124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

V1 Proton Exora Bold Owners and Fans Thread, Calling all owner and future one...

Trong-FC
post Jun 8 2012, 02:51 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Jun 8 2012, 12:33 PM)
first and last bro..after this must insist no additive whatsoever

btw..just booked my exora..silver
maybank offer 2.83% 9 years
missed WWW  sad.gif
no... you were not missed the WWW yet..
just quickly go to JPJ counter and buy it.
as 1235pm today WWW2078.but from what i heard WWWxxxx still available but no more nice number laa...

forter
post Jun 8 2012, 02:52 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Turbocrazy @ Jun 8 2012, 02:13 PM)
Agree with u.. I dun believe fully-syn engine oil be used for a new car as well.. But i do believed that fully-syn oil is more
superior than mineral engine oil..
As for me, I still stick to my dad's advice.. For normal use vehicle, clock approx 40k ~ 50k mileage per year, mineral
engine oil is used for (7~8 years). Follows by semi-syn oil (8~16 years). Then lastly fully-syn oil (17 years above old car).
I did asked him why, he said if u use fully-syn oil for a brand new car now, u will have no upgrading on later when the
engine gets old. Coz old engine needs more protection..  biggrin.gif

Cheers..
bro....fully synthetic oil is only good for the new engine.....if your engine already old there is no point to use fully-syn oil...unless you used it from day 1.....you must protect your engine while your engine is still new...and after a few years it is ok to use only semi or mineral...
wezeer
post Jun 8 2012, 03:05 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(forter @ Jun 8 2012, 02:52 PM)
bro....fully synthetic oil is only good for the new engine.....if your engine already old there is no point to use fully-syn oil...unless you used it from day 1.....you must protect your engine while your engine is still new...and after a few years it is ok to use only semi or mineral...
fully-syn on old engine...today you fill...tomorrow @ day after dry already...
Turbocrazy
post Jun 8 2012, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(forter @ Jun 8 2012, 02:52 PM)
bro, have u actually try downgrading from fully-syn to mineral yet?? how does the engine runs?? Did u hear or feel any different??
Anyhow, when I upgrade from mineral to syn oil, its also depends how old is the engine, older ones - higher viscosity..
rapidbumi
post Jun 8 2012, 04:02 PM

wonder if this enkei looks good on bold cfe...

This post has been edited by rapidbumi: Jun 8 2012, 04:03 PM

taqu
post Jun 8 2012, 08:50 PM

864 posts

Stock Bold CFE rims good-looking enough to me :-)
neo1point3
post Jun 8 2012, 11:05 PM

174 posts

But if the rims is the shiny type then looks nicer I think
Turbocrazy
post Jun 9 2012, 07:55 AM

QUOTE(taqu @ Jun 8 2012, 08:50 PM)
Stock Bold CFE rims good-looking enough to me :-)
But I'm having headache cleaning the stock rims, and it gets dirty very easy too!! sad.gif
Anyhow, I think its also depends on what color ur ride to match with the color of ur rims..
My ride is white, I match it with darker color rims, and 5 spoke rims are much easier to maintain.
I'm now using my camry 17" rims, the camry been upgraded to 18" biggrin.gif
I felt that the ride (exora bold) been much improved, in terms of handling & taut feel... biggrin.gif
Attached is a picture for ur pleasure... tongue.gif

V12Kompressor
post Jun 9 2012, 09:02 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(rapidbumi @ Jun 8 2012, 04:02 PM)
wonder if this enkei looks good on bold cfe...
IMO either take those VIP style one (like those manhole cover one) or those with more spokes (>12spokes) biggrin.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 9 2012, 12:28 PM

12,696 posts

Can someone pls tell me more about this GPS that comes with the Bold? What brand? What model? Does it read Malfreemaps etc. thks
TSazlan83
post Jun 9 2012, 01:21 PM

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 9 2012, 12:28 PM)
Can someone pls tell me more about this GPS that comes with the Bold? What brand? What model? Does it read Malfreemaps etc. thks
lokatoo a1000hd...not support malfreemaps...using wince 6.0 . there are some upgrade to papago x8.5 and garmin...but i still using stock software. ok laaa
brotan
post Jun 9 2012, 01:30 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(azlan83 @ Jun 9 2012, 01:21 PM)
lokatoo a1000hd...not support malfreemaps...using wince 6.0 . there are some upgrade to papago x8.5 and garmin...but i still using stock software. ok laaa
is the gps built in to the car or it is those normal gps you can detach?
critters
post Jun 9 2012, 02:15 PM

41 posts

not build in... normal detechment one....

regarding the sport rim on eb... have you look at R3 rim for exora?

This post has been edited by critters: Jun 9 2012, 02:16 PM
Longy
post Jun 9 2012, 04:32 PM

My EBP is 50 days old, so far the car runs wells except for few unresolved problems.

1.Top half of the driver seat rocking. Local proton SC says " the car come like that". They try to tighten nuts at the bottom of the seat. But problem still exists

2. " errrrrrrrgh " sound when hit pot holes. First service, SC loosened some screws and tightned at the undercarriage. But the problem still exists. Strangely this sound comes out only at few pot holes and not all pot holes and speedbreakers. rclxub.gif

I did not have much problem with choosing the oil for my 1st service. The SC had both 30 -10W, 40-10W. I went for 30-10W semi synthetic.

To those who are planning to buy EB, you need to have some tolerance for minor problems.
Good things about EBP is speed and space thumbup.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 9 2012, 04:48 PM

12,696 posts

I decided to get the car manual and solve this once and for all on engine oil. Page 127. API SL rated oil or higher.

For Ambient temperature up to 40 deg C.
SAE 10W30

For Ambient temperature up to 50 deg C.
SAE 10W40, 10W50, 15W40, 15W50,20W40, 20W50

Do NOT use 5w40, 5W50, 5W30, 5W20.
These are for Ambient Temperature 20 deg and below ohmy.gif

10W30 would be the best choice for Malaysian climate. Since Malaysian Ambient temperature is ~30 deg C, there is still a huge safety margin because 10W30 can withstand up to 40 deg C.

xW40 or xW50 is too thick and will reduce performance and increase fuel consumption and we do not have Ambient temperature of 50 deg C.

As for service interval, for severe (city stop-start and long idling) it is every 5000-km. Otherwise it is 10,000-km.

1st service is 1000-km.

To keep it simple, just remember, do not use anything starting with 5Wxxx. It must be either 10Wxxx or 15Wxxx or 20Wxxx

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 9 2012, 05:34 PM
taqu
post Jun 9 2012, 07:15 PM

864 posts

Here's what I found from Petronas:

Syntium 800 SL 10W-30
Viscosity at 40 °C 74.1
Viscosity 100 °C 11.2

Syntium 800 SM 5W-30 (I'm currently using this)
Viscosity at 40 °C 62.3
Viscosity at 100 °C 11.1

Same viscosity at 100C, not much difference at 40C (start-up temperature). Fully synthetic engine oils don't have 10W-30, only 0W-30 due to much stronger film strength.

This article tells more :

http://www.worldsbestoil.ca/which-30-weight-oil.php
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 9 2012, 07:22 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Jun 9 2012, 07:15 PM)
Here's what I found from Petronas:

Syntium 800 SL 10W-30
Viscosity at 40 °C  74.1
Viscosity 100 °C  11.2

Syntium 800 SM 5W-30 (I'm currently using this)
Viscosity at 40 °C  62.3
Viscosity at 100 °C  11.1

Same viscosity at 100C, not much difference at 40C (start-up temperature). Fully synthetic engine oils don't have 10W-30, only 0W-30 due to much stronger film strength.

This article tells more :

http://www.worldsbestoil.ca/which-30-weight-oil.php
I too find it very strange and do not understand as to why Proton said 10Wx is OK but not 5Wx. Because AFAIK, the 10W and 5W are only relevant during cold engine start and the has nothing to do with final operating temperature.

And from my checking around, it seems Lotus is hinting to use only Mineral because you seldom see Synthetic with 10W30.

But the undeniable fact is, Proton/Lotus designed and built the engine so who are we to argue? IMO, we just have to accept what they said and stick to 10W30.

taqu
post Jun 9 2012, 07:34 PM

864 posts

Not all SCs have 10W-30 oils, hence why I use 5W-30 instead. On my 1000km service I even have to use 10W-40 bcoz that SC doesn't have 30-weight Petronas Syntiums.

As long as it doesn't void my warranty I'm fine with that. Perhaps I'll switch to Petronas Syntium 5000 0W-30 on my next service.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 9 2012, 07:43 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Jun 9 2012, 07:34 PM)
Not all SCs have 10W-30 oils, hence why I use 5W-30 instead. On my 1000km service I even have to use 10W-40 bcoz that SC doesn't have 30-weight Petronas Syntiums.

As long as it doesn't void my warranty I'm fine with that. Perhaps I'll switch to Petronas Syntium 5000 0W-30 on my next service.
I would not want to do that. If Lotus/Proton says 5Wx is not OK, then 0Wx would be even worst.

CFE manual clearly says NOT to use 5Wx and yet they gave it to you. So I think they are either idiots or illiterate rclxub.gif

taqu
post Jun 9 2012, 11:29 PM

864 posts

IMO either 5W-30 or 10W-30 should be fine for our weather. Petronas Syntium 10W-30 flows at 74.1CST at 40 degrees while Petronas Syntium 5W-30 flows at 62.3CST at 40 degrees. More than thick enough for our weather. Plus 5W or 0W flows faster at startup than 10W, even in 25-35 degrees here, meaning better protection due to less time to reach engine on startup.

Viscosity at 80-100C is more important, here both oils are same. Otherwise Petronas/Mobil/Castrol won't dare selling 0W-30 synthetic oils locally.

That's why I wonder why Proton discourages lower than 10W. Perhaps it's due to 10W-30 oils being cheaper than 5W-30/0W-30 oils. Or does Proton only means lower than 30 weight is not recommended? NVM I'll stick to SC's 5W-30 until next service.

Added on June 9, 2012, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(azlan83 @ Jun 9 2012, 01:21 PM)
I use Papago X8.5 and Garmin in my Lokatoo. Much better than stock app.

Added on June 9, 2012, 11:43 pmBumping my previous home dyno. Guys, be proud our our EB CFE's performance smile.gif

This post has been edited by taqu: Jun 9 2012, 11:43 PM

124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0378sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:30 PM