All About Harddisk Thread V4

BlackWoods
post Jul 20 2012, 01:51 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 19 2012, 11:48 AM)
Don't you mean the price of buying it is too expensive?

It's not about the sequential read/write performance, which is only about 3x or 4x the best that HDDs can offer. It is the access times, which is about 0.1ms and extremely fast compared to HDD's +10ms times; about 100x difference. For operations that involves tons of random reads and writes, like when on boot, SSDs are very responsive. If it takes you long minutes to boot up or do a virus scan that you would like to reduce by a lot, SSDs can do it.
It is more of a QC issue. Theoretically, the NAND storage is good for at least ten years. Most of the failures at this time, isn't related to the actual NAND storage. Most of it is probably due to firmware, manufacturing defects or poor QC.
Agree, however I mean the price gap between SSD and HDD, I cannot justify it by the speed difference.
The price gap is simply too large for people to get the SSD.
TSeverling
post Jul 20 2012, 03:18 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Jul 20 2012, 01:51 PM)
Agree, however I mean the price gap between SSD and HDD, I cannot justify it by the speed difference.
The price gap is simply too large for people to get the SSD.
Then we'll just have to poison them by making them experience the difference. The addiction to speed might be enough to get them to open their wallets. brows.gif
SnoWFisH
post Jul 20 2012, 04:48 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 20 2012, 03:18 PM)
Then we'll just have to poison them by making them experience the difference. The addiction to speed might be enough to get them to open their wallets. brows.gif
That's also why ppl just get SSD as their system drive for programs and OS. HDD for media storage,.
8tvt
post Jul 20 2012, 06:52 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

the thing is hDD for media storage tend to kaput now..

i already got the RMA unit.. hopefully can survive longer..
really fast service.. 4days only..
hengguowei
post Jul 21 2012, 02:49 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

Which is a safer way of storing photos? In a HDD in a computer or an External HDD? Thanks.
dma0991
post Jul 21 2012, 03:31 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jul 21 2012, 02:49 PM)
Which is a safer way of storing photos? In a HDD in a computer or an External HDD? Thanks.
There is no safest way to store valuable data, this is because there is just too many factors to take into account that can kill the HDD. First level, do a RAID 1 Mirror with two HDD which reduces the chance of HDD premature death but doesn't prevent the possibility of both HDDs dying which can happen in a lightning strike for example. Second level, do a third backup in an external HDD along with the RAID 1 mentioned earlier to overcome the problem mentioned earlier but then there is another problem, what if your house catches on fire?

Third level, do what I've already mentioned in first and second level, and do a fourth backup in an external and store it elsewhere that is not your house. That is as safe as it gets for a consumer but to consider 100% safe isn't likely, I bet there is a 0.00001% chance that all will die from whatever cause and you'll still lose your data.
TSeverling
post Jul 21 2012, 03:32 PM

3,591 posts

If it's a 3.5", it is probably internal, as you can get a good PSU and you don't move the HDD around. If it's a 2.5", it should handle the stress of being mobile. I'm still using a 2.5" external HDD that is more than three years old.

Added on July 21, 2012, 3:33 pmdma0991's reply is very good.

This post has been edited by everling: Jul 21 2012, 03:33 PM
hengguowei
post Jul 21 2012, 03:44 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jul 21 2012, 03:31 PM)
There is no safest way to store valuable data, this is because there is just too many factors to take into account that can kill the HDD. First level, do a RAID 1 Mirror with two HDD which reduces the chance of HDD premature death but doesn't prevent the possibility of both HDDs dying which can happen in a lightning strike for example. Second level, do a third backup in an external HDD along with the RAID 1 mentioned earlier to overcome the problem mentioned earlier but then there is another problem, what if your house catches on fire?

Third level, do what I've already mentioned in first and second level, and do a fourth backup in an external and store it elsewhere that is not your house. That is as safe as it gets for a consumer but to consider 100% safe isn't likely, I bet there is a 0.00001% chance that all will die from whatever cause and you'll still lose your data.
Argh, ok. 4 HDD in total. Wow. Ok. Doomsday will kill all 4 copies sadly. doh.gif
Anyway, WD3TB is reliable? hmm.gif
dma0991
post Jul 21 2012, 03:59 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jul 21 2012, 03:44 PM)
Argh, ok. 4 HDD in total. Wow. Ok. Doomsday will kill all 4 copies sadly. doh.gif
You only have 1 in 2 chances that WD is not reliable since the only players left in the game is Western Digital and Seagate. Not much of a choice there, just pick whatever you think is reliable and keep your fingers crossed.
blacktubi
post Jul 21 2012, 04:03 PM

-
8,399 posts

My Samsung F3 having great vibration recently.
Wonder should I prepare to switch sad.gif

Finger crossed
dma0991
post Jul 21 2012, 04:05 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 21 2012, 04:03 PM)
My Samsung F3 having great vibration recently.
Wonder should I prepare to switch sad.gif

Finger crossed
What do you mean by great vibration? Too little information to know anything about it.
blacktubi
post Jul 21 2012, 08:32 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jul 21 2012, 04:05 PM)
What do you mean by great vibration? Too little information to know anything about it.
Bios report nothing and I can't do any bad sector check as SMART is having problem on this mobo.

There are clicking sound when powered on then the vibration start, almost as strong as phone.
TSeverling
post Jul 21 2012, 08:36 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jul 21 2012, 03:44 PM)
Here's the information you're looking for. smile.gif

http://www.behardware.com/articles/862-6/c...ns-rates-6.html
dma0991
post Jul 21 2012, 09:24 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 21 2012, 08:32 PM)
Bios report nothing and I can't do any bad sector check as SMART is having problem on this mobo.

There are clicking sound when powered on then the vibration start, almost as strong as phone.
Clicking sound can be a lot of thing, Click of Death or just a routine thing for the HDD. My laptop HDD which I replaced with a larger capacity will click 1-5 seconds ever so often when it is running. This has been going on for more than a year and there are no issues with it, probably a false alarm. As for the vibration, it is normal for a HDD to vibrate a little bit when in operation. Probably it is best that you don't take the chance and get a new HDD while leaving this one for less important stuff or wait till it dies for RMA, which might be a few years from now.
bad melatonin
post Jul 21 2012, 09:57 PM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

this is what i did.
- i ran raid10 in my rig (04 WDBlue 1tb)
- monthly backup my rig wt my seagate st3000dm001 as external drive (including my photo & photochoping work)
- another monthly backup using 2.5" wdblue 1tb as external drive oso but this 1 mainly for my photo & photochoping work only
so basically i hv 03 sets of my photo & photochoping work. but after all, hopefully all 03 sets of it doesnt go disastered at d same time. hehehe biggrin.gif blush.gif

wish i hv extra money to replace my 04 wdblue 1tb raid10 wt 04 seagate st3000dm001 instead. blush.gif now my raid10 almost choking oredi. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by bad melatonin: Jul 21 2012, 10:03 PM
dwks
post Jul 22 2012, 09:33 PM

414 posts

can someone recommend me some external harddisk?
prefer 2.5" , large space.
budget max RM400.
dma0991
post Jul 22 2012, 10:53 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(dwks @ Jul 22 2012, 09:33 PM)
can someone recommend me some external harddisk?
prefer 2.5" , large space.
budget max RM400.
No recommendations because all external HDDs are pretty much generic, not much difference from one brand to another. Just stick to well known brands and get one that has USB 3.0 support.
noname_lah86
post Jul 22 2012, 11:23 PM

146 posts

Guys where should i RMA my Samsung Drive ? ( So call Seagate now )

Best way and best place smile.gif

This post has been edited by noname_lah86: Jul 22 2012, 11:33 PM
hermit23
post Jul 22 2012, 11:44 PM

Zoom - Zoom
699 posts

Got a question guys, need advice or help. I just bought a new laptop that has 2 slots for hard drives. Can i take my hard drive from the old laptop and use it in the new laptop?

Meaning the os i will run from the new hard drive, but programs installed on my old laptop can it still be used once i transfered it?
dma0991
post Jul 22 2012, 11:57 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(hermit23 @ Jul 22 2012, 11:44 PM)
Got a question guys, need advice or help. I just bought a new laptop that has 2 slots for hard drives. Can i take my hard drive from the old laptop and use it in the new laptop?

Meaning the os i will run from the new hard drive, but programs installed on my old laptop can it still be used once i transfered it?
You can use the old HDD but if has the OS in it previously, you will have to format it. If the programs in the old HDD is a standalone software that does not need to be installed, it will run but if it is a type that needs to be installed, it won't work. The registry values for the programs you've installed on the old HDD is not present in the new HDD. There is of course ways to make it work but a lot of work and a reinstall would probably be easier and less time consuming.

134 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:58 PM