CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

utellme
post Dec 13 2017, 03:36 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Dec 13 2017, 02:33 PM)
Australia is higher.

Adelaide is likely the highest for undergraduate schools nearly at RM 2m for fees and expenses .Currently annual fees is AUD 75,000 subject to annual increase.Monthly living cost should be between RM5k to RM6k. This is a 6 years program. Current exchange is 3.15.
Uni Adelaide, Uni Melbourne, Uni Sydney, Uni NSW , Monash Uni, WA Uni, U QLD and AN Uni is belongs to group G08, Tuition fee is extremely expensive for Malaysian like us.
podrunner
post Dec 13 2017, 03:46 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 12 2017, 04:32 PM)
When I previously talk about ROI on my kids medical career, I was blasted and told not to look at that angle. They were correct and I agree with them.

Lawyers and engineers share the same situation as medical doctors. If you are good, have the networking and interact well, you will do financially well.

As for you, with an IT degree earlier and now with everybody talking about IoT, industry 4.0, blockchain and digital media, your options are much greater and you can find some spare time to enhance your earnings. thumbup.gif
How are locum opportunities for F1s in Glasgow?
limeuu
post Dec 13 2017, 03:54 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Dec 13 2017, 03:36 PM)
Uni Adelaide, Uni Melbourne, Uni Sydney, Uni NSW , Monash Uni, WA Uni, U QLD and AN Uni is belongs to group G08, Tuition fee is extremely expensive for Malaysian like us.
Usyd, Mel, wa, uq, and anu are all graduate entry....
cckkpr
post Dec 13 2017, 03:54 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Dec 13 2017, 12:58 PM)
Other than Queen's Belfast, Leicester ,Liverpool, New Castle etc are RM850-930k for 2017-18 intakes ...... and rising annually . Living another RM200k ..... my bad as RM 1M is just off the mark.

Glasgow, Oxford, Cambridge ... you're right though.

You may be also right with 'all' Australian med schools, IIRC.

As a bonus, IINM all the above med schools are recognised by Singapore.

Note:At the point of Brexit in June 2016 , GBP drops from RM6.30ish to RM5.30ish ... today it's RM5.60ish.
I still remember the night when the voting results came in causing the downfall of David Cameron.....I decided to hold on to the transfer of funds 2 days before it and took a bet....knowing its either going to RM7.00 or about RM5.00.....and I save quite a lot tongue.gif
Lucky but very high risk.

Yeah, OZ is very expensive now.
Jckc
post Dec 14 2017, 12:52 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Dec 13 2017, 03:46 PM)
How are locum opportunities for F1s in Glasgow?
As an F1, you can only locum internally in the hospital (usually in the acute medical rota based on what ive seen)

TSSyd G
post Dec 14 2017, 09:10 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Once noble, now miserable

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...XKzRsQlRc3ec.99
cckkpr
post Dec 14 2017, 09:37 AM

4,515 posts

[quote=Syd G,Dec 14 2017, 09:10 AM]
Once noble, now miserable

Those who can work are pushed to the limits, scolded, punished and blamed for lack of coverage and care while the non performers are left to rot and enjoy their carefree days until kingdom come. I blamed nobody but the rising cost of living and medical care has pushed many patients to gomen hospitals and clinics. To make it worse, a shrinking health budget is not helping.
Stamp
post Dec 15 2017, 09:10 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 12 2017, 04:45 PM)
And as cybersetan says, when they discovered during housemen period, they are not made for medicine...you will wonder what's next
that is tragic.

but it's no easy to screen out aspiring high school kids who are genuinely "doctor-material".

it's the same with engineering. a school mate who did his degree and masters in engineering at Imperial College, ended up opening his own music school and taught piano lessons to kids.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 15 2017, 09:13 AM
TSSyd G
post Dec 15 2017, 09:44 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 15 2017, 09:10 AM)
that is tragic.

but it's no easy to screen out aspiring high school kids who are genuinely "doctor-material".

it's the same with engineering. a school mate who did his degree and masters in engineering at Imperial College, ended up opening his own music school and taught piano lessons to kids.
Actually I know someone who was forced to do medicine and now wants to make his way to the tech industries. Like me, but different order biggrin.gif

I strongly believe in medicine as a graduate degree. There are pros and cons of course smile.gif

podrunner
post Dec 15 2017, 10:28 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 15 2017, 09:44 AM)
Actually I know someone who was forced to do medicine and now wants to make his way to the tech industries. Like me, but different order  biggrin.gif

I strongly believe in medicine as a graduate degree. There are pros and cons of course smile.gif
You are probably right. The grad students do better as well. When my relative graduated with 286 others (in one of the U.K. unis), 27 graduated with honours, and 22 of the 27 were grad students. 2 of the 5 undergrads with honours were Malaysians. 😉

This post has been edited by podrunner: Dec 15 2017, 10:30 AM
cckkpr
post Dec 15 2017, 11:58 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 15 2017, 09:10 AM)
that is tragic.

The problem is many high school students entered universities doing degrees not by choice. Many are allocated, some by their parents desire and some not knowing what jobs they are in for upon graduation.

But a wrong choice in medicine is disastrous.

And I dread to think what will happen to housemen after the 4 years contract period. I just hope that the gomen find the funds to absorb all of them. Our public hospitals is actually having a shortage and the services can be improved for better healthcare to everyone.

limeuu
post Dec 15 2017, 01:08 PM

12,290 posts

There is actually reasonable methods of reducing the attrition of doctors away from the profession....

Setting high academic requirements reduce coping failures....

Isat/umat/bmat/ukcat etc are aptitude tests to try determine people suitability....

Finally, as is noted by several here, graduate entry medical students are more motivated, as they are more matured when they decided....

Msia generally failed in all three....

zeng
post Dec 15 2017, 01:56 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 15 2017, 01:08 PM)
There is actually reasonable methods of reducing the attrition of doctors away from the profession....

Isat/umat/bmat/ukcat etc are aptitude tests to try determine people suitability....

Finally, as is noted by several here, graduate entry medical students are more motivated, as they are more matured when they decided....

That's a tall order on our beloved country called Malaysia, where ruling elites had been politicising education from primary to tertiary levels, including post-graduate studies.

Credit to traditional professional institutions .... for trying to hold on,
despite emergence of 'racist professional institutions' at the behest of ruling elites ....
utellme
post Dec 15 2017, 05:44 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 15 2017, 01:08 PM)

I was told by my son, the ISAT exam cost RM1K and beside, Monash Sunway Medicine school, No sure others local private medical school demand this test result.
tpleong
post Dec 15 2017, 09:21 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Dec 15 2017, 05:44 PM)
I was told by my son, the ISAT exam cost RM1K and beside, Monash Sunway Medicine school,  No sure others local private medical school demand this test result.
ISAT is for Australian medical school . My son took it , cant remember how much
limeuu
post Dec 16 2017, 12:04 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Dec 15 2017, 05:44 PM)
I was told by my son, the ISAT exam cost RM1K and beside, Monash Sunway Medicine school,  No sure others local private medical school demand this test result.
i am surprised monash msia continued to require the isat....because they have generally ignored the results in their selection process....

if they were to apply the same standards applied to accepting students into monash clayton, they will hardly get 20 students who qualified...
TSSyd G
post Dec 16 2017, 09:18 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 16 2017, 12:04 AM)
i am surprised monash msia continued to require the isat....because they have generally ignored the results in their selection process....

if they were to apply the same standards applied to accepting students into monash clayton, they will hardly get 20 students who qualified...
For AMC accreditation maybe.

limeuu
post Dec 16 2017, 09:29 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 16 2017, 09:18 AM)
For AMC accreditation maybe.
Yes, I know it's a requirement for AMC registration of the programme....just being sarcastic...lol

Like all regulatory requirements, they tell you you need something but leaves the details to you....it's up to Monash to decide the cut-off....so Monash decided 20th percentile is still ok....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Dec 16 2017, 09:36 AM
TSSyd G
post Dec 16 2017, 02:56 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 16 2017, 09:29 AM)
Yes, I know it's a requirement for AMC registration of the programme....just being sarcastic...lol

Like all regulatory requirements, they tell you you need something but leaves the details to you....it's up to Monash to decide the cut-off....so Monash decided 20th percentile is still ok....
LYN needs a sarcasm tag 😁

zeng
post Dec 17 2017, 10:49 AM

1,810 posts

Non-UK graduates completing all parts in MRCOG/MRCP/MRCS qualifies one for entry into subspecialist training in say, UK/Spore.
However it was said before that UK granted visa that forbids 'training', is the 'unfavourable' rule still current now ?

91 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:19 PM