Lets talk salary v5

UnknownDave
post Jul 19 2013, 05:42 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jul 19 2013, 05:20 AM)
What? All these smart kids are pushing themselves so hard to get into medic courses can only get RM 5K meh? 

If it including all the allowances already, perhaps not enough given the important work they're doing.

Something wrong with this picture if aircraft tech can get RM12.7K and doctors less than RM 5k.  hmm.gif
Doctors can grow career wise to become specialize which is more than an aircraft tech engineer possibly with 50k - 100k per month. Without having to go through all those politics, shinning up shoes to get in to management level and earned the same salary.

Of course in a government hospital for a doctor can get up to become specialized doctor as well, but the job opening is not much in the government .. doctors with 5 - 8 years experience for a normal doctor is about 8k salary with allowance. That is consider much in rural area.
UnknownDave
post Jul 26 2013, 12:37 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Jul 25 2013, 09:58 PM)
Job Title : Bank Officer
Job Desciption : Back office operations
Years spent in company : 2 years
Company : Overseas bank
Industry : Banking
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Officer
Experience before joining : 3 years at 2 difference local bank
Salary : Basic - Rm 2 712
Education : Diploma

OK ?
Got any lubang to join Branch / HQ back office operations ? It seems beside sales/IB/Investment Analyst or banking shared services or whatever fancy names always have higher turn over due to alot of brain stress but lower pay salary while back office operations is the rountine-job.

Do PM me back for any recommendations. Thanks ~~
UnknownDave
post Aug 6 2013, 12:01 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Aug 5 2013, 11:54 PM)
First Job
Job Title : Executive
Job scope: sales coordinator (liaise with business partners, reporting, etc.)
Years spent in company : 4 months
Company: MNC
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : Fresh Graduate
Basic on joining : RM2300
Total allowance : Nil
Education level : Bachelor Degree second upper division
Benefits : medical, insurance
Working hrs: 9 hour++

Am I underpaid?
Underpaid for fresh grad .. At least 2500 too 3000 with inflation

UnknownDave
post Sep 7 2013, 11:48 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(kenyawood @ Sep 7 2013, 10:07 PM)
Job Title : Executive in Payment Management
Job Desciption : Collect data from banks for payment posting, verify the payment thru Internet banking, call payee for payment verification, write off payment thru in house system, and etc etc
Years spent in company : 2 years
Industry : Insurance
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : Fresh grad ( degree in math )
salary : RM 2.3k( upon joining in Sept 2011) , RM 2.5k(increment in April 2012),  RM 2.9k(current salary - increment in April 2013 + salary adjustment)
Just want to ask all of you, am I down paid or what?  cry.gif  cry.gif
Go become credit analyst in some bank .. and you be getting 4 - 5k. With your current pay it is not worth to stay after 2 years.
UnknownDave
post Sep 9 2013, 05:01 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(xuldigiorgio @ Sep 9 2013, 10:13 AM)
Job Title : Mechanical/Piping Engineer
Job Desciption : Static Equipment Design, Some piping engineering works but not design
Years spent in company : Almost 4 years
Industry : Oil & Gas
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : Intern at the same company
Salary : RM3.5k

underpaid?  icon_question.gif
lulz.. very underpaid for someone in OnG even if it is an contractor company. Get yourself out of there and try your luck on Petronas, Shell or whatever main contractor or lead OnG company available, sure as hell you can get more than 5k with 4 years experience, or even more. Definitely not worth staying in the company anymore.
UnknownDave
post Sep 19 2013, 06:42 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Sep 19 2013, 05:31 PM)
Job Title : Sr. Tech Analyst
Job Desciption : SharePoint Infra stuff
Years spent in company : 1 month
Company : Bank
Industry: Banking
Tenure : Direct Contract
Employment Level : - not sure -
Experience before joining : SharePoint stuff
salary : RM 8520 gross salary. minus not sure yet. ( contract position, maybe little bit higher)
development or support? Got some sharepoint administration experience and analyze.. still looking for people ?
UnknownDave
post Sep 20 2013, 12:10 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Sep 20 2013, 12:01 AM)
If your company is doing well then I guess you can use it to justify higher inflation....

if your company is not doing well then i guess it's hard for them to bear your cost on higher inflation. Higher petrol price doesnt translate to higher revenue or lower operating cost for your company - assuming most companies. You'll most likely have to justify higher pay by proving that you can do more, youve been contributing more, how do you do contribute to the business basically.
Inflation means each ringgit are nothing, by higher fuel prices, everything else increase, so a company revenue increase, but pay still does not increase? where is the logic to that.

UnknownDave
post Sep 20 2013, 04:07 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 20 2013, 09:20 AM)
Everything increases doesn't mean the company revenue will increase. People might cut down on the services or product that the company is offering thus offsetting the increase in price if any.
There is no sense to that, people still need these neccessary things in their life, such as Chicken went up RM2, they need these food to consume.

Thus in a Cycle, Company > Dealer > Buyer = ( Higher prices ) + ( Higher Revenue For company )

Unless your company is crappy in making a product thus there are no one buying thus making a loss.

This post has been edited by UnknownDave: Sep 20 2013, 04:08 PM
UnknownDave
post Sep 20 2013, 05:36 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Sep 20 2013, 04:49 PM)
There is perfect sense to that... Because not all companies will benefit from higher petrol price. Your "logic" doesn't differentiate companies but it's a view of the economy as a whole. And spouting "Unless your company is crappy in making a product thus there are no one buying thus making a loss.
" shows that you really dont understand business at all. Not all business can decide whatever price they want to charge to customers on their products, they can only do so if their competitors react to the higher cost as well and there are enough consumers who are willing to absorb the higher priced product/service. Some companies will have to suffer margin compression on higher fuel cost.

If your business doesn't suffer from the higher cost, then i think you have a good case to ask for an increment to compensate higher inflation cost in your life but companies don't owe you a living. You can't just say I deserve more money because the chicken i used to eat cost RM2 less. Just like the chicken sellers can't force you to eat chicken, he can raise the price but you might want to spend it on other meat because you don't think it's worth it.

On a more extreme example, I can't say i want 10% increment on my pay immediately because I used to eat imported 10 grain rice that used to be cheaper when ringgit was stronger. Because ringgit has weakened 10%, import cost has increased, i need the company to compensate me on that... .even though my company might be a totally non export oriented company that benefits nothing from a weaker ringgit. You get what i mean?

Having said that, i still think it's a bad way to justify a higher pay. You'll ge rewarded much better if you could prove that your contribution is material to company's top line or bottom line performance. If your productivity increases, given our job market having shortage of good quality workers, you'll end up beign able to demand much better pay.

I'm very concern about the feeling of massive self entitlement amongst workers these days. I highly encourage ppl to fight for a higher pay, demand what they deserve to get their fair share of the company's profit, please do not get exploited by companies. But please also don't think of it as a non-profit organisation. Job hopping, to a certain extent, is something i find quite healthy for workers to obtain better pay and better exposures and because of the competition for better workers, companies can't underpay and yet get good staff.

I know what i wrote wouldn't be that popular but i feel that there's a need to do it because if the wrong mentality pervades in the labour workforce, our workforce will be seen as expensive and unproductive relative to other countries. I hope i don't come across as having no sympathy for people who are suffering from higher inflation because I don't earn enough that basic necessities become a small part of my income yet too. However, Im sure most workers want to do better for themselves because they know their service is worth more or they can do more and not because corporates should sympathize with the rising cost situation. Our country isn't that bad at protecting a minimum level of household income. We have a minimum wage now although that's too low for major cities, i agree. But don't forget, we have 10% of our workforce as civil servants. Thailand has 4%, other countries in the region have around 5%. This has guaranteed a low unemployment in our country for a long time.
The bolded part +99.

Some can do better but are just afraid of moving out, forget about Malaysia, think as it is a world where we can have multiple of choices, you don't like this job because it is underpaid, get somewhere else, it has becoming a big trend for youngsters to jump hop, while you are still young, go and explore, there is no point in staying in a company where your productivity is 110%, which is 10% above, and yet increment, pay and your bonus are still the same entitlement like many years ago.

What were doing actually create more jobs and opportunities in a sense, foreginer know malaysian can do their job thus they bring over to Malaysia thus creating more job with higher pay. It is a healthy competition, it actually bring more values to our workforce and it make them to increase employee pay job.

Now back to the business part, it is a very struggling situation where an employment is a business while business is a business, it is not our "problems" that your company can't raise to the competition of ever inflation economy. We are employed only because we are needed to do this particular job, and our minimum wages and inflation has raised to a bar. A job which pay 900PM a year ago has raised to RM1400, this raises is just barely enough.

Let's wait till next year after bonus and CNY, you can see there will be even more people that leave for better paid/benefit/worklife job. Now like I said, it is a trend nowadays among youngsters. Keep it up, and do it more. So that employer know we deserve a fair deal employment, but not a high responsibilites job but a low paid one for their cost budgetting to keep all the money to themself.
UnknownDave
post Oct 28 2013, 11:09 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Rayshah @ Oct 28 2013, 01:49 AM)
Job title : business application specialist (SAP BOBW background)
Job description : report developer and application support
Year spent in company : 1 year ++
Experience : 3 years
Employment level : Exec
Salary : 3000

Am im underpaid??
3 Years in IT with doing specialist technical job...

Yes very UNDERPAID.

At least 4.5k - 5.5k
UnknownDave
post Nov 3 2013, 10:31 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(mennmenn @ Nov 3 2013, 08:10 PM)
Job: Electrical Project Engineer (building construction)
Current salary:RM4500
Benefit: Misc claim (petrol, toll, car service)
Experience: 4 years bef joining current company
Duration in current company: 2 and half months
After probation might have increment and bonus during new year, company car after around 1 year.

Pros: work is flexible, report directly under boss.
Cons: chinese base company, hard to get promotion, too free and no stress at the moment.

New job offers:

1) Korean based MNC, RM5000-RM5500 basic, other benefit dont know yet. ( not yet discuss)

Pros: can learn a lot and built up profile. Maybe got chance of promotion in future, mega project.

cons: work like no tomorrow, stress maximum

2) Singapore local chinese company.
Salary: SGD 3300, after 3 months probation then 3.5k sgd
Cons: local company compare to korea mnc company, away from home land.
Pro: can learn tecnical n gain more experience. Higher standard of living in sg, possible to get a PR, can have saving for future.

Any comments? Thanks in advance.

I must get myself ready and prepare myself, I target when I m age 30, I will be in management level. (assistant project manager or project manager)
For engineering I guess the salary wise should be around there..

1) Korean Based at least RM6000

2) Singapore LOCAL chinese company.. at least SGD4000, DO NOT accept offer lower than that
UnknownDave
post Nov 3 2013, 10:34 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 3 2013, 03:27 PM)
yeah true dat.
im always looking around,but if my workload is too heavy for now,i wouldnt be able to concentrate on my professional accounting qualification exams
there is this malay proverb ''bersusah-susah dahulu,bersenang2 kemudian'' (english translation suffer 1st,enjoy in the future.later) which is suitable to describe my salary/monetary situation now

let see in a month time.mathematically i should be able to save around $50-100 after deducting all expenses.another thing is i dont have a car for the time being,so i save on petrol,toll,parking,installment,insurance,etc that is associated with car. that keeps me staying afloat for now
yesterday saw a car expo,for a 84k car the insurance is 2k,how insane is the insurance rate now! shakehead.gif
i suppose myvi insurance would also be in the range of 800-1000? hmm.gif

not going to happen! the max payscale for this position is only 2k.only the next level max payscale is 3.5k
If you are in need of money, I understand to that.

But with such low pay of a mere RM1500 for a fresh degree is an exploitation by the company.

UnknownDave
post Nov 4 2013, 10:29 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 4 2013, 08:08 PM)
i am not in need of money,but earning some $ helps me to understand how hard is it to earn a living
well you cant be paying an account assistant the salary of an account executive which is around 2k at least?
Fresh grad should be earning 2K at this time and age

I suggest at least 2K for Diploma and 2.5K for Degree.

Your company is a cheap ass company, local chinaman company? No wonder.

0.0517sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:17 AM