Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

tailtwist
post Jun 6 2012, 12:15 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 6 2012, 10:58 AM)
018 is consider oversea one ba...just dail with cheaper rate onli i think.
btw, the 2GB data plan is only for singtel or all telco?mine still have 5 month left, when is the earliest i can recontract??
21st month u can re-contract based on the advertised handset pricing.....unless u wanna go for the 12months re-contract/upgrade which requires you to pay more for the handset....
tailtwist
post Jun 6 2012, 09:42 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(Barack Obama @ Jun 6 2012, 09:23 PM)
Hi guys I'm planning on moving to sg with a friend soon. So I'd like to calculate the expenses.

Rent-max 400(own room) OR 800(shared with friend)
Transport-100
Internet-eletricity- 100(shared)
Food-600
Others-100

So total Im guessing around 1300/month. Pls correct me if I miscalculated. How much is the monthly mrt pass? And the internet plans for each month? Is it possible to find a single room for 500 or maybe a bigger room around 800 for 2?

So here's the thing,I'm still doing my professional qualification studies hopefully I can find a job in the same field but if I can't, any other common jobs can earn around sgd 1500 so I can cover my expenses?
Pls recommend some of these jobs.

Lastly, to apply for work permit ,do I have to apply by going to sg first or we can apply in Malaysia?

Help are appreciated thanks guys smile.gif
Room rates is around 500 1 to a room that is....for internet normally the landlord will have a fixed line..be it copper or fiber..just ask if can share...FOC will be even better...

Work permit...the hiring company will have to apply for you 1st....before they can ask you to sign the offer letter....or the offer letter will normally have this clause that is subjected to MOM's approval...without the government(Ministry of Manpower, MOM)....you won't get a job!!

Also when you intend to rent a room...then owner will definitely ask you for your work permit. Without that the owner may not rent it out to you. Owner/landlord/landlady are required to inform/register with HDB gov body informing them who's staying at the rented rooms!! This is to avoid illegal immigrants or overstayers!!
As you can see from this...WORK PERMIT is important.

You can use the prepaid travel card like the TouchNGo card which is called Ez-link card....because the monthly pass is not worth it....

http://www.ezlink.com.sg/services/season-pass/
tailtwist
post Jun 10 2012, 04:50 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Jun 10 2012, 02:12 PM)
hi, i am a fresh graduate from malaysia uni. do u think i should get a visa before i apply job in singapore? i am interested in working in telco industry as network engineer. what are the chances of me getting a job compared to the locals there?
visa?U dont need a visa to enter singapore...or u mean a working visa? There's no working visa term in Singapore....its either Employment Pass(EP)/S-Pass and etc....
tailtwist
post Jun 10 2012, 10:13 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Jun 10 2012, 02:12 PM)
hi, i am a fresh graduate from malaysia uni. do u think i should get a visa before i apply job in singapore? i am interested in working in telco industry as network engineer. what are the chances of me getting a job compared to the locals there?
I'm not really in the telco line...i dont deal with wireless/3G/Radio/CDMA....but engineer but dealing with the 'enterprise' products...namely WLAN/Switches/IP Telephony/CC n so on....but my company DO have equipments with the service providers both in SG n MY....you should roughly know what/the names..not many players out there in this specific telco industry
tailtwist
post Jun 10 2012, 10:37 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Jun 10 2012, 10:35 PM)
what is ur company name? Huawei?
closed...but nope! tongue.gif
tailtwist
post Jun 10 2012, 10:43 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Jun 10 2012, 10:40 PM)
huh? closed? hmmmm...Ericsson? normally the telco equipment vendor is either Ericsson or Huawei since they are the first and second in the market share. am i right? XP
nope..not Ericsson nor Huawei....
tailtwist
post Jun 10 2012, 11:03 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Jun 10 2012, 10:53 PM)
well, display the answer la bro. or just pm me tongue.gif
hint...was a French company.....but now its French-American...quite obvious...go figure!!
tailtwist
post Jun 11 2012, 05:56 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(deadpool77 @ Jun 11 2012, 05:19 PM)
hi all, thinking of applying a credit card for convenience here. any suggestion on which card has good promotion at the moment? earning < $60,000 per annum only sad.gif
You got PR? I'm on PR but per annum still under 60k ler!!
tailtwist
post Jun 12 2012, 10:33 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(deadpool77 @ Jun 12 2012, 10:27 AM)
is that true? ive few friends earning less than 60k but still own a cc? hows that possible..
by becoming a PR/citizen?
tailtwist
post Jun 12 2012, 06:59 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jun 12 2012, 06:49 PM)
hi, just wondering whats the cheapest call rate for Msia to Sg? I wanna call them to enquire about the status of my application.
get those i-talk cards?else use 02 instead of +65 from landline
tailtwist
post Jun 12 2012, 08:26 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 12 2012, 08:17 PM)
good for u ....

any yearl fees like our rm50 here ?
ermm...that RM50 is not a yearly fee..its a GOVERNMENT tax on every Credit Card...RM50 per year
tailtwist
post Jun 13 2012, 09:02 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 13 2012, 08:55 AM)
I wonder anyone encounter case like when the company offer you the job, it also offer you higher salary than your expected salary, more SGD 100 like tat. is this possible?

FYI, this person just a fresh grad with average grade.
Maybe they have diff qouta to fill? SGD3k can get EP...under that its S-pass....
tailtwist
post Jun 13 2012, 11:41 AM

1,564 posts

[quote=yhoong12,Jun 13 2012, 10:26 AM]
Oh? the quota is for foreigner one? So nice...haha

Qouta for number of S-Pass and EP specifically i think...not the $$

tailtwist
post Jun 15 2012, 07:57 AM

1,564 posts

I've just received my 'love letter' from IRAS....Notice of Assessment....
T.T
have u all gotten yours yet?

Haiz...$$ fly away again!!
tailtwist
post Jun 15 2012, 08:45 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 15 2012, 08:09 AM)
NOA only now? i thought dateline to make payment is up already...
Diff batches.....previously mine came in april already!!....my due date for payment is July!! tongue.gif
tailtwist
post Jun 15 2012, 12:41 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 15 2012, 12:05 PM)
Guys. Which path is much faster?

1) Take MRT to Bugis and take CW02 back to JB custom.
2) Take MRT to Woordlands and take 950 back to JB custom.

I started from Tai Seng MRT. Thanks.  smile.gif
I think option 2 will be faster...!!
tailtwist
post Jun 16 2012, 04:10 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Jun 16 2012, 03:28 PM)
If I were receive 5 interview from Monday to Friday..
Can I enter Singapore from JB everyday with just passport? Will the custom block me if I enter every day?
customs should not block u...neither should the immigration.....but there's a limit of like max 60 days stay out of 90 days in Singapore
tailtwist
post Jun 21 2012, 05:47 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 21 2012, 08:36 AM)
mine got rejected last month  sweat.gif

received a letter mentioning that i got trolled and try again after 9 months. dafuq
My GF back then applied in april...got the approval letter on 6th June....on professional basis....but we're now both married...just did our ROM a few weeks back
tailtwist
post Jun 22 2012, 07:17 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Jun 21 2012, 11:24 PM)
Sifus,

I have a question, what is the difference between S and EP pass? The company did explain to me but from their explanation they say there's no absolute case stating that earning SGD3k above can get EP pass, I'm confused. They told me EP pass is better. I did search on ICA's site, still having no clue bout it. Like my gf is earning SGD4k but still holding S pass.
4k on S Pass? That's her basic pay? If not then its still correct if her basic is still under 3k...gov wont look into the commission/allowance as part of the basic salary...IIANM

Added on June 22, 2012, 7:18 am
QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jun 22 2012, 07:09 AM)
Hi. Do we have to pay for the medical tests? Or would that be paid by the company hiring us? Thanks.
You can always ask if the hiring company is willing to bear the cost....its not much...should be around SGD50 for everything

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jun 22 2012, 07:18 AM
tailtwist
post Jun 22 2012, 09:26 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jun 22 2012, 09:11 AM)
of course i know that not all interviews are always successful. but it's a bit different to travel to singapore. no?
plane tickets to singapore cost around RM300+ and we still need to calculate accommodation for one night.
i was just trying to ask whether anyone had that kind of experience whereby you needed to travel to singapore just for one interview. just to know whether this is common.
no harm asking right?
u can always take a bus...much cheaper...firstcoach around RM115 round trip!!

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:43 AM