Barbarian Discussion, Share your builds, opinions, guides

LiQuiD
post Jul 16 2012, 03:16 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 16 2012, 03:05 PM)
Means that the skill ignore pain doesn't help if the AR  and armour is low?
it does help but the cd is too long..u use it to escape death..u need LOH
Aura
post Jul 16 2012, 03:16 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 16 2012, 01:49 PM)
Both my WD and Barb in act 2 inferno now.

For barb, how does the ignore pain skills help? After I cast and jump to the elite (iron impact), the Hp still reduce so fast. Did I use it wrongly?

Btw , barb armour: 6.9k and all resist 400++
Dps : 25k. Hp: 32k
All this is before buff.
Is it my AR too low for barb?
Ur stats is fine... Minimum AR for act 2 is 400++.... Maybe u r not cycling ur CDs correctly.... Also maybe u should bump ur hp to 40k++... That might help more....

QUOTE(LiQuiD @ Jul 16 2012, 02:34 PM)
minimum 800 AR for act 2..armour 8-9k minimum
Not really.... His stats are ok...

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 16 2012, 03:05 PM)
Means that the skill ignore pain doesn't help if the AR  and armour is low?
Ignore pain helps in a lot of ways.... Solve ur 1st problem then look into skills later.... Maybe u can post ur skill build???

QUOTE(althosmk @ Jul 16 2012, 03:05 PM)
I'm in act 3 with 800 - 900 AR and 8.5k armour after buff. My damage and hp is quite low tho... 15k dps and 29k hp. I'm like paper in act 3, got ripped to shreds lol
Ur HP is too low.... I can clear act 3 with the same stats as urs but with higher HP.... Ur stats is more than enuf to farm everything.... Once u solved ur survivability issue, then look into DPS to farm more efficient...
alexhee
post Jul 16 2012, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(HaRuaN.X @ Jul 16 2012, 11:34 AM)
although sold already, thank you for your offer alex, but after some price research, seems i need to collect abit more gold to purchase storm sheild similar to your sheild stats (ur stats are very nice btw...)

reckon need to pocket at least 20-30 mill more for few more EQs...unless i get lucky since 1.03b the drop quality is a bit better now...
Adoi, now only u reply biggrin.gif Don't go for stormshield la.. use that gold for weapon, dual wield it and farm in act 2.. u will proceed faster.
LiQuiD
post Jul 16 2012, 03:23 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 16 2012, 03:16 PM)
Ur stats is fine... Minimum AR for act 2 is 400++.... Maybe u r not cycling ur CDs correctly.... Also maybe u should bump ur hp to 40k++... That might help more....
Not really.... His stats are ok...
Ignore pain helps in a lot of ways.... Solve ur 1st problem then look into skills later.... Maybe u can post ur skill build???
Ur HP is too low.... I can clear act 3 with the same stats as urs but with higher HP.... Ur stats is more than enuf to farm everything.... Once u solved ur survivability issue, then look into DPS to farm more efficient...
are u sure? 400 ar with 32k hp? without skipping elites?
Aura
post Jul 16 2012, 03:26 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(LiQuiD @ Jul 16 2012, 03:23 PM)
are u sure? 400 ar with 32k hp? without skipping elites?
I'm sure he can do it... But HP too low.... I've already written in my post in suggesting that he should bump his HP to at least 40k++....
Kidicarus
post Jul 16 2012, 03:58 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(LiQuiD @ Jul 16 2012, 02:34 PM)
minimum 800 AR for act 2..armour 8-9k minimum
This is bullcrap.

I'm a 2h Mace Barb, with about 6k armor and less than 350AR, 0LOH but about 44k hit points. I'm killing Belial with 5NV stacks. It's hard to calculate how much my gear costs as I've upgraded some items a few times (through drops/AH) but it's less than or about a million gold. I'm on about 40k dps with 20% crit chance and with my latest upgrade +300% crit damage. Yeah, my gear is still beginner gear.

You can tell i'm not running a gimmick talent build like earthquake/wotb or tornado build through my talent build: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/barb...;ZXb!bYacaZ . I don't even run war cry with impunity or superstition, yet I can kill most elites/champions with the invulnerable minions+other annoying abilities combo that causes me the most trouble. Otherwise, on a Kulle run (clearing desolate sands etc) i will usually skip 1 or 2 champ packs, depending on luck.

sovietmah
post Jul 16 2012, 04:25 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 16 2012, 03:58 PM)
This is bullcrap.

I'm a 2h Mace Barb, with about 6k armor and less than 350AR, 0LOH but about 44k hit points.  I'm killing Belial with 5NV stacks.  It's hard to calculate how much my gear costs as I've upgraded some items a few times (through drops/AH) but it's less than or about a million gold.  I'm on about 40k dps with 20% crit chance and with my latest upgrade +300% crit damage.  Yeah, my gear is still beginner gear.

You can tell i'm not running a gimmick talent build like earthquake/wotb or tornado build through my talent build: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/barb...;ZXb!bYacaZ .  I don't even run war cry with impunity or superstition, yet I can kill most elites/champions with the invulnerable minions+other annoying abilities combo that causes me the most trouble.  Otherwise, on a Kulle run (clearing desolate sands etc) i will usually skip 1 or 2 champ packs, depending on luck.
I don't think u need too much high resist for killing belial as long as u becareful with the poison and hit.
but u ok when facing elite (with chain and walking fire)?
Aura
post Jul 16 2012, 04:35 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

This is bullcrap.

I'm a 2h Mace Barb, with about 6k armor and less than 350AR, 0LOH but about 44k hit points.  I'm killing Belial with 5NV stacks.  It's hard to calculate how much my gear costs as I've upgraded some items a few times (through drops/AH) but it's less than or about a million gold.  I'm on about 40k dps with 20% crit chance and with my latest upgrade +300% crit damage.  Yeah, my gear is still beginner gear.

You can tell i'm not running a gimmick talent build like earthquake/wotb or tornado build through my talent build: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/barb...;ZXb!bYacaZ .  I don't even run war cry with impunity or superstition, yet I can kill most elites/champions with the invulnerable minions+other annoying abilities combo that causes me the most trouble.  Otherwise, on a Kulle run (clearing desolate sands etc) i will usually skip 1 or 2 champ packs, depending on luck.
Ur scenario is different than BboyDora... U hav DPS and decent amount of HP to compensate ur low resist.... For his case, he lacks both DPS and HP but he can't be pumping both if he doesn't have the gold to do so... But if I were to choose, I will definitely go for more HP pool so that u can take more hits.... The longer he survives, the more DPS he can do....

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jul 16 2012, 04:25 PM)
I don't think u need too much high resist for killing belial as long as u becareful with the poison and hit.
He will still be ok as long as he can kill fast enuf.... But still, it is recommended to pump more resist anyways to maximize his survivability.... He just needs to be extra careful... That's all....

This post has been edited by Aura: Jul 16 2012, 04:35 PM
Kidicarus
post Jul 16 2012, 04:39 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jul 16 2012, 04:25 PM)
I was just responding to "minimum 800 AR for act 2..armour 8-9k minimum"

Belial will still 2 shot me. So i can't just stand still and hit him. It's getting easier as i upgrade my gear though.

Basically, my play style consists of using that old "don't stand in (fire/poison/crap)" strategy. Vanilla chain and walking fire is easy as i tend to kite those and aoe them down with seismic slam. Waller/vortex/fast/invulnerable minions would complicate things.
Aura
post Jul 16 2012, 04:44 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 16 2012, 04:39 PM)
I was just responding to "minimum 800 AR for act 2..armour 8-9k minimum"

Belial will still 2 shot me.  So i can't just stand still and hit him.  It's getting easier as i upgrade my gear though.

Basically, my play style consists of using that old "don't stand in (fire/poison/crap)" strategy.  Vanilla chain and walking fire is easy as i tend to kite those and aoe them down with seismic slam.  Waller/vortex/fast/invulnerable minions would complicate things.
Well, it depends on playstyle... Doesn't matter how u do it as long as u can clear it....

And it's true that u don't need a lot of AR nowadays since the dmg from mobs are nerfed.... A lot of ppl still over value certain props nowadays....
Kidicarus
post Jul 16 2012, 04:47 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 16 2012, 04:35 PM)
Ur scenario is different than BboyDora... U hav DPS and decent amount of HP to compensate ur low resist.... For his case, he lacks both DPS and HP but he can't be pumping both if he doesn't have the gold to do so... But if I were to choose, I will definitely go for more HP pool so that u can take more hits.... The longer he survives, the more DPS he can do....
He will still be ok as long as he can kill fast enuf.... But still, it is recommended to pump more resist anyways to maximize his survivability.... He just needs to be extra careful... That's all....
I bet he's trying to tank his way through the acts. I'm saying that trying to do that is not economical. I'm not saying that I'm the best barbarian ever but considering that i can now farm act 2 after spending very little means that i'm either doing something very right or that he's doing something very wrong.
BboyDora
post Jul 16 2012, 04:50 PM

2,366 posts

Oh.. I thought its stack. I press ignore pain then press leap (iron) impact to the elites. Then being whacked like mini mouse.

My build:
frenzy (sidearm)
War cry(impunity)
Leap ( iron impact)
Revenge (increase chances-can't remember exact name)
Berserker (increase dmg)
Ignore pain (increase duration)

Passive :
Crit chance
Nerves of steel
Berserker rage

Sorry if I put the name wrongly cz can't remember the exact name now.. Hehe.
Not to say can't kill elites, but have to struggle most mobs like arcane, invulnerable and chain. Can't tank and fight like a boss. Sometimes have to kite a bit for cool down.

Barb shouldn't be running I presume. Haha.

Edited: to add something.
My crit chance is 25% where crit dmg is 233%

This post has been edited by BboyDora: Jul 16 2012, 05:01 PM
moodswingfella
post Jul 16 2012, 04:58 PM

364 posts

This is bullcrap.

this is doable when soloing. any 30kdps and above for barb, u can start soloing.

but when it comes to 4 player coop, this wont do.

Aura
post Jul 16 2012, 05:04 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 16 2012, 04:47 PM)
I bet he's trying to tank his way through the acts.  I'm saying that trying to do that is not economical.  I'm not saying that I'm the best barbarian ever but considering that i can now farm act 2 after spending very little means that i'm either doing something very right or that he's doing something very wrong.
Nowadays, most tank barbs are moving to DPS more since tank barbs always hit the enrage timer during elite/champ battles.... So, that's why it's not good to make tanking barbs for now.... The best is a DPS barb with decent survivability IMO....

This is the main reason why u can still advance... If that's ur stats on previous inferno, u will be stuck at act 2....

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 16 2012, 04:50 PM)
Oh.. I thought its stack. I press ignore pain then press leap (iron) impact to the elites. Then being whacked like mini mouse.

My build:
frenzy (sidearm)
War cry(impunity)
Leap ( iron impact)
Berserker (increase dmg)

Passive :
Crit chance
Nerves of steel
Berserker rage

Not to say can't kill elites, but have to struggle most  mobs like arcane, invulnerable and chain. Can't tank and fight like a boss. Sometimes have to kite a bit for cool down.

I recommend changing the following in ur build...

Berserker -> Furious charge with dreadnought for extra healing
Ignore pain (increase duration) -> rune change to ignorance is bliss for extra healing

Passive :
Berserker rage -> Tough as nails

That should help a lot.... Double armor passives will help to deal with dmg reduction.... Furious charge is bcos u need mobility more at the moment to compensate ur lack of tankiness.... Berserker only will be most effective if u hav around 30-35k dmg... Plus, the berserker rage is not helping u at all since when u pop berserker, u lose that buff for few secs since ur fury is not at full.... So, the above changes is when I used as a temporary solution.... Ur main enemy now is u dun hav enuf HP to take so many hits.... that's where the extra healing comes in handy.... With this build, u might be taking a bit longer than usual but u can survive longer thus, u can DPS mobs more....

As for the answer to ur next statement, u won't be able to tank anyways for arcane and chains since they are not blockable.... U need to cycle ur cooldowns more efficient.... And also, if u dun wanna use furious charge, u can use back ur berserker skill but u need to leave the leap for defensive purposes in case u need to escape from tight situations....

Hope it helps... This is just my opinion....

Added on July 16, 2012, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Jul 16 2012, 04:58 PM)
this is doable when soloing. any 30kdps and above for barb, u can start soloing.

but when it comes to 4 player coop, this wont do.
True to that since u need to survive longer in a co-op game cos the mobs have extra health.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Aura: Jul 16 2012, 05:13 PM
moodswingfella
post Jul 16 2012, 05:27 PM

364 posts

^
i wish i have 2 set of gears. 1 for solo and 1 for coop.

too bad now i only have tanking gears for coop.
ALeUNe
post Jul 16 2012, 05:37 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 16 2012, 04:50 PM)

My build:
frenzy (sidearm)
War cry(impunity)
Leap ( iron impact)
Berserker (increase dmg)

Passive :
Crit chance
Nerves of steel
Berserker rage

Not to say can't kill elites, but have to struggle most  mobs like arcane, invulnerable and chain. Can't tank and fight like a boss. Sometimes have to kite a bit for cool down.

Edited: to add something.
My crit chance is 25% where crit dmg is 233%
You heard many voices.
Some said your stats are fine. Some said you are not. Some said doable.
I bet you get confused whether your gears are good or not.

Looking at your stats, honestly speaking, I'd say it is not fine but it is doable.
Either solo or co-op could be the solution. You need to find out which is an easier solution yourself.
For me, I have problem going solo, especially in A3 and A4. I found co-op games are much easier for me.

What does it mean by "doable"?
You can complete the A2 quests with died-uncountable-times + a-lot-of-kiting.
Forget about dual-wield like a boss. You can't do it in Inferno except Ghom, I guess (you need LOH though).
And you need to accept another fact that generally all types of heroes are toufu in Inferno unless you have god-like weapon and armor.
So, for your case, it is "doable" and just get ready to be killed uncountable times by the elite monsters and you need kiting.
Do not feel disheartened. I played a lot at public game and I can tell you ALL classes of heroes are toufu, if they do not have good gears.

Last but not least, choose the right skill is important.
For A2, Wrath of the Berserker (Insanity) + Earthquake (Chilling Earth) are effective in killing elites.
chchan_89
post Jul 16 2012, 06:06 PM

146 posts

Any advice / suggestion for my barb? im currently doin fine in A1, but when enter a2, i jz torn into pieces by elites...~.~

My skill build

Frenzy (Side Arm)
Furious Charge (Dreadnaught)
Wotb (Insanity)
Warcry (Impunity)
Revenge (Prov)
Ignore Pain (Ignorance is Bliss)
Weapon Mastery
Ruthless
Nerve of Steel

My weapon focus more on life steal which stacks up to around 5% since LoH is freaking exp. might tink of using Bloodthirst for the passive.

Any idea and advice?
BboyDora
post Jul 16 2012, 06:13 PM

2,366 posts

ok ok...thanks Aura and Aleune for the guides...will try later...

see how it goes. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
alexhee
post Jul 16 2012, 06:16 PM

QUOTE(chchan_89 @ Jul 16 2012, 06:06 PM)

Any advice / suggestion for my barb? im currently doin fine in A1, but when enter a2, i jz torn into pieces by elites...~.~

My skill build

Frenzy (Side Arm)
Furious Charge (Dreadnaught)
Wotb (Insanity)
Warcry (Impunity)
Revenge (Prov)
Ignore Pain (Ignorance is Bliss)
Weapon Mastery
Ruthless
Nerve of Steel

My weapon focus more on life steal which stacks up to around 5% since LoH is freaking exp. might tink of using Bloodthirst for the passive.
Any idea and advice?

U have enough def but lack of damage. Try pump your str. With more damage, ur life steal more effective.

chchan_89
post Jul 16 2012, 06:20 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(alexhee @ Jul 16 2012, 06:16 PM)
U have enough def but lack of damage. Try pump your str. With more damage, ur life steal more effective.
where else can i pump more dmg? the only thing i see is d amulet to add in with a decent 40%+ crit dmg, but im gona lost alot of hp .

146 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:50 PM