All About Harddisk Thread V4
Skylinestar
May 9 2012, 01:34 AM
My WD Blue 320GB died after serving me for 3 years and 2 months. sob sob. my last activity was muxing ~30GB mkv video and transferring lots of stuff to-from my external hdd. @ mohdazuan can you provide more info on your hdd so that it's easier for us to hunt for this hdd in the market? i'll be going to LYP and see if i can find a good one. you mention that your seagate runs for 2 years+ and you call that reliable. my WD runs for 3 years+ and died...i don't think 3 years is called reliable enough. i expect longer...perhaps 5 years and above. i have a 40GB WD hdd that's >7 years old and it's still running fine. This post has been edited by Skylinestar: May 9 2012, 01:46 AM
Skylinestar
Dec 10 2012, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 10 2012, 01:52 PM) When a harddisk has problems after warranty period what can I do? use it as a paperweight
Skylinestar
Jan 8 2013, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 8 2013, 01:36 AM) Hey guys, I have a Buffalo external 3.5" HDD (powered), recently it can only be detected by my laptop, I plug into any other laptop it can't be detected. The HDD did spin, LED lights up awhile then gone dead. However when plugged into my laptop it runs perfectly fine, no sign of bad sector or anything. Any idea? Sometimes USB can be picky. Try to use Y cable to supply more juice to the hdd. QUOTE(ITLearner @ Jan 8 2013, 01:09 PM) why i didnt born in west malaysia You can choose to live in west Malaysia if u want. Stuff in west is cheaper and a lot more choices too. But the living lifestyle is more hectic. What's worst is that the sun rises up quite late. That means you'll go to work when the sky is still dark.
Skylinestar
Jan 8 2013, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 8 2013, 10:04 PM) Hmm it is an external powered 3.5" HDD, power shouldn't be the problem... Maybe I should try other cable... in that case, i think it is the ext hdd casing chipset that is being picky. it's not the cable problem.
Skylinestar
Jul 24 2016, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(earlgrey77 @ Jul 23 2016, 10:00 PM) Dear all, Looking for a HDD hard disk, someone quoted rm250 for 500gb together with the installation. Reasonable pricing? Thanks No. Do you know the market price for hard disk?
Skylinestar
Aug 20 2016, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(DCXW @ Aug 20 2016, 10:10 AM) Hi all can someone pls explain to me why my REAL hard disk capacity is less than the ADVERTISED hard disk capacity ? Example Advertised capacity - 500Gb Real Capacity - 465Gb Do hope to hear answers from you sifu's !  because 1024 isn't 1000. you lose 7% due to this reason.
Skylinestar
Nov 3 2016, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(eligible @ Oct 16 2016, 03:35 PM) Any sifu out here mind share with me? Currently my ext HDD. got sound which is "ticking sound". 1. Can I fix it? 2. Or I just buy a new unit? 3. Would the data inside it gone missing? is the hdd still accessible?
Skylinestar
Nov 4 2016, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(eligible @ Nov 4 2016, 09:01 AM) Will do thanks bro! Yes accessible. Still got value in it? i had a hdd that had ticking sound... and it worked for another 5 yrs. so it's pure luck. however, u should have a backup habit, regardless the condition of your hdd. This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Nov 4 2016, 10:14 AM