125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

ghoss
post Apr 18 2012, 12:07 PM

957 posts

In my opinion , just common sense .

Stomach = Meat Grinder

If you put in less meat at a time , the "grinder" will suffer less ? tongue.gif

Instead of piling more than what it can handle.

viruz019
post Apr 18 2012, 09:34 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

Hey all,

I'm starting to lose weight lately, but not sure if my method is consider "alright"

I go to gym 3 times every week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) and sometimes an extra.

My routine:
15min cycling + (2-5minute of cooldown *auto set by the machine*)
10min threadmill *speed 4~5.5* + (5minute of cooldown)
10~30min of muscle training (do 4 sets and each set 10 times)
lastly, at least Swimming for 20 laps (normally about 20minutes)

is that consider okay?
woonrokjou
post Apr 19 2012, 02:33 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:34 PM)
Hey all,

I'm starting to lose weight lately, but not sure if my method is consider "alright"

I go to gym 3 times every week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) and sometimes an extra.

My routine:
15min cycling + (2-5minute of cooldown *auto set by the machine*)
10min threadmill *speed 4~5.5* + (5minute of cooldown)
10~30min of muscle training (do 4 sets and each set 10 times)
lastly, at least Swimming for 20 laps (normally about 20minutes)

is that consider okay?
what r u trying to archive? reducing body fats?
viruz019
post Apr 19 2012, 03:42 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

QUOTE(woonrokjou @ Apr 19 2012, 02:33 PM)
what r u trying to archive? reducing body fats?
yea..current weight is 119kg..height 180cm
hexion
post Apr 20 2012, 01:57 PM

480 posts

do i need to do abs exercise to get more satisfying result in slimming down my belly? i have been doing cardio and weight training for the past few months, but still have some leftover hanging there. my weight is within a range of 68-72kg and height 178cm.
ghoss
post Apr 20 2012, 04:30 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(hexion @ Apr 20 2012, 01:57 PM)
do i need to do abs exercise to get more satisfying result in slimming down my belly? i have been doing cardio and weight training for the past few months, but still have some leftover hanging there. my weight is within a range of 68-72kg and height 178cm.
there is no such thing as spot reduction .

Meaning do abs to reduce tummy flat
m3mphiz23z
post Apr 20 2012, 05:45 PM

87 posts

To reduce belly fat you need to lose total body fat
hidden830726
post Apr 20 2012, 09:56 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

ok. i frequent mamak with friends and there's where i always gather:

This is what i eat today as dinner:

2 Chapati
2 Telur Rebus
2 Bananas
2 Icewater

and now while typing this eating 2 green apple

Good and balance diet?

If not how to improve in a mamak context.

Also, what to replace bananas, because bananas only available on friday

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Apr 20 2012, 09:57 PM
thelion4ever
post Apr 21 2012, 05:04 AM

Olga Kurylenko
967 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Apr 20 2012, 09:56 PM)

2 Chapati
2 Telur Rebus
2 Bananas
2 Icewater

Good and balance diet?

Its terrible.

Lacking in fats and protein. For a person trying to lose weight thats a lot of carbs.
woonrokjou
post Apr 23 2012, 01:01 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Apr 19 2012, 03:42 PM)
yea..current weight is 119kg..height 180cm
wow, okay, good luck to u, glad u decide to lost weight, i was 186cm, 94kg 4months ago, about the same situation as u r facing now

Added on April 23, 2012, 1:06 pm

2 Chapati
2 Telur Rebus
2 Bananas
2 Icewater

Good and balance diet?

QUOTE(thelion4ever @ Apr 21 2012, 05:04 AM)
Its terrible.

Lacking in fats and protein. For a person trying to lose weight thats a lot of carbs.
definitely too much carbs for a person that wish to reduce body weight biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
pls calculate ur macros flex.gif
learn all this from thelion4ever

This post has been edited by woonrokjou: Apr 23 2012, 01:08 PM
Strawberry<3
post Apr 24 2012, 07:12 PM

Trusted and Best Seller
1,763 posts

2 Chapati
2 Telur Rebus
2 Bananas
2 Icewater

Good and balance diet?

u need protein and meat too..

u sure can lose weight with those meal but u will look pale and dull
hexion
post Apr 25 2012, 01:47 AM

480 posts

hey guys are there something wrong with my dietary program? people keep on saying that i look pale and weak nowadays even when there's wind breeze can blow me off. + family also worried that i may not had enough carbs for my brain to function properly for studying purpose. most of them also think that i might have eating disorder.

my weight is 69kg and height 178cm++. waist i think around 32 1/2.
used to be slightly obese 89kg now my collar bone are visible and pretty much else can see my ribs too but still failed to get flat stomach.

i workout 5 times a week, consist of cardio and weight training.

my weekly diet:
breakfast- whole grain cereal and milk
lunch- probably subway or o'brien sandwiches or white rice with chicken
dinner- salad with a few piece of feta cheese and pepperoni
snack- fruit like grapes,apple or orange.

should i eat more? counting calories kinda pain in the ass, really gave me a headache on where to eat and what to order. from online calories calculator said that i should not exceed consuming calories more than 2k per day.

do i need to reduce more weight to get flat stomach or continue with building a muscle?

Strawberry<3
post Apr 25 2012, 09:22 AM

Trusted and Best Seller
1,763 posts

^ im facing the same problem with u... maybe because your family used to see u in obese size .. and normally obese person will look fresher. After become thin.. family feel like we're too thin and don't look as fresh as before xD

from your weight i think u are thin enough.. now just focus on the tummy.. do more sit up and waist exercise
verticalforce
post Apr 25 2012, 12:24 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(hexion @ Apr 24 2012, 06:47 PM)
hey guys are there something wrong with my dietary program? people keep on saying that i look pale and weak nowadays even when there's wind breeze can blow me off. + family also worried that i may not had enough carbs for my brain to function properly for studying purpose. most of them also think that i might have eating disorder.

my weight is 69kg and height 178cm++. waist i think around 32 1/2.
used to be slightly obese 89kg now my collar bone are visible and pretty much else can see my ribs too but still failed to get flat stomach.

i workout 5 times a week, consist of cardio and weight training.

my weekly diet:
breakfast- whole grain cereal and milk
lunch- probably subway or o'brien sandwiches or white rice with chicken
dinner- salad with a few piece of feta cheese and pepperoni
snack- fruit like grapes,apple or orange.

should i eat more? counting calories kinda pain in the ass, really gave me a headache on where to eat and what to order. from online calories calculator said that i should not exceed consuming calories more than 2k per day.

do i need to reduce more weight to get flat stomach or continue with building a muscle?
It means you are skinny fat.

Stop cutting and starts BULKING now and lift heavy. Cut back on cardio. And yeah, eat more protein.

This post has been edited by verticalforce: Apr 25 2012, 12:28 PM
hexion
post Apr 25 2012, 01:59 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(verticalforce @ Apr 25 2012, 12:24 PM)
It means you are skinny fat.

Stop cutting and starts BULKING now and lift heavy. Cut back on cardio. And yeah, eat more protein.
thanks brah, so is it advisable for me to take whey protein like ON 100% whey for bulking purpose?
dywx07045
post Apr 25 2012, 11:44 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(hexion @ Apr 25 2012, 01:59 PM)
thanks brah, so is it advisable for me to take whey protein like ON 100% whey for bulking purpose?
for bulking up, i use MuscleTech Nitro-tech hard core, the taste is a bit weird, but really effective for building lean muscles drool.gif
hexion
post Apr 26 2012, 02:03 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(dywx07045 @ Apr 25 2012, 11:44 PM)
for bulking up, i use MuscleTech Nitro-tech hard core, the taste is a bit weird, but really effective for building lean muscles  drool.gif
it's not weight-gainer type of supplement aite? i dont want my tummy to gain fat later-on. so how it work? do i need to take it as a pre-workout supplement or post-workout, as a pre-workout i already take jack3d.
RedShirt
post Apr 26 2012, 06:39 PM

515 posts

Hi guys, I looking for some advices about weight loss and maintaining it.

To my understanding is that maintaining a calories deficit diet/lifestyle is the way to lose weight and when my calories intake equals my calories burned, my weight maintains.

Lets just say if I start a strict diet to lower my calories intake drastically while maintaining my physical activities as per usual (weight training and cardio), I should be losing weight (while I understand that it will be a net loss in weight but it is lesser because of muscle build and that muscle weight is actually heavier than fat).

So with all the exercise and strict diet, say I am able to shed 15kg and I am happy and satisfied with my current body weight. My main question is now, whether if I continue with my exercise routines (no change in style or intensity) but I am no longer following a strict diet and revert to my usual diet pattern (healthy and nothing excessively). Would I still be able to maintain my new weight or my weight will increase back to my old previous weight ?

I read that bigger muscle build would result in higher metabolism and if I do not eat excessively, I should still be able to maintain a slight calorie deficit if not equal calorie intake and consumption to maintain my new lighter body weight.

Any views in my theory ?

This post has been edited by RedShirt: Apr 26 2012, 06:46 PM
darkseifer
post Apr 26 2012, 07:56 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Apr 26 2012, 06:39 PM)
Hi guys, I looking for some advices about weight loss and maintaining it.

To my understanding is that maintaining a calories deficit diet/lifestyle is the way to lose weight and when my calories intake equals my calories burned, my weight maintains.

Lets just say if I start a strict diet to lower my calories intake drastically while maintaining my physical activities as per usual (weight training and cardio), I should be losing weight (while I understand that it will be a net loss in weight but it is lesser because of muscle build and that muscle weight is actually heavier than fat).

So with all the exercise and strict diet, say I am able to shed 15kg and I am happy and satisfied with my current body weight. My main question is now, whether if I continue with my exercise routines (no change in style or intensity) but I am no longer following a strict diet and revert to my usual diet pattern (healthy and nothing excessively). Would I still be able to maintain my new weight or my weight will increase back to my old previous weight ?

I read that bigger muscle build would result in higher metabolism and if I do not eat excessively, I should still be able to maintain a slight calorie deficit if not equal calorie intake and consumption to maintain my new lighter body weight.

Any views in my theory ?
Sup brah. It seems like you answered your own question?
"To my understanding is that maintaining a calories deficit diet/lifestyle is the way to lose weight and when my calories intake equals my calories burned, my weight maintains."
-All you have to do is adjust your eating accordingly to your maintenance calories if you want to maintain. Assuming you are still in a deficit, if you plan to return to maintenance, add a small amount of calories weekly till you reach maintenance calories.

On to the next
"I read that bigger muscle build would result in higher metabolism and if I do not eat excessively, I should still be able to maintain a slight calorie deficit if not equal calorie intake and consumption to maintain my new lighter body weight."
-This is something that is usually blown out of proportion. Yes a 1lb of muscle tissue burns more calories than 1lb fat tissue, however its pretty insignificant. Lets put some numbers to it.
1lb of muscle burns about 6 calories at rest and fat burns about 2 calories at rest. Lets assume that you lose 10lbs of fat and gain 10lbs of muscle. You're going to weigh the same, but of course you're going to look a heck of a lot better. So back to the point, you're going to burn an additional 40 calories a day due to the change in body composition. Not very significant. For it to be very significant you have to build a significant amount of muscle which will take a very long time to reach.
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 28 2012, 10:02 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Morning.

V3 already...nice.

Normally jog 4 times a week, 45 minutes each session.

Stopped jogging since Januari 2012 since moving to a new apartment.
Still walking 2.4 km everyday though since have no time to jog.
Waist 32 inches...now 31 inches; loosen pants laugh.gif
Old days was 36 inches.

Started again FINALLY last Saturday.

Sore on the CALF and THIGH laugh.gif

Took a week to heal.
Maybe can jog again tomorrow.

Last time longest break was a month, only a sore calf.
This time after nearly 4 months...even the thigh was sore biggrin.gif

Glad to be back.

Stay healthy guys.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 28 2012, 10:03 AM

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:32 PM