CyberSetan
post Jun 9 2012, 03:44 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Past news:

Govt urged to cancel Lincoln College’s licence

B Nantha Kumar

| May 21, 2012

A PKR leader accuses the Health Minister of deliberately ignoring the controversy surrounding the private institution.

PETALING JAYA: A PKR leader today sought the withdrawal of a licence given to Lincoln University College (LUC) to run an offshore medical programme in the Ukraine.

Malacca PKR vice chairman G Rajendran, referring to a report that LUC was one of four private colleges that were fined last year for breaching a moratorium on nursing courses, said it was “strange” that the government had ignored this bad record when approving the licence last Nov 29.

However, it is not clear whether the breach was discovered before or after Nov 29.

The disclosure of the offence came last March 26 from Deputy Higher Education Minister Hou Kok Chung, who was replying to a question in Parliament. The moratorium, to address the problem of oversupply of nurses, has been in place since July 2010.

LUC and MMC could not be contacted for comment.

Source: http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...80%99s-licence/

Older but related news:

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...leading-public/

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ion-through-pm/

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...right-with-mmc/

~

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jun 9 2012, 03:56 PM
CyberSetan
post Jun 10 2012, 01:33 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Latest Episode:

http://youtu.be/xtmTwNeaqYc

Past 5 episodes:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=51840777
CyberSetan
post Jun 15 2012, 04:26 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

http://youtu.be/UovB4DjkZ2I
CyberSetan
post Jun 15 2012, 05:37 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

... back in 2010:

http://youtu.be/xc1b-2LBmIM
CyberSetan
post Jun 28 2012, 05:34 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Browsing around youtube - I encountered an idiot trying to remove a post-auricular dermoid...

Made in Malaysia for sure~

http://youtu.be/LDo7Kw1Dhp4

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jun 28 2012, 05:34 AM
CyberSetan
post Jul 2 2012, 02:54 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Some old but interesting news from outside~

http://youtu.be/tpHu9CyZYLU

http://youtu.be/hDABFcepZ8o
CyberSetan
post Jul 12 2012, 07:57 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

etc news~

1 lakh = 100,000

http://youtu.be/acjDBzQTPH4

http://youtu.be/b9cYD9RbDkQ

http://youtu.be/RY-oI3ZzsRk

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jul 12 2012, 08:16 AM
CyberSetan
post Jul 16 2012, 03:22 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 16 2012, 09:07 AM)
india has a failed and failing healthcare system....and they are doing the wrong things to address the problem....

never mix up evidence based modern medicine system with largely non evidenced based alternative systems....

like i said earlier, they should have trained paramedics to provide basic healthcare like msia, rather than mixing everything up....a recipe for disaster....
I quote from one of the comments:

When the patient comes to Allopathy doctor he studies the patient first with the anatomy and finds the cause(Pathology), Distribution of the disease (Epidemiology), knows the type of microorganisms causing (microbiology) ,understands the disease nature (medicine) and understands the indications and contraindication for the drugs (Pharmocology).

He applies all these after seeing a patient then come to decisionwhether to treat him conservatively Medicines)or need Operation (Surgery). So it is the knowledge off all the subjects studied in 5 yrs in allopathy will be applied to treat the patient.

How can you cutshort all these and treat the patient by learning only Pharmacology? and in One year!!! Great !!

Importantly the most abused drugs by these quacks are steroids and antibiotics.Does these ministers are concerned about the consequence of the public health with this?

To prescribe one antibiotic in UK , you have a system and protocol. The higher antibiotics given to the patients is one of the main reason for having many drugs resistance organisms in India.

Whereas the same drugs are choosen carefully by the allopathy doctor but infrequently compelled to presribed to compete with the local quacks.

Does Health minister knows all these? Why cant they encourage the practice of other medicines in rural instead of blaming allopathy doctors ..The reason of giving a rural reason is a shitt..

He takes Money from association of the all the alternative medicine, amend the law and allow those people to practice allopathy.They know that they can make easy bucks.. These things can happen only in India.

Comment by Dr.Jagadeesh
2012-07-14 07:44:52

Source: http://www.aalatimes.com/2012/07/13/ayush-...tra-government/

I just hope this stupidity will never happen in Malaysia - we have a lot of quacks already in our country - if they can prescribe allopathic medicines, it will be disasterous~

The level of corruption in that particular state medical council (Maharashtra) is unanimaginable, same goes for the other states - but to legalize allopathic treatment by AYUSH practitioner is certainly the first ever to be done~!

(AYUSH - Ayurveda, Unani, Siddha, Homeopathy)

On traditional and complementary medicine (TCM) practitioners in Malaysia, I hope with the tabled TCM Act their practice will be strictly regulated with evidence-based treatment as their core practice.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jul 16 2012, 03:24 PM
CyberSetan
post Jul 16 2012, 03:31 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Rin @ Jul 16 2012, 03:26 PM)
Studied and even had industrial placement in govt hosp but never got placed in healthcare dept after I graduated.... how do you guys/gals get da job meh?
Firstly... tell us this...
Are you an MBBS/MD/MBChB BAO graduate? if so from where? if not... then answers is simple...

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jul 16 2012, 03:40 PM
CyberSetan
post Jul 17 2012, 12:26 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

... I've been considering an offer by Govt. TCM department to join them later when I finish my HO...

http://tcm.moh.gov.my/v4/bmelayu/

What do you guys think? - should I go bust some quacks?

anyway... here is an 'entertainment':

http://youtu.be/MBZTeyfWvNo

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jul 17 2012, 12:48 AM
CyberSetan
post Jul 17 2012, 05:06 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 17 2012, 02:43 PM)
Actually, SGH and NUH charges are not that high, compared to private hospitals in Spore.....

Wipples is a pretty old and standard operation, and is performed frequently in many msian hospitals, especially those with hbp units....

However, people will always look to a more 'advanced' country for 'better' care....indonesians come to msia, msians go to spore, and sporeans go to oz/us....
Ironically... many patients from the 'advanced' countries are here in India for treatment... just this morning a came across a couple from US seeking heart treatment in our VIVUS Heart centre...

http://www.vivushealth.net/our-hospitals.html

(I am posted in the 1st hospital in the list above)
CyberSetan
post Aug 2 2012, 04:46 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Basically the story below is about - >A trauma surgeon by 26 y.o, graduated from three instituitions:

- Peking Uni
- Kings College London
- Royal College of Surgeon

Actively involved in overseas aid missions... Have even written a book about it~

Saturday July 28, 2012

Doubts over ‘army doc

MAJOR Chinese dailies have published doubts from the public over the medical qualifications of a 26-year-old man who claimed to be a military doctor, serving in war-torn countries.

Sin Chew Daily reported that Winson Seow has said in past media interviews that he graduated from Peking University Health Science Centre, King's College London and The Royal College of Surgeons of England.

Source: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5915&sec=nation

Links:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...2409&sec=nation

http://drwinsonseow.wordpress.com/about/

http://www.facebook.com/ToServeWithLove.my

then again.... ?

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Aug 2 2012, 06:05 AM
CyberSetan
post Aug 2 2012, 12:27 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

To have lasted this long and even published a book... That is something... He even had an interview with TV3...

I guess he must have known and prepared for this all this while...

Pity to all the Malaysians that have been scammed and given false motivation by this fellow...

Very easy to claim 'doctor' these days...

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Aug 2 2012, 01:32 PM
CyberSetan
post Aug 15 2012, 03:19 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Aug 15 2012, 03:03 AM)
anatomy - chaurahsia
physiology - guyton
Conclusion: SticH must have had Indian lecturers brows.gif

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Aug 15 2012, 03:20 AM
CyberSetan
post Oct 2 2012, 03:32 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Documentary time:

CyberSetan
post Oct 2 2012, 11:53 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 2 2012, 06:13 AM)
Visible body is good as an atlas smile.gif . But it lacks things like ligaments and clinical-oriented info.
What are the odds that you posted just right after that and didnt event see my post.. aihhh  cry.gif  cry.gif
I saw that post. I'm not familiar with Vishram Singh's book. Here in India we use the somewhat 'standard' book for the entire country for anatomy subject - by Chaurasia. (3 volumes)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uf4elGpkdhM

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Oct 2 2012, 11:58 AM
CyberSetan
post Dec 20 2012, 08:07 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(medwolf @ Dec 20 2012, 03:00 AM)
hello guys, im new here.
im spm grad and interested in doing medicine.
i have questions regarding a level  icon_question.gif
should i enroll to college in jan or march.
let say i enroll in january.
then, what if i get good result for my spm(which in march) then apply for scholarships and got offers for overseas.
what im afraid/unsure is if i reject those offers and continue my a level will i get to receive scholarship again to do pre med/degree?  unsure.gif

and what subjects should i take for a level.
i have done my homework  biggrin.gif  and thinking of taking chemistry and biology.
but idk what to take for 1 more subject.
if can i really dont want to take physics and take mathematics instead.
but for medicine do i really have to take physics or there is other option?

thanks in advance  biggrin.gif
If you get a straight A's result for your SPM, you can try and might get the JPA scholarship to do medicine. They will sponsor you to do the A-levels and send you wherever they like after that.

eg; We got JPA students in MSU-IMS Bangalore who did their A-Levels in MSU Shah Alam.

If you don't mind being sent anywhere to do medicine by JPA and don't have the $$$ to do it privately... just apply and take the JPA route if it is offered to you~

Added on December 20, 2012, 8:15 amHere is a blog of one of my juniors (JPA scholar) and her experience:

http://www.tzequan.blogspot.com/2012/03/i-...end-myself.html

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Dec 20 2012, 08:17 AM
CyberSetan
post Dec 20 2012, 11:07 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 20 2012, 10:00 AM)
India's med course is much expensive compared to the local private Us, is that correct?
Mostly yes... except a few IPTS... eg; Perdana Uni~ biggrin.gif
(can do MBBS almost three times over in India with their tuition fee)

CyberSetan
post Dec 24 2012, 08:14 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

On Tun Dr. Lim Keng Yaik's demise...

...Dr Lim died at 5.13pm on Saturday, leaving behind his wife Toh Puan Wong Yoon Chuan and three children. He was 73.

Si Pin said he and his family were in Hong Kong on a holiday when he got a call from his father to return home.

“He was supposed to join us on the trip, but he pulled out when he started having problems with his leg. He had been ill for a year and was hospitalised on Friday with breathing difficulties,” he added.

Si Pin said Dr Lim requested to be moved back home from the hospital as “he wanted to pass away in his own house”.

When asked what was his father's last words to the family, Si Pin replied: “Live life and go on...now you don't have to stay three feet from me.”...

Source: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...0024&sec=nation

Since we have yet to know the actual cause of death and if we are to speculate... could it possibly be due to pulmonary infarct from an emboli coming from his leg? DVT? ... ? Then again he was ill for the past 1 year...? cancer perhaps?

Anyway... RIP for the late Tun and condolences for his family.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Dec 24 2012, 08:16 AM
CyberSetan
post Dec 24 2012, 04:17 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 24 2012, 01:48 PM)
This is sort of a dumb question, any particular sort of malignancies that normally presents with VTE/DIC? Was thinking of haemato malignancies? or solids have equal chances?
An embolus can consist of a fragmented malignant mass from its primary or secondary sites.
Hemato malignancies...? Yes... AML can lead to DVT.

Other D/D?

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Dec 24 2012, 04:18 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0798sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:14 PM