Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting
yhoong12
Jul 18 2012, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 17 2012, 09:39 PM) she was pinoy lady so cant really help at all... Oh gosh, downgrade to SP also cannot?? Added on July 18, 2012, 8:38 amQUOTE(stupid434 @ Jul 18 2012, 02:20 AM) hi, if i get the offer from small audit cum account cum tax firm from singapore and big 4 in jb, which one should i choose from? Kindly give me some advise. Thanks. Then what do you think? seem like you care alot about company size. This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 18 2012, 08:38 AM
athrun300
Jul 18 2012, 11:25 AM

This post has been edited by athrun300: Jul 23 2012, 09:29 PM
yhoong12
Jul 18 2012, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 11:25 AM) Hi, i need all sifu opinion on this. I got 2 offer which is (1) Malakoff - Engineer Developement Program Five day working day - Standard working hour salary = RM3.2k + 0.5k(allowance) (2) Jurong Shipyard - Production Engineer 6 day working day- standard working hour - may need OT sometime salary = sgd 2700 With recent sgd conversion, i wonder????? Shipyard... i heard that the bonus is
athrun300
Jul 18 2012, 11:50 AM

This post has been edited by athrun300: Jul 23 2012, 09:30 PM
yhoong12
Jul 18 2012, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 11:50 AM) Indeed, the shipyard bonus is lucrative. Malakoff bonus oso not bad. Hear they got 6 month bonus every year. But, SGD vs RM??? hmmm Comparison between malaysia and singapore never end. it just based on what u want to compare? lifestyle, saving, safety etc. maybe now the most attractive is the conversion rate.
athrun300
Jul 18 2012, 12:04 PM

Need to make up my mind in this 2 day time...........A lot to consider especially where i will be ending up in shipyard industry in the future. Heard that it's quite hard to jump to other industry once you enter shipyard industry.
ch_teo
Jul 18 2012, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 11:25 AM) Hi, i need all sifu opinion on this. I got 2 offer which is (1) Malakoff - Engineer Developement Program Five day working day - Standard working hour salary = RM3.2k + 0.5k(allowance) (2) Jurong Shipyard - Production Engineer 6 day working day- standard working hour - may need OT sometime salary = sgd 2700 With recent sgd conversion, i wonder????? anytime, i will jump into Malakoff as it is engineer development programme. considering the rotating equipment (gas turbine) still possible go to join offshore especially in sabah field. some more it is 5 days. u will gain proper fundamental training. energy & utilities career is the future. shipyard, under hot sun and rain. also the safety?!?! but good for future FLNG should Shell or Petronas kick it off on schedule 2015/1016. just personal opinion. This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jul 18 2012, 12:15 PM
athrun300
Jul 18 2012, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jul 18 2012, 12:14 PM) anytime, i will jump into Malakoff as it is engineer development programme. considering the rotating equipment (gas turbine) still possible go to join offshore especially in sabah field. some more it is 5 days. u will gain proper fundamental training. energy & utilities career is the future. shipyard, under hot sun and rain. also the safety?!?! but good for future FLNG should Shell or Petronas kick it off on schedule 2015/1016. just personal opinion. Thanks for your reply. I heard from reliable source that production engineer in Jurong Shipyard need to work long hour in harsh condition which is definitely a cons.
TzeThon
Jul 18 2012, 01:38 PM

hi everyone. i've attended some interviews in Singapore last few days. one of them has offered me. but have yet to give me a formal offer letter. just asked me to fill in the EP form to submit. is this standard procedure? when will i receive the offer letter? after approval of the EP pass and medical check up or will they give me the offer letter before approval? thanks in advance for your advice.
yhoong12
Jul 18 2012, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 18 2012, 01:38 PM) hi everyone. i've attended some interviews in Singapore last few days. one of them has offered me. but have yet to give me a formal offer letter. just asked me to fill in the EP form to submit. is this standard procedure? when will i receive the offer letter? after approval of the EP pass and medical check up or will they give me the offer letter before approval? thanks in advance for your advice. yes yes..that is the standard procedure. until u get ur EP then onli will sign offer letter.
crazy25kid
Jul 18 2012, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 18 2012, 02:02 PM) yes yes..that is the standard procedure. until u get ur EP then onli will sign offer letter. not really sometimes u sign the offer letter first before they proceed to apply the pass. but in the end, it is the same..even if u signed and pass rejected, offer is void.
yhoong12
Jul 18 2012, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 18 2012, 02:06 PM) not really sometimes u sign the offer letter first before they proceed to apply the pass. but in the end, it is the same..even if u signed and pass rejected, offer is void. Oo... izit ? haha, i dunno but just say it based on my and my friend experience.
Tigerr
Jul 18 2012, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 11:25 AM) Hi, i need all sifu opinion on this. I got 2 offer which is (1) Malakoff - Engineer Developement Program Five day working day - Standard working hour salary = RM3.2k + 0.5k(allowance) (2) Jurong Shipyard - Production Engineer 6 day working day- standard working hour - may need OT sometime salary = sgd 2700 With recent sgd conversion, i wonder????? to me....Malakoff.....as their benefits is very  ...room to earn up to 5 figures is bright.....
totti 10
Jul 18 2012, 02:30 PM
2 weeks after interview with keppel still no news. asked about status also HR lady never reply
athrun300
Jul 18 2012, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 18 2012, 02:30 PM) 2 weeks after interview with keppel still no news. asked about status also HR lady never reply I attend Keppel interview before........chances are there even they didnt reply u in 2 weeks time
totti 10
Jul 18 2012, 03:01 PM
you mean that they probably gonna take longer than that to revert back to me? actually I do know about that, jus saying that the whole application process at least gonna take months since they have multiple layers of interviews too. Like my ex-colleague case, the application took him like 7months, lol
hiroshi87
Jul 18 2012, 03:21 PM

hello guys .. new guy reporting in .. working as network eng in singtel. xD
sapapa
Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM

Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months.
Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company.
Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company?
LiangZhuge
Jul 18 2012, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(sapapa @ Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM) Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months. Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company. Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company? Not that I know of. Normally once you resign only they will retain the last month salary for income tax purpose but currently I am getting my full pay (without CPF, since I am not a PR) Anyway for SG, you submit your own income tax $$$, not like in MY where there is PCB deduction by company every month.
yhoong12
Jul 18 2012, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 18 2012, 03:01 PM) you mean that they probably gonna take longer than that to revert back to me? actually I do know about that, jus saying that the whole application process at least gonna take months since they have multiple layers of interviews too. Like my ex-colleague case, the application took him like 7months, lol OMG.. luckily your ex-colleague patient enough to wait for 7 month..LOL Added on July 18, 2012, 3:49 pmQUOTE(sapapa @ Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM) Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months. Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company. Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company? hmm  , different company different practice?? This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 18 2012, 03:49 PM