128 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Liverpool 0-2 Arsenal - 2nd defeat!

tgmape
post Aug 19 2012, 07:47 AM

89 posts

So much negativity from our own fans. BR maybe got his tactics wrong but to say he is a bozo really are stupid. Even BR said the formation need time to work. Arsenal also have a awful start last season up until a few matches but look where they end. Not to say we will surely be like that but we can hope.
Gerrard passing really awful.
Duke Red
post Aug 19 2012, 07:52 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 19 2012, 01:48 AM)
Look at it this way, Agger purposely got sent off because he dun wan to be sold to Barca , any possibilities?

Actually the refree was too harsh, a red card was not needed, penalty okay, as it was a 50 50 situation, Ronaldo and Nani does it most of the time too
He got himself sent off intentionally? What does that have to do with him not wanting to be sold to Barca?

The red card was warranted as he was the last man and he did shove Long, even if the contact was minimal. The Skrtel decision on the other hand was appalling. Skrtel didn't even see him.

I already said before the season started that Rodgers would not have much time to work with the lads what with Euro, the Olympics and player vacations taken into consideration. Can't say I'm surprised though that some have already turned on him although I feel expectations were a little unrealistic. Challenge for the title? Really? I'm a sceptic as well but I'm willing to back him and wait until the seasons over at least.

It was pretty much the same story yesterday. We dominate possession, spurn chances and get punished. Suarez himself was guilty of not taking at least 5 golden opportunities.
skyz
post Aug 19 2012, 08:34 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 19 2012, 01:29 AM)
Regarding Cole, it's worrying though isn't it? How long was he on the pitch? Less than 15 minutes? Either he's rushed back into the squad or he's as fragile as a wine glass. If it's the former, questions need to be asked about our medical team and the manager. If it's the latter, he's pretty much sitting on a big wages without contributing.
Just as planned... If he come out injured himself before the transfer market closing, nobody will want to bring him away from an field and he can continue getting his 90k pay weekly...

Added on August 19, 2012, 8:35 am
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 19 2012, 01:29 AM)
Regarding Cole, it's worrying though isn't it? How long was he on the pitch? Less than 15 minutes? Either he's rushed back into the squad or he's as fragile as a wine glass. If it's the former, questions need to be asked about our medical team and the manager. If it's the latter, he's pretty much sitting on a big wages without contributing.
Just as planned... If he come out injured himself before the transfer market closing, nobody will want to bring him away from an field and he can continue getting his 90k pay weekly...

This post has been edited by skyz: Aug 19 2012, 08:35 AM
redkop63
post Aug 19 2012, 08:40 AM

110 posts

The moment we have Johnson on the left and Downing on the right we are simply asking to be beaten, it should have been the other way round. The moment I saw the teamsheet I wasn't comfortable at all. Johnson and Downing are right and left footers respectively and putting them on the opposite sides just doesn't help things. I'd say Johnson put in some useful crosses and he has done his utmost. Downing? He is just not trying hard enough or not trying at all, time for him to move on, he bolted himself at the byline throughout the game, doesn't seems to or bothered to drag defenders into the final third or into the box with him. Defenders love that and just have to make sure they keep him quiet and us away from their box, as a result we see the side and backpasses from Downing. Downing scored a wonder goal from the same position against Gomel, doesn't mean that the same trick will work as WBA and others will not give him the time to do that.

Borini also did not try hard enough, I don't remember seeing him involved much in the game. At least when we put him on the right wing, he fared much better than Downing. Shelvey should have started, at least he'll give the Broom defender's a torrid time. We pass the ball around too much, should have been route one, make it simple and as fast not to geve Broom's defence chance to regroup and re-act.

Shelvey would have been better and I hope to see him start the next game instead of Downing.

dv8syun
post Aug 19 2012, 09:25 AM

Lucas n Gerrard wasnt playing...altho Lucas showed some nais play
Mikeshashimi
post Aug 19 2012, 09:28 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Lucas was clearly not in 100% fit condition... Gerrard was really poor... all the stray passes.... god....

My expectation for the season is just an improvement in performance and in league standing - top 6 please.

And hopefully we can sneak in a cup or two (i wish)

Deeply frustrated and depressed with the first game.... the team didnt gel well.... but on to the next game (as Rafa always said)
realshinjae
post Aug 19 2012, 09:30 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 19 2012, 07:52 AM)
He got himself sent off intentionally? What does that have to do with him not wanting to be sold to Barca?

The red card was warranted as he was the last man and he did shove Long, even if the contact was minimal. The Skrtel decision on the other hand was appalling. Skrtel didn't even see him.

Damn it ref. Both shouldnt be a penalty. mad.gif

Agger got the red as he was the last man, but the shoving is out of the box.
Skrtel was going to clear the ball!!
hfi
post Aug 19 2012, 09:38 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(redkop63 @ Aug 19 2012, 08:40 AM)
The moment we have Johnson on the left and Downing on the right we are simply asking to be beaten, it should have been the other way round. The moment I saw the teamsheet I wasn't comfortable at all. Johnson and Downing are right and left footers respectively and putting them on the opposite sides just doesn't help things. I'd say Johnson put in some useful crosses and he has done his utmost. Downing? He is just not trying hard enough or not trying at all, time for him to move on, he bolted himself at the byline throughout the game, doesn't seems to or bothered to drag defenders into the final third or into the box with him. Defenders love that and just have to make sure they keep him quiet and us away from their box, as a result we see the side and backpasses from Downing. Downing scored a wonder goal from the same position against Gomel, doesn't mean that the same trick will work as WBA and others will not give him the time to do that.

Borini also did not try hard enough, I don't remember seeing him involved much in the game. At least when we put him on the right wing, he fared much better than Downing. Shelvey should have started, at least he'll give the Broom defender's a torrid time. We pass the ball around too much, should have been route one, make it simple and as fast not to geve Broom's defence chance to regroup and re-act.

Shelvey would have been better and I hope to see him start the next game instead of Downing.
I agree with Johnson. But Downing can be effective on the right, he just needs Johnson to support him. Wide player can always cut inside and attack the ball with their stronger foot. But whenever he cuts inside, it's vital that the fullback is providing width and ready to relief pressure when necessary. This was not the case yesterday. I like Kelly but he reminds me of Carra. He just doesn't attack that well and yesterday he didn't click with Downing. As a result, Downing became more hesitant and unsure of himself.

Don't you mean Oussama instead of Downing ? Downing was our right winger, it be crazy to play Shelvey in that position. The only way Shelvey can break into the first team is to replace one of the cm trios Lucas, Allen and Gerrard.
Duke Red
post Aug 19 2012, 09:39 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(realshinjae @ Aug 19 2012, 09:30 AM)
Damn it ref. Both shouldnt be a penalty. mad.gif

Agger got the red as he was the last man, but the shoving is out of the box.
Skrtel was going to clear the ball!!
Thing is if we had put away our chances, it wouldn't have mattered. Suarez is a fantastic player but he is just as much to blame as anyone for spurning guilt edges chances. He scores amazing goals for Uruguay but for some reason, can't do the same in a red shirt.

One positive for me was the showing from Martin Kelly and Joe Allen. Kelly put in a solid matured performance executing a couple of good challenges. I don't see him as a permanent fixture on the right as good as he is there. Hoping to see him play a more central role in years to come ala Carra. Allen did nothing spectacular but I felt he got back when it mattered and his distribution was simple but tidy.
madmoz
post Aug 19 2012, 10:22 AM

4,250 posts

0-3 on opening day. Ouch.
There's probably a fair few players that need some encouragement at the moment.
BR has been busy talking the talk but I suppose now we'll get to see just how good a manager he is.

dragontongue88
post Aug 19 2012, 10:25 AM

360 posts

That was a horrible performance, especially second half. I struggle to find any positives in that. I don't think there is anything wrong with Rodgers tactic, he just doesn't have the right players, and it will take time as he overhaul our squad piece by piece.

Suarez finishing is horribly poor, let's be honest, he has been wasting chances like that since last season. That's not the first time. To me I feel Suarez is best playing out wide, let him create chances and someone else to finish. The other player I was very dissapointed with is Gerrard, gave the ball away so many times... I expect better from the captain, he cannot be putting performance like that... Downing was hardworking, but not effective, just like last season... Borini was poor, Lucas equally poor maybe due to lack of match fitness... Allen was okay, the only midfielder who didn't give the ball away needlessly... Johnson didn't look good on the left side, everytime he got the ball on the left, you can see he is not comfortable crossing with his left foot. Skrtel was very poor today imo, Agger was okay until he got sent off. Kelly and Reina was average...

This is going to be a long season, I hope the owners stick with Rodgers though... Give him time and allow him to rebuild this squad...
leaF
post Aug 19 2012, 10:57 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 19 2012, 07:27 AM)
Rodgers rages at officiating after debut demolition
Read more at http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport/story...Hp7FpfCc02bB.99
Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers bemoaned some bad luck and poor officiating as he lost his first game in charge 3-0 to West Brom at The Hawthorns, in a game that saw Daniel Agger sent off and two penalties awarded against him. He said:
Read more at http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport/story...Hp7FpfCc02bB.99

BR blamed outside factors and not his fault in selection of players, esp Downing on the right and Johnson on the left.
would you say it is ur own fault on ur first day as manager ? I dont think so especially those few dodgy decisions by referee. Doing so will only make the team lose confidence with ur tactic and ideas. What make him different with woy is at least he come out with a tactic to keep attack and win the games while woy just like defend and score against me if you can that type of style.
Petre
post Aug 19 2012, 10:58 AM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

we just need a direct prolific striker as our main man. suarez dont really cut it, he's got tricks but not the finishing. sigining borini didnt really solve our problems either.

and what about agger? yesterday was clear example - without agger, skrtel would become nervous and make mistakes. carra dont contribute as much anymore. so anyone still with the idea of selling agger? and pair skrtel with carra? lose agger = lose skrtel. simple as that. CB comes in pairs, most often than not, and in our team, we only have one good pair at the moment. so whats for next game?

gerrard playing better for team GB than for club. perhaps its time to consider him not an automatic starter

This post has been edited by Petre: Aug 19 2012, 11:00 AM
demio121
post Aug 19 2012, 11:15 AM

2,084 posts

I've said before that BR hv nothing to show apart fr his age. v didn't sign him to start winning. the problem we hv now is the same we hv last season. we didn't go into the market and bought half a team. so too say same shite diff day is not to far off. I dun xpect the club to jump into the market after a roasting in the first game.

last night game is not good, esp new manager & first game. well BR, welcome to LFC. there is no honeymoon here.
skeleton202
post Aug 19 2012, 11:29 AM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

we still need torres... his departure cause the goal problem hugely...
suarez shuld score 6 last nite.. not BR fault he cant score 1yard header...

no comment on lose last nite as WBA outplayed us for whole game..
kakashi44
post Aug 19 2012, 11:34 AM

289 posts

I think the reason why we lost is because
1) Suarez failed to convert chances to goal
2) stunning goal from west brom before 2nd half
3) Gerard give away possession cheaply which lead to agger red
4) the team start to fall apart after losing agger
koolspyda
post Aug 19 2012, 11:36 AM

222 posts

brutal

some of you guys are too brutal.

last season, we got on well in the beginning, heap praises. when things started to go listless, KD got whacked left, right then the boot.

BR wasn't my first choice manager, but i understand where the owners wants to built on... from the bottom.

As a fan, we have to place our trust for their decisions. They have backed BR as much as they can. (decision to get his players & sell high wages ones)

i had hope we didn't discard several key players (cited as older/past prime & heavy on wages) as to help the new recruits to blend in. It was a tough score (0-3, WBA? didn't we always whip them with eyes closed for the last 2-6 seasons ago?) to swallow, but that's the reality.

We will and possibly struggle for another 6-8 matches before some 'real' understanding amongst the lads.

can the fans wait? (what if we are stuck at relegation zone (say after 6-8 matches, call for BR's head??) blink.gif

YNWA = we stick together

at least the decision to review comes at the end of the season.

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Aug 19 2012, 02:53 PM
weichieh007
post Aug 19 2012, 11:39 AM

378 posts

If BR is bold enough, he should not start Gerrard in the next game. I was really disappointed with our captain last night. The sending off of Agger was cause by Gerrard giving the ball away. Apart from that, he didn't really show up much. Suarez was doing everything on his own. Borini was also very quiet.
The only positive thing is Joe Allen prove to be a much better passer than the captain last night.

For heaven sake, whatever happened to Enrique/ Robinson?! Johnson has been linking up very well with downing on the right during pre-season, why change that?

And please BR, I beg you not to start Carra against Man City speedy forwards. Coates should be given the chance.

There's a lot to learn from this defeat. A whole lot..

xacrifizer
post Aug 19 2012, 11:42 AM

130 posts

It is painful, but some player still good like Allen and Johnson.
hfi
post Aug 19 2012, 12:10 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(weichieh007 @ Aug 19 2012, 11:39 AM)
If BR is bold enough, he should not start Gerrard in the next game. I was really disappointed with our captain last night. The sending off of Agger was cause by Gerrard giving the ball away. Apart from that, he didn't really show up much. Suarez was doing everything on his own. Borini was also very quiet.
The only positive thing is Joe Allen prove to be a much better passer than the captain last night.

For heaven sake, whatever happened to Enrique/ Robinson?! Johnson has been linking up very well with downing on the right during pre-season, why change that?

And please BR, I beg you not to start Carra against Man City speedy forwards. Coates should be given the chance.

There's a lot to learn from this defeat. A whole lot..
If Carra plays, i expect our defensive line to be much lower to compensate Carra's current physical state. This will put us in the back foot as everyone will be pulled back a few yards away from City's goal. Unless Coates fails to impress in training, he simply has to start. He may be a bit inexperienced but at least it shouldn't affect our defensive lines as much as Carra would.

I fear the worst is yet to come.

128 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0199sec    1.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:35 PM