125 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

abgkik
post Jul 18 2012, 04:09 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 12:04 PM)
Need to make up my mind in this 2 day time...........A lot to consider especially where i will be ending up in shipyard industry in the future. Heard that it's quite hard to jump to other industry once you enter shipyard industry.
It's not hard, however depend on your 'position' at shipyard.. Structural Engineer, Topside Engineer, Marine Engineer, Naval Architect, Piping Engineer, Electrical and Instrument Engineer can jump to other Oil & Gas area..

totti 10
post Jul 18 2012, 04:18 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM)
Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months.

Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company.

Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company?
same like my company.
only give back once I quit or get PR. not minimum waiting period.
I.e if i work here forever and never apply PR, ill never see the 6months 15%.

*yhoong
For my friend's case he was interviewed 7 times, channeled to a few dept. So if getting back to you after an interview take them 2weeks++, 7 months for 7interviews fits the description.
abgkik
post Jul 18 2012, 04:28 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 11:25 AM)
Hi, i need all sifu opinion on this. I got 2 offer which is

(1) Malakoff - Engineer Developement Program
     Five day working day - Standard working hour
     salary = RM3.2k + 0.5k(allowance)
(2) Jurong Shipyard - Production Engineer
     6 day working day- standard working hour - may need OT sometime
     salary = sgd 2700
With recent sgd conversion, i wonder?????
Working at Shipyard is really challenging and very good to gain experience working with Singaporean and ppl from other countries.. however, your position is not really in demand in other oil and gas area beside production and construction, I believe Production Engineer scope of work is to provide engineering support to the Product Shops.

With Malakoff, mostly they will assign you to do power plant system.. good if you take care of power plant boiler or turbine..

you need to plan, what you want to be in the future and at which industry you bwill be..

recent SGD conversion to RM is 1: 2.498 (Money Changer).. as i claim direct to company, I'm using Maybank rate which is 1: 2.542

Added on July 18, 2012, 4:39 pm
Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months.

Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company.

Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company?
Never experience this.. we pay our own tax to SG..

This post has been edited by abgkik: Jul 18 2012, 04:39 PM
yhoong12
post Jul 18 2012, 04:47 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 18 2012, 04:18 PM)
same like my company.
only give back once I quit or get PR. not minimum waiting period.
I.e if i work here forever and never apply PR, ill never see the 6months 15%.

*yhoong
For my friend's case he was interviewed 7 times, channeled to a few dept. So if getting back to you after an interview take them 2weeks++, 7 months for 7interviews fits the description.
OIC, haha...7 month is a long period, i wonder if i get any other offer from other company in the period,then i give up waiting and go for it which cause me the opportunity, i will be extremely sad cry.gif cry.gif ...haha

Added on July 18, 2012, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 18 2012, 04:28 PM)
Working at Shipyard is really challenging and very good to gain experience working with Singaporean and ppl from other countries.. however, your position is not really in demand in other oil and gas area beside production and construction, I believe Production Engineer scope of work is to provide engineering support to the Product Shops.

With Malakoff, mostly they will assign you to do power plant system.. good if you take care of power plant boiler or turbine..

you need to plan, what you want to be in the future and at which industry you bwill be..

recent SGD conversion to RM is 1: 2.498 (Money Changer).. as i claim direct to company, I'm using Maybank rate which is 1: 2.542

O? i thought bank conversion rate should be lower than money changer?

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 18 2012, 04:48 PM
abgkik
post Jul 18 2012, 05:00 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 18 2012, 04:47 PM)
O? i thought bank conversion rate should be lower than money changer?
Maybank selling sg notes rate is higher..
FuQuO
post Jul 18 2012, 06:24 PM

-=[~我是世界第一等~]=-
1,409 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 11:25 AM)
Hi, i need all sifu opinion on this. I got 2 offer which is

(1) Malakoff - Engineer Developement Program
     Five day working day - Standard working hour
     salary = RM3.2k + 0.5k(allowance)
(2) Jurong Shipyard - Production Engineer
     6 day working day- standard working hour - may need OT sometime
     salary = sgd 2700
With recent sgd conversion, i wonder?????
Regarding (2) - not sure what the position does but my humble advise is, u got to be ready to work 7 days a week. Payout is lucrative. With 2700 as base salary, u will be getting around 4.5k/month averagely, considering all bonuses and AWS. They pay out share options as well after certain years of service.
Shipyard is a really good place to learn. If ur intention is to work hard, learn, and get good money then my advise is to go ahead. If ur looking for a 9-5 office condition work then I suggest u to give it a miss.
Lastly, some of my friends have joined oil majors after several years working at shipyard in production line just FYI. Life is tough but the return is good. Think thoroughly before making any decision. Good luck.

This post has been edited by FuQuO: Jul 18 2012, 06:26 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 18 2012, 07:12 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 18 2012, 06:24 PM)
Regarding (2) - not sure what the position does but my humble advise is, u got to be ready to work 7 days a week. Payout is lucrative. With 2700 as base salary, u will be getting around 4.5k/month averagely, considering all bonuses and AWS. They pay out share options as well after certain years of service.
Shipyard is a really good place to learn. If ur intention is to work hard, learn, and get good money then my advise is to go ahead. If ur looking for a 9-5 office condition work then I suggest u to give it a miss.
Lastly, some of my friends have joined oil majors after several years working at shipyard in production line just FYI. Life is tough but the return is good. Think thoroughly before making any decision. Good luck.
shipyard have the highest fatalities rate among all the industries. $$$ doesn't come easy.
athrun300
post Jul 18 2012, 07:41 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 18 2012, 07:12 PM)
shipyard have the highest fatalities rate among all the industries. $$$ doesn't come easy.
wseng
post Jul 18 2012, 08:19 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 18 2012, 12:36 PM)
Thanks for your reply. I heard from reliable source that production engineer in Jurong Shipyard need to work long hour in harsh condition which is definitely a cons.
Shipyard work is really tough job, and mentally challenging especially with deadlines looming, you could easily go on 2-3 months, 7 days a week non-stop. I'm also in the marine industry. Exposure to the industry is pretty good in shipyard especially considering Singapore is one of the top in oil rig building.

About money wise.. bonus is fantastic, 6-9 months is quite a norm. OT every weekend with not much time to play then get to save a lot of money.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 18 2012, 09:48 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

something like witholding tax...

no problem if they are willing to compensate those $$$ witheld with interest... 5%p.a.
masshimo
post Jul 18 2012, 10:43 PM

Hello forum-er,
I remember I saw someone posted a link on the steps/procedure in application of employment pass in SG.
Any kind soul can share the link to me?

Thanks. =)
megadisc
post Jul 18 2012, 11:33 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 18 2012, 08:12 PM)
yup...very high ...
Shinichi
post Jul 18 2012, 11:48 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Anyone here working or worked in EMC (http://singapore.emc.com/index.htm) before? How's the environment/culture there?

Thanks in advance.
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 08:36 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(masshimo @ Jul 18 2012, 10:43 PM)
Hello forum-er,
I remember I saw someone posted a link on the steps/procedure in application of employment pass in SG.

Thanks. =)
Click This ??
Employment Pass Before you apply
TSdeodorant
post Jul 19 2012, 09:36 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(masshimo @ Jul 18 2012, 10:43 PM)
Hello forum-er,

You don't apply for it. The company needs to apply for you.
sweetheart0222
post Jul 19 2012, 10:44 AM

any suggestion where to do medical checkup when applying for ep? (prefer places near cck ave 4, woodlands)
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 10:51 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(sweetheart0222 @ Jul 19 2012, 10:44 AM)
any suggestion where to do medical checkup when applying for ep? (prefer places near cck ave 4, woodlands)
Medical checkup not arranged by company one?
sweetheart0222
post Jul 19 2012, 11:18 AM

no ... that's why i'm asking for recommendation...
yhoong12
post Jul 19 2012, 11:21 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Need some help, i notice some owner will post room for rent at mrt notice board, so i want to know if boonlay or lakeside mrt got the notice board, if got where is it?

Added on July 19, 2012, 11:22 am
QUOTE(sweetheart0222 @ Jul 19 2012, 11:18 AM)
no ... that's why i'm asking for recommendation...
Ops... sorry, cant help, but company will pay for the medical checkup fee right?

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 19 2012, 11:22 AM
crazy25kid
post Jul 19 2012, 11:28 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(sweetheart0222 @ Jul 19 2012, 10:44 AM)
there is 1 in causeway point lvl5
raffles medical or something...just remember it is raffles. laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 19 2012, 11:28 AM

125 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:27 PM