Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Nov 6 2012, 04:14 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 6 2012, 04:11 PM)
yes, go with SL4. personally i'd go with the one that has the least proprietary design. such as funky brakes, aero shaped seatposts, integrated speed/cadence sensors, etc.
tat's call the bike that can potentially land you in hot water...but look at it the other way...

you got no reasons to upgrade the brakes because there is nothing better to upgrade to... one less potential upgrade.. and no seatpost upgrade as well... that is 2 good reasons... brows.gif stupid but true...

ini dia the chart.. but comparing against madone 6.9ssl lar.. and no foil yet...

i believe spez played with the numbers of their major rivals a bit... might have lowered them a bit to make themselves more hansem...

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 6 2012, 04:15 PM
mrjgx
post Nov 6 2012, 04:24 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 6 2012, 04:14 PM)
tat's call the bike that can potentially land you in hot water...but look at it the other way...

you got no reasons to upgrade the brakes because there is nothing better to upgrade to... one less potential upgrade.. and no seatpost upgrade as well... that is 2 good reasons...  brows.gif stupid but true...

ini dia the chart.. but comparing against madone 6.9ssl lar.. and no foil yet...

i believe spez played with the numbers of their major rivals a bit... might have lowered them a bit to make themselves more hansem...
Whattt? Madone is way too low in terms of its stiffness, but Trek bikes are usually more expensive!

The Specialized dealer offer me a 2012 Venge instead but I say no as I'm leaning more towards the 2013 SL4.

Hopefully I will not get the Foil 40..priced lower than SL4 for sure.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Nov 6 2012, 04:26 PM
butthead
post Nov 6 2012, 05:14 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Nov 6 2012, 04:24 PM)
Whattt? Madone is way too low in terms of its stiffness, but Trek bikes are usually more expensive!

The Specialized dealer offer me a 2012 Venge instead but I say no as I'm leaning more towards the 2013 SL4.

Hopefully I will not get the Foil 40..priced lower than SL4 for sure.
i believe the trek is not that bad hence i said spez might have manipulated the data a bit to show off their direct competitors which is the big brands like scott and trek... i don't think i can feel any difference between either bikes if i were given them... that's a mighty big number to be off by anyways..

what do we know with those number to begin with anyways... it might already be damn high compared to bikes we own currently...

the trek does have a ride tuned seat mass which flexes as forces gets sent up to the seat mass making it slightly comfortable without compromising parts of the frame where power transfer is critical...and don't forget... most importantly, the trek has a BB90 bottom bracket which is 90mm wide one while the spez has a BB30 bottom bracket that is 68mm wide.... that should not have made the bb stiffness so bad that it is on the other end of the scale going against the spez...there is simply something a bit wrong with the chart... no matter how bad the layup of the trek is... it should not be the weakest among the bb stiffness test with it's wider bb... i doubt the data a bit...

the trek madone 7 is gonna costs a sweet 5k usd while the s-works tarmac sl4 is gonna cost a less hurting 3.5k usd... even the madone six is still standing at a nice 4.5k ....

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 6 2012, 05:21 PM
miaopurr
post Nov 6 2012, 05:16 PM

587 posts

don't forget, u buy trek u get free 1 year supply of dope. that's a big plus!
butthead
post Nov 6 2012, 05:18 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 6 2012, 05:16 PM)
don't forget, u buy trek u get free 1 year supply of dope. that's a big plus!
wei... you remember one part forgot the other...

and it's delivered by USPS right to your door step...
miaopurr
post Nov 6 2012, 05:22 PM

587 posts

i think local trek dealer will ask for their customers' preference. maybe they'll provide 1 month on-site delivery, like orang kampung on kapchai will meet up with u somewhere in broga or langat or bentong or fraser etc for u to shoot up. right? value added service.
butthead
post Nov 6 2012, 05:27 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 6 2012, 05:22 PM)
i think local trek dealer will ask for their customers' preference. maybe they'll provide 1 month on-site delivery, like orang kampung on kapchai will meet up with u somewhere in broga or langat or bentong or fraser etc for u to shoot up. right? value added service.
yeah wor... orang kampung is more discreet... but no difference lar... inject at home or on site also sure got the same effect one... why let your riding buddies know... after they strip you of your qualifications ler...

Added on November 6, 2012, 5:30 pmdrugs galore...

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 6 2012, 05:30 PM
miaopurr
post Nov 6 2012, 05:37 PM

587 posts

butthead
post Nov 6 2012, 05:37 PM

593 posts

and the upgraded cera...

Added on November 6, 2012, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 6 2012, 05:37 PM)
that is to make your buttocks firm up and shiny lar...

Added on November 6, 2012, 5:53 pmyou'll be the envy of your friends

user posted image biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
bet you can't take your eyes off the screen now can you brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 6 2012, 05:55 PM
butthead
post Nov 6 2012, 05:54 PM

593 posts

how come i get the feeling that this thread is not talking about cycling anymore???

thanks to the leadership of vin_ann and miao... we are spiraling out of control tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 6 2012, 05:54 PM
minizian
post Nov 6 2012, 07:01 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 6 2012, 11:15 AM)

weighs 111grams only... but the humiliation will weigh 111tons...

Added on November 6, 2012, 11:18 amTaiwan Bike Tour: Ming Cycle – Private Label Production, Assembly & Strida Folding Bikes

wooo... look 675

Wait isnt the look 6 series are made in france? No? isnt 675 are 2nd higher in look range?

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 6 2012, 04:08 PM)
it depends on your tolerance.. some people are blardy weaklings and the slightest shock to their bones they complaint of comfort problems...

if you put the foil and madone 7 side by side... i prefer the madone 7.. but the madone 7 is also a whole lot more expensive if i am not wrong... slightly aero, quite a light frame for climbing, stiff enough for most applications and funky brakes upfront and back... i like the madone 7 if i can ever afford one...

pure stiffness... i go with tarmac sl4 as i think the SL4 has one of the stiffest bottom brackets among the 3...

Added on November 6, 2012, 4:11 pm

now the real reason comes out.. it's never about rubbing against your bibs isn't it...

Hmm i wonder if the same riding feel on madone 7 can be felt on madone 5.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 6 2012, 04:14 PM)

you got no reasons to upgrade the brakes because there is nothing better to upgrade to... one less potential upgrade.. and no seatpost upgrade as well... that is 2 good reasons...  brows.gif stupid but true...

Just wondering if spez are popular in KL? How much does Tarmac sl4 cost in KL, I may open up my choices for Spez but the Spez dealer here tend to ignore me when i go there to buy some small part and look at their bikes sad.gif

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 6 2012, 05:14 PM)
i believe the trek is not that bad hence i said spez might have manipulated the data a bit to show off their direct competitors which is the big brands like scott and trek... i don't think i can feel any difference between either bikes if i were given them...  that's a mighty big number to be off by anyways..

what do we know with those number to begin with anyways... it might already be damn high compared to bikes we own currently...

the trek does have a ride tuned seat mass which flexes as forces gets sent up to the seat mass making it slightly comfortable without compromising parts of the frame where power transfer is critical...and don't forget... most importantly, the trek has a BB90 bottom bracket which is 90mm wide one while the spez has a BB30 bottom bracket that is 68mm wide.... that should not have made the bb stiffness so bad that it is on the other end of the scale going against the spez...there is simply something a bit wrong with the chart... no matter how bad the layup of the trek is... it should not be the weakest among the bb stiffness test with it's wider bb... i doubt the data a bit...

the trek madone 7 is gonna costs a sweet 5k usd while the s-works tarmac sl4 is gonna cost a less hurting 3.5k usd... even the madone six is still standing at a nice 4.5k ....
5k usd for the frameset or complete bike? I am assuming that is for frameset. shocking.gif

miaopurr
post Nov 6 2012, 09:08 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 6 2012, 05:54 PM)
how come i get the feeling that this thread is not talking about cycling anymore???

thanks to the leadership of vin_ann and miao... we are spiraling out of control  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
why me? i only wanna sell bikes n stuff
butthead
post Nov 6 2012, 09:13 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 6 2012, 09:08 PM)
why me? i only wanna sell bikes n stuff
because you always recommend epo
miaopurr
post Nov 6 2012, 09:16 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Nov 6 2012, 07:01 PM)
Just wondering if spez are popular in KL? How much does Tarmac sl4 cost in KL, I may open up my choices for Spez but the Spez dealer here tend to ignore me when i go there to buy some small part and look at their bikes  sad.gif
spez quite ok la here in KL. not sure about SL4, but sworks SL3 was rm8.8k before discount. maybe sworks SL4 around 9k+ before discount. ignore how? try asking some questions, tell them u r interested. if they still ignore u, look for something else elsewhere. if they ignore u now, they might ignore u later too (after-sales).

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Nov 6 2012, 09:18 PM
lilredridinghood
post Nov 6 2012, 10:50 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Booked ma bike from Bike Pro, PJ but till now still no response sad.gif CAN'T WAIT!!!!
minizian
post Nov 6 2012, 10:58 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 6 2012, 09:16 PM)
spez quite ok la here in KL. not sure about SL4, but sworks SL3 was rm8.8k before discount. maybe sworks SL4 around 9k+ before discount. ignore how? try asking some questions, tell them u r interested. if they still ignore u, look for something else elsewhere. if they ignore u now, they might ignore u later too (after-sales).
That the price of complete bike with sram red for both sworks SL3 and SL4 current year 2012 model or just previous year unsold model? shocking.gif

The price quoted here are wayyy high than the price in KL. I am shocking.gif seeing it. Can you see if its the same stuff in kl?

This website is aussie version of bbs.

List of aussie market Spez tarmac and price list at my area

I got the feeling its the complete bike as Time RXRS in uncle tan shop is 3 time cheaper than what my lbs here offered with same spec (that the promo price too)

They are quite accomodating when i buy small parts for my emc eg side bottle cage (my lbs don have the one in my budget) and even willing to custom order shimano prescription clip from shimano australia. Just i don like the part is when i go see the bikes section no one seem to bother me, not even "you need any help?" question ohmy.gif

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Nov 6 2012, 10:50 PM)
Booked ma bike from Bike Pro, PJ but till now still no response sad.gif CAN'T WAIT!!!!
What happend bro?

This post has been edited by minizian: Nov 6 2012, 11:31 PM
lilredridinghood
post Nov 6 2012, 11:02 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Nov 6 2012, 10:58 PM)
What happend bro?
The person forgot to contact me kot, he said by today will call me, but nevermind, can't wait d, maybe tomorrow i drop by buy some accessories like helmet and shorts then I ask hehe
minizian
post Nov 6 2012, 11:09 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Nov 6 2012, 11:02 PM)
The person forgot to contact me kot, he said by today will call me, but nevermind, can't wait d, maybe tomorrow i drop by buy some accessories like helmet and shorts then I ask hehe
Lol chill lar bro smile.gif
lilredridinghood
post Nov 6 2012, 11:15 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Nov 6 2012, 11:09 PM)
Lol chill lar bro smile.gif
haha, i know, after I get it I might think back, why la so kancheong but it's like when u have everything ready, wanna buy d then suddenly, kena tunggu hahaha. See la, maybe I go run instead tongue.gif to forget everything and relax hehe
mrjgx
post Nov 6 2012, 11:20 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 6 2012, 05:14 PM)
i believe the trek is not that bad hence i said spez might have manipulated the data a bit to show off their direct competitors which is the big brands like scott and trek... i don't think i can feel any difference between either bikes if i were given them...  that's a mighty big number to be off by anyways..

Thx for the info. I have pretty much narrow down my scope hunting to SL4 only. I believe I will be satisfied even for the mid pro compact version. I am no pro to get the sworks monstrous stiffness, just a higher end groupset alongside the sl4 will be good enough.btw, when you are bike hunting and you couldn't find the right frame size, would it best to get a bit of a bigger size frame or a smaller one?

125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:44 PM