 02:08 PM)
for me this is the best phone i have ever seen..but i'm not so sure why the nokia shareholders doesnt think that way..nokia shares plunge to 16%?? why ar??
L820 and L920 lack the "wow" element><

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Sep 6 2012, 02:51 PM)
Because...

1) WP8's complete features are still a mystery.
2) No release date for this phone. So for now is vapourware.
3) Motorola released some interesting Droid phones on the same day.
4) Next week is iPhone 5 announced. And everytime it's announced it's available within 2 weeks.
5) Pureview brand but still only 8MP compared to 808's 41MP.
6) Downgraded the polycarbonate chassis to glossy plastic from matte plastic.
7) Doesn't seem that much better than the Samsung ATIV.
8) They posted fake Pureview trailer to con people.
Awww.... I thought they are using polycarbonate? they are not? The polycarbonate on L800 just looks so smooth and nice... Why glossy?! shakehead.gif

QUOTE(FastCoder @ Sep 7 2012, 12:07 AM)
From the specs given in gsmarena, the 920 supports USB on-the-go. So even though the 920 doesn't have a Micro-SD slot, in theory, you can connect a USB drive to it to copy files in and out.

Which is better? A usb drive or a micro-sd card? For me, handling a micro-sd card is messy because it could easily get lost, so I much prefer using a usb drive.
So, L920 no microSD? I thought it has... Anyway, I'm ok with both.... USB OTG does not come in the box?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 7 2012, 06:18 PM)
In a way you are right. I dont expect it to be an 808 just expect half of it. The problem with 920 it has the name of pureview but there nothing to do with its previous successor. Its more like a marketing name thats it. My expectation benefit is for consumers.

Like i said numerous time

Nokia 808 pureview

Lossless zoom - Not on 920
Nokia Rich recording - Not on 920
Nokia pixels oversampling -  Not on 920
Nokia Xenon flash - Not on 920
Nokia OIS - not on 808
Nokia so called float sensor - Not on 808
Nokia LED flash pulse - not on 808

For nokia rich recording watch this video

Lossless zoom

They just removed all this from the Nokia Lumia 920
Why they take away the rich recording.... Haiz... the rich recording is really amazing... it sounds like it is playing from a dvd ><

Added on September 9, 2012, 10:08 pmI think that L920 and L820 are just extensions from L800 and L900 as suggested by the phone name... I wonder when will L1000 be released... Really don't hope that it is announced few months after the both phones on sales.... Then the history of L900 will repeat ><

This post has been edited by DavidWKW: Sep 9 2012, 10:08 PM
ezmeer94
post Sep 9 2012, 10:50 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Sep 9 2012, 03:04 PM)
Yes. Thats why i love apple stuff. My 3gs can still sell for 600-700 after 3 years .

My htc onex bought at 2000 dropped to below 1500 in less than 3 months..ridicolous!

Never ever buy android again
my one x bought at 2099 then i sold at rm 1350
but i still love android but the market price drop made me cry.gif cry.gif
marcus20125
post Sep 10 2012, 08:49 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Sep 9 2012, 10:06 PM)
Why they take away the rich recording.... Haiz... the rich recording is really amazing... it sounds like it is playing from a dvd ><
Nokia Lumia 920 come with 3 high amplitude mics which maybe consider come with Nokia Rich Recording Technology

QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Sep 9 2012, 10:08 PM)
I think that L920 and L820 are just extensions from L800 and L900 as suggested by the phone name... I wonder when will L1000 be released... Really don't hope that it is announced few months after the both phones on sales.... Then the history of L900 will repeat ><
the problem is not from Nokia but Microsoft

This post has been edited by marcus20125: Sep 10 2012, 08:49 AM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 10 2012, 12:09 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Sep 10 2012, 08:49 AM)
Nokia Lumia 920 come with 3 high amplitude mics which maybe consider come with Nokia Rich Recording Technology
the problem is not from Nokia but Microsoft
If Nokia don't focus on it means it's not a pro of the device. Let's wait for official test.
luckyhillkop
post Sep 10 2012, 02:07 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 10 2012, 12:09 PM)
If Nokia don't focus on it means it's not a pro of the device. Let's wait for official test.
Yeah wait until berjanggut. Nokia tagline is "wait for it", wait and wait and wait.

124 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:58 AM