330 posts

It's not about the fame or money.

It's about helping people. biggrin.gif
Jckc
post Aug 20 2013, 10:39 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(Makira @ Aug 20 2013, 09:38 AM)
Wanna help people???? Then choose nurse, firefighter.....they help people also....  rolleyes.gif
Each occupation helps people in different ways. smile.gif

It depends on one's own passion and interest but the main goal is still about helping people.
Jckc
post Aug 20 2013, 10:45 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 20 2013, 10:37 AM)
Just heard the head girl in Concord College with 4A* did not manage to get any offer for medicine in the UK this year. Locally, the number of interviews at KYUEM for this cycle was significantly less too, according to those in the know.
I agree on your point about KYUEM students getting lesser interviews.

Before my interview with one of the UK university, the interview attendant mentioned to me that number of Malaysians attending the interview was less than previous years, especially those from KYUEM, which was about 3-4 as I could roughly remember.
(Malaysia was the interview branch for southeast asia for that particular university).
Jckc
post Aug 20 2013, 11:13 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(Makira @ Aug 20 2013, 11:07 AM)
Elaborate it to the interviewers.......helping people alone is a poor answer.......
haha, I don't think I want to elaborate the whole points behind helping people.

But generally, you get the idea of doctors on helping people, rather than chasing wealth or fame. smile.gif
Jckc
post Aug 26 2013, 08:53 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 26 2013, 08:42 PM)
For the UK locals, I know they can re-apply the following year, if they fail to secure a place the first time.
Even for internationals, it's the same.

Most of them who didnt secure a place during first round would take time to improve their UKCAT score and personal statement throughout the year. This involves during more voluntary work and hospital attachments.
Jckc
post Sep 8 2013, 11:41 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(ltvl0929 @ Sep 8 2013, 03:58 AM)
Hmm, I've recently been through the admissions cycle and most of the basic requirements are only AAA, and conditional offers my friends and I got were only AAA, one even being AABa. As for the forecast results, from what I experienced I also think it's just to see if we're academically strong enough, rest of the selection are based on our interview performance, personal statement, teacher's reference and UKCAT. So they basically give scores for each section and decide from there.
I remember doing an interview survey by a foreigner on our thoughts of a private medical university in UK that resembles a lot like this university, sky-high fees and uncapped international student quota. It's really happening!  shocking.gif
I did the survey too. hoho.

Different universities rank their applicants differently wink.gif
You may ask the universities about the admission procedures, usually they have some kind of form to rank them,
through FOI.

Jckc
post Sep 15 2013, 11:27 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 15 2013, 08:25 PM)
International fees soar to £200k for a degree

21 August 2013
Cambridge is the most expensive medical school for international students who must pay almost £200,000 for their degrees.
The Complete University Guide has set out the annual fees for students on undergraduate courses around the UK.
Cambridge tuition fees for international students come to £165,345 over the five-year course, while compulsory college fees of up to £6,500 a year take the total to £197,845.
Edinburgh students face charges of £153,102 for their degrees.
The least expensive courses for international students are at Newcastle, £111,415 and Liverpool, £115,540.
The BMA has long highlighted the economic benefit to the UK of medical students coming from overseas.
BMA medical students committee joint deputy chair James Warwick (pictured above) said international students contributed to the UK in social, cultural and financial terms.
He said: ‘The increased cost of tuition fees is hard for home students but for many international students even a small rise in the already large fees that they pay could lead to many people not applying.’
Read the BMA's guide to medical student finance

More information about all types of university fees
Leicester also has one of the most cheapest fees, being 114,750 quid. biggrin.gif

Can't believe the prices are soaring at tremendous rates.. It will be difficult for internationals, especially Malaysians to study medicine in UK in the future. Sigh..
The strengthening of the sterling pounds ain't helping either. D:
Jckc
post Sep 17 2013, 12:21 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(michaelting90 @ Sep 16 2013, 07:54 PM)
Yup, I am aware of that. I initially wanted to go with Kings,Manchester, Edinburgh and Bristol. But then, I decided to give those schools a try as I would need to get into those schools to qualify for a JPA Overseas Scholarship.

Any advice on the interviews?
Sorry for barging in but Imperial and UCL interviews are conducted in the UK, in case you didnt know.

Can you apply for both Cambridge and Oxford? For my college, they only allowed one and not both.
I've heard news from my juniors in Taylors that JPA has cancelled off Imperial from the list but i need more clarification about this matter. biggrin.gif

You have a good UKCAT score. rclxms.gif If you're not facing financial difficulty, why not go for your initial choices?
Medical schools in the UK tend to be very competitive and getting into one of the top unis would be difficult but not impossible. icon_rolleyes.gif

As for interviews-wise, you can check out this link. It's kinda helpful. biggrin.gif
http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki/:What...chool_interview

All the best and good luck!
Jckc
post Sep 17 2013, 05:17 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(michaelting90 @ Sep 17 2013, 01:34 AM)
Yup, Imperial and UCL interviews are in Jan till March, and imperial  have cut off points for BMAT, i also noticed from the admission statistics that if you do get an interview at Imperial, you have an 80% chance of getting an offer.

Yup, either cambridge or oxford. Cambridge empahsises on your UMS, while oxford looks at percentage of A* obtained at GCSE. I did hear about a spm top 50 student being rejected from a JPA overseas scholarship despite gaining admission to imperial last year, reason being imperial is not recognised by malaysia's medical council, malaysia recognises degrees from university of london, and since imperial has parted with ulondon less than a decade ago, I guess the malaysian government has yet to update the recognition status in the Medical Act 1971. It is in the JPA list which came out last month though.

I am able to afford Kings at most, Cambridge and Imperial are off the charts, costing up to 1.2 million ringgit just for the tuition. YOLO, so I decided to give all the top schools a try and hope that JPA would be kind enough to sponsor my tertiary education.  tongue.gif

Thanks for the link! I will check it out in my spare time.
Haha, good luck then. smile.gif

As what parents would say, education is an investment, especially medicine.
Just make sure you have the sufficient tuition fees and living cost amount to survive there, in case JPA rejects you. wink.gif

Where are you taking your A Levels? Looking at your statement of UMS, i guess you should be taking Edexcel unless you're not studying in Malaysia. tongue.gif
CIE doesn't have UMS so as long you get perfect predicted grades, you would be fine.
The interviews are the ones that are most challenging.
Cheers!
Jckc
post Sep 17 2013, 09:56 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(michaelting90 @ Sep 17 2013, 06:02 PM)
Hi! I am taking my ALevels at Sunway College. CIE does have UMS but it is only required by one university, which is Cambridge.  tongue.gif  Others would just look at your grades(A*). 

Haha, my parents would prefer me studying dentistry, due to the better job prospects (which is a better investment in most cases). I initially thought about changing to dentistry, but I decided not to as I had no prior attachment work at dental clinics, and also I had gone too far down the road of applying to medical school to turn back. I just hope that I won't go jobless after graduation, in view of the current crisis of overpopulation of doctors here in Malaysia. Maybe things would turn out the same for dentists in the near future, as everyone is jumping on the dentist bandwagon.
Cool. smile.gif i don't know how they calculate UMS for CIE. We only got our percentile marks shown. :/

Ah, as long you have the passion for it, you will be fine. smile.gif
You just have to work hard and do well. Then, you will never be jobless haha.
Are you planning to stay in the UK or coming back to Malaysia for your housemenship?

Jckc
post Jun 7 2015, 06:47 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 7 2015, 01:15 PM)
How's this new rule , if implemented, affecting non-EU internationals at UK med schools vis-a-vis EU graduates ?

Appreciate insights .  notworthy.gif
I guess it's a way of standardising the quality of doctors. Prior to this, medical students from the UK were not required to sit for any proper final exams except the ones made by individual medical schools. (There are the SJTs and PSAs though)
Internationals were required to sit for PLAB to be eligible to work in the UK but how good it was in comparing IMGs to local grads? Some said PLAB was too lenient, some said otherwise.
But as pod runner said, it affects IMGs from EU more I believe.
Jckc
post Feb 4 2017, 06:57 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 4 2017, 12:05 PM)
Any idea how long the Tier 2 visa is valid for? Or rather, how long is the sponsorship from HEE? Just CT1 and CT2? Other Tier 2 visas are valid for 5 years and 14 months, subject to sponsorship.
im not too sure about this, but i believe is for your duration of the training. (so yes, if youre on core training, it will be for two years and then you reapply for higher speciality training). So, i guess if youre on a run through programme, your visa will be extended to the duration of training.

Edit: found a website from BMA
https://www.bma.org.uk/advice/employment/im...ship-in-england

"International graduates of UK medical schools will be able to compete for core and specialty training posts in England on an equal footing with their peers from the UK and EEA. This change particularly assists trainees who are moving from core training to ST3 and above, and those choosing a different career path which involves a change of sponsor."

So, in a nutshell, you will be under the same sponsor as long you get a job.

and another link about visa extension for run through programme:

"Certificates of sponsorship can be given for up to five years. This may apply to doctors on run-through training contracts.

Once your initial visa is coming to an end, you can apply for an extension of your visa for up to five more years provided you fulfil the criteria below:

You have the same job as when you were issued your previous visa
You are still working for the employer who assigned your certificate of sponsorship
You are still earning an appropriate salary – this is £20,500 per year before tax as of 6 April 2014
You must be in the UK to extend your visa
You must still meet the points criteria"

This post has been edited by Jckc: Feb 4 2017, 07:09 PM
Jckc
post Feb 4 2017, 07:25 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 4 2017, 07:22 PM)
there has been a revision in the conditions for the tier 2 visa for doctors, i think 2 years ago...

prior to that, each health authority is a sponsor for the visa, and if you transition through different deaneries from ct2 to st3, you need to reapply....

the revision accepts basically the nhs as a whole as sponsor, so the tier 2 visa grant will cover work spanning different deaneries....

based on the above, it looks like you have 5+5 years, subject to the conditions stated....and in any case, after 10 years residence, you can apply for pr, and that will obviate the need for tier 2 visa then....

so it looks like the visa issue is cleared for those who are offered jobs....
but i was reading through and that after being on 5 year of tier 2 visa, you need to apply for indefinite leave to remain (PR) or else you need to leave the uk for at least 12 months on a cooling period. (you cant be in the uk on a visa continously for more than 6 years).
So, in other words, you need to apply for pr lol.
Jckc
post Feb 4 2017, 10:27 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 4 2017, 08:23 PM)
based on what was stated at the visa extension website, it appears you can apply for extension of tier 2 visa, if you comply with the stated conditions....in any case, almost everybody will be eligible for pr, with the exception of those who came through the imu pathway...
yeah, at least it will easier for me to get job without the RLMT and visa issues with an easier reach to PR status.
On a side note, the UKFPO has released an article about the projected undersubscription of the foundation programme for the first time in these couple of years, so no reserve list will be made.

http://www.foundationprogramme.nhs.uk/news
Jckc
post Feb 5 2017, 07:36 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 5 2017, 11:35 AM)
At this point, if the opportunity to stay on, complete internship, and embark on post graduate training is the dominant intention, then UK is the better destination...Under changes introduced over last 2 years, and the impending brexit, the path has been smoothen out....

On the other hand, if permanent migration is the intend, and Oz is the target, it makes sense to study there.... However with lots of caveats.... Places are limited, fees are more than UK, internship is not guaranteed....And finally, they may close the door to doctors, as they train enough doctors for their own needs....So on that basis, Oz is not a very attractive place at the moment....

Finally, it is not that difficult for UK registered doctors to relocate to Oz via the Competent Authority Pathway...Again with a caveat: if Oz continues with this arrangement and they don't remove doctors from the sol....
yeah, agree with above.

Thats the common trend. alot of doctors (including the british locals) are emigrating in waves to oz and nz even right after f2.
the doors will be closed soon enough, even the international grads from oz unis are on the line as well.

As for now, graduating from uk unis gives you equal footing with less fees. ( as long youre dedicated, unlike me tongue.gif )
so yea, going to uk now is still the main bet with easier entry and training. (although this might change with privatisation, new private med schools producing their first batch of students, the new medical licensing exams, brexit, theresa may and etc in the near future)
Jckc
post Feb 5 2017, 10:25 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 5 2017, 09:13 PM)
Is there a current pathway available to OZ/NZ medical graduates to apply for training in UK after completion of their internship ? Brexit will help.....?

Good to know .
as above mentioned,
its possible, however the opportunites wont be great because there are priotisation over to local graduates and possibly still eu grads as well and you have to sit for plab.
with the exception of gp training of course which is easier to enter.
Jckc
post Feb 5 2017, 11:23 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 5 2017, 10:31 PM)
Jckc, what are you leaning towards? Medical or surgical? You're in 4th year now?
More towards medical haha. Im at the end of my general surgery rotation and i found it to be quite bland after awhile with all the appendicitis and gall bladder stuff in general and im not in particular interested in hands on surgery.

yup 4th year but im at end of my first clinical year. so one more clinical year to go. smile.gif
Jckc
post Feb 6 2017, 10:08 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 6 2017, 06:37 PM)
Seeking some clarifications for those on IMU pathway to UK spending:
a) 3 Clinical years on Tier 4 student visa ,
b) another 2 years FY1 and FY2 on another Tier 4 work visa plus say,
c) 5 years  post FY2 on Tier 2 visa (it should be possible right ?) ......
One would've met requirements for PR or it's Not ?
theres two ways to go about getting a PR in the uk.

one is through the long residence pathway, whereby you stayed in the uk legally under visas for 10 years regardless.

The other is through working under tier 2 visa for 5 years. (you need to be under a working visa, so the tier 4 visa for fy1/2 + med school does not count).

However, in the end, its the same for imu grads. For non imu grads, the long term residence pathway will be faster since we have more years in med school (so 3 years post f2 is sufficient).

(currently taking a break from ICU.. not much is happening anyways)
Jckc
post Feb 6 2017, 10:10 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 6 2017, 09:11 PM)
Is there any truth or it is just fallacy....most IMU PMS students landed in Australia would have preferred to go to UK but they were not successful in their application.
I guess its cheaper as well.. oz is really expensive compared to uk. (except London)
Jckc
post Feb 7 2017, 02:16 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 6 2017, 10:42 PM)
Heck, direct entry to most UK med schools  is even lower fees than IMU PMS (UK) programme! sweat.gif
yup, at my time.
direct entry fees were cheaper for pre clinical(even after converting!)
shows how much imu is charging for!

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:48 AM