126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !

raaisma
post Apr 3 2012, 07:33 PM

14 posts

Has anyone tried old Nikkor manual lenses on D800? I' m particularly interested with 55mm f2.8 AiS since it's arguably one of the Nikkor's sharpest lenses.
celciuz
post Apr 3 2012, 07:40 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(makaroni @ Apr 3 2012, 06:44 PM)
very nice colour, SOOC or PP? if PP can teach me how u make ur colour nice? is this call colour pop?
Not SOOC, shot in RAW format. Edited in LR and using Vivid color profile and tweak WB according to my taste smile.gif
makaroni
post Apr 3 2012, 07:50 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 3 2012, 07:40 PM)
Not SOOC, shot in RAW format. Edited in LR and using Vivid color profile and tweak WB according to my taste smile.gif
Vivid colour profile is in LR or in camera Vivid?
hkenh
post Apr 3 2012, 08:00 PM

384 posts

Comparison of D800 & 5dmk3 from TheCameraStoreTv, much better analysis and more constructive than those crap from DigitalRev
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=omTo7UxbJX8...2ceFUAAAAAAABAA

Everdying
post Apr 3 2012, 08:02 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(raaisma @ Apr 3 2012, 07:33 PM)
Has anyone tried old Nikkor manual lenses on D800? I' m particularly interested with 55mm f2.8 AiS since it's arguably one of the Nikkor's sharpest lenses.
the macro one?
dont see any reason why AiS lenses wont work, as it has been working on other bodies already.

only question is whether it can resolve the high mp of the D800...guess u can be one of the first few to find out tongue.gif
tctham
post Apr 3 2012, 08:09 PM

653 posts

lolz~ my lens got a bug~ dunno what is it.. dun have macro lens to take picture of it.. it's in between the glass i think. @_@ sad.gif

Everdying
post Apr 3 2012, 08:10 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Apr 3 2012, 08:09 PM)
lolz~ my lens got a bug~ dunno what is it.. dun have macro lens to take picture of it.. it's in between the glass i think. @_@ sad.gif
u mean a bug crawl inside ur lens?
tctham
post Apr 3 2012, 08:20 PM

653 posts

no idea how it entered the lens.. and yea.. it's inside the lens.. i shake the lens but it doesn't dislodge.. it's 2nd day since i noticed.. and the bug is still in same position.. presume dead.. but i can't be sure.. anybody with macro lens want TT? and let the rest of the nikon-ian members see? hhaha~ it's my samyang 85mm lens tho..
raaisma
post Apr 3 2012, 08:22 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 3 2012, 08:02 PM)
the macro one?
dont see any reason why AiS lenses wont work, as it has been working on other bodies already.

only question is whether it can resolve the high mp of the D800...guess u can be one of the first few to find out tongue.gif
Yes, it should work. I was trying to ask how the lens fair on D800's high megapixel. I hope it can handle it smile.gif
celciuz
post Apr 3 2012, 08:28 PM

14,037 posts

More pix... tongue.gif

The 33rd Bangkok International Motor Show 2012 by CY Pixels, on Flickr

flickr CY7_6546 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
chongkiatz
post Apr 3 2012, 08:34 PM

6,786 posts

@celciuz : nice photo bro

i think u put alot of effort on the smooth skin tone ya thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Really nice

and ur picture damn sharp shooting at wide open drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Apr 3 2012, 08:35 PM
hkenh
post Apr 3 2012, 08:39 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 3 2012, 08:28 PM)
More pix... tongue.gif

My ''Gender Detector'' software says those are male tongue.gif
celciuz
post Apr 3 2012, 08:40 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(makaroni @ Apr 3 2012, 07:50 PM)
Vivid colour profile is in LR or in camera Vivid?
LR itself. Doesn't matter what I set in body since I'm shooting RAW.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 3 2012, 08:34 PM)
@celciuz : nice photo bro

i think u put alot of effort on the smooth skin tone ya  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif Really nice
and ur picture damn sharp shooting at wide open  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Not really, they make up well! Save some work there tongue.gif

QUOTE(hkenh @ Apr 3 2012, 08:39 PM)
My ''Gender Detector'' software says those are male tongue.gif
sweat.gif
hkenh
post Apr 3 2012, 08:41 PM

384 posts

none of those is wide open wor in the EXIF
Andy214
post Apr 3 2012, 09:02 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 3 2012, 03:00 PM)
DFD pro with the diffuser in front? then 'almost' similar effect la tongue.gif
except u dont lose as much light as a diffusion dome.

Added on April 3, 2012, 3:05 pmi have the DFD classic, tho most of the time i only use the diffusion dome that comes with the flash...unless i really really need to throw more light forward.
but im also very lazy, and the dome is easier to setup tongue.gif
almost similar? Not for my experience, I don't like the diffusion dome effect, it's much harsher and direct, plus it tends to darken the background. Shooting with same setting, the DFD Pro way better result from my experience, especially when you can adjust the diffuser and modify it to a bigger one.

For easier setup can purchase or DIY this: http://www.abetterbouncecard.com/
Only thing can't really adjust just DFD Pro.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 3 2012, 04:59 PM)
I find the dome is no good for big open space. Maybe indoors small rooms still ok, but big halls such as the IMPACT Challenger its useless and wasting too much power, no point using. Might as well shoot without flash.
I tried indoor small room or big room, didn't like the effect. One of the event, I saw 2 photographer, one of them using dome, flash slightly backwards instead of up or front, and another photographer using mixture of bounce and bounce card. SOOC, you can easily tell which is using the dome; In AWB, "generally", the dome will give cold tone, darker background and more hard lighting.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 3 2012, 05:03 PM)
not really, the dome is still throwing some light forward.
plus ur only using 35mm, so ur not that far away anyway.
if u notice alot of shots, its not just about the exposure, almost all will have some nice catch light in the eye, thats where a flash can come in handy.
Depending on the environment, without flash and with flash (depending how it is used) can give really different outcome.

hkenh
post Apr 3 2012, 09:05 PM

384 posts

D800E ---> http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=a...led-nikon-d800e
Sadru
post Apr 3 2012, 09:08 PM

1,062 posts

celciuz, guess all were taken with d700? 35 f2.0?
celciuz
post Apr 3 2012, 09:08 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Apr 3 2012, 09:08 PM)
celciuz, guess all were taken with d700? 35 f2.0?
35mm f/1.4G, I don't own a 35mm f/2D. smile.gif
Sadru
post Apr 3 2012, 09:11 PM

1,062 posts

ahh forgot~! 1.4 is meant for full frame too! silly me ;D
Everdying
post Apr 3 2012, 09:20 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 3 2012, 09:02 PM)
almost similar? Not for my experience, I don't like the diffusion dome effect, it's much harsher and direct, plus it tends to darken the background. Shooting with same setting, the DFD Pro way better result from my experience, especially when you can adjust the diffuser and modify it to a bigger one.

For easier setup can purchase or DIY this: http://www.abetterbouncecard.com/
Only thing can't really adjust just DFD Pro.
I tried indoor small room or big room, didn't like the effect. One of the event, I saw 2 photographer, one of them using dome, flash slightly backwards instead of up or front, and another photographer using mixture of bounce and bounce card. SOOC, you can easily tell which is using the dome; In AWB, "generally", the dome will give cold tone, darker background and more hard lighting.
Depending on the environment, without flash and with flash (depending how it is used) can give really different outcome.
all depends how u angle the flash head with the diffusion dome on.
and darken background? perhaps if the flash is set facing head on like direct flash.

126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1004sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:40 AM