124 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

extremepower
post Mar 29 2012, 03:59 PM

545 posts

Jb sentosa got famous bkt. Tapau pls. T.i.u.
PepsiCo
post Mar 29 2012, 04:46 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 29 2012, 03:59 PM)
Jb sentosa got famous bkt. Tapau pls. T.i.u.
ah soon bkt ? got one near Tmn Anggerik also not bad. Came out in local Chinese newspaper

Added on March 29, 2012, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 29 2012, 02:37 PM)
but I am really impress with your salary. 3k enough for me to survive at least 5 months here.
3k not even enough for you to 'cheong' karaoke for 1 nite. for people like us it could meant life of death.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 29 2012, 04:47 PM
extremepower
post Mar 29 2012, 05:14 PM

545 posts

I wish ah soon open one in yishun..wink.gif
edvin88
post Mar 29 2012, 05:29 PM

22 posts

Guys.. I've already decided to stay in Jb n work SG...
I'll be going from tuas link daily by car.... Any idea how early shud i start going to work??

And which place should i stay in JB near to tuas checkpoint..?? anywhere that is safe & gt lotsa fooods ?? Is getang patah okay?? heard from fren jb is very dangerous..lolx
Tigerr
post Mar 29 2012, 05:41 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(edvin88 @ Mar 29 2012, 05:29 PM)
I'll be going from tuas link daily by car.... Any idea how early shud i start going to work??

And which place should i stay in JB near to tuas checkpoint..??  anywhere that is safe & gt lotsa fooods ?? Is getang patah okay?? heard  from fren jb is very dangerous..lolx
inside JB polis station is most safe......

your requirement...want near to tuas, safest, lots of food.... doh.gif may be employed 2 personal security guards better.

Timing to go to work, as so many have pointed out, it depends on the jam which is sometimes unpredictable, but i guess you never read the earlier posts as well. Then i suggest you start at 5am and guarantee you wont be late to work. whistling.gif

Added on March 29, 2012, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 29 2012, 05:14 PM)
I wish ah soon open one in yishun..wink.gif
get franchise from ah Soon??? may be no need to give badminton lesson liao.....sell bakuteh huat sampai bigger than pig head.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Mar 29 2012, 05:42 PM
SUSkockroach
post Mar 29 2012, 05:44 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 29 2012, 03:46 PM)
ah soon bkt ? got one near Tmn Anggerik also not bad. Came out in local Chinese newspaper

3k not even enough for you to 'cheong' karaoke for 1 nite.  for people like us it could meant life of death.
besides bkt any recommendation?

I spend less than sgd50 for one session in kbox wor? 3k how to spend wor
TSLester1987
post Mar 29 2012, 05:47 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 29 2012, 01:54 PM)
JB king, can recommend any nice place for lunch in JB? During weekdays, near to causeway.
ah soon bak kut teh at taman sentosa, jalan wong ah fook curry fish head.

And which place should i stay in JB near to tuas checkpoint..??  anywhere that is safe & gt lotsa fooods ?? Is getang patah okay?? heard  from fren jb is very dangerous..lolx
u can go for bukit indah, gelang patah is a bit ulu and not very convenient. i stil don't get it, why u wanna choose Tuas over causeway? causeway is always cheaper and more convenient if u work at paya lebar.
talking about safety, i would advice u to go for more new area. Austin, Tebrau, Setia Tropika, Bukit Indah area. most of those place more atas compare to other places. hence the property there are more expensive.
those bangla and indon cannot afford it hence making the place more secure and organized.
Tigerr
post Mar 29 2012, 05:52 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 29 2012, 05:47 PM)
u can go for bukit indah, gelang patah is a bit ulu and not very convenient. i stil don't get it, why u wanna choose Tuas over causeway? causeway is always cheaper and more convenient if u work at paya lebar.
talking about safety, i would advice u to go for more new area. Austin, Tebrau, Setia Tropika, Bukit Indah area. most of those place more atas compare to other places. hence the property there are more expensive.
those bangla and indon cannot afford it hence making the place more secure and organized.
more atas area also mean a target place to the buglars as well. And the robbers knows that many houses are empty as people staying there are working in singapore and some are weekend house. Just another point thinking from different angle.

Added on March 29, 2012, 5:53 pm
QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 29 2012, 05:44 PM)
besides bkt any recommendation?

I spend less than sgd50 for one session in kbox wor? 3k how to spend wor
if you got 3k, you pass to us and we spend for you to learn.... laugh.gif

Where you based in Vietnam? VungTau? HCM?

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Mar 29 2012, 05:53 PM
SUSkockroach
post Mar 29 2012, 06:21 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 29 2012, 04:47 PM)
King how to go to the curry fish head.

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 29 2012, 04:52 PM)
more atas area also mean a target place to the buglars as well. And the robbers knows that many houses are empty as people staying there are working in singapore and some are weekend house. Just another point thinking from different angle.

Added on March 29, 2012, 5:53 pm
if you got 3k, you pass to us and we spend for you to learn.... laugh.gif

Where you based in Vietnam? VungTau? HCM?
Was in binh duong. Now Singapore.

heavenhell
post Mar 29 2012, 06:36 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 29 2012, 04:46 PM)

3k not even enough for you to 'cheong' karaoke for 1 nite.  for people like us it could meant life of death.
wah so hardcore meh , 3k not enuf for karaoke ? lol
r1v3r
post Mar 29 2012, 07:11 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 29 2012, 01:28 PM)
eh where got? $5k is for two ppl leh. take out the housing rental and it's $1.2k/pax/month that's hardly what I would call "luxurious" hmm.gif
5k is possible if the wife take are of kids and cook home meals. That's family life, not for couple without kids.

My life style is very different now with young kids. We have outing almost every week but it does not cost much. That's just me and my wife. We choose to spend less. We use free pass down item instead of paying $500 for a baby stroller etc.

We will move to JB by end of this year. So I expect our family expenses will be even lower.

ptit
post Mar 29 2012, 07:18 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 29 2012, 09:21 AM)
Just chipping in to give some additional info. Moving from KL to SG, you have to give up certain ... comforts. Ringgit-to-Dollar, rm2.5k/mth you can have a nice comfy gated condo with swimming pool, and drive everywhere in a local car. sgd2.5k/mth you can only get a <1000sqft hdb (i.e. public housing) flat with no facilities, and have to take public transport everywhere.

In addition, the first-month relocation & settling-in money you need to cough up can be quite an eye-opener - when moving in to my current place (rented) I had to cough up over $12k for agent fee, first month rental, 2 months security deposit and furnishing. If your company doesn't cover your relocation then you have to further factor in the costs of packing and shipping all the contents of your KL place to SG as well.

Other than housing & owning a car though, everything else is less than a sgd1:myr1 ratio. quick & dirty example, marutama ramen in MY is like rm20 a bowl; in SG it's $14. Also, just commenting on river's $5k estimation, that's about the average basic monthly expenses for myself + my fiancee without kids - and not including all those "miscellaneous" stuff that every month also sure got - things like birthdays, needing to fly back to M'sia for whatever purpose, holidays, shopping, savings, etc etc.
Thanks deo, conclusion is the comfortable salary for me and family to live in SG is still $10k right.

But let say I got the $10k...but I settled down JB...let say WadiHana Condo just 5 minutes from CIQ. I still have a lot of surplus monetary...

r1v3r
post Mar 29 2012, 07:19 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Mar 29 2012, 06:36 PM)
wah so hardcore meh , 3k not enuf for karaoke ? lol
I know a guy selling beer for corperate client. Karaoke, drinking session is part of his jobs. On company account.

Pepsi drinking session? Better insure more for diabete. Kidding. smile.gif

megadisc
post Mar 29 2012, 08:23 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 29 2012, 08:19 PM)
I know a guy selling beer for corperate client. Karaoke, drinking session is part of his jobs. On company account.

Pepsi drinking session? Better insure more for diabete. Kidding. smile.gif
that's s ocool
PepsiCo
post Mar 29 2012, 08:23 PM

337 posts

Sutera Utama is a nice place. Plenty of good food nearby. Got hypermarket like Giant, Jusco & Tesco. Very close to Bkt Indah exit.
megadisc
post Mar 29 2012, 08:36 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 29 2012, 09:23 PM)
Sutera Utama is a nice place. Plenty of good food nearby. Got hypermarket like Giant, Jusco & Tesco. Very close to Bkt Indah exit.
yeah
that's true
i wokring from jb and wanna pengsan goin thru wooddaldsn
seantang
post Mar 29 2012, 08:49 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(ptit @ Mar 29 2012, 07:18 PM)
But let say I got the $10k...but I settled down JB...let say WadiHana Condo just 5 minutes from CIQ. I still have a lot of surplus monetary...
With S$10K a month, you will still have lots of surplus if you stay in Sg. And by the time you earn $10K, you won't want to waste 1-3 hours each day just going to work, in order to save a few hundred bucks. Your lifestyle will also mean that you will be mostly spending on stuff that just as expensive in JB as it is in SG, if not more so.

ptit
post Mar 29 2012, 09:11 PM

198 posts

can i drive a motorcycle all the way from jb to SG? is there any special permit needed?
PepsiCo
post Mar 29 2012, 09:57 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(ptit @ Mar 29 2012, 09:11 PM)
can i drive a motorcycle all the way from jb to SG? is there any special permit needed?
You need VEP (Vehicle Entry Permit). Google it up.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 29 2012, 09:58 PM
extremepower
post Mar 29 2012, 10:57 PM

545 posts

I wish man. You do it lah. Every week I will be your customer. come come. rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 29 2012, 05:41 PM)
inside JB polis station is most safe......

your requirement...want near to tuas, safest, lots of food.... doh.gif  may be employed 2 personal security guards better.

Timing to go to work, as so many have pointed out, it depends on the jam which is sometimes unpredictable, but i guess you never read the earlier posts as well. Then i suggest you start at 5am and guarantee you wont be late to work.  whistling.gif

Added on March 29, 2012, 5:42 pm
get franchise from ah Soon??? may be no need to give badminton lesson liao.....sell bakuteh huat sampai bigger than pig head.... laugh.gif

124 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:24 PM