Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

SUSsylar111
post Feb 9 2012, 05:04 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 9 2012, 04:46 PM)
how much lower can u stomach?  blush.gif
if u serious think your failure to secure a call from your prospective employer or headhunter is your salary then just scale it down further, it just a click   rolleyes.gif lower 10% each month until u suceed  rolleyes.gif  hahah..

but if u have dun enough spammin so far hmm.gif ,
i believe some irritated HH will have somehow call u n discuss your expectation with u,
not getting a call at all maybe u need to relook at your profile  nod.gif
Getting lots of calls including from those indian recruitment centers offering me SGD 3000. A lot of the calls I am getting are actually offering me interviews for jobs based in KL. I really do not know how low I can scale down to. But so far I am asking this question because my friend in SingTel is getting SGD4k and I am asking her to find a job for me. If my friend did not inform me that she was earning SGD 4k I would have no doubt that I am worth between SGD 4.3 and SGD 4.5. But the fact that she told me that, I have to really reconsider. My headhunter friend was telling me about a job in NCS and they are willing to pay SGD4.5 but my application was KIVed. Another thing that really caused me to ponder was that I have another friend in IBM who is a Singaporean doing support there and he was also earning around SGD4.5K I think he is a NUS graduate in engineering so he should be earning more. I really dunno the true market in Sg. Are they actually paying much less. I mean a lot of people are saying that when u get into Sg, it should be between 0.8 to 1:1 but now i am actually seeing a lot of people actually not earning in that scale. I mean a lot of people who i would think should be earning more then 6-8k by now if salaries are really 1:1 are not really getting that amount.

Added on February 9, 2012, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Feb 9 2012, 05:02 PM)
Just curious, do you guys put your salary in the resume?  I do not do that though.
No I dun.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Feb 9 2012, 05:05 PM
crazy25kid
post Feb 9 2012, 05:10 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

^ u need to factor in another thing which is how many times the person jumped ship
the lesser the count, the salary will be less.
ivanswk
post Feb 9 2012, 05:23 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Feb 9 2012, 05:02 PM)
Just curious, do you guys put your salary in the resume?  I do not do that though.
on CV no rolleyes.gif
but certain jobsite where u open ur CV for HH to view, yes
recently a HH call from kl ask me to go back at 80% of my current salary after conversion, at least for info u know your current worth from there hmm.gif
Tigerr
post Feb 9 2012, 05:33 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2012, 05:04 PM)
Getting lots of calls including from those indian recruitment centers offering me SGD 3000. A lot of the calls I am getting are actually offering me interviews for jobs based in KL. I really do not know how low I can scale down to. But so far I am asking this question because my friend in SingTel is getting SGD4k and I am asking her to find a job for me.  If my friend did not inform me that she was earning SGD 4k I would have no doubt that I am worth between SGD 4.3 and SGD 4.5. But the fact that she told me that, I have to really reconsider. My headhunter friend was telling me about a job in NCS and they are willing to pay SGD4.5 but my application was KIVed. Another thing that really caused me to ponder was that I have another friend in IBM who is a Singaporean doing support there and he was also earning around SGD4.5K I think he is a NUS graduate in engineering so he should be earning more. I really dunno the true market in Sg. Are they actually paying much less. I mean a lot of people are saying that when u get into Sg, it should be between 0.8 to 1:1 but now i am actually seeing a lot of people actually not earning in that scale. I mean a lot of people who i would think should be earning more then 6-8k by now if salaries are really 1:1 are not really getting that amount.

Added on February 9, 2012, 5:05 pm

No I dun.
Yeah....many people say 1:1 or at least 0.8.....they can say that many years back where the economy is good or picking up....right now, it is more tough....you see yourself as you got friends.

I didnt get 1:1 when i came here but not bad also lar.....

You need to keep trying. But why you want to come sgp? hmm.gif
SUSsylar111
post Feb 9 2012, 05:37 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 9 2012, 05:33 PM)
Yeah....many people say 1:1 or at least 0.8.....they can say that many years back where the economy is good or picking up....right now, it is more tough....you see yourself as you got friends.

I didnt get 1:1 when i came here but not bad also lar.....

You need to keep trying. But why you want to come sgp?  hmm.gif
Very simple. I do not trust Malaysian economy. I think it is very likely to fall. I think Singapore is a developed country. Thus there are more opportunities. I want to improve myself.
Tigerr
post Feb 9 2012, 05:40 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2012, 05:37 PM)
Very simple. I do not trust Malaysian economy. I think it is very likely to fall. I think Singapore is a developed country. Thus there are more opportunities. I want to improve myself.
Haha....jobs in singapore comes easy...go also easy....

Malaysia economy still ok lar...only the safety a bit concern. sweat.gif

SUSsylar111
post Feb 9 2012, 05:49 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 9 2012, 05:40 PM)
Haha....jobs in singapore comes easy...go also easy....

Malaysia economy still ok lar...only the safety a bit concern.  sweat.gif
If you have no confidence in yourself. Then ya ok. I know that there are a lot of bad points in Sg also. In Sg life is much more boring. It's about work. U dun have a car. Food is not as good. But I dun think that we stay here to do all these things. I feel that to progress we have to sacrifice some things dun u agree?

Tigerr
post Feb 9 2012, 05:52 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2012, 05:49 PM)
If you have no confidence in yourself. Then ya ok. I know that there are a lot of bad points in Sg also. In Sg life is much more boring. It's about work. U dun have a car. Food is not as good. But I dun think that we stay here to do all these things. I feel that to progress we have to sacrifice some things dun u agree?
Yup boring life....later where to go leh??? Badminton game? Or loiter in shopping mall? Or staright go home watch tv??? sigh.... shakehead.gif
crazy25kid
post Feb 9 2012, 05:57 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 9 2012, 05:52 PM)
Yup boring life....later where to go leh??? Badminton game? Or loiter in shopping mall? Or staright go home watch tv??? sigh.... shakehead.gif
so if u were not in sg, what is it you do to consider not boring?
go out wif frens? then make frens in sg...there is a lot more to sg than what we all think.
drive around? then go take the bus and see where it takes you.
ur life is boring if u make it so.
SUSsylar111
post Feb 9 2012, 06:13 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 9 2012, 05:57 PM)
go out wif frens? then make frens in sg...there is a lot more to sg than what we all think.
Of couse. You can do that. But you have to admit that mobility wise you are limited. I mean you know what I mean rite. I think people tend to be more warmhearted in My. Not saying that such ppl do not exist in Sg, but less. People are a little carefree over in KL. I agree that in Sg there are lots of things over. Definitely. But atmosphere wise, I dun think so.
Rite.

Added on February 9, 2012, 6:15 pm
I mean people and atmosphere wise. It's a little more cold over there. I mean I can feel it.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Feb 9 2012, 06:15 PM
r1v3r
post Feb 9 2012, 06:21 PM

1,305 posts

mad.gif .... I wish I have the time to do all that now.

once with young kids, I have to pick them up by 7pm then a long list of daily routine... for that.. I have no complain, that's family life smile.gif
deodorant
post Feb 9 2012, 07:46 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 9 2012, 12:58 AM)
ask u to help me sign up also dont want  doh.gif  my cousin also dont wanna help me, say that i am cheap and very mah fan for him  sweat.gif

i already applied my full quota of 3 phones leh.

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2012, 04:11 PM)
Are you sure? I have a few friends working in IBM. They are around 35 years in age doing support and they are getting SGD4500. They are also singaporeans. Are you sure that the market in Sg can pay SGD 6600?

I think support typically pays on the lower end of the spectrum (for IT) compared to development guys, no? All I can say is that I know people in the IT line who are significantly younger than 35 and earning significantly higher than 4.5k.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 9 2012, 04:21 PM)
i think someone mentioned maximum to go down is 0.8 before.

UBS prices vs earnings report, Singapore salary compared to Malaysia salary is on average about 0.8sgd to 1.0myr ... so theoretically if you came over and got offered 0.8sgd it could be considered "earning the same amount."
Mackiddo
post Feb 9 2012, 08:03 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2012, 06:13 PM)
Of couse. You can do that. But you have to admit that mobility wise you are limited. I mean you know what I mean rite. I think people tend to be more warmhearted in My. Not saying that such ppl do not exist in Sg, but less. People are a little carefree over in KL. I agree that in Sg there are lots of things over. Definitely. But atmosphere wise, I dun think so.
Rite.

Added on February 9, 2012, 6:15 pm

I mean people and atmosphere wise. It's a little more cold over there. I mean I can feel it.
i don't think mobility are limited. in fact its better here. atmosphere wise, i like it here biggrin.gif
SONYSONY
post Feb 9 2012, 08:18 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(calvint78 @ Feb 8 2012, 11:17 PM)
Normally will go to com panel clinic, they will take ur blood for HIV test. Once result is negative, u will nid go back clinic to take the result n ur com will arrange u go to Tanjung Pagar collect ur EP. Then the restbwill be history n all the best to u.

Added on February 8, 2012, 11:22 pm
Vw? Volvo?bmw? Mercedes? Audi? What position u r looking for? They wld hire m'sian if quota is free, working environment i would say better in m'sia. Most of all experience is very important.
Anyway i'm at HONDA.
i plan to work as r&d engineer there.
but i will stay in sembawang. is it a good decision in terms of commution?

r1v3r
post Feb 9 2012, 08:39 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 9 2012, 07:46 PM)
UBS prices vs earnings report, Singapore salary compared to Malaysia salary is on average about 0.8sgd to 1.0myr ... so theoretically if you came over and got offered 0.8sgd it could be considered "earning the same amount."
Looking at price level and wage level on UBS report update2011, SG is about twice of KL. However,
Domestic purchasing power is about the same.

I am not Econ guy but I read it as: SG high wage high price level (more imported item) ; MY lower wage with lower price level (1malaysia shop?).

Can provide the link on how you get the 0.8 figure?

The magic happen when SG wage level meet KL price level.

icycokes
post Feb 9 2012, 08:49 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

Has anyone heard SearchAsia or Recruit Express or even other recruitment firms? What are your impression in them? I guess you all must have been receiving calls from them very often.
Mackiddo
post Feb 9 2012, 08:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Feb 9 2012, 08:49 PM)
Has anyone heard SearchAsia or Recruit Express or even other recruitment firms? What are your impression in them? I guess you all must have been receiving calls from them very often.
never hear of it. then again I've never deal with hiring firms. After a while in OnG, guess it's enough to know a few hiring managers to go by smile.gif
Tigerr
post Feb 9 2012, 09:19 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 9 2012, 05:57 PM)
back home, finish work, can go back home to do my gardening....my carpet grass need trimming already...
also, got tau keh n politics friends yum cha, but mostly drink beer and eat "yeh mei" tok kok what business opportunities n politics out there...
spend time with families.....

here....boring, go home...wait..not my home...only a rented room....so, not much can do...
call friends out....susah also, after come out, cannot drink as later cannot drive pula...
drive around, petrol and erp not cheap leh....
see pretty gals drool.gif , but cannot go touch, later big trouble.... laugh.gif

Mackiddo
post Feb 9 2012, 10:00 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 9 2012, 09:19 PM)

call friends out....susah also, after come out, cannot drink as later cannot drive pula...
drive around, petrol and erp not cheap leh....

you mean you can drink and drive in Malaysia ?
Tigerr
post Feb 9 2012, 10:03 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 9 2012, 10:00 PM)
you mean you can drink and drive in Malaysia ?
Most of the time in mereshia.......here scare license suspended...drink sikit sikit also scare.... biggrin.gif

124 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:10 PM