QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 15 2012, 10:48 AM)
recently there was an ad for Citrix Engineer in Sony Sg offering $8000. why dont u try.Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting
Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting
Mar 15 2012, 11:13 AM
39 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Mar 15 2012, 11:32 AM
3,033 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Mar 15 2012, 11:36 AM
1,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 15 2012, 12:01 PM
245 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 15 2012, 10:43 AM) Do note that renting an entire apartment changes the numbers significantly, though. Don't know how much your fiancee is earning, but whole apartment, you'll need to cough up somethign like $2.5k/mth (including utilities) for anything decent. |
Mar 15 2012, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 15 2012, 12:01 PM) I live and work in the sticks (where I can look across to our tanah air), i.e., not in downtown swanky areas, and my rent for an apt is 3.5K! not HDB thou'. I did hunt for a HDB flat but none were suitable and they were not cheap either, most going for around 2.5K and above and it's sparsely and or poorly furnished. Rent has gone up lots over the last 15-18 months. Perhaps there are pockets of areas in Sg that can still get reasonable rent. Just sharing my experience and not to put fear in you. i thought Jurong or Boon Lay side still can get below 2k for a HDB flat?? No more??? Direct rent from JTC??? |
Mar 15 2012, 12:07 PM
337 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Christmas Island |
QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 15 2012, 12:01 PM) I live and work in the sticks (where I can look across to our tanah air), i.e., not in downtown swanky areas, and my rent for an apt is 3.5K! not HDB thou'. I did hunt for a HDB flat but none were suitable and they were not cheap either, most going for around 2.5K and above and it's sparsely and or poorly furnished. Rent has gone up lots over the last 15-18 months. Perhaps there are pockets of areas in Sg that can still get reasonable rent. Just sharing my experience and not to put fear in you. not many of us are staying in downtown area as well. A lot of ppl in Jurong/Boon Lay area as well and CCK/Yew Tee. They will meet up once a while for food/drinks.Added on March 15, 2012, 12:09 pm QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 15 2012, 12:06 PM) i thought Jurong or Boon Lay side still can get below 2k for a HDB flat?? No more??? Direct rent from JTC??? is there even any flat rental in Singapore that is below $2k for a 4 or 5 room ?This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 15 2012, 12:09 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 15 2012, 12:07 PM) not many of us are staying in downtown area as well. A lot of ppl in Jurong/Boon Lay area as well and CCK/Yew Tee. They will meet up once a while for food/drinks. if not mistaken, one of my colleague rent a 3 room HDB from JTC at Boon Lay/Jurong area for less than 2k........that was 1 year ago he told me that.....but got to travel to East to work everyday.... Added on March 15, 2012, 12:09 pm is there even any flat rental in Singapore that is below $2k for a 4 or 5 room ? |
Mar 15 2012, 12:16 PM
2,140 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 14 2012, 09:44 PM) emm.. If his EP is for 12 months (Jan-Dec 2011).. then Jan-Feb 2012 he is in KL.. continue with new EP again (March 2012-Feb 2013).. will he need to have SG driving licence for March 2012-Feb 2013? No question ask if he is holding 2 years of EP.. |
Mar 15 2012, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(abgkik @ Mar 15 2012, 12:16 PM) emm.. If his EP is for 12 months (Jan-Dec 2011).. then Jan-Feb 2012 he is in KL.. continue with new EP again (March 2012-Feb 2013).. will he need to have SG driving licence for March 2012-Feb 2013? No question ask if he is holding 2 years of EP.. |
Mar 15 2012, 12:52 PM
190 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: MARS |
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 15 2012, 12:33 PM) TP jz need to have special access, and they can browse everyone data anytime anywhere. |
Mar 15 2012, 12:56 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 15 2012, 11:32 AM) dont say like that, if you leave your bank, they will collapse.... do you notice if one of your hair on the back of your head falls off?!? same thing if i leave the bank QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 15 2012, 12:07 PM) is there even any flat rental in Singapore that is below $2k for a 4 or 5 room ? Last year when I was searching in East area (Bedok/Tampines/Pasir Ris), don't have anything under $2k unless you wanna stay 10+ bus stops away from MRT. I'm renting my 4-room for $2.3k. This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 15 2012, 12:59 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 15 2012, 12:33 PM) |
Mar 15 2012, 01:00 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Mar 15 2012, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(abgkik @ Mar 15 2012, 12:16 PM) emm.. If his EP is for 12 months (Jan-Dec 2011).. then Jan-Feb 2012 he is in KL.. continue with new EP again (March 2012-Feb 2013).. will he need to have SG driving licence for March 2012-Feb 2013? Should be based on the 1st time he get his work permit. You can ask you friend to test the system though and see what happens. Then again I find it a bit odd coz not many will have the opportunity to drive a Sg car when they 1st come here to work.No question ask if he is holding 2 years of EP.. This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 15 2012, 01:01 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 01:09 PM
190 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: MARS |
QUOTE(deadpool77 @ Mar 15 2012, 01:40 AM) hi guys, always look at the whole package...want to ask for your advice. i got a job offer in sg. The post is System Analyst. heres the package: salary: $3800 bonus: at least 3.5month anually annual leave: 24 days Medical: $350 Dental: $200 My current salary in KL is RM6200 including allowance. 3.5 years experience in system development and 2.5 years in application support. Do u guys think its worth it. im holding the offer letter now thinking whether i should sign.... 3.8k * 15.5 months (include bonus) = 58900 so, you are taking 4908.33 each month plus 24 annual leave. medical: 350 - normally, you pay 30~50 each time. it is around 7 times visit. dental: 200 - good enough It is considered as okay for 6 yrs exp in SG. I came across an indian, who has 7 yrs exp, only asked for 3k. You may look for other company who can offer you higher base salary but most of them do not promise the bonus/AWS. then it is back to the same issue. note: i believe you are joining banking sector which offer your 24 AL. Most of my friends are offered 12~15 AL only. Added on March 15, 2012, 1:14 pm QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 15 2012, 12:56 PM) do you notice if one of your hair on the back of your head falls off?!? same thing if i leave the bank I will move out from my current place (rent: 1800, 3 rooms, include pub, 5 mins walk to mrt/bus interchange, tpy central) ard jun 2012. Last year when I was searching in East area (Bedok/Tampines/Pasir Ris), don't have anything under $2k unless you wanna stay 10+ bus stops away from MRT. I'm renting my 4-room for $2.3k. If you are interested, please pm me. This post has been edited by siberfriend: Mar 15 2012, 01:14 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 01:17 PM
710 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the backyard. Up to no good! |
if u value ur contractual bonuses over ur basic... then u completely lost the big picture.... are u doing sales? else it doesnt matter, matter is ur basic. thats why they call it bonus "something extra" .... if ur take home pay is squat then better stay in msia with that comfy RM6.2k .... don't do the conversion game until u identify wats the odds of living here.
Many sg companies like to tekan msians... playing the conversion card is common, thats why most msians experienced can take salary SGD2.k when sg fresh grad adi opening salary SGD3k +/- This post has been edited by chanti-sama: Mar 15 2012, 01:19 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 01:19 PM
43 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Hi, as a Malaysian with no PR in Singapore. I just want to know if anyone has more info about this career fair or EXPERIENCE from last years one.
http://careerexpo.sg.jobsdb.com/career/def...B85201662778855 Will there be ALOT (ie 100+) companies going there, or is it a small career fair like the one in Suntec 1st March? Will I find a lot of opportunities for Fresh Graduate Engineer over there? Thanks for any info. Not sure whether to invest to go to that career fair or not |
Mar 15 2012, 01:24 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(siberfriend @ Mar 15 2012, 01:09 PM) It is considered as okay for 6 yrs exp in SG. I came across an indian, who has 7 yrs exp, only asked for 3k. Respectfully disagree. Why compare with one bottom feeder example? As per Robert Walters Salary Survey, Systems Analysts (which is what the dude is offered) in 2012 are paid $80-100k. 25%-40% discount on the market average, how to consider as okay? |
Mar 15 2012, 01:25 PM
2,140 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 15 2012, 01:00 PM) Should be based on the 1st time he get his work permit. You can ask you friend to test the system though and see what happens. Then again I find it a bit odd coz not many will have the opportunity to drive a Sg car when they 1st come here to work. Driving Malaysia registered car.. |
Mar 15 2012, 01:32 PM
39 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
-
This post has been edited by deadpool77: Mar 15 2012, 01:45 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0296sec