180 Pages « < 168 169 170 171 172 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

Maxieos
post Apr 24 2022, 06:30 AM

3,767 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact camera size or budget camera
Budget: below RM800
Preferable brand : Any brand which it's cheap.
Type of photography u want to do : Dark Indoor or night outdoor (firework).Birds flying wildlife , Maybe some Flowers on windy days. (shutter speed)
Any specific models in mind? : Size around 100 x 60 x 30 mm which is compact.
Any specific features u want? : setting multiple custom profile for photo and video at 1080p h265 30-60 fps.Mostly dim brightness indoor with moving object.

What is this camera

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Apr 24 2022, 06:31 AM
Loseeker
post Apr 27 2022, 11:01 AM

Apa Macam
899 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Apr 27 2022, 11:06 AM
Loseeker
post Apr 27 2022, 11:01 AM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(noofaith @ Apr 8 2022, 09:07 PM)
Hi, want to ask for recommendation for camera. Last time using Nikon D80 want to upgrade but not sure which model should I get.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget: RM3000 - RM4000
Your Location: Perak
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, People, Low Light (long exposures)
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D7100
Any specific features u want? : High ISO capability
Does it has to be DSLR? It's dying breed. I would recommend you to go for Nikon Z-Fc and get adapter for your old nikon lenses. If you insist on D7100, yes, it's a good camera despite it's age. But I don't think you can get brand new. Only used copy on the market now.

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Apr 22 2022, 09:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Any
Budget: RM1,000-RM1700
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Sony? Canon.. Samsung
Type of photography u want to do :  Photography related to holidays (more for close up pictures)
Any specific models in mind? :   None
Any specific features u want? :  None
I am looking for a camera as my previous handy one has given way.
Budget of RM1-1.7k.
Any proposed location to buy in KL / PJ ?
Thank you sifus
For your budget, I would recommend you to get a better smart phone with better camera. Camera within that price range would take photos no better than your smartphone. Unless you are willing to go to the route of used DSLR with used lens. Be warn that DSLR is a dying breed.

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Apr 24 2022, 06:30 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact camera size or budget camera
Budget: below RM800
Preferable brand : Any brand which it's cheap.
Type of photography u want to do : Dark Indoor or night outdoor (firework).Birds flying wildlife , Maybe some Flowers on windy days. (shutter speed)
Any specific models in mind? : Size around 100 x 60 x 30 mm which is compact.
Any specific features u want? : setting multiple custom profile for photo and video at 1080p h265 30-60 fps.Mostly dim brightness indoor with moving object.
For that budget, you won't find anything that is much better than what your smartphone can already do, so why waste the money and carry additional gear. As such, I will recommend you to contribute your RM800 to your next upgrade of your smart phone.

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Apr 24 2022, 06:30 AM)
What is this camera

I think it looks like Sony RX100 series camera.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Apr 27 2022, 11:05 AM
ZZMsia
post Apr 27 2022, 09:32 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Apr 23 2022, 12:47 PM)
You okay with 2nd hand and non-DSLR kind of camera bodies? Or you want a digicam type?
Yes im fine with 2nd hand non-dslr.
mellovicious
post Jun 19 2022, 12:11 PM

469 posts

hi guys. pls help. cant decide sweat.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Mirrorless
Budget: rm4K - 6k for body only
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Sony or fuji
Type of photography u want to do : Group event/travelling/street photography/outdoor portrait
Any specific models in mind? : A6600 / X-S10 or others???
Any specific features u want? : IBIS, good ergonomics

i sold my RX100 because i feel its very limited performance (although very compact which its nice). hope to get something better notworthy.gif

is A6600 worth it considering the prices now? rclxub.gif
cyxnide
post Jun 24 2022, 09:29 AM

145 posts

Hi guys, a complete newbie here wanting to take photography a little bit more seriously.
Been taking pictures on my iPhone XS and wanted to maybe get a cheap used DSLR to get started, very limited budget too since I don't want to get something very expensive and end up taking shitty pictures.
And I'm kind of clumsy, wouldn't want to end up dropping a 4k+ camera rclxub.gif

All suggestions are welcome! Thanks in advance!

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR with Kit lens (?)
Budget: Below 1k
Your Location: Johor Bahru
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon... actually any brand works too
Type of photography u want to do : Architectural photography / landscape & night photography, maybe a little bit of portrait too?
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D70 or Canon EOS 40D
Any specific features u want? : As long as it has full manual mode I'm fine with anything.

N33d
post Jun 24 2022, 06:01 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Jun 19 2022, 12:11 PM)
hi guys. pls help. cant decide  sweat.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Mirrorless
Budget: rm4K - 6k for body only
Your Location:  KL
Preferable brand :  Sony or fuji
Type of photography u want to do :  Group event/travelling/street photography/outdoor portrait
Any specific models in mind? :  A6600 / X-S10 or others???
Any specific features u want? :  IBIS, good ergonomics

i sold my RX100 because i feel its very limited performance (although very compact which its nice). hope to get something better notworthy.gif

is A6600 worth it considering the prices now? rclxub.gif
For APSC, I would go Fuji. In your case xs10. Fuji offering for APSC is more sincere while
Sony seems like they neglect their apsc format or use it as a feeder system for their full frame. their current APSc, A6xxx line up, even the newer zv10 all using very old and outdated slow readout sensor. Rolling shutter is very bad if you plan to explore videography in future or you prefer to use electronic shutter like me. Their ibis... forget about it. Fuji ibis isnt the best but compare to Sony, I think they are better.

I haven't seen xs10 in person or handle it, but I read a lot people said the grip is good, you need to test it out yourself as we all have different hands. Again, Sony camera is not known for ergonomic
Loseeker
post Jun 25 2022, 07:39 AM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Jun 19 2022, 12:11 PM)
hi guys. pls help. cant decide  sweat.gif

Preferable brand :  Sony or fuji
Type of photography u want to do :  Group event/travelling/street photography/outdoor portrait
Any specific models in mind? :   A6600 / X-S10 or others???
Any specific features u want? :  IBIS, good ergonomics

I totally agreed with what N33d said in his replies. Get the Fuji X-S10. Sony is not very sincere with their apsc offering.

QUOTE(cyxnide @ Jun 24 2022, 09:29 AM)
Hi guys, a complete newbie here wanting to take photography a little bit more seriously.
Been taking pictures on my iPhone XS and wanted to maybe get a cheap used DSLR to get started, very limited budget too since I don't want to get something very expensive and end up taking shitty pictures.
And I'm kind of clumsy, wouldn't want to end up dropping a 4k+ camera  rclxub.gif

All suggestions are welcome! Thanks in advance!
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR with Kit lens (?)
Budget: Below 1k
Your Location:   Johor Bahru
Preferable brand :  Canon or Nikon... actually any brand works too
Type of photography u want to do :  Architectural photography / landscape & night photography, maybe a little bit of portrait too?
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D70 or Canon EOS 40D
Any specific features u want? :  As long as it has full manual mode I'm fine with anything.
You have to understand that, for your picture quality to improve, the most important thing is that you need to have good lighting, second, you need to have better lens/lenses and then, a camera with a bigger sensor.

If you only have budget for a DSLR, I can assure you that, you will be 100% disappointed, IF you don't have good lighting (flash) and better lenses to go with it. Because the photo qualities will turn out no better than your iphone, or could be worse because your iphone might has features that enhance your photo quality automatically.

You can definitely go cheap with the camera body, an 10-15 years old dslr body still can provide you superb photos. After all, the camera body is just a image recorder, where as the lens is the one that form the image. You can watch this video to understand why I emphasized on better lens to go with your camera. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hk5IMmEDWH4

If you cannot stretch your budget, I think you are better off investing the money into your next phone upgrade. My honest 2 cents opinions.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Jun 25 2022, 07:50 AM
mellovicious
post Jun 25 2022, 05:30 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Jun 24 2022, 06:01 PM)
For APSC, I would go Fuji. In your case xs10. Fuji offering for APSC is more sincere while
Sony seems like they neglect their apsc format or use it as a feeder system for their full frame. their current APSc, A6xxx line up, even the newer zv10 all using very old and outdated slow readout sensor. Rolling shutter is very bad if you plan to explore videography in future or you prefer to use electronic shutter like me. Their ibis... forget about it. Fuji ibis isnt the best but compare to Sony, I think they are better.

I haven't seen xs10 in person or handle it, but I read a lot people said the grip is good, you need to test it out yourself as we all have different hands. Again, Sony camera is not known for ergonomic
QUOTE(Loseeker @ Jun 25 2022, 07:39 AM)
I totally agreed with what N33d said in his replies. Get the Fuji X-S10. Sony is not very sincere with their apsc offering. 
      You have to understand that, for your picture quality to improve, the most important thing is that you need to have good lighting, second, you need to have better lens/lenses and then, a camera with a bigger sensor.

If you only have budget for a DSLR, I can assure you that, you will be 100% disappointed, IF you don't have good lighting (flash) and better lenses to go with it. Because the photo qualities will turn out no better than your iphone, or could be worse because your iphone might has features that enhance your photo quality automatically.

You can definitely go cheap with the camera body, an 10-15 years old dslr body still can provide you superb photos. After all, the camera body is just a image recorder, where as the lens is the one that form the image.  You can watch this video to understand why I emphasized on better lens to go with your camera. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hk5IMmEDWH4

If you cannot stretch your budget, I think you are better off investing the money into your next phone upgrade. My honest 2 cents opinions.
tq for recommendation notworthy.gif . leaning heavily on the x-s10 right now, another big plus for the x-s10 is the 1k+ price difference that can be spend accessories

from what i see the biggest trade off going against the a6600 is poor battery life, inferior tracking autofocus and lack of weather sealing. hmm.gif
Loseeker
post Jun 25 2022, 08:40 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Jun 25 2022, 05:30 PM)
tq for recommendation notworthy.gif . leaning heavily on the x-s10 right now, another big plus for the x-s10 is the 1k+ price difference that can be spend accessories

from what i see the biggest trade off going against the a6600 is poor battery life, inferior tracking autofocus and lack of weather sealing. hmm.gif
yes, the sony camera generally has better AFC , but XS-10 no slouch also. Useable in most situation, depending on which lens you're pairing it with. Do you usually take photo/video in the rain? I guess the XS10 should be able to withstand a bit of light shower of rain. As for the battery life, if that is important to you, either you get the XT4 or go for the Sony a6600 then.

The XS-10 can definitely save you time on post processing and editing since most photos or videos came out good sooc using eterna or the classic neg film simulation. nod.gif
cyxnide
post Jun 27 2022, 10:20 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Jun 25 2022, 07:39 AM)

You can definitely go cheap with the camera body, an 10-15 years old dslr body still can provide you superb photos. After all, the camera body is just a image recorder, where as the lens is the one that form the image.  You can watch this video to understand why I emphasized on better lens to go with your camera.

Thank you for your honest opinion.
So it is still possible for me to get satisfied and take decent picture with a cheap old body paired with a decent lens?
Loseeker
post Jun 29 2022, 12:06 AM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(cyxnide @ Jun 27 2022, 10:20 AM)
So it is still possible for me to get satisfied and take decent picture with a cheap old body paired with a decent lens?
Of course ! Just remember, the body is just an image recorder, the lens is the one that makes the image. So, if you want to see your image upgraded from your smart phone, you need to pair it with a right lens. If not, you will be greatly disappointed. But then again, decent lens doesn't necessary mean it will cost you an arm or leg. For the types of photography you want, Architectural photography, landscape & night photography they all happens to fall under the similar focal length. The best lens that came to my mind is the Tokina 11-16 f2.8 version 1. They cost around RM600++ used on carousell.

Canon version - https://www.carousell.com.my/p/tokina-11-16...e&t-tap_index=6

Nikon version - https://www.carousell.com.my/p/tokina-nikon...e&t-tap_index=9

As for portrait, the Tokina 11-16 is not a suitable lens, you can just add a yongnuo 35mm f2 or yongnuo 50mm f1.8 (again available in both nikon and canon mount) later when your budget permits.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Jun 29 2022, 12:07 AM
N33d
post Jun 29 2022, 12:09 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(cyxnide @ Jun 27 2022, 10:20 AM)
I always think it as garbage in garbage out concept. Feed the sensor with image from bad glass and that is what it recorded, and that is the max quality output you are going to get

For me, new cam vs old cam biggest diff for photography is mostly the autofocus department, image quality such as DR, high iso noise does not improve much, might even decrease a little in some case at extreme as the newer sensor is optimize for other attributes like readout,AF speed than absolute image quality improvement (eg, xt2 vs xt3 at high iso). When you know the engineering team has to make compromise like this, you know that the current sensor tech is already mature and improvement for each generation is marginal. You wouldn't miss out too much from an old body
Hexlord
post Jun 29 2022, 03:13 PM

991 posts

Can consider Olympus if you are interested... a lot of cheap models on carousel. Even my E-M10 Mk II came from there.

This post has been edited by Hexlord: Aug 4 2022, 09:40 AM
g_kw2
post Aug 2 2022, 02:48 PM

317 posts

Type of camera/lens/accessories : Mirrorless (Semi Pro) -- Looking at Sony A6400 but seems like 3 years old.. not sure worth to buy. Looking at the one with 18-135mm lens kit
Budget: 5500
Your Location: subang jaya
Preferable brand : Sony / Canon
Type of photography u want to do : all rounding. Portrait, street, some videos
Any specific models in mind? : Sony A6400
Any specific features u want? : 4k video, lens support,
gaeria84
post Aug 2 2022, 11:01 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Aug 2 2022, 02:48 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accessories :  Mirrorless (Semi Pro) -- Looking at Sony A6400 but seems like 3 years old.. not sure worth to buy. Looking at the one with 18-135mm lens kit
Preferable brand :  Sony / Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  all rounding. Portrait, street, some videos
Any specific models in mind? :  Sony A6400
I'm selling A6300 with 18-135mm lens and Sigma 16mm F1.4, if interested let me know icon_rolleyes.gif
g_kw2
post Aug 4 2022, 07:57 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Aug 2 2022, 11:01 PM)
I'm selling A6300 with 18-135mm lens and Sigma 16mm F1.4, if interested let me know  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks bro… but wanted something slightly new… 6300 i think launched way back in 2016..

kidmad
post Aug 4 2022, 08:01 PM

4,483 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Aug 2 2022, 02:48 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accessories :  Mirrorless (Semi Pro) -- Looking at Sony A6400 but seems like 3 years old.. not sure worth to buy. Looking at the one with 18-135mm lens kit
Preferable brand :  Sony / Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  all rounding. Portrait, street, some videos
Any specific models in mind? :  Sony A6400
get mine Fujifilm X-S10 with fuji/viltrox lenses. seriously no regret. Even if you are using it's kit.. it's one sharp lens to go with. i'm hunting for a 2nd hand kit lens now.
g_kw2
post Aug 5 2022, 10:06 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 4 2022, 08:01 PM)
get mine Fujifilm X-S10 with fuji/viltrox lenses. seriously no regret. Even if you are using it's kit.. it's one sharp lens to go with. i'm hunting for a 2nd hand kit lens now.
but Fuji seems not so popular.. so in term of lens you should have less future proof support right?
gaeria84
post Aug 5 2022, 10:26 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Aug 4 2022, 07:57 PM)
Thanks bro… but wanted something slightly new… 6300 i think launched way back in 2016..
thumbsup.gif

a6400 not much difference compared to a6300, but you pay 1.5k more

a6400 is just a a6300 with 180 flip screen and eye AF sahaja, no ibis like a6500, you can read the differences online

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Aug 5 2022, 10:28 PM

180 Pages « < 168 169 170 171 172 > » Top

0.0370sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:15 AM