167 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Photography Sony RX100, New standard for compact camera ?

post Jul 27 2012, 09:05 PM

1,447 posts

har seriously this EOS-M so slow ah? I dun know could it be slower than my S90?
alangeorge
post Jul 28 2012, 09:50 AM

205 posts

nice pics. now i might consider this p+s instead of a used 5Dmk2.

zstan
post Jul 28 2012, 01:31 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(alangeorge @ Jul 28 2012, 09:50 AM)
nice pics. now i might consider this p+s instead of a used 5Dmk2.
but don't expect corner to corner sharpness though. if you know its limitations then its indeed a really great camera!
alangeorge
post Jul 28 2012, 01:54 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 28 2012, 01:31 PM)
but don't expect corner to corner sharpness though. if you know its limitations then its indeed a really great camera!
5Dmk2......so intimidating for subjects. cannot bring everywhere.

rx100...small. bring everywhere. IQ for a p+s is great.
Ryou
post Jul 28 2012, 10:05 PM

866 posts

T-dimension is selling it at USD 669, the shipment to malaysia is USD41++

Sony Malaysia tends to overprice their things.
wingster
post Jul 29 2012, 12:13 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

Testing of the Sony RX100

For video mode this camera is just stunning in low light! on high ISO the grain look quite good as well, on par with my Canon 60D.

It has full manual control over ISO, Shutter Speed, Aperture and most interestingly peaking mode during video record. First time seen on a compact camera and can be potential in used for B-Camera or Point of View type in video.

The AF in Video were quite like the second gen NEX, acceptable slow but smooth transition focus.

The only downside is that the HDMI Port is on the bottom (+ its door compartment is flimsy) , nearby the tripod socket so using HDMI Monitor with a tripod is impossible but it wasn't really a main issue consider this is just a compact camera tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wingster: Jul 29 2012, 12:21 PM
gregy
post Jul 29 2012, 06:20 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 27 2012, 12:48 PM)
What IQ are you comparing with? This certainly can't be better than a full frame DSLR with a 5k glass attached to it but for compact standards it's one of the best already.
In terms of IQ it is slightly worse than the Nikon 1 J1, so what are you going on about?

In terms of dimensions, the Nikon 1 J1 is 106.0 x 61.0 x 29.8 mm versus the RX100 which is 101.6 x 58.1 x 35.9mm, very similar.

In terms of pricing, the J1 is RM1,998 with kit lens (10-30mm) while the RX100 is RM2,499.

In terms of sensor size, both are the same: 13.2 mm x 8.8 mm

Based on the above, why should I pay more for a compact camera when I can get more bang for buck with a CSC with more upgrading possibilities?

And, let's not even talk about DSLRs lol... the Nikon D3200 is only RM2,548, the Canon EOS 1100D is only RM1,899 and even Sony's own NEX F3 is RM1,999. All of them with 18-55mm kit lens. All three of these cameras will give you much higher IQ than the RX100.

Let's put it this way. Anyone who's after the ultimate portability will buy a smartphone with a good camera. Anyone who wants high IQ will get a CSC or DSLR. Not many people will pay RM2,499 for a compact that is neither as compact as a smartphone, nor as high IQ as a CSC.

zstan
post Jul 29 2012, 06:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jul 29 2012, 06:20 PM)
In terms of IQ it is slightly worse than the Nikon 1 J1, so what are you going on about?

In terms of dimensions, the Nikon 1 J1 is 106.0 x 61.0 x 29.8 mm versus the RX100 which is 101.6 x 58.1 x 35.9mm, very similar.

In terms of pricing, the J1 is RM1,998 with kit lens (10-30mm) while the RX100 is RM2,499.

Based on the above, why should I pay more for a compact camera when I can get more bang for buck with a CSC with more upgrading possibilities?

And, let's not even talk about DSLRs lol... the Nikon D3200 is only RM2,548, the Canon EOS 1100D is only RM1,899 and even Sony's own NEX F3 is RM1,999. All of them with 18-55mm kit lens. All three of these cameras will give you much higher IQ than the RX100.

Let's put it this way. Anyone who's after the ultimate portability will buy a smartphone with a good camera. Anyone who wants high IQ will get a CSC or DSLR. Not many people will pay RM2,499 for a compact that is neither as compact as a smartphone, nor as high IQ as a CSC.
according to the images that i have seen so far the Sony gives better detail and resolution compared to the J1. So maybe we are seeing different batches of images or the Nikon J1 has a Nikkor 24 f1.4 attached to it. The IQ is also comparable to m43, if not better.

similiar dimensions? after attaching the 10-30mm the J1 is already quite huge. and not forgetting it doesnt have a f1.8 lens to begin with.

well, for starters this camera is not targetted for people who wants to upgrade in the first place. Of course we are not talking about DSLRs.. can they even fit your pocket lol...?

Unfortunately a smart phone's camera still loses out in low light...and if you are looking at Amazon rankings the RX100 is topping the charts for the past 2 weeks since its availability was announced..

but i do agree with you 2499 is over priced compared to the likes of Hong Kong and Taiwan and Singapore.
alangeorge
post Jul 29 2012, 07:12 PM

205 posts

Smartphone with good camera???? LOL. I will buy a p+s for ultimate portability.

I hate m4/3. That's my view. If I want to play with lenses, I'll buy a dslr which I already have. I can't put a m4/3 in my pocket . I'm buying a p+s bcos I know I need it for certain situations when I can't bring my dslr.

I don't compare my dslr's IQ with the IQ of a p+s.

I might get the rx100. Price wise, its ok for me.
post Jul 29 2012, 07:21 PM

1,447 posts

now this super P&S are getting abit too high at price..... 3-4 years ago those G9, LX3 and S90 and enthusiastic P&S come out all around RM1.6k but this year all come out want you to paid RM2.4k+-.... big difference but still aiming at the same market segment.
michael9413
post Jul 29 2012, 07:38 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Jul 28 2012, 10:05 PM)
T-dimension is selling it at USD 669, the shipment to malaysia is USD41++

Sony Malaysia tends to overprice their things.
Well is not only sony... actually if you see other things which they say do not have tax in malaysia also like that...
Handphones, camera, computer parts and watches too... no need to say car, like Hybrid which they declare free tax...

Cheers...
sniper on the roof
post Jul 29 2012, 09:12 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 29 2012, 07:21 PM)
now this super P&S are getting abit too high at price..... 3-4 years ago those G9, LX3 and S90 and enthusiastic P&S come out all around RM1.6k but this year all come out want you to paid RM2.4k+-.... big difference but still aiming at the same market segment.
Fuji X10 started it.

Anyway, was wondering if there's a way to reduce the saturation on the blue channel.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jul 30 2012, 12:34 AM
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 30 2012, 04:50 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Not many people will pay RM2,499 for a compact that is neither as compact as a smartphone, nor as high IQ as a CSC.
Overprice is a relative term. It's like saying normal mortals won't buy Leica because it's stupidly overpriced. But it still sells.

To me RX100 is a very interesting package. And i also blame Fuji for overpricing the X10 lol but they have a tough job to come up with a successor to beat Sony. The X Pro-1 is even more over inflated but still sells like hot cakes. rclxub.gif
post Jul 30 2012, 05:59 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jul 30 2012, 04:50 PM)
Overprice is a relative term. It's like saying normal mortals won't buy Leica because it's stupidly overpriced. But it still sells.

To me RX100 is a very interesting package. And i also blame Fuji for overpricing the X10 lol but they have a tough job to come up with a successor to beat Sony. The X Pro-1 is even more over inflated but still sells like hot cakes. rclxub.gif
i dunno for that much price paid i dont get much differences from s100 and xz-1, and lets see what the LX6 gonna be price at? I seriously hope that Canon next installment gonna kill all this overprice enthusiastic P&C and make them back to the price they should be.That is RM1600-RM1800.
sniper on the roof
post Jul 30 2012, 06:47 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 30 2012, 05:59 PM)
i dunno for that much price paid i dont get much differences from s100 and xz-1, and lets see what the LX6 gonna be price at? I seriously hope that Canon next installment gonna kill all this overprice enthusiastic P&C and make them back to the price they should be.That is RM1600-RM1800.
LX7 u mean? Already announced. F1.4-2.8 and smaller sensor than lx5
post Jul 30 2012, 07:00 PM

1,447 posts

yah but does the bit smaller sensor make tat much different? The Nikon aps-c is that bit bigger than Canon aps-c but the different is hardly noticeable.

Its is not like the m43 vs the compact different.
zstan
post Jul 30 2012, 09:44 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 30 2012, 07:00 PM)
yah but does the bit smaller sensor make tat much different? The Nikon aps-c is that bit bigger than Canon aps-c but the different is hardly noticeable.

of course it does... the measurements are totally different.. you can't compare APS-C with APS-C because both are APS-C!!! of course the difference are neglible!

m43 sensor is still larger than the 1 inch sensor! though they still use the same sensor since the EP1. correct me if i'm wrong
wingster
post Jul 30 2012, 09:57 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 30 2012, 07:00 PM)

If you compare Nikon x1.5 APS-C (Same goes to Pentax/Samsung/Sony Alpha or NEX/etc.) to Canon x1.6 APS-C the difference it just x0.1

The difference between sensor sizes were noise level, dynamic range and depth (in common bigger the sensor size, better the noise level control, dynamic range and shallow the depth)

This post has been edited by wingster: Jul 30 2012, 09:58 PM
Ryou
post Jul 30 2012, 10:28 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Jul 30 2012, 09:57 PM)

If you compare Nikon x1.5 APS-C (Same goes to Pentax/Samsung/Sony Alpha or NEX/etc.) to Canon x1.6 APS-C the difference it just x0.1

The difference between sensor sizes were noise level, dynamic range and depth (in common bigger the sensor size, better the noise level control, dynamic range and shallow the depth)
The x0.1 difference makes a great difference in focal length. tongue.gif

Added on July 30, 2012, 10:29 pm

You get a Zeiss's Vario Sonnar f1.8 lens. I don't think we the prices you mentioned, you can get large aperture.

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jul 30 2012, 10:29 PM
wingster
post Jul 31 2012, 01:06 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Jul 30 2012, 10:28 PM)
The x0.1 difference makes a great difference in focal length. tongue.gif

Added on July 30, 2012, 10:29 pm

You get a Zeiss's Vario Sonnar f1.8 lens. I don't think we the prices you mentioned, you can get large aperture.
For tele and wide lar xD ....

167 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:18 AM