Buying Toys/Model Kits Online, Share experiences, shipping tips, etc.

judge-the
post Nov 21 2005, 11:57 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

i used to buy a lot online from ebay but now stop for a while already. salary not enough to cover my household expenses... because now everything must spend on my little princess smile.gif hehehe... wait until i finish my master then become a full time lecturer... then i'll go full time in ebay again.

no hard feelings here but the main reason i bought online because i was so pissed with the toys shop in kl... they simply hijack the price and come on lah i bought from ebay together with shipping still cheaper. and some cases, you are required to buy whole set and they dont sell separately.

i met a guy in ebay and for the past 3 years he's been helping me do combine shipping from texas back to malaysia. so consider save a bit on the shipping cost. but sometimes bad luck and still kena tahan by kastam.

i am waiting for my 8 new figures to show up shortly. settled with kastam ipoh last week and they taxed me rm54.

judge-the
post Nov 21 2005, 10:32 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

if you only buy 1 item and ships it back directly to msia... it will be expensive and not worth it. but if you buy few items and do combine shipping then you'll save a bit.

sure no prob... just pm me and we'll see how to work things out. nowadays i stop for a while buying from ebay us. already stop for 1.5 years because my daughter now is 1.5 years. i am waiting for all 8 new figures i bought about 1.5 years ago from ebay to arrive these few days. my friend in texas kept them in his home all thise while.

since i am on 18months study leave now with some study allowance monthly i'll be buying again from ebay smile.gif. so if you wanna share shipping then we can always work things out later. just wait till i receive all my toys that i bought 1.5 years ago.

yeah true also cannot blame the shops selling toys in a full set. those left over sure nobody wants it.
judge-the
post Nov 21 2005, 10:40 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(kuman @ Nov 21 2005, 03:54 PM)

luck you la judge-the.. its good to have someone abroad that can get a lot of those cool toys for you...

i regret not getting a lot of toys when i was there...

now i wish i have someone in Japan that can help me getting those model-kits at a much cheaper price... smile.gif

this is a quotation i got from an online Japan retailer...
for a Gunze-Sanyo Mr Linear Airbrush set (regulator, compressor & handpiece)

Delivery method & cost(estimated):
A) SAL - 4300yen
cool.gif AIR - 5700yen
C) EMS - 4500yen

---------------Copy & Paste End-----------------

A) SAL usually takes 2-6 weeks. (Not insured)
cool.gif AIR takes 1-2 weeks. (Not insured)
C) EMS takes around 5 days.(Insured, Restricted delivery, Tracking Web

i dunno how much all of those item combined weight.. but will that be a possible approximation?
and will there be anymore increase in the cost?
hidden cost maybe?

if everything is ok... i might try to order something from HLJ.com and see how it turn out.. smile.gif

whats the best shipping rate from Japan to here?

thanks..

kuman
actually i never met my friend in texas lah. i bought toys from him in ebay about 3 years ago. then he helped me with combine shipping. he will keep all my toys in his home and ships everything back here 1 shot. he already sent all my toys back here more than 5 times.

but my latest package really making me worried with sleepless night. i bought 8 figures 1.5 years ago and he kept them in his home because i cant spend on toys after my wife gave birth to our 1st child. only 2 months ago paid him the shipping cost and he ships them back here. i am still worried who knows what can happened since 1.5 years is damn long so just wait for my package these few days.

already got confirmation from pos msia and settled the kastam tax in ipoh. package should be arriving here in 2-3 days time.

judge-the
post Nov 28 2005, 08:27 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Nov 25 2005, 03:06 AM)
Wah!!! why need to wait for 1.5 years?
i bought altogether 8 new mint figures so shipping was around US$60. 1 of the figures is the marvel select punisher figure, damn huge the packaging. after my wife gave birth to our 1st child my salary every month only cukup2 to survive lah. no more money on toys. imagine lah... infant milk... pampers...

so at the end my friend in texas kept them for 1.5 years until recently when i got the money to pay him smile.gif anyway i've received all the toys on last thursday all in good condition. damn happy... but kastam taxed me rm30 something.

judge-the
post Mar 10 2009, 06:59 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(mountainmoo @ Mar 1 2009, 08:35 AM)
how about the items declare only rm480, by using normal post, will the kastam still block the items??
yes you can use normal post but i can assure you your items will not make it to your home! i lost 2 packages both with the value of rm160-180 each using normal post without tracking. i would say normal post better for rm100 and below only. anything above rm100 better use courier.
judge-the
post Apr 9 2009, 03:49 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Apr 8 2009, 12:04 AM)
I just go to XL-shop at Berjaya Times Square, they just got nothing inside there...They only sell old gashapon....the most get me headache is when seller never smile and polite...moreover they dont know what is gashapon....then I translate to English 'alah, that small toy" then he knows what it is....
But why they dont know even they open the shop.....better open Nasi Lemak stall lahhh lagi baik!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Later i try to Megamall....see the different or same...
QUOTE(richard0304 @ Apr 8 2009, 01:28 AM)
my experience tells me that the branch at Mid Valley is even worse..
that guy in time sq looks unfriendly but if you starts talking to him, you find him the other way around. but i do agreed, midvalley is worst and they don't care at all. on the other hand the lady in ampang HQ very knowledgeable and she's very helpful too.
judge-the
post Feb 23 2011, 05:03 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Feb 22 2011, 03:35 PM)
Below RM500 (Product+shipping)?, Above, needs to pay tax. If below and still tahan, they want to check or for you to explain the contains, but no tax.
QUOTE(lordchaos91 @ Feb 22 2011, 04:01 PM)
everything item+shipment is 180 oni
like bro beastx explained... they want some explanation on your package content. consider yourself unlucky. also avoid any confrontation with them as they can have plenty of reasons to tax/detain your package further
judge-the
post Mar 3 2011, 11:23 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

guys,

sorry for being noob. i just registered a new account with paypal but my ccard is still not verified. so am i able to use my new paypal to pay my ebay winning bid immediately?

tq
judge-the
post Mar 5 2011, 02:07 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Mar 5 2011, 08:49 AM)
If your credit card statement is online... you can verify it (with the code) in about 3 days...

However before verification.... I guess you're unable to use your cc, to pay..
yup already received confirmation from paypal customer service. unverified ccard only have 2 outcomes; unsuccessful payment or have limit on payment

0.0314sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:11 PM