Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138
ryudell
Aug 4 2012, 03:17 PM
maxis guy came @2.30! i had to call @12pm to ask where the installer is.. He call me a few mins later saying that he thought @9pm..crazy.. then he showed up, i saw it is like a re-conned set of thomson.. so i ask the installer & he said that he dont know as he just receive the device from his boss.. I called CS n ask them to insvestigate abt this.. but so far wireless all ok..
hongchai888
Aug 4 2012, 03:52 PM
Ping so high to London, watching Olympic with spike, haiz
calvin_yit
Aug 4 2012, 04:15 PM
Finally, my FTTH is ON!!
Got a morning call at 9.am from maxis guy to ask direction to my house.
9.30: Maxis guy arrive on time (brought a trainee with him). Told me TM guy on the way, should reach around 15 to 30 min. We went around house to see where is suitable to do the drilling, pulling etc.
10.00: 2 tm guys arrived. After a bit of posturing and measuring, agreed on the method to drill, pull cable etc. It was a standard installation over the wall, with two spot drilling (through my store room and changing room). The Tm guy measured with tape how long the indoor fibre is gonna be. He estimated around 25m. Said will charge rm10 each extra meter. Managed to potong to rm80. Work started at 10.30.
12.30: Tm finished their work. Proceed to install the huawei. Actual fibre length is 30meter. I tried to ask him to forgo the extra. In the end, settled at rm100 (somehow i felt that he could had just open one eye close one eye). The fibre meter reading is 15.85.
1.00: The maxis guy finished explaining everything. After speedtest and such, they left.
lucaswjk
Aug 4 2012, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Aug 4 2012, 03:52 PM) Ping so high to London, watching Olympic with spike, haiz  no this is very inefficient of network utilization, nobody have that kind of bandwidth to serve million of population... especially live streaming i think this is how it works, -> London Broadcast (IOC) -> US Distribute (Youtube HQ) -> WorldWide Cache (Youtube Regional Server/Msia Server) -> YOU Watching with millisecond lag
urameshi81
Aug 4 2012, 07:06 PM

QUOTE(pisanq @ Aug 4 2012, 05:05 AM) You need Analog Telephone Adapter (ATA) with 3 telephone ports so that you can connect all of your 3 phones into that adapter and connect that adapter into Thomson VoIP phone port. Reference http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Analog_telephone_adapterEasiest way, buy ATA with 2 telephone ports and connect your 2 phones into it and connect the ATA into Phone1 port at Thomson router. For the third phone, you have to use the stock Maxis FTTH phone plug into the Phone2 port at Thomson router so that you have 3 phones all connected in your house (2 existing phones, 1 Maxis FTTH phone). Don't forget to configure your Phone2 port at Thomson router before you can use it. tq pisanq, Thanks for your help. I will check it out and see..
feizaiII
Aug 4 2012, 07:36 PM
Cant watch Olympic Youtube in 720HD... >.< Lag.. anyone same?
AhBoy~~
Aug 4 2012, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(feizaiII @ Aug 4 2012, 07:36 PM) Cant watch Olympic Youtube in 720HD... >.< Lag.. anyone same? gosh thats bad...
calvin_yit
Aug 4 2012, 08:17 PM
tested DLing from utorrent. DL can reach 1mb easily from torrent with lots of seeders. But dun understand why my uploading is stuck at less than 5kb/sec. Wanted to boost ratio from private tracker, but even if seed new torrents with lots of leechers also upload speed is less than 5kb/sec. Anyone have the same problem? Using 3.13 utorrent.
khelben
Aug 4 2012, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(calvin_yit @ Aug 4 2012, 08:17 PM) tested DLing from utorrent. DL can reach 1mb easily from torrent with lots of seeders. But dun understand why my uploading is stuck at less than 5kb/sec. Wanted to boost ratio from private tracker, but even if seed new torrents with lots of leechers also upload speed is less than 5kb/sec. Anyone have the same problem? Using 3.13 utorrent. Usually on adsl (streamyx) torrent clients will set an upload limit. Have you checked the settings?
calvin_yit
Aug 4 2012, 09:22 PM
already did. I used to set it to 20kb/sec. Now i put unlimited. Still crawling like snail......
LenGZaI85
Aug 4 2012, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(feizaiII @ Aug 4 2012, 07:36 PM) Cant watch Olympic Youtube in 720HD... >.< Lag.. anyone same? it's very very lag.
mackioes
Aug 4 2012, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(LenGZaI85 @ Aug 5 2012, 12:34 AM) max i can go is 480p only without lag.
karhoe
Aug 4 2012, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jul 31 2012, 11:28 PM) LOL....I will send email blast to all those who register through me once I get the vouchers. Most probably have a few 'Open Day' and set up counter in strategic locations for voucher collection.... Tentatively, it will be end of this month (august). Added on July 31, 2012, 11:34 pmUnderstand that there are quite some hiccups here and there. But what I'm sure is that Maxis is committed to delivering the best in terms of product quality and customer experience. There are currently alot of on-going works in order to improve the whole experience to all the FTTH customers. Friend, I have a suggestion, on the day you want to have 'Open Day', why not you get all of us together who signed up under you, and you invite the rest of the management team to join you, and we sit down on one place and hear from us what we have to say about Maxis FTTH. Tell your management team, these are IT savvy users who have technical knowledge. Let us have a conference/forum for us to explain to your management team in person all our predicaments so that they know, and start to do something about it.
LenGZaI85
Aug 4 2012, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(mackioes @ Aug 4 2012, 11:41 PM) max i can go is 480p only without lag. Yeah. Me too.
azizul1975
Aug 5 2012, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(calvin_yit @ Aug 4 2012, 09:22 PM) already did. I used to set it to 20kb/sec. Now i put unlimited. Still crawling like snail...... no need to worry on slow seeding speed.... btw, i set mine to 10kbps
ronnie
Aug 5 2012, 08:31 AM
ronnie
Aug 5 2012, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(feizaiII @ Aug 4 2012, 07:36 PM) Cant watch Olympic Youtube in 720HD... >.< Lag.. anyone same? Quite laggy on 720p and 1080p
smallvill3
Aug 5 2012, 09:19 AM
hey guys, im thinking to subscribe this, does maxis block any website or torrent?
ronnie
Aug 5 2012, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(smallvill3 @ Aug 5 2012, 09:19 AM) hey guys, im thinking to subscribe this, does maxis block any website or torrent? So far no block..... but you will never know when it will happen.