Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

chanti-sama
post Feb 25 2012, 09:25 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 25 2012, 02:03 AM)
in fact i think weekend is better because there's no 25% for morning peak hour, 6am-9.30am
But the peak is in the evening for weekends, honestly the window slice is so small for non-additional charges when riding a cab here. I used to enjoy the occasional cab ride but now is confine to when im in a hurry to go to a meeting place that i never been before or riding with my gf whenever she can claim them.
chanti-sama
post Feb 25 2012, 06:17 PM

710 posts

2nd cars are cheaper but driving in sg depends on alot of factors.
chanti-sama
post Feb 25 2012, 10:59 PM

710 posts

How about riding a bike thats quite economical. Problem is mad sgrean driving. They dont really give way else im considering getting a bike, i heard the exams are anal
chanti-sama
post Feb 26 2012, 10:07 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 25 2012, 11:17 PM)
from a Malaysian rider point of view, (I ride in KL and also SG), Malaysian driver are more courteous when it comes to driving style.
and Malaysian also are more alert when driving. And in Traffic Jams, Malaysian will leave a small gap to let bikers go through.
Singapore drivers don't give a damn about it. so sometimes you might encounter on certain places, Bikes need to jam together with them.
I think the main reason is also because of the riders. because in malaysia, if u block the bikers road, only 2 things will happen, either ur car side mirror got smash or they will horn u like mad. in Singapore, all the bikers are too sissy to do that. only part of the roads like BKE and SLE, the drivers will scare the motorcyclist coz they know most of them are Malaysians and they will give way to us (Like a boss smile.gif).
Ur spot on.... Theyre not the type that gives small room or spaces for bikes. Gets really scary when interchanging lanes and taking corners. They expect bikes to be like cars not something like kapcai can squeeze between them.

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Feb 26 2012, 12:12 AM)
Public transport is good for saving money for the first few years of working. Many non-KL ppl working in KL couldn't save. Ppl see KL brats who lives in parent's house like how you see Sg young ppl driving papa's Toyota Wish to work.

I would rather ride a bicycle then riding motorcycle in Sg. Sg drivers are nuts.
Which is why im still on the fence on getting a bike. Convinience and affordable but mad drivers. I'll think about it again when i renew my pr this aug
chanti-sama
post Feb 26 2012, 11:15 AM

710 posts

Any idea how we can take money in epf account 2 to buy house here, the money is sitting there and rotting.
chanti-sama
post Feb 26 2012, 12:50 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 26 2012, 12:25 PM)
i believe there are such rules in the Singapore road as well. Just that ppl conveniently forgot about it. And Malaysian motorcyclist are among the worst lot in the world, including Taiwan and China.

Added on February 26, 2012, 12:27 pm

once you met your requirement can ask your housing agent to settle all that
Mate .... Epf wor not cpf. U sure can withdraw account2 to buy sg house?
chanti-sama
post Feb 26 2012, 01:38 PM

710 posts

Damn! Hahaha
chanti-sama
post Feb 26 2012, 07:18 PM

710 posts

I think can apply for personal ep as a measure for long term visa. I discussed this with my boss b4 when considering to hire some msians. Anyways can check the details, wat i know is the ep is valid for 6mths
chanti-sama
post Feb 28 2012, 03:13 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 28 2012, 01:51 PM)
I ON one, I'm always looking to move SGD to MYR every other month or so. The problem is the trust issue ... I need to bank in SGD to forumer X, and he need to bank MYR to me, but who does the first move? If me, how willing am I to trust some random stranger with my money and vice versa?
i usually do remittance, costs me SGD8 - 10 depending on the speed of the service. I used to ask around for ppl to move SGD to MYR... but gets too much hassle, and ur right... trust issue.
chanti-sama
post Feb 29 2012, 01:26 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 28 2012, 03:15 PM)
what service do you use? my current bank (scb) charges are ridiculous, sgd40-50 each time. It's been mentioned few times in this thread that maybank can do it for $15 or so, but I lazy to open another account with them just for the occasional remittance every few months.
majority branches in Lucky plaza does it... and they open until late. I did a 930pm remit to my MBB a/c in msia before, SGD 8
another will be at the Arcade in raffles place. most of the bigger money changes does remittance - usually at SGD10 per transaction.
also the arcade has better exchange rates... i usually exchange with the chinese stall (only 1 among the indian shops.)

Added on February 29, 2012, 1:33 pm
QUOTE(reign226 @ Feb 28 2012, 11:54 PM)
Nusa Heights currently being marketed at JB Sentral there. Anybody interested to go and check it out? Its a new apartment that's just off gelang patah highway interchange. Looks good but a bit pricey.

Added on February 29, 2012, 12:00 am

For convenience just open Maybank SG acct, add your Maybank MY acct and remittance will happen instantly, with $15 charge and a lower rate. You can set up this system to allow you to quickly unlock your SGD to MYR in case of emergency or suddenly need a lot of RM. It's quite convenient, just need to take an hour or so of your time to set up. The downside (or some would say upside) is that it's difficult to find ATM for Maybank so your money's stuck in there until you decide to transfer out.

I went back to Sabah last weekend, their news must be slow because they are still trading at $1 to RM2.415.
I used to have a MBB a/c in SG for remittance back to my MBB MY.... lucky office is quite near MBB so don't need to travel far.... until 200m away was The Arcade.... they offer remit at SGD10 without open account and confirm next day money in, which was way way faster than MBB(they need 3 working days) ... needless to say, i closed my MBB SG, if that is true they offer instant remit then good.. but for additional SGD5? ... still on the fence... also don't see alot of MBB atm in housing estates mostly near shopping/chinatown or CBD... UOB, CTB POSB/DBS still got more abundant

This post has been edited by chanti-sama: Feb 29 2012, 01:33 PM
chanti-sama
post Feb 29 2012, 09:26 PM

710 posts

I must join these type of meetups. Its hard to make new friends here.
chanti-sama
post Mar 2 2012, 10:25 AM

710 posts

in singapore... only non-chinese food is good. especially western food. friends from msia come sg asks me wats good i usually recommend non-chinese food... for good chinese food, must be prepare to pay... by the time pay already not worth it coz the same thing can get back home, probably cheaper even.
chanti-sama
post Mar 4 2012, 09:05 PM

710 posts

Sg docs dun give u ubat for simple flu or coughing. Ask u natural heal... My foot la i got job todo, how to perform in ur best. Ask mc is like ask can do free anal check, applies to clinics in paya lebar.
chanti-sama
post Mar 7 2012, 02:06 PM

710 posts

first coach... it's one of the better options price vs comfort vs location
used to be aeroline.
chanti-sama
post Mar 8 2012, 04:17 PM

710 posts

there must be a firstcoach fan club somewhere... i suspect the bulk of their biz is coming from folks shutting back n forth kl-sg.

i bump into more single wimmen riding on firstcoach than aeroline. Think now got higher frequency and more stops in kl/pj/bu/subang.
the grouse is -
1. movies didnt change... i sit 1 year watched all movies adi
2. sometimes bad bus.. vod kong, wah~~ 5hrs damn boring
chanti-sama
post Mar 11 2012, 09:23 PM

710 posts

2hrs+? Jb to kl? For me 3.5hrs jb to usj. U need to factor in the traffic at peak hours, plus the time it takes to travel from sg to jb. I suggest u fly since ur adi on AA.. The stress of driving on a weekly commute plus wear and tear of ur car?

Added on March 11, 2012, 9:24 pmOh.... Anyone living in hou gang? Good if can find to borak2 .... Hehehe

This post has been edited by chanti-sama: Mar 11 2012, 09:24 PM
chanti-sama
post Mar 11 2012, 09:42 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 11 2012, 09:39 PM)
I went today, wahlau, first and last year I go on Sunday ... SO many people.
How the raba2? brows.gif
chanti-sama
post Mar 11 2012, 09:50 PM

710 posts

Which really defeat the purpose of going to the fair. Deals are thr same hahahaha. Even pc fair back home is same
chanti-sama
post Mar 12 2012, 02:48 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 12 2012, 01:15 PM)
according to malaysia law, on paper she is my wife hahaha..  laugh.gif
in singapore, she my roommate  thumbup.gif
better not let her see this part of the internet.... shakehead.gif
chanti-sama
post Mar 12 2012, 09:07 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Mar 12 2012, 08:36 PM)
hahaha
he could be havin a mistress also we dunno wan ...
quite common in spore
U don't say..... hmm.gif

0.0374sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:35 AM