Lets talk salary v5

JohnJon82
post Nov 4 2013, 12:12 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 3 2013, 03:27 PM)
yeah true dat.
im always looking around,but if my workload is too heavy for now,i wouldnt be able to concentrate on my professional accounting qualification exams
there is this malay proverb ''bersusah-susah dahulu,bersenang2 kemudian'' (english translation suffer 1st,enjoy in the future.later) which is suitable to describe my salary/monetary situation now

let see in a month time.mathematically i should be able to save around $50-100 after deducting all expenses.another thing is i dont have a car for the time being,so i save on petrol,toll,parking,installment,insurance,etc that is associated with car. that keeps me staying afloat for now
yesterday saw a car expo,for a 84k car the insurance is 2k,how insane is the insurance rate now! shakehead.gif
i suppose myvi insurance would also be in the range of 800-1000? hmm.gif

not going to happen! the max payscale for this position is only 2k.only the next level max payscale is 3.5k
You need to really see it will be paying off in the future when you need it after getting your professional cert. Since you have no commitment now so its ok, but when the reality starts to kick in, you will be hanging half way. One overlook in a single step and what you doing now all meaningless. I been through your stage. At first people will comment on your low pay, should choose a higher salary job etc. Just follow your own thinking, you not living to satisfy others but yourself. Ya the reward is good in the future but you need a lot of determination and patient because you cannot fail.
Soony
post Nov 4 2013, 01:04 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(audia3 @ Nov 4 2013, 11:19 AM)
Job Title : CAE Engineer
Job Description : design, simulation
Academic Level : Degree
Years spent in company : 1 month
Company : GLC company
Industry : Automotive
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Entry level
Experience before joining : Fresh Grad
Salary : RM3000
Please advice... smile.gif
Well, RM 3,000 for fresh grad is considered well above average already..
audia3
post Nov 4 2013, 01:31 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Nov 4 2013, 01:04 PM)
Well, RM 3,000 for fresh grad is considered well above average already..
really? for engineer?
Soony
post Nov 4 2013, 02:34 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(audia3 @ Nov 4 2013, 01:31 PM)
really? for engineer?
Yeaps unless you re in the Oil and Gas field that is.

Normal rate in Penang for engineers is always at RM 2,800 and very dependent on Honours. Should check Jobstreet for the average salary.
muss90
post Nov 4 2013, 03:41 PM

142 posts

p1?
Azurika
post Nov 4 2013, 03:48 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Nov 4 2013, 02:34 PM)
Yeaps unless you re in the Oil and Gas field that is.

Normal rate in Penang for engineers is always at RM 2,800 and very dependent on Honours. Should check Jobstreet for the average salary.
Seriously depending on company, and which engineering background bro. 1 of my business partners graduated from UK in E&E, only offered 2k basic when he started in Penang. But this was 2 years back thou.
Soony
post Nov 4 2013, 06:30 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Nov 4 2013, 03:48 PM)
Seriously depending on company, and which engineering background bro. 1 of my business partners graduated from UK in E&E, only offered 2k basic when he started in Penang. But this was 2 years back thou.
Definitely definitely, there's a lot of factors as well. =) Penang there's so many E&E companies, ranging from MNC to Chinaman small company.
hercules899
post Nov 4 2013, 07:04 PM

322 posts

Proton ? Perodua?
ryan18
post Nov 4 2013, 08:03 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Nov 4 2013, 12:12 PM)
You need to really see it will be paying off in the future when you need it after getting your professional cert. Since you have no commitment now so its ok, but when the reality starts to kick in, you will be hanging half way. One overlook in a single step and what you doing now all meaningless. I been through your stage. At first people will comment on your low pay, should choose a higher salary job etc. Just follow your own thinking, you not living to satisfy others but yourself. Ya the reward is good in the future but you need a lot of determination and patient because you cannot fail.
thanks for your advice.will keep that in mind,determination and patience.sometimes slow and steady do it better than those who zoom all the way using ferrari(no pun intended)
as people say ''the grass is always greener on the other side''
ryan18
post Nov 4 2013, 08:08 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(UnknownDave @ Nov 3 2013, 10:34 PM)
If you are in need of money, I understand to that.

But with such low pay of a mere RM1500 for a fresh degree is an exploitation by the company.
i am not in need of money,but earning some $ helps me to understand how hard is it to earn a living
well you cant be paying an account assistant the salary of an account executive which is around 2k at least?

pinksapphire
post Nov 4 2013, 08:47 PM

1,264 posts

Just came by this thread and I thought it would be interesting to ask this.

Assuming both roles are the same in Penang and KL, how much more would you take if you were to take on the job in KL? For eg. If you get 5k in Penang, for the same job in KL, you must have at least...8k? Reasons being the standard of living and misc. other things are way higher in KL.

UnknownDave
post Nov 4 2013, 10:29 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 4 2013, 08:08 PM)
i am not in need of money,but earning some $ helps me to understand how hard is it to earn a living
well you cant be paying an account assistant the salary of an account executive which is around 2k at least?
Fresh grad should be earning 2K at this time and age

I suggest at least 2K for Diploma and 2.5K for Degree.

Your company is a cheap ass company, local chinaman company? No wonder.
ryan18
post Nov 4 2013, 10:39 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(UnknownDave @ Nov 4 2013, 10:29 PM)
Fresh grad should be earning 2K at this time and age

I suggest at least 2K for Diploma and 2.5K for Degree.

Your company is a cheap ass company, local chinaman company? No wonder.
nope,subsidiary of a Asian retail company.the last time i checked never a chinese owned that company,although lots of managers are chinese
who knows gaji low but bonus is a lot haha
JavierC1995
post Nov 4 2013, 10:57 PM

71 posts

Come on buddies !!! nowadays normal living expenses in Malaysia cost 10k how can u guys still continue working endlessly with those underpaid salary ? == ?
Could try to open a business ( which u have knowledge about thbe field that u are doing business) with someone to earn more money

This post has been edited by JavierC1995: Nov 4 2013, 11:00 PM
fruitie
post Nov 4 2013, 11:00 PM

Rise and Shine
72,776 posts

QUOTE(JavierC1995 @ Nov 4 2013, 10:57 PM)
Come on buddies !!! nowadays normal living expenses in Malaysia cost 10k how can u guys still continue working endlessly with those underpaid salary ? == ?
Please define your normal. Of course the more the better but you will need to assess yourself first before demanding for more.
Maybe my expectation is low and I'm single, so earning RM 5k now is considered comfortable for me.
JavierC1995
post Nov 4 2013, 11:03 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2013, 11:00 PM)
Please define your normal. Of course the more the better but you will need to assess yourself first before demanding for more.
Maybe my expectation is low and I'm single, so earning RM 5k now is considered comfortable for me.
my definition of normal in the sentence is the standard living cost for a family maybe 4 to 5 people
JavierC1995
post Nov 4 2013, 11:13 PM

71 posts

truth is i'm still a student but through my perspective working hour is also important i mean 12 hours( rest time excluded )is consider like ur boss is actually abusing u which mean 8 hours is consider a normal working hour thats what my brother told me ? == ? is he wrong /

This post has been edited by JavierC1995: Nov 4 2013, 11:16 PM
fruitie
post Nov 4 2013, 11:26 PM

Rise and Shine
72,776 posts

QUOTE(JavierC1995 @ Nov 4 2013, 11:03 PM)
my definition of normal in the sentence is the standard living cost for a family maybe 4 to 5 people
QUOTE(JavierC1995 @ Nov 4 2013, 11:13 PM)
truth is i'm still a student but through my perspective working hour is also important i mean 12 hours( rest time excluded )is consider like ur boss is actually abusing u which mean 8 hours is consider a normal working hour thats what my brother told me ? == ? is he wrong /
All I can say is you will know when you start working. It is still too early for you to judge without stepping into the workforce yourself.smile.gif
Of course every longs for normal working hours but sometimes is totally unavoidable.

I start work late, so I finish work late as well. Fair to me. I love it because I can choose my own flexible time to work. I usually work 10-7 or I can go back earlier if I finish my work earlier, vice versa. Working hours is not important for me, to me I only want work-life balance and flexible working style.
JavierC1995
post Nov 5 2013, 12:22 AM

71 posts

such admirable words , buddy i salute u for doing what u love to do smile.gif
conqu3ror
post Nov 5 2013, 11:22 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2013, 11:26 PM)
All I can say is you will know when you start working. It is still too early for you to judge without stepping into the workforce yourself.smile.gif
Of course every longs for normal working hours but sometimes is totally unavoidable.

I start work late, so I finish work late as well. Fair to me. I love it because I can choose my own flexible time to work. I usually work 10-7 or I can go back earlier if I finish my work earlier, vice versa. Working hours is not important for me, to me I only want work-life balance and flexible working style.
+1

I was dreaming of driving sport car, having a huge house & not need to work much & it is useless to spend hundred of thousand for a master/degree during the secondary school.

But once out of the conform zone, thing always not as simple & dream remain as dream.

151 Pages « < 145 146 147 148 149 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:19 PM