QUOTE(rorytan98 @ Dec 17 2017, 04:07 PM)
Hi guys, I would like you to give me an advice regarding my situation.
I am an A level student, keen on pursuing medicine. there are two things that I am concerned now.
The long working hrs, and the amount of stress worries me, so may I ask, how do u balance yr life and work now? (doctors) Currently, u still work 9-5 every day with on calls? Or still got night shift? Around how many hours u work per week?
In future, I want to prioritize my family, I dun mind to be busy working in early days of HO and MO, but I prefer to have more time for my family at middle 30, is that possible for a doctor to have balance life afterward?
-I like biology, and I am willing to help people, but somehow I am afraid of surgery part, I feel like I would not able to perform it well, my hand will feel numb and a bit panic.. when I saw video about chest tube insertion, I scared, so does it mean that medic might not suit me? Or it is just a natural phenomenon for pre-medical students?
Most probably I would not major surgical parts in postgraduate studies, so basically, what are the surgical skills that an HO need to know? Maybe this can make me more prepared.
Tq
Kesian... let me answer your questions from my experience working in the Govt. hospital in Sabah...
For your first question, the terrible and most stressful period that I had was during the housemanship period (A.K.A Hellmanship) which NORMALLY spans for a duration of 2 years if one doesn't get extended in any department... that is easier said than done, particularly if one gets Sabah/Sarawak hospitals where the extension rate is HIGH. (they truly expect the new MO to be fully competent after HO-ship here in Sabah/Sarawak when they post the new MO in God-knows-where jungle/island)
Housemanship is where you are at the mercy of your Medical Officers/Specialists/Consultants... and even senior nurses... they will scold you... humiliate you... become their slave etc etc...
The tagging weeks of each posting are the worst... some department requires you to remain from 6AM - 11PM everyday for 6 days straight (one day off) for two weeks... at the end of the two weeks - some sort of Off-tagging test need to be taken, if you pass you are allowed to join the rest of the HOs working the 'normal hours' and you are considered 'competent-enough' to work night-shift...
If you fail... the horrendous tagging period continues... and you will be re-assessed again at a later time as decided by the specialist...
Even if you have off-tagged... forget the fixed schedule they give you... you will still be expected to come earlier than the MOs to review the cases in wards... and go back home once ALL of your pending tasks/assisted-surgery are completed... An off-tagged houseman usually gets a full-day off and a night-shift workday in a week... but this depends on the number of houseman available in that particular department... if there is a lack of houseman... the night shift system will become 'On-Call' system... this is particularly true in very large deparments such as Medical department...
There are mandatory exams (both theory and clinical) and procedures to be completed before you can be allowed to complete the posting and move on to another... From my experience... Paediatrics and OBGyn postings are the most difficult...
In these departments - its a HO eat HO world... HOs compete with each other to get compulsory procedures that doesn't come by so often...
In pediatrics for example - one must pass the Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP) both theory and practical... before being allowed to escort patients and allowed to be posted in NICU level 3/become runner in delivery room/OT... and the valuable procedures one must get are often found in NICU level 3/delivery room/OT... eg; Neonatal intubation, Umbilical cord catheterization, etc...
You will even have to 'camp'/sleep in the hospital after working hours in order to get these procedures... if you are lucky... you may be able to get it... even that depends on whether the MO/Specialists allows it... if you have bad rep with them.... then good luck... you might just be extended indefinitely due to inability to procure these compulsory procedures...
If you failed twice in a posting... you will be transferred OUT to another hospital in ANOTHER STATE (eg; Sabah to Sarawak, vice versa) and is given final chance to repeat the same posting there... fail again... then say good bye to your job and good bye to ever becoming a doctor...
... there is a lot I can talk about on HELLMANSHIP from my own experience... but lets stop there for now....
Once you manage to become a full-fledged Medical Officer (MO)... the state health department will decide where to send you... be it Govt Health Clinics, District Hospitals, Referral Hospitals or even absorbed into management... Life as a medical officer differs in each of the aforementioned places... with the busiest being referral hospitals... and most relaxed in Management... overall... a better life than a life of a puny Houseman...
On your second question... liking Biology is not a strong enough reason to do medicine... and lets not get ahead of yourself talking about surgery/surgical skills before you even manage to enter medical school... many of my colleagues could not withstand medical school or even housemanship and quit.... thus wasting hundred thousands of ringgit in tuition fees/living cost that could have been better used for some other purposes...
This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Dec 17 2017, 10:56 PM