11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

cckkpr
post Jun 3 2012, 09:18 PM

4,514 posts

How was your first six months in Monash? Happy with it despite all the brickbats thrown at it? Poor comparison with Clayton?
cckkpr
post Jun 5 2012, 07:19 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 5 2012, 05:29 AM)
Closer to 3 months than 6 smile.gif

Very happy with the program biggrin.gif. As I mentioned before, since we have a smaller batch compared to our seniors (100 us, 130 Year 2, 300+ Clayton), I found that PBL sessions are more effective. But then it could be just my group smile.gif There are bad apples of course, but I guess the quality of medical students overall hv been diluted by the number of seats available @ other medical schools as well.

In comparison to Clayton, as I mentioned, we're able to access their lecture recordings but not vice versa. There are a lot of good lecturers in Clayton that I enjoy listening too (e.g Eizenberg, Kerr, Nandurkar, Bullock) in addition to good lecturers in Sunway. I especially enjoy the fact that tutorials were conducted by specialists in that field (e.g histology/pathology tutorials by pathologist, immune system by immunologist, HIV by HIV specialist etc.) instead of some random teachers.

The course has some downsides - probably no internship opportunity in Australia despite being accredited by AMC, astronomical tuition fees compared to other schools and for some people - no cadavers.

But then I try not to get too excited with being in Monash. If my government loan is not approved, I'm going to have to go to UTAR instead smile.gif
I wish you all the best in your loan application. JPA loan/Mara and gomen recent additional funding.
cckkpr
post Jun 5 2012, 10:17 PM

4,514 posts

Just hope that educational establishments and the governing councils should look at better governance, transparency and social responsibility. When all these goes with awareness, a lot of presumptions is unnecessary.
cckkpr
post Jun 6 2012, 03:10 PM

4,514 posts

Is it not the norm at least to have specialists, though not subspecialist, lecturing at med schools?

Most topics are guided by a syllabus and experienced lecturers will know what is required in the earlier years than the later years.

I would reckon that somebody with more than 10 years of lecturing experience can do it without referring to his notes.

Well, I suppose that med schools know best and the strive for excellence is always there.
cckkpr
post Jun 15 2012, 02:47 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jun 15 2012, 01:06 PM)
And the russian recruitment continues...

"Dear Potential Medical Student ,

Pls see the basic information as below .
We offer the most affordable MMC ( Malaysian Medical Council ) Recognised medical Courses .
We offer hope to the millions who believe that Affordable Quality Education is available to them.
We are Russian Resources and we have been sending students to study Medical Studies in Moscow , Volgograd & Nizhny for the past 14 Years .

We have sent more than 2500 students to date.

We also send Government Sponsored Students like JPA , MARA & other GOV or State Sponsorships ( Yayasan ) .

Pls see the info as below & we would like to hilight the following:

1.0 Full Tuition & Hostel ( Total 6 Years with STPM or Equivalent entry ) only
- Nizhny RM 109,000 +/- , Volgograd RM 119,000 + / - .
* All pricings subject to the US Dollar .

2.0 Fully recognised by MMC ( Malaysian Medical Council ) .

3.0 We fully promote Nizhny & Volgograd as they have a very caring culture for students & the environment is condusive for studying .

4.0 We have approx 350+ Malaysian Students each in both Nizhny & Volgograd . Half are from JPA & MARA .

5.0 We will recommend Pre Medical for Students in Malaysia via Special Russian Course , but we fully recommend the students to do their foundation in Russia as their 1st intital year in Russia will fully benefit them.
This is the best pathway for students with SPM Qualifications .

6.0 The Founder of Russian Resources is also the Honorary Consul of the Russian Federation .

7.0 Qualified students can also apply for JPA Loan on the 2nd year . JPA selects the students based on the good 1st year results .
The Loan will cover all manners of Tuition Fees.

( If interested , pls request more information )

So we can contact you to help you fullfill your dreams to become a doctor and not be a victim of scams of untruthful agents.

Pls email or contact me if you have any questions or clarification needed.

We also have OIL & Gas Engineering and Aircraft Engineering . 5 Year Course Tuition only below RM 55,000.00

Eswin Woo
Marketing Dept
Russian Resources Sdn Bhd
Mobile: + 6 012 4925727
Head Office : Russian Resources Sdn. Bhd.
28 floor -A1 , Gurney Tower .
18 Persiaran Gurney
10250 George Town
PENANG "

What happened to their Russian State Medical University and Moscow Medical Academy?

Also no longer keen to put students into Kurst University?

Added on June 15, 2012, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 15 2012, 01:40 PM)
If it's not for the fact that I have a family in tow, I'd contemplate going to Russia too....

Added on June 15, 2012, 1:44 pmBtw - http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...2854&sec=nation

So.. lets take a bet - how many medical schools from China will be included in the schedule? brows.gif
What happened?

Why the contrast with your Monash now and Russia? These are two extremes!

Getting stressed up waiting for your funding approval?

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jun 15 2012, 02:50 PM
cckkpr
post Jun 15 2012, 04:35 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 15 2012, 03:58 PM)
Yeap. I was already given an "eviction notice".

*goes to suck thumb at a corner*
Never give up. Keep trying and all you need is just THAT one!
cckkpr
post Jun 22 2012, 09:59 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jun 22 2012, 08:39 PM)
Is it even remotely POSSIBLE that their results sucked?  tongue.gif
When you need qualified students, you cannot get to even filled up the allotted quota. So they follow and came up with the foundation program. Out of the blue, JPA sent some students due to the high costs in Monash and Imu.
To resolve this matter, the quota needs to be increased. Others would also asked for more and we will make the current situation worse.

Added on June 22, 2012, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 22 2012, 08:36 PM)
UCSI JPA scholars in trouble.. dum dee dum

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v6/newsgeneral.php?id=675035
Was the number of medical students in Monash this year who came from mufy much less compared to the previous year and if true, what was the reason?

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jun 22 2012, 10:05 PM
cckkpr
post Jun 23 2012, 08:24 AM

4,514 posts

This would be a blessing in disguise for JPA. The same thing happened to those "conditionally" offered places in Imu and Monash who did not do well in their pre-u.

Perhaps Quest and Lincoln can be the white knights.
cckkpr
post Jun 23 2012, 09:33 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Jun 23 2012, 08:41 AM)
Are they talking about 13 out of 55 PSD premedic students given places in UCSI MBBS programme or UCSI only able to admit 13 to their premedic course ?
If only 13 meets the minimum requirements,then something is very wrong with SPM assessment.
cckkpr
post Jun 23 2012, 03:41 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 23 2012, 02:05 PM)
they did not fail to meet the requirement with spm....but their performance at the foundation.....

it is quite common for top spm students to falter at their pre-u level....and vice versa....

like i said, it is often a matter of motivation...many spm students peak at spm and burn out after that.....they think that getting a scholarship is the ultimate aim, and life is easy after that....

big mistake.... smile.gif
The non-academic criteria selection by JPA must be blamed.
Furthermore, if it's foundation that the students were put through and not edexel, it's more shameful.
Actually, I don't subscribe to the thinking that students who did not do well in SPM will do well in the pre-u. Those who succeed are more of exceptions; language based courses, creative arts or IT etc. Of course, some "smarties" who bloom later due to laziness or lack of focus.
cckkpr
post Jun 25 2012, 07:39 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 24 2012, 11:24 PM)
that is correct...

however, for a 'research' to be given any value, it has to be published in an indexed publication...so some simple research done within 6 months is unlikely to be published......and thus of no value....

the 7 points is NOT vital, unless one is aiming to apply for an academic f1 post, or applying to a london deanery....

i would advise to take this 6 months to do something you like OUTSIDE medicine.....it will be the last long break in your life, till you retire.... smile.gif

sounds like heading for notts?..... biggrin.gif
Looks like a pms situation?
Enforced vacation arising from matching.
cckkpr
post Jul 2 2012, 01:14 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 2 2012, 11:49 AM)
rural does NOT mean some place you need to fly to....
It means taking a 4 wheel, follow by a boat ride and a motor boat and no tv access.
cckkpr
post Jul 2 2012, 03:08 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 2 2012, 03:00 PM)
I've come to terms with the fact that ROI in monetary sense has become irrelevant. It may be my I, but definitely not my R. wink.gif
Maybe RR!
cckkpr
post Jul 2 2012, 05:31 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 2 2012, 03:21 PM)
RR =  Rental Return? It better not be anything to do with my (increased) Respiratory Rate!
Positive thinking leh.
cckkpr
post Jul 4 2012, 03:33 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 4 2012, 03:21 PM)
victoria medical students may all get their housemanship after all...including international students, with the new priority policy....
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/national/educatio...l#ixzz1zdUujKVN
At the end of the day, money talks. Don't frighten or kill the golden goose. The global economy does not look good and China may not take so much of the natural resources.
cckkpr
post Jul 11 2012, 03:24 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 11 2012, 12:14 PM)
OK... gov replied

I get to stay in Monash smile.gif
Great!
cckkpr
post Jul 16 2012, 03:50 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Rin @ Jul 16 2012, 03:34 PM)
Nope, I'm just a BA graduate... dang it Malaysia, y u make courses when can't place ppl into jobs  sad.gif
I don't see the relevance of your complaint. rclxub.gif
cckkpr
post Jul 25 2012, 11:42 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jul 25 2012, 09:12 AM)
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2012/...mania-news.html

felt sad reading this yesterday sad.gif hope things will change in the next year or so. sigh... Starting to worry about my future as an intern. hopefully i'll (and most of the international students who're intending to stay) be able to stay here.
On the one hand, there are giving students the opportunity to stay on upon graduation and on the other hand, they put some banana skins along the way.

Yeah, back to the same old thing that they don't guarantee your internship. And they keep increasing the fees. What a load of shit!
cckkpr
post Jul 25 2012, 02:15 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 25 2012, 12:10 PM)
http://www.amsa.org.au/internship-crisis

the shortfall is shrinking, as new internship places are being created....down from the iriginal 495 to current 373.....

tasmania has guaranteed all csp students intern places...

tasmania has a population of 1/2 million, and needs only about 50-60 new doctors a year, so current numbers are significantly more than is required....traditionally, since the med school was established in the 60's many victoria students who can't get a place in the then only 2 med schools go to utas, and then return to vic for jobs....as can be seen from the vic numbers, vic now has surplus and likely not take interstate graduates....remember, vic place priority in selection on vic graduates, irrespective of residency status in oz.....

the good news is that all states are now actively looking at solving this problem......and may eventually be able to place all internationals who want internship....the 'bad' news is, this will often mean regional/rural jobs....

Added on July 25, 2012, 12:12 pm
the new policy of graduate visas is a different thing from internship....

the graduate visa is just to allow students to stay on for a time, and does NOT guarantee a job...

internship is a guaranteed job.....

the tuition fees charged is for education, and not to 'buy' a job after graduating....therefore like all courses, no university can guarantee a job for their students.....in spite of increasing fees, and the strong aud, there appears to be no shortage of applicants for these places.....
Not guaranteed, fine but by implication, deemed to be more jobs available than graduates.

internship guaranteed? then why onelove89 is worrying?

Oh yeah, the increase in fees and the strong aud is already felt. A friend told me some are coming back to study locally especially those who enroll at the beginning of this year.
cckkpr
post Jul 25 2012, 05:09 PM

4,514 posts

Just to update on the guy, who is a good student but did not get any interviews from his applications to UK, has apparently secured a conditional offer from Queens in Belfast through an agent.

The agent informed that all other UK universities medic places are now filled.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:34 AM