82 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Buying Toys/Model Kits Online, Share experiences, shipping tips, etc.

mountainmoo
post Feb 28 2009, 01:46 PM

21 posts

the items are from taiwan, what do you mean about the "Maybe you will kena tax, maybe you wont." The model kits will charge how many, coz the items is really big, about 65cm*35cm*15cm, and almost 4kg,i guess....
deejay220989
post Feb 28 2009, 02:13 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(mountainmoo @ Feb 28 2009, 01:46 PM)
the items are from taiwan, what do you mean about the "Maybe you will kena tax, maybe you wont." The model kits will charge how many, coz the items is really big, about 65cm*35cm*15cm, and almost 4kg,i guess....
Everytime you send something overseas, you need to declare/write the cost of the items on the shipping form. So usually sellers will write a low value to avoid tax.

Also, heavy and big items tend to attract custom's attention too.

So lets say you kena tax, but the seller declare that the item only cost RM100, so you pay lesser tax smile.gif
You need to check with the seller how much did he declare the value of the items..
mountainmoo
post Feb 28 2009, 02:26 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Feb 28 2009, 02:13 PM)
Everytime you send something overseas, you need to declare/write the cost of the items on the shipping form. So usually sellers will write a low value to avoid tax.

Also, heavy and big items tend to attract custom's attention too.

So lets say you kena tax, but the seller declare that the item only cost RM100, so you pay lesser tax smile.gif
You need to check with the seller how much did he declare the value of the items..
if the declare is written in rm100, but if the items are hilang,so only can get redemption rm100,isn't it??If the items are stucked at the kastam,so is that mean i have to go to take by myself ,and it won't come to my house directly?? blink.gif

deejay220989
post Feb 28 2009, 03:02 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(mountainmoo @ Feb 28 2009, 02:26 PM)
if the declare is written in rm100, but if the items are hilang,so only can get redemption rm100,isn't it??If the items are stucked at the kastam,so is that mean i have to go to take by myself ,and it won't come to my house directly?? blink.gif
Yea..if items hilang then I think you can only redeem RM100..

If get stuck at customs then you have to visit them..or maybe you can pay the Post Office around RM60 and ask them to collect it for you. Please note that the RM60 is excluding the tax.

You're using AirMail or EMS?
mountainmoo
post Feb 28 2009, 03:11 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Feb 28 2009, 03:02 PM)
Yea..if items hilang then I think you can only redeem RM100..

If get stuck at customs then you have to visit them..or maybe you can pay the Post Office around RM60 and ask them to collect it for you. Please note that the RM60 is excluding the tax.

You're using AirMail or EMS?
the seller said not EMS, he only said the items will directly post to my house,(but still dunno which company he is using),and the seller oso said tat he had sent to malaysia before but tak kena tax, if i am be 1st guy kena tax, sure i will "die" for paying in this shipment....

post Mar 1 2009, 12:31 AM

53 posts

wanna ask,lets say mountainmoo stay in duty-free state like langkawi,will there be any tax applied to his items??
mountainmoo
post Mar 1 2009, 08:35 AM

21 posts

how about the items declare only rm480, by using normal post, will the kastam still block the items??

deejay220989
post Mar 1 2009, 10:39 AM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(mountainmoo @ Mar 1 2009, 08:35 AM)
how about the items declare only rm480, by using normal post, will the kastam still block the items??
The customs do not only see the price, they see the weight and size too..

RM480 using normal post is risky ><
Besides, the customs see the total cost, which means Item cost + shipping cost.
The cost of items is RM480 excluding the shipping cost. If you include shipping cost its around RM600..
mountainmoo
post Mar 1 2009, 10:47 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Mar 1 2009, 10:39 AM)
The customs do not only see the price, they see the weight and size too..

RM480 using normal post is risky ><
Besides, the customs see the total cost, which means Item cost + shipping cost.
The cost of items is RM480 excluding the shipping cost. If you include shipping cost its around RM600..
lools like i will kena tax rclxub.gif , but for plastic model kits, how many percent the tax will be charged?? 10% or 15%??
richard0304
post Mar 1 2009, 10:38 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(mountainmoo @ Mar 1 2009, 10:47 AM)
lools like i will kena tax rclxub.gif , but for plastic model kits, how many percent the tax will be charged?? 10% or 15%??
15%, but i heard that sometimes u can bargain with them..
cottonkandy
post Mar 6 2009, 08:31 PM

487 posts

how many % chance to be taxed? if i buy a vinyl item from oversea, and they send it here, got chance kena tax? even if its licensed company? they have the right to simply tax you?

what is the reason for them taxing you?

This post has been edited by cottonkandy: Mar 6 2009, 08:42 PM
SUSadvocado
post Mar 10 2009, 06:44 AM

2,948 posts

Well i just did a under rm450 of normal figures including EMS after yen conversion from HLJ and the custom still holding the items.

I remember few people were pretty sure purchase made with EMS shipping under rm500 are not taxable.

Any special criteria for this? Since I never seen the actual Clauses.
judge-the
post Mar 10 2009, 06:59 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(mountainmoo @ Mar 1 2009, 08:35 AM)
yes you can use normal post but i can assure you your items will not make it to your home! i lost 2 packages both with the value of rm160-180 each using normal post without tracking. i would say normal post better for rm100 and below only. anything above rm100 better use courier.
deejay220989
post Mar 10 2009, 07:17 AM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 10 2009, 06:44 AM)
Well i just did a under rm450 of normal figures including EMS after yen conversion from HLJ and the custom still holding the items.

I remember few people were pretty sure purchase made with EMS shipping under rm500 are not taxable.

Any special criteria for this? Since I never seen the actual Clauses.
Customs detaining your items doesn't mean that they will tax you. They usually detain big/heavy parcels or sometimes small parcels. They want the owner of the parcel to open the parcel in front of them to check what type of items you import. Of course they do not dare to open it by themselves coz if the items get damaged, they are to be blamed lol

And yes, if your total value is below RM500, no tax. Some ppl experienced that they do still ask for tax eventhough the total value is below RM500. Just argue with them smile.gif

QUOTE(judge-the @ Mar 10 2009, 06:59 AM)
yes you can use normal post but i can assure you your items will not make it to your home! i lost 2 packages both with the value of rm160-180 each using normal post without tracking. i would say normal post better for rm100 and below only. anything above rm100 better use courier.
I've used normal post for several years and I've got no missing parcels rolleyes.gif
SUSadvocado
post Mar 10 2009, 11:35 AM

2,948 posts

hi, custom will open up the stuffs by themselves. I'm not sure if there's a difference between EMS and Registered Mail, as I have packets sealed back before.

And I think they want to tax, the package shouldn't be big, around 1.6kg. And I think it wrote bring a copy of invoice so i'm pretty sure they wanna tax.

So how do I argue? I can't just tell them I hear say things under rm500 cannot be taxed right? Is there any clause mentioned in BLACK & WHITE?
valho
post Mar 10 2009, 05:39 PM

4,967 posts

Sometimes custom will open the stuff and seal back and the item will be send to you. While other times they may held your item and you'll need to open infront of them at the custom counter.

It's stated in their book that the limit for EMS is RM500, it's in their website as well but you'll probably have to look for it. Fyi I have nvr gotten tax on anything below RM500 using EMS, if they still wanna tax you they probably looking for "duit kopi"
BeastX
post Mar 10 2009, 06:16 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 10 2009, 11:35 AM)
......s there any clause mentioned in BLACK & WHITE?
Custom Duties Exemption Order 1988, Perkara: 172

Following link... go to the order tab, page 18 item 172...
http://tariff.customs.gov.my/DEFAULT.ASPX?trncode=KO22S1000

and

Sales Tax (Exemption ) Order 1980 , Pekara: 109

Following link... page 13 item 109...
http://tariff.customs.gov.my/DEFAULT.ASPX?trncode=CO06S1000

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 10 2009, 07:39 PM
SUSadvocado
post Mar 10 2009, 07:26 PM

2,948 posts

Beast you must know the law very well to even be able to sniff out these clauses.

Thanks will try my luck.

Added on March 10, 2009, 7:28 pmAlso they mention by air so does normal/registered airmail included or just EMS & Express Courier?

This post has been edited by advocado: Mar 10 2009, 07:28 PM
BeastX
post Mar 10 2009, 07:44 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 10 2009, 07:26 PM)
Beast you must know the law very well to even be able to sniff out these clauses.

Thanks will try my luck.

Added on March 10, 2009, 7:28 pmAlso they mention by air so does normal/registered airmail included or just EMS & Express Courier?
I cannot take credit... other members posted before... I did pull out the clause for a Registered package once and got passed with no tax.
deejay220989
post Mar 10 2009, 09:24 PM

1,141 posts

Print the page that states 'Tax exempted for goods cost below RM500 using EMS' and take it with you when collecting your parcels in case you need it as proof ^^

I always do that for safety hehe..

82 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:16 PM