Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

Mackiddo
post Jun 4 2012, 01:26 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jun 4 2012, 01:23 PM)
I thought you are way beyond $3k figure level, judging by the way you reply all the post here.
he is. he was asking for $3k/week, just like the Americans, weekly pay.
Mackiddo
post Jun 6 2012, 10:26 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 6 2012, 09:37 PM)
The FAQ from the link I posted says that if you don't re-contract after your current contract ends... the T&C of your current contract will continue indefinitely until you re-contract or terminate. So that's what I'll do when I my contract ends. I'll simply continue and just carry on.
not true for my case with M1 but probably theirs are different from Singtel. If you do not re-contract, you'll lost the opportunity to get a subsidized mobile phone.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 6 2012, 10:27 PM
Mackiddo
post Jun 7 2012, 10:55 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jun 7 2012, 12:19 AM)
Prepaid ? prepaid card around $15 (3g). Remember that after the free incoming call period, accepting calls will deduct your credit. I don't use the phone too often, so I top up like $10 a couple of weeks.

Postpaid fees goes around $30 ++ a month depending on plans / usage.

Use Skype or other internet enabled options.
for me i just use Maaii apps for my iPhone to call overseas for free. Their free credit is high enough for me to make my occasional calls to My and Aus.
Mackiddo
post Jun 7 2012, 05:49 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jun 7 2012, 05:43 PM)
Erm, cause i stay in JB ,so its quite convenient for interview.

if i get a SG number and use in msia, while they calling me it will reduce my sg number balance too?
of coz, its a roaming call
Mackiddo
post Jun 7 2012, 08:34 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 7 2012, 06:16 PM)
Thanks for the link  smile.gif . I will check this once i back from work.

I asked my colleague and he said that usually once I got my card I can scan it already. Not sure whether it is true or not. Tomorrow will give it a shot once i back home.  laugh.gif
apply the card at the office on the way out of Sg immigration
Mackiddo
post Jun 7 2012, 10:09 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 7 2012, 08:54 PM)
Which card are u referring? I'm going to try to use my passport to scan.  laugh.gif Don't know whether it works. Bah.... there is nothing to be malu. Canot then just go back and queue again.  tongue.gif
The express card for daily work permit holders who travel thru immigations.
I thought passport scan for Singaporeans and SPR only?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 7 2012, 10:11 PM
Mackiddo
post Jun 10 2012, 08:14 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jun 10 2012, 07:18 PM)
Being a fresh grad, my advise would be to not choose the company.
Instead, let them choose you...meaning just mass apply to any company.
Gain some experience, then come back with that application.
not entirely true. If you have a good qualifications, could always try the top companies 1st. Stop wasting time with local or small MNC

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 10 2012, 08:15 PM
Mackiddo
post Jun 11 2012, 10:08 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 11 2012, 09:56 AM)
heard about a few injuries at the yard
nothing serious

a 'few' injuries ? nothing serious ? There is at least 1 death per month at shipyard industry.
Mackiddo
post Jun 12 2012, 02:53 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(+ @ Jun 12 2012, 12:45 PM)
is it better to apply a CC there even if you already had 1 locally?
shouldn't the charges be more or less the same?
why u need another one ?

Added on June 12, 2012, 2:55 pm
QUOTE(deadpool77 @ Jun 12 2012, 10:27 AM)
is that true? ive few friends earning less than 60k but still own a cc? hows that possible..
I earn 1/2 of that and the bank offer me a cc

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 12 2012, 02:55 PM
Mackiddo
post Jun 12 2012, 05:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 12 2012, 05:16 PM)
True that.

Also there are almost no real cross-border card promotions or benefits. I have a couple of credit cards in SG and I closed all my cards in MY. One of my SG cards has effectively 3% cash rebate on any spending, so that ngam-ngam pays for the forex spread when I use it in MY. But I normally use cash in MY now.
Actually there is coz the retailers wouldn't know how to differenciate between a My or SG cc for issuer like Citibank, Standard Chartered & HSBC. And the discount/offer still applies. A friend of mine is doing that, especially on 1 for 1 buffet promo at 5 star hotel. rclxms.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 12 2012, 07:20 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jun 12 2012, 06:49 PM)
hi, just wondering whats the cheapest call rate for Msia to Sg? I wanna call them to enquire about the status of my application.
SKYPE call rates are pretty decent. Can consider that. Or if you have iPhone, download maaii, got some free credits
Mackiddo
post Jun 13 2012, 10:14 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 13 2012, 08:55 AM)
I wonder anyone encounter case like when the company offer you the job, it also offer you higher salary than your expected salary, more SGD 100 like tat. is this possible?

FYI, this person just a fresh grad with average grade.
most likely the company have a structural pay scale (min and max) for each group/position and you expected salary is below the min for your position. So bump it up to hit the min in that group ?
Mackiddo
post Jun 13 2012, 10:45 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 13 2012, 10:26 AM)
Hmm.. hmm.gif
I only think that we, as foreigner alway kena press one, never think of can get higher than expected...so nice leh if all company like tat
not really, at least not for big companies. You could always check with your HR on the pay structure for each group.
Mackiddo
post Jun 14 2012, 07:49 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 14 2012, 01:00 AM)
Hey all, any recommendation for clinic or hospitals nearby JB City Square for body check-up / blood test with reasonable price?

Thanks in advance smile.gif
maybe can do at PathLab ? there is one opposite Pelangi Plaza, the row of shophouses just behind the ESSO station.

Added on June 14, 2012, 7:54 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 13 2012, 08:58 PM)
Apple is the best company, no point comparing Apple with other company, unless you are talking about EM, then different story.
Those company like Service source i bet they are outsource company. Outsource are usually lower interms of pay grade and workload is very high.
definitely Apple, 2nd too none. Employees are quite well pay too. Mewah Oil is next.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 14 2012, 07:54 AM
Mackiddo
post Jun 15 2012, 08:30 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LalaBubbles @ Jun 15 2012, 01:59 AM)
If I wanna reach east side of Singapore by 9am from Johor Bahru City Centre ?
Roughly what time should I depart? smile.gif

Note: On a monday  tongue.gif
6am ? Morning rush hour causeway very jam, even more on Monday.

Added on June 15, 2012, 8:31 am
QUOTE(qqstranger @ Jun 14 2012, 05:39 PM)
hi bro, a question about newborn baby in SG. any bro here can share me about your baby was born in SG without SG PR or citizen ship. Me and my wife plan to deliver end of the year in SG,  then back MY on 2nd or 3rd day after delivery. Until recently i only know is my baby only can get a passport after 7 day of Hi comm issue my baby Malaysia birth cert. is that a faster way to allow my baby back MY?

thanks for the any sharing and advice smile.gif
why the 7 days ? It only take 1/2 day for the birth cert and another day for the passport.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 15 2012, 08:31 AM
Mackiddo
post Jun 19 2012, 07:48 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Jun 18 2012, 11:51 PM)
Guys,
Just want to know which part in SG is IT focus area ? like M'sia Cyberjaya and Technology park...
Funan Centre and Sim Lim Square . actually i think that ain't any

Added on June 19, 2012, 7:51 am
QUOTE(jack7788 @ Jun 18 2012, 10:40 PM)
Anyone has any idea on traffic condition of ECP on a Friday evening?
fuuuuu. that road always jammed one, during rush hour. Try hitting it before 6pm.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 19 2012, 07:51 AM
Mackiddo
post Jun 20 2012, 07:39 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 19 2012, 09:03 PM)
lot 1 cck arj or raffles place or mustafa
i always see long queue for this money changer
Mackiddo
post Jun 21 2012, 10:09 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(nicedevil @ Jun 21 2012, 09:38 PM)
that's the best way i'd say. for my case, my current company willing to pay for my flight ticket for the interview (actually i insisted).  biggrin.gif i guess i'm lucky. maybe you can try that also. good luck!
cool. damn lucky. Not many have such a good arrangement. I didn't even manage to go to Sg for the interview sweat.gif , only the interviewer came to KL to conduct the interview for the few of us.
Mackiddo
post Jun 23 2012, 06:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jun 23 2012, 06:39 PM)
good rate. too bad going back Malaysia for work
good luck and keep in touch. remember, AIDS kills.

Added on June 23, 2012, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 23 2012, 03:02 PM)
mackiddo holding sg passport... some1 else holding bangla passport...
mine is Australian.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 23 2012, 06:48 PM
Mackiddo
post Jun 30 2012, 12:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jun 30 2012, 04:04 AM)
Guys, just wondering, is there anyone that work in oil and gas field in singapore?

Company like Schlumberger , halliburton, baker hughes, exxon mobil, etc HR email contact?

I try to browse through their website and they have these form asking us to put our email and so and so. It would help if anyone here can provide their HR email so that i can send in my resume and CV. Thanks.
do it via the website.
EM job openings

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 1 2012, 12:54 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:26 PM