Nokia Lumia WP8

LightningZERO
post Nov 1 2012, 11:07 AM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 1 2012, 10:00 AM)
I don't mind it being slow as long as it is released before Christmas. Otherwise, it's a lost sales on my end, potentially 3 units that I'd be buying.
Yeah. I want it before the year ends..
BBXiong
post Nov 1 2012, 11:09 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Nov 1 2012, 10:59 AM)
3 UNITS? Must be developer unit then? Btw, why dont you sign up for MS dev program and get yourself a dev unit? At least they can get the "ungettable" ones from oversea say like HTC Titan. laugh.gif

Chances that the MS/Nokia employees are already holding the device.
yes, they should be holding one by now, internal testing, normally teams that are involve would have already start using them as their daily device to determine if it is stable enough as a final version, if there is bug, they throw to software team to solve them
s7ran9er
post Nov 1 2012, 12:30 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 1 2012, 11:09 AM)
yes, they should be holding one by now, internal testing, normally teams that are involve would have already start using them as their daily device to determine if it is stable enough as a final version, if there is bug, they throw to software team to solve them
well, MS encourage the students with that by giving them dev units. Dev sets are unlocked though but you cant call. brows.gif
jonchai
post Nov 1 2012, 04:18 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Nov 1 2012, 10:59 AM)
3 UNITS? Must be developer unit then? Btw, why dont you sign up for MS dev program and get yourself a dev unit? At least they can get the "ungettable" ones from oversea say like HTC Titan. laugh.gif

Chances that the MS/Nokia employees are already holding the device.
MS dev program is not available in Malaysia, neither is Nokia's dev program, or at least, not that I know of. There's however a program catered for students, sadly, I'm too old for that.

1 for dad, 1 for brother, 1 for self. So that makes 3 biggrin.gif
izwanqiena
post Nov 1 2012, 05:29 PM

231 posts

help me frens..
im new to wp.. have problem in whatsapp
if im back to home, and enter whatsapp apps,
go to the setting, see the connection state, its state not connected..
do we get notification while our fon is in lock mode?
aspire2oo6
post Nov 1 2012, 05:32 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(izwanqiena @ Nov 1 2012, 05:29 PM)
help me frens..
im new to wp.. have problem in whatsapp
if im back to home, and enter whatsapp apps,
go to the setting, see the connection state, its state not connected..
do we get notification while our fon is in lock mode?
Keep the app running and on 3G yes or while plug with charger if WIFI.

Real time notication No

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 1 2012, 07:30 PM
izwanqiena
post Nov 1 2012, 07:27 PM

231 posts

in other words, its really need a strong 3g line to state it always on9..
rite?
jonchai
post Nov 1 2012, 08:51 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(izwanqiena @ Nov 1 2012, 07:27 PM)
in other words, its really need a strong 3g line to state it always on9..
rite?
Put it this way. When your phone goes on idle, your phone will automatically shut down its WiFi, the rationale, according to Microsoft, is to conserve battery (which I personally think is bullshit). So when your WiFi is down and you have no 3G available, WNS cannot "push" the notification to your phone. It's not a matter of 3G strength, it's more like you need to leave 3G on most of the time.
aspire2oo6
post Nov 1 2012, 09:13 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 1 2012, 08:51 PM)
Put it this way. When your phone goes on idle, your phone will automatically shut down its WiFi, the rationale, according to Microsoft, is to conserve battery (which I personally think is bullshit). So when your WiFi is down and you have no 3G available, WNS cannot "push" the notification to your phone. It's not a matter of 3G strength, it's more like you need to leave 3G on most of the time.
honestly its annoying. It shut off in less than 1 minute. Then there no notification until you touch your phone.

Meanwhile

My new toy have arrived

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 1 2012, 09:32 PM
jonchai
post Nov 1 2012, 10:33 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2012, 09:13 PM)
honestly its annoying. It shut off in less than 1 minute. Then there no notification until you touch your phone.

Meanwhile

My new toy have arrived
The WiFi shutdown part will only happen when your screen goes black. So this depends on how long you set to keep your phone awake.

As for notifications, to be fair, it only happens to some vendors, most notably Whatsapp, since it's also the most used. This has got nothing to do with the OS. It functions just like the "push" you receive for Hotmails / Outlook. It's instant. The reason for delay in Whatsapp is like I explained before, server issue.

Get a paid account, problem solved (most of the time anyway).
aspire2oo6
post Nov 1 2012, 10:35 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 1 2012, 10:33 PM)
The WiFi shutdown part will only happen when your screen goes black. So this depends on how long you set to keep your phone awake.

As for notifications, to be fair, it only happens to some vendors, most notably Whatsapp, since it's also the most used. This has got nothing to do with the OS. It functions just like the "push" you receive for Hotmails / Outlook. It's instant. The reason for delay in Whatsapp is like I explained before, server issue.

Get a paid account, problem solved (most of the time anyway).
nope even paid still there is a delay. Once i switch OS that problem practically disappear.
jonchai
post Nov 1 2012, 10:54 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2012, 10:35 PM)
nope even paid still there is a delay. Once i switch OS that problem practically disappear.
Noticed I said (most of the time)? This has got nothing to do with the OS. It is due to the servers. For Android, with the right protocols, any servers can do a "push". I'm not too sure about Apple, so I can't comment.

For Windows, to do a Push you need WNS, short for Windows Notification Services. It's only available / offered via Windows Azure, Microsoft's cloud servers. So, I presume that Whatsapp probably bought a lower end package, seeing that the market is too small to bother.

Do you use WPCentral? If you do, you'd realize that WPCentral's push is almost always on time. The technology behind is the same, no magic at play here.
izwanqiena
post Nov 2 2012, 02:34 AM

231 posts

hi guys..
ive settle the issue.. ive send back to the shop
n know what, the shop just restore back with the sim card in the phone
this problem occurs maybe bcoz the whatsapp/phone cannot recognize the line.. by the way, its fix.. n im enjoying my wp7..
waitng for wp8 or more to lumia 920..
~peace~
ulwan25
post Nov 2 2012, 03:01 AM

2,054 posts

out out lah dis phone wargghhhh where's the review warghhhh
LightningZERO
post Nov 2 2012, 08:34 AM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

Another review

http://www.theverge.com/2012/11/1/3584486/...umia-920-review
Holyboy27
post Nov 2 2012, 08:34 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Nov 2 2012, 03:01 AM)
out out lah dis phone wargghhhh where's the review warghhhh
Yah! Mind boggling as to why it's taking so long! vmad.gif
LightningZERO
post Nov 2 2012, 08:42 AM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Nov 2 2012, 08:34 AM)
Yah! Mind boggling as to why it's taking so long!  vmad.gif
Refer above tongue.gif

Lots of reviews already out. These are some:

http://www.laptopmag.com/nokia-lumia-920.aspx

http://www.pocket-lint.com/review/6042/nok...ws-phone-review (Kinda negative review, all points about the phone were positive but somehow the reviewer gave it a low point for the weight)

And by CNET
http://reviews.cnet.com/smartphones/nokia-...7-35436251.html

This post has been edited by LightningZERO: Nov 2 2012, 08:51 AM
prash
post Nov 2 2012, 09:05 AM

247 posts

http://www.theverge.com/2012/11/1/3587864/...fication-center

Looks like notification center will be on the next update.
luckyhillkop
post Nov 2 2012, 09:14 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Nov 2 2012, 09:05 AM)
http://www.theverge.com/2012/11/1/3587864/...fication-center

Looks like notification center will be on the next update.
This is great! Swipe to the left pls.
Best case scenario is they give the update at the same time 920 is available in Malaysia.

Added on November 2, 2012, 9:32 amSo the verge is saying the only downsides of 920 is the size/weight and lack of apps.

And their sample photos are better than most samples I've seen so far.

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Nov 2 2012, 09:32 AM
Holyboy27
post Nov 2 2012, 10:14 AM

843 posts

Pocket lint review is stupid. Relegated to 3 stars just becaus of weight ALONE. My n93 was 180g and I had little problems then and now.

124 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:20 AM