Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 06:30 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 14 2012, 06:17 PM)

I want to maintain my MY and get SG license.
i dunno if you can do that but you can try get the letter extract form places other than Johor Bahru JPJ. If you got the letter, mind scan it for us to have a look ?
hokin
post Mar 14 2012, 06:32 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 14 2012, 06:20 PM)
join us yumcha lar. We'll explain to you in details
'Yumcha' sounds interesting....but I am up in the sticks...not in the swanky south part of SG. Where and when do you guys 'yumcha'?

Added on March 14, 2012, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 14 2012, 06:30 PM)
i dunno if you can do that but you can try get the letter extract form places other than Johor Bahru JPJ. If you got the letter, mind scan it for us to have a look ?
Kalau dapat, no issue sharing.

This post has been edited by hokin: Mar 14 2012, 06:34 PM
PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 06:42 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 14 2012, 06:32 PM)
'Yumcha' sounds interesting....but I am up in the sticks...not in the swanky south part of SG. Where and when do you guys 'yumcha'?

Added on March 14, 2012, 6:34 pm
Kalau dapat, no issue sharing.
the letter you sure get, but dunno they blacklist you or not biggrin.gif
abgkik
post Mar 14 2012, 08:28 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 14 2012, 06:14 PM)
Foreigners
A foreigner above 18 years of age and holding a Work Pass/Dependent Pass/Student Pass may drive in Singapore with a valid class 3, 3A or 2B foreign licence, for a period of not more than 12 months. A Singapore driving licence is required after 12 months. Those on short term social visit may drive with their foreign licence for up to 12 months each time they enter into Singapore. For licence not written in English language, an International Driving Permit or an official translation in English language is required. [/i]
12 Months continuously… or total 12 months.. ??? hmm.gif
megadisc
post Mar 14 2012, 09:18 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Mar 14 2012, 09:28 PM)
12 Months continuously… or total 12 months.. ???  hmm.gif
damn sad
chanti-sama
post Mar 14 2012, 09:40 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 14 2012, 05:54 PM)
this is true and not true... if you read lta rules correctly, u are only allowed to drive using your msia driving license for the 1st year, anything more than that you need to convert to SG license.
but the reality is, they won't bother to check you if you are driving a msia registered car. But to be safe, better get your self a SG license.
Risking pr-ship and opportunity to eat curry rice, just to drive a msian car in sg? Not worth the thought at all.
PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 09:44 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Mar 14 2012, 08:28 PM)
the rules are pretty clear. not much explanation is needed
hokin
post Mar 14 2012, 09:45 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Mar 14 2012, 08:28 PM)
I have clarified this point, its 12 months from the date you get your EP, WP, etc. and NOT when you start to drive and NOT the cummulative period that you drive in SG. I do not think anyone will expect any less from our SG cousins!
ivanswk
post Mar 14 2012, 09:48 PM

+J
2,110 posts

^ the issue date in your ep change rite whenever u renew/change job
PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 09:52 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 14 2012, 09:45 PM)
I have clarified this point, its 12 months from the date you get your EP, WP, etc. and NOT when you start to drive and NOT the cummulative period that you drive in SG. I do not think anyone will expect any less from our SG cousins!
I think 12months is pretty reasonable for you to convert if you wanna drive Sg car. Take note that it does not applies if your work involve driving a vehicle, for example a delivery van driver, in which you need a Sg driving license immediately.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 14 2012, 09:53 PM
ivanswk
post Mar 14 2012, 09:57 PM

+J
2,110 posts

just convert and get a SG car, it increase your chance of getting laid thumbup.gif

PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 09:59 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 14 2012, 09:57 PM)
just convert and get a SG car, it increase your chance of getting laid  thumbup.gif
haha really ? got real live case or not? maybe bro riv3r can share some experience smile.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 14 2012, 10:30 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(calvint78 @ Mar 14 2012, 11:31 AM)
I guess u need to do it personally to get the extraxtion from JPJ. Try not get from JB JPJ as they will cancell ur MY license since u r converting the license to SG.
johor and pahang will blacklist... so far pj is ok rclxms.gif
QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 14 2012, 01:07 PM)
Thanks for advise. I hope no cancellation of MY license is required as I will be driving in MY too. I will definitely not go to the JB JPJ.
depends on your face tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Mar 15 2012, 12:06 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 14 2012, 05:54 PM)
this is true and not true... if you read lta rules correctly, u are only allowed to drive using your msia driving license for the 1st year, anything more than that you need to convert to SG license.
but the reality is, they won't bother to check you if you are driving a msia registered car. But to be safe, better get your self a SG license.
yup, they dont bother to check you, i have driven with singapore license for more than 2.5 years, never ever get stopped and checked.....but what will happen if you get an accident? How are you going to escape away? So, why take the risk if you want to come here cari makan peacefully.

Regarding your comment about sound stupid to spend RM30 per year to keep a malaysia driving license which is not needed. What about one day, Singapore license suspended or whatever and when we need to drive in Malaysia and suddenly road block, and cannot show any driving license, worst case is involved with a fatal accident.....it will be real jialat case. So, for a peanut RM30 per year, just keep the Malaysia driving license in case you need it may not sound any stupid. It is just a cup or 2 of coffee cost at Star bucks.

In singapore, if your license suspended, you will not die if not driving as got so many mode of transport available.....but not in malaysia, so, it is a backup.

Added on March 15, 2012, 12:10 am
QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 14 2012, 01:07 PM)
Thanks for advise. I hope no cancellation of MY license is required as I will be driving in MY too. I will definitely not go to the JB JPJ.
i get the abstract at Padang Jawa JPJ, no cancellation of malaysia license.....and i had renewed my license and the license is still valid....

Added on March 15, 2012, 12:21 am
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Mar 12 2012, 10:16 PM)
after 2 times to klcc years ago. 1 time to suntec back to year 2004, i have stopped going any it fair. nothing special, got nothing to buy also. too crowded.
wasted fuel and parking fees somemore....too crowded and every booth almost selling the same thing..... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Mar 15 2012, 12:21 AM
RabbitS
post Mar 15 2012, 12:35 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 14 2012, 05:18 PM)
Why I Am Leaving Goldman Sachs  sweat.gif

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/14/opinion/...p&smid=fb-share

Goldman Sachs today has become too much about shortcuts and not enough about achievement. It just doesn’t feel right to me anymore. sweat.gif
wow, you're working there?
deadpool77
post Mar 15 2012, 01:40 AM

39 posts

hi guys,

want to ask for your advice. i got a job offer in sg. The post is System Analyst. heres the package:

salary: $3800
bonus: at least 3.5month anually
annual leave: 24 days
Medical: $350
Dental: $200

My current salary in KL is RM6200 including allowance.
3.5 years experience in system development and 2.5 years in application support.

Do u guys think its worth it. im holding the offer letter now thinking whether i should sign....

This post has been edited by deadpool77: Mar 15 2012, 01:41 AM
Find The Way
post Mar 15 2012, 08:00 AM

724 posts

3.8k for 6 years experience sounds a bit low to me... is the minimum 3.5 months bonus in black and white?
ivanswk
post Mar 15 2012, 08:06 AM

+J
2,110 posts

^no the $ alone not worth it
more info whether u coming alone, renting, and current expense
laiyie
post Mar 15 2012, 08:22 AM

QUOTE(SONYSONY @ Feb 8 2012, 07:42 PM)
anyone working in continental automotive sg?
how is the working environment there?
do they hire malaysian?
i heard they have 2 locations,the latest location is a R&D center...
depends on which BU that u'll join...
my ex-BU...is really @#$%^&
i felt myself like access man-power over there, even though u can get few thousands SGD per month with just goyang kaki there,
without doing any hardwork, just surfing surfing and surfing all day long....
after few months...u'll definately felt bored n useless....

anywhere, their benefits and welfare still better compare others japanese-based company...
at least, they recognize MC from JB's local medical consultant.
and if u hv kids, u can used ur child's MC as ur MC~

hope it's help~ whistling.gif
Tigerr
post Mar 15 2012, 08:35 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(deadpool77 @ Mar 15 2012, 01:40 AM)
hi guys,

want to ask for your advice. i got a job offer in sg. The post is System Analyst. heres the package:

salary: $3800
bonus: at least 3.5month anually
annual leave: 24 days
Medical: $350
Dental: $200

My current salary in KL is RM6200 including allowance.
3.5 years experience in system development and 2.5 years in application support.

Do u guys think its worth it. im holding the offer letter now thinking whether i should sign....
it is a good offer compare to your current job.

124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:27 PM