Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

j.passing.by
post Aug 13 2013, 05:15 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 13 2013, 02:40 PM)
Sigh, yeah.... sorry to confuse you mate. My post #1435 is meant to be read in two parts. First part was in direct answer to your question.

Second part was just for the purpose of disseminating info about what I heard from a fund manager.

Sorry to confuse you.

Xuzen
hehehe, I think you see what I meant reading today's posts... don't worry, personally, I'm not confuse, as I know where (which viewpoints) you're coming from. I posted to keep the conversation going.

Please continue posting and please don't mind and excuse my 'spanner in the works' interruptions...

I think there's only so much strategies and tactical moves available in UT investments (which I believed most have been covered in previous posts), so would really, really welcome more technical posts if there is any.

Cheers.

j.passing.by
post Aug 13 2013, 05:29 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(XtraLeoGecko @ Aug 12 2013, 11:38 PM)
Thanks for the sharing, appreciate. Maybe need to wait till UMNU election... then ugly things would all surfaced out at once and a big correction (or true reflection).. then go in sapu gao-gao by EPF...
You're welcome.

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 13 2013, 03:22 PM)
Wah lau.. my DCA usually last for 6 months...
What can I say, except that your DCA is not the same colour as my DCA! laugh.gif

repusez
post Aug 13 2013, 06:05 PM

669 posts

how often can we switch the fund from fixed income to equity or vice versa if it is withdrawn using EPF ?

can this be done online or must there be any physical form submission? i'm sorry if this has been asked before. thanks for replying
j.passing.by
post Aug 13 2013, 06:59 PM

1,639 posts

Okay, enough of military metaphors... serious stuff here.

The 25 Ringgit Hotel.

What is it? It is a tactical play to preserve the value of a fund instead of riding down with the fund in a long decline.

The play involves a money-market fund (the “Hotel”); and it cost RM25 each stay. The stay is as long as you like to have. Check-out is at any time you like.

Technical details: After holding a fund for 90 days and more, the cost of switching into a money-market fund is zero. Switching out of a money-market fund, at any time, is RM25 per transaction.

Effectiveness of the play: So far I have only use this tactical play on one occasion early June; and switching back into the equity fund (PSEASF) about 2 weeks later. Only managed to reduce the slide by 2% as I switched back too early when it had not truly bottomed out. A better timing could produce a 6% difference.

Combination moves: This tactical play can be a series of moves; using it to take profit when the market is high and yet wanted to continue riding a long bull rally by taking partially bit by bit out the equity fund over a period of time. The minimum number of units in a switch is 1000 units. Break it down to as many transactions as you like (as long as it is 1000 units and above), since each transaction is at zero cost.

You can lump them together after the ‘hotel stay’ for a single RM25 check-out fee.

j.passing.by
post Aug 13 2013, 07:23 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Aug 13 2013, 06:05 PM)
how often can we switch the fund from fixed income to equity or vice versa if it is withdrawn using EPF ?

can this be done online or must there be any physical form submission? i'm sorry if this has been asked before. thanks for replying
Yes, the switching transaction can be done online (by login into Public Mutual Online). Minimum number of units in a switch is 1000 units.

The physical part is submitting the form for the EPF withdrawal. Which in this case, is for either a bond/fixed income fund. Service charge is 0.25%. These bond/fixed income units are known as low-load units.

Switching from the bond/fixed income fund to equity, no switching fee; as you are paying the 3% service charge, and converting 'low-load' units to 'loaded' units.

Hope above helps. Only read the below part for further info... else please disregard it.

Cheers.

=======================

Later when you switched from the equity fund back to the bond fund, there will be switching fee for each switch.

If you are switching back to the same previous bond/fixed income fund, it will be become a bit complicated if there are still 'low-load' units remaining in that fund. A mixture of 'low-load' and 'loaded' units in the same fund.

Switching out from this fund with 'low-load' and 'loaded' units, if I'm not mistaken, Public Mutual uses the 'least cost' policy, and will switch out the 'loaded' units first.

kimyee73
post Aug 14 2013, 01:40 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Aug 13 2013, 03:27 PM)
Any specific date when you do DCA?
No specific date but usually early of the month after updating and calculating my IRR for previous month.
kucingfight
post Aug 14 2013, 06:54 PM

5,784 posts

Damn.my usual DDI amount on 8aug wasn't reflected on mutual yet.float transactions shows zero. Got to cal up tmrw
birdman13200
post Aug 14 2013, 08:21 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Aug 14 2013, 06:54 PM)
Damn.my usual DDI amount on 8aug wasn't reflected on mutual yet.float transactions shows zero. Got to cal up tmrw
As I understand, DDI will not show in float transactions. Since the next business day is 12-Aug, I think u should able to see ur transaction in later part tonight. In my experience, PMO normally will show the updated transaction, when I check it before I go to sleep.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 16 2013, 08:39 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

PM will be charging 1% on all bond funds (except PINBOND)... doh.gif
transit
post Aug 16 2013, 09:07 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 16 2013, 08:39 AM)
Effective from 01 Oct 2013... yawn.gif sweat.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 17 2013, 12:14 AM

487 posts

My Public Mutual agent friend told me she is having a tough time with lots of new operation rulings aka switching and selling / buying funds, new forms, new this new that, some assessment forms, she a bit fed up bland frustrated now.

Is this true?
cheahcw2003
post Aug 17 2013, 12:54 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 16 2013, 08:39 AM)
0.25% already not attractive, want to increase to 1% some more?
Kaka23
post Aug 17 2013, 02:35 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 17 2013, 01:54 AM)
Agree with you..
xuzen
post Aug 17 2013, 11:30 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 17 2013, 12:54 AM)
Go buy bond fund at FSM or Phillip Mutual Berhad (PMB) @ zero sales charge.

Some of the good bond fund include AMIncome Plus, KAF Bond, Eastspring Bond are at zero sales charge.

Pub-Mut... go fly kite lar.

Xuzen
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 17 2013, 11:49 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 17 2013, 11:30 AM)

Some of the good bond fund include AMIncome Plus, KAF Bond, Eastspring Bond are at zero sales charge.

Xuzen
From a PM agent himself laugh.gif rclxms.gif
xuzen
post Aug 17 2013, 11:50 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 17 2013, 11:49 AM)
From a PM agent himself laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
Pinky, I am investor first, agent second.

Xuzen
felixmask
post Aug 17 2013, 02:26 PM

6,356 posts

Haha, long time not active..now PM bond increase 1%, really not appealing small invstor to invest anymore.

I also need to stop invest thru PM to my existing bond fund.

When Wind blow to east only no ship sail will sail back west.

Definetly will losse those uncle aunty money, they will look for alternative Fund house.

cheahcw2003
post Aug 17 2013, 05:34 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 17 2013, 11:30 AM)

Xuzen
I invest in Pnb's ASx product, fixed price fund with stable return of 6.x%, tax exempted.
SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2013, 06:03 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 17 2013, 05:34 PM)
I invest in Pnb's ASx product, fixed price fund with stable return of 6.x%, tax exempted.
wow, stable return...what is this Pnb's ASx product?
goggled but can't sure.

felixmask
post Aug 17 2013, 06:06 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 17 2013, 06:03 PM)
wow, stable return...what is this Pnb's ASx product?
goggled but can't sure.
I believe is PNB Amanah Saham XXXXXXXXX.

149 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0375sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:53 AM