125 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

seantang
post Jun 12 2012, 05:16 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 12 2012, 04:58 PM)
Are you even in the correct thread? this thread is about "working in singapore," i.e. "locally" would mean "in Singapore."
True that.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 12 2012, 04:58 PM)
If you are saying you are already working in Singapore and wondering if there are any downsides to using your Malaysian credit cards here, the FX rate/spread you get is pretty sh*tty.
Plus you have to pay the credit card tax for Malaysian cards.

Also there are almost no real cross-border card promotions or benefits. I have a couple of credit cards in SG and I closed all my cards in MY. One of my SG cards has effectively 3% cash rebate on any spending, so that ngam-ngam pays for the forex spread when I use it in MY. But I normally use cash in MY now.

Mackiddo
post Jun 12 2012, 05:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 12 2012, 05:16 PM)
True that.

Also there are almost no real cross-border card promotions or benefits. I have a couple of credit cards in SG and I closed all my cards in MY. One of my SG cards has effectively 3% cash rebate on any spending, so that ngam-ngam pays for the forex spread when I use it in MY. But I normally use cash in MY now.
Actually there is coz the retailers wouldn't know how to differenciate between a My or SG cc for issuer like Citibank, Standard Chartered & HSBC. And the discount/offer still applies. A friend of mine is doing that, especially on 1 for 1 buffet promo at 5 star hotel. rclxms.gif
TzeThon
post Jun 12 2012, 06:11 PM

213 posts

hi all. need some advice here. planning to work in singapore. have applied a number of jobs through jobstreet but no reply at all. is it due to the malaysian address that i stated in my resume? please help. thanks in advance.
seantang
post Jun 12 2012, 06:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 12 2012, 05:46 PM)
Actually there is coz the retailers wouldn't know how to differenciate between a My or SG cc for issuer like Citibank, Standard Chartered & HSBC.  And the discount/offer still applies. A friend of mine is doing that, especially on 1 for 1 buffet promo at 5 star hotel.  rclxms.gif
Those are usually jalan-jalan cari makan type promotions which are "verified" by sight... actually it's not even a joint promotion with the card issuer.

I usually use my card for those structured promotions like POSB-Carrefour/Watsons etc, UOB/Maybank-BestDenki/Court instalment plans etc... those you only get when they stick your card into the card reader.

shirley_andy
post Jun 12 2012, 06:49 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

hi, just wondering whats the cheapest call rate for Msia to Sg? I wanna call them to enquire about the status of my application.
tailtwist
post Jun 12 2012, 06:59 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jun 12 2012, 06:49 PM)
hi, just wondering whats the cheapest call rate for Msia to Sg? I wanna call them to enquire about the status of my application.
get those i-talk cards?else use 02 instead of +65 from landline
Mackiddo
post Jun 12 2012, 07:20 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jun 12 2012, 06:49 PM)
SKYPE call rates are pretty decent. Can consider that. Or if you have iPhone, download maaii, got some free credits
megadisc
post Jun 12 2012, 08:17 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 12 2012, 05:41 PM)
those advertised requirement for CC just bullsh1t. if you have DBS/POSB account, apply CC online and high chance you will get it.

I applied AMEX Black (req $48k) and Altitude Visa Signature (req $80k), both approved less than 12 hours and received within 36 hours lol
good for u ....

any yearl fees like our rm50 here ?
tailtwist
post Jun 12 2012, 08:26 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 12 2012, 08:17 PM)
good for u ....

any yearl fees like our rm50 here ?
ermm...that RM50 is not a yearly fee..its a GOVERNMENT tax on every Credit Card...RM50 per year
nicedevil
post Jun 12 2012, 08:58 PM

147 posts

guys, i know it's been discuss before but i couldn't find the thread on bank acc in spore.

i tried opening hsbc account and they need $2000 for account opening. is there any cheaper bank?
megadisc
post Jun 12 2012, 09:27 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(nicedevil @ Jun 12 2012, 09:58 PM)
guys, i know it's been discuss before but i couldn't find the thread on bank acc in spore.

i tried opening hsbc account and they need $2000 for account opening. is there any cheaper bank?
confirm ..
hsbc is miiolinoesreas
crazy25kid
post Jun 12 2012, 09:34 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jun 12 2012, 06:59 PM)
get those i-talk cards?else use 02 instead of +65 from landline

HP works too for 02

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 12 2012, 09:35 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(nicedevil @ Jun 12 2012, 08:58 PM)

s-pass, w-permit or ep holder? or pr? bankruptcy?

cheaper bank? u mean they makan your $2000?
nicedevil
post Jun 12 2012, 09:44 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 12 2012, 09:35 PM)
s-pass, w-permit or ep holder? or pr? bankruptcy?

cheaper bank? u mean they makan your $2000?
i'm just ep. they don't makan, just initial deposit to open account. i think it's too high.

i'll try dbs/ocbc next.
TSdeodorant
post Jun 12 2012, 10:01 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(nicedevil @ Jun 12 2012, 09:44 PM)
i'll try dbs/ocbc next.

if i remember correctly, my dbs account you can open it with no money and bank in later. just that if you fall under $1000 monthly balance they will charge $1 or $2 or something like that.
megadisc
post Jun 12 2012, 10:13 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 12 2012, 11:01 PM)
if i remember correctly, my dbs account you can open it with no money and bank in later. just that if you fall under $1000 monthly balance they will charge $1 or $2 or something like that.
yup
agreed
with
u
nicedevil
post Jun 12 2012, 10:32 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 12 2012, 10:01 PM)
QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 12 2012, 10:13 PM)
yup
agreed
with
u
that's perfect! i'll try tomorrow.
fcuk90
post Jun 12 2012, 10:49 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 12 2012, 04:35 PM)
Where exactly is "there" and where is "locally"?

Added on June 12, 2012, 4:37 pmIf the interviewer hears you referring to them as a mid-term firm, no way.

If you refer to them as a mid-tier firm, yes.
I'm sorry about the typo error.
Glad that you replied to me. Thanks for the info
seantang
post Jun 12 2012, 11:14 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jun 12 2012, 10:49 PM)
I'm sorry about the typo error.
Glad that you replied to me. Thanks for the info.
Typo here no harm. Don't typo your CV or cover letter or any correspondence with them. Sure KNS.
fcuk90
post Jun 12 2012, 11:49 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 12 2012, 11:14 PM)
Typo here no harm. Don't typo your CV or cover letter or any correspondence with them. Sure KNS.
still long way to go , now just doing internship with a mid tier firm .

btw , any comment on internal audit ? . does it provide good prospect as compared to external audit ?.

currently in audit department , but for future i might not limit myself only for audit as i see there are so many choice in accounting line ,( advisory , tax , audit , internal audit)

sorry about that it is getting out of topic.

125 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:41 AM