126 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !

mmohdnor
post Apr 15 2012, 09:27 AM

1,021 posts

I dun hv pc fair pics. But I managed to get some pics around lalang + wild grass at my hometown :

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Apr 15 2012, 09:28 AM
Andy214
post Apr 15 2012, 11:47 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hkenh @ Apr 15 2012, 07:38 AM)
in AF-C if you recompose it will still only focus within the AF focus layout area (so no fundamental differences), so with this face detection feature the face of the subject will always be in focus(around the AF area) and you can put all your attention on the composition. Depending on how well it works, I think the days of getting frustrated because image is OOF after recompose may well be gone for good.

since you have the camera you should try it out how well does it work. Put ur settings to AF-C and Auto-area AF and then do some test. It doesn't need to be a real person, you can even shoot poster with a face.  laugh.gif
I think not called Auto-Area AF, technically Auto-Area AF means, AF-A

I think you mean Dynamic Area AF?
But I think you should use 3D Tracking Area for the example you mentioned.

KIEN18
post Apr 15 2012, 08:22 PM

176 posts

Any nice ND filter recommend?
Alexdino
post Apr 15 2012, 10:00 PM

2,006 posts

ops.. sad.gif i found that under-low light + long exposure my D7000 have lots of hotpixels.. doh.gif hot to fix it? icon_question.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 15 2012, 10:01 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Apr 15 2012, 08:22 PM)
Any nice ND filter recommend?
Lee filters brows.gif or if the screw in type, try B+W smile.gif
amduser
post Apr 15 2012, 10:02 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Apr 15 2012, 10:00 PM)
ops.. sad.gif  i found that under-low light + long exposure my D7000 have lots of hotpixels.. doh.gif  hot to fix it? icon_question.gif
turn on long exposure NR? but it will take some time to clear the buffer to memory card

-kytz-
post Apr 15 2012, 10:05 PM

12,573 posts

Isn't that digital noise....as a result of long exposure. Use NR to clean off those smile.gif
Alexdino
post Apr 15 2012, 10:18 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 15 2012, 10:05 PM)
Isn't that digital noise....as a result of long exposure. Use NR to clean off those smile.gif
Ok, thanks got it. tongue.gif
Calvin Seak
post Apr 15 2012, 10:21 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 15 2012, 10:01 PM)
Lee filters brows.gif or if the screw in type, try B+W smile.gif
Lee fileters would kill most of us =/ the price that is lol!
Alexdino
post Apr 15 2012, 10:24 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Apr 15 2012, 10:21 PM)
Lee fileters would kill most of us =/ the price that is lol!
even cokin z pro already killing me.. sweat.gif
hkenh
post Apr 15 2012, 11:53 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 15 2012, 11:47 AM)
I think not called Auto-Area AF, technically Auto-Area AF means, AF-A

I think you mean Dynamic Area AF?
But I think you should use 3D Tracking Area for the example you mentioned.
AF-A???
There's only two AF mode, AF-S & AF-C
and there's three AF area mode - single,dynamic & auto
and with auto-area AF, according to nikon website - ''Auto Area AF uses color information and special face recognition algorithms to automatically focus on an individual’s face, which is extremely helpful when there’s simply no time to select a focus point, or when using Live View in hand-held mode at high or low angles.''

iloveOov
post Apr 15 2012, 11:54 PM

226 posts

today shooting at TUDM...

amduser
post Apr 16 2012, 01:26 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(hkenh @ Apr 15 2012, 11:53 PM)
AF-A???
and with auto-area AF, according to nikon website - ''Auto Area AF uses color information and special face recognition algorithms to automatically focus on an individual’s face, which is extremely helpful when there’s simply no time to select a focus point, or when using Live View in hand-held mode at high or low angles.''
too bad, the face recognition focusing is a bit cacat on my d5100 and the full-time servo mode as well, it take a while to focus again sweat.gif

and 3D tracking on my camera is not that good with 11 AF points

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Apr 15 2012, 11:54 PM)
today shooting at TUDM...

need to request for TUDM permission to shot at there? hmm.gif

btw....everyone please drop by at my thread in showcase subforum icon_rolleyes.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2308278
Andy214
post Apr 16 2012, 08:03 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hkenh @ Apr 15 2012, 11:53 PM)
AF-A???
In lower end bodies, there's AF-A:

For explanation, here's a video, navigate to AF Area.
You will see Auto-Area, Dynamic Area and 3D Tracking:
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/eng/d90/index.shtml

In 3D Tracking, it's what as per explain where it helps in recomposition. I seldom use these, I think it newer models, there is Auto mode will full Focus point, but not sure if it's considered Dynamic or not because Dynamic is not display or shown at all.
celciuz
post Apr 16 2012, 08:54 AM

14,037 posts

Whose into superbikes here?

Suzuki Hayabusa, The 33rd Bangkok International Motor Show 2012 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
hkenh
post Apr 16 2012, 09:10 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 16 2012, 08:03 AM)
In lower end bodies, there's AF-A:

For explanation, here's a video, navigate to AF Area.
You will see Auto-Area, Dynamic Area and 3D Tracking:
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/eng/d90/index.shtml

In 3D Tracking, it's what as per explain where it helps in recomposition. I seldom use these, I think it newer models, there is Auto mode will full Focus point, but not sure if it's considered Dynamic or not because Dynamic is not display or shown at all.
Erm, I'm not talking about Nikon DSLR in general, I'm talking about D800 . . . . doh.gif
Andy214
post Apr 16 2012, 09:16 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hkenh @ Apr 16 2012, 09:10 AM)
Erm, I'm not talking about Nikon DSLR in general, I'm talking about D800 . . . .  doh.gif
It doesn't matter, it's just a function/feature.
In fact, it's from Nikon. All models shares the same Dynamic, Single, 3D and Auto. Some older models may not have some features and some advance models may not have those lower end beginner feature. Either way, the term is the same, such as Dynamic, Single, 3D, etc.
D7000 does have BOTH Auto-Area Focus Point and AF-A

Anyway, it's just terms, good to know; doesn't matter which body. At least we now know, there 2 things about Auto-Area.

EDIT:
OK, just check D7000 manual, the AF-A explanation is more clear, it's should be called, Auto-Servo AF, as in Single-Servo AF and Continuous Servo AF. This should fall under AutoFocus mode, while the other should be as what you've mentioned, AutoFocus/AF "Area" Mode.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Apr 16 2012, 09:28 AM
Tanakwagu_noh
post Apr 16 2012, 09:34 AM

Photographer
866 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 16 2012, 08:54 AM)
hey thats my bike n gal thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif
celciuz
post Apr 16 2012, 09:49 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tanakwagu_noh @ Apr 16 2012, 09:34 AM)
hey thats my bike n gal thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  notworthy.gif
Wah, you ride a Hayabusa? drool.gif
zhinsara
post Apr 16 2012, 10:54 AM

555 posts

So, has anyone speculated on the D400? It's the camera I'm most looking forward to to upgrade a D300s and D90. I'm definitely hoping that it'll be D800 style body with D3s or D4 sensor for my shooting work, but the rumors are flying otherwise (24mp DX, wtf?). What are all your thoughts on this?

126 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:33 AM