All About Harddisk Thread V4

earlgrey77
post Jul 24 2016, 11:13 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 24 2016, 05:08 PM)
Kinda curious, how much do they charge to install a hdd to your pc?
Or is it a laptop?
No idea, I only know its inclusive. That's all.
Jet23sky
post Jul 28 2016, 02:29 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Hi guys, I'm newbie here as I have never look into harddisk since my last purchase 8 years ago.

I recently bought new PC and I'm looking for a new harddisk. The harddisk will be for my game installation as D drive.
Any advice? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Jul 28 2016, 02:29 PM
cyclone9
post Aug 14 2016, 09:03 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

most reliable harddisk for gaming and NAS purpose ?

WD Black , Red any otherS?
kianweic
post Aug 20 2016, 06:48 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Aug 14 2016, 09:03 AM)
most reliable harddisk for gaming and NAS purpose ?

WD Black , Red any otherS?
Western Digital Red is generally for NAS.

Western Digital website
DCXW
post Aug 20 2016, 10:10 AM

On my way to Se7en stars
532 posts

Hi all can someone pls explain to me why my REAL hard disk capacity is less than the ADVERTISED hard disk capacity ? Example
Advertised capacity - 500Gb
Real Capacity - 465Gb

Do hope to hear answers from you sifu's ! smile.gif
Skylinestar
post Aug 20 2016, 09:38 PM

Mega Duck
10,467 posts

QUOTE(DCXW @ Aug 20 2016, 10:10 AM)
Hi all can someone pls explain to me why my REAL hard disk capacity is less than the ADVERTISED hard disk capacity ? Example
Advertised capacity - 500Gb
Real Capacity - 465Gb

Do hope to hear answers from you sifu's ! smile.gif
because 1024 isn't 1000. you lose 7% due to this reason.
z_c00l
post Sep 6 2016, 12:06 AM

38 posts

Guys ...is it just me or the prices of hard disc just keep increasing?
I bought a WD RED 4tb about 2 years back for rm590. Today, for the same model and capacity cost rm690. What the heck?!
I thought price should drop due to Moore's law and demandsupply factor.
Not increase.
socratesman
post Sep 6 2016, 02:04 AM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(z_c00l @ Sep 6 2016, 12:06 AM)
I bought a WD RED 4tb about 2 years back for rm590. Today, for the same model and capacity cost rm690. What the heck?!
Not increase.
RM weakened against USD
cyclone9
post Sep 6 2016, 11:57 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

can I categories WD red and black as below ?

Red = Torrent only, what about gaming ?
Black = Torrent + Gaming ?
super macgyver
post Sep 6 2016, 02:43 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,321 posts

QUOTE(z_c00l @ Sep 6 2016, 12:06 AM)
Not increase.
dun forget of due to GST wor
retroRT
post Sep 7 2016, 09:15 PM

17 posts

hi guys,

im looking for an 8tb external hdd. so i found that the cheapest available online is the TRANSCEND STOREJET 35T3 8TB which most sellers sell around 1k-1.1k at lelong.

however, not many of the 'famous' online sellers carry this model. they mostly have seagate and wd 8TB but cost much much more, around 1.5k.

all models have 3 years warranty. do you guys have any info why the Transcend is much cheaper? its internal drive most probably be from seagate or wd anyway, so why the big price difference eventhough they all carry same 3 years warranty?
wjteoh2
post Sep 10 2016, 05:02 PM

Hi guys, I just bought a WD 2TB HDD about 3 months ago, and one day it just started to act erratically. Like, you know, almost any file transfer into or out of the drive starts nicely and just suddenly plummets to 0 bytes/sec.

Can anyone help? I've got a lot of photos in it. cry.gif
nitehawk
post Sep 11 2016, 09:54 AM

699 posts

Does anyone know where can we send Western Digital hard disk for warranty claim?
evangelion
post Oct 3 2016, 07:56 PM

The Ancient Ones
1,057 posts

QUOTE(wjteoh2 @ Sep 10 2016, 05:02 PM)
Hi guys, I just bought a WD 2TB HDD about 3 months ago, and one day it just started to act erratically. Like, you know, almost any file transfer into or out of the drive starts nicely and just suddenly plummets to 0 bytes/sec.

Can anyone help? I've got a lot of photos in it. cry.gif
Green driver?

This post has been edited by evangelion: Oct 3 2016, 07:57 PM
kianweic
post Oct 4 2016, 01:23 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Sep 6 2016, 11:57 AM)
can I categories WD red and black as below ?

Red = Torrent only, what about gaming ?
Black = Torrent + Gaming ?
I used wd red for gaming. The reading speed is fine. Most of the time i will go with wd blue. I generally dont see the need for black. Rather spend the money on a decent size ssd.
shanjeev
post Oct 6 2016, 11:17 AM

401 posts

Hi guys/gals, need advise on external storage with raid system for personal use. Looking at minimum 2TB per HDD. Any advise on which brand and model to get or wait. Thanks.
kianweic
post Oct 11 2016, 08:49 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

One of my internal HDD (6TB version) shows One or More SMART threshold exceeded.

How long does this HDD have before failure?

I am planning to backup the entire HDD to my external 6 TB HDD.

I think it is still under warranty. As such, I plan to claim warranty once it fails.
eligible
post Oct 16 2016, 03:35 PM

858 posts

Any sifu out here mind share with me?

Currently my ext HDD. got sound which is "ticking sound".

1. Can I fix it?
2. Or I just buy a new unit?

3. Would the data inside it gone missing?
BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 17 2016, 12:58 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,129 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Oct 16 2016, 03:35 PM)
Any sifu out here mind share with me?

Currently my ext HDD. got sound which is "ticking sound".

1. Can I fix it?
2. Or I just buy a new unit?

3. Would the data inside it gone missing?
did you tried with other usb cable?

if other cable works means your current cable not able to supply enough power to your ext hdd.

if other cable also same...faster backup your data, it is going to die anytime.
eligible
post Oct 17 2016, 05:05 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 17 2016, 12:58 AM)
did you tried with other usb cable?

if other cable works means your current cable not able to supply enough power to your ext hdd.

if other cable also same...faster backup your data, it is going to die anytime.
Bro you serious? Don't scare me... Ill get it done immediately

134 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:41 AM