°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V5 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

DaBestOne
post Apr 3 2012, 04:36 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(jtlim98 @ Apr 3 2012, 03:51 PM)
Cost USD69 without shipping cost yet. Color can choose. Can ship to Malaysia. Bought mine already(Total USD97 :- tracking, insurance(USD10) and shipping cost to M'sia(USD18)) - not cheap  tongue.gif
Semangat mesti ada rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
eltaria
post Apr 3 2012, 06:17 PM

GO GO GO
1,040 posts

anyone noticing plenty of insight on the road nowadays?
At any one time, on the road, easy to see 5 more around me in ipoh.

Last time used to see 1 or 2.... feels like insight owners jumped at least 4x lately.
gadgets2us
post Apr 3 2012, 06:20 PM

44 posts

Experiencing very frequent (every 5-10 minutes of normal drive), almost total drainage of battery (1-2 bar left), to charging up the battery (full bars), within 2-3 minutes of normal drive (not downhill). The battery bars are very unstable, can be full bars, then within 10 seconds drop to 2 bar, also from 2 bars, can be charged straight to full within a few minutes, it wouldn't gradually increase/decrease bar after bar, like it used to be.

When battery is below half, the car totally lack of power. Sluggish drive.

Sent it to SC to check it out, they "formatted" and "reinstalled" new/updated OS in it.
Seems to be ok after that. Don't know bout later.. will update biggrin.gif
iphone
post Apr 3 2012, 06:25 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 3 2012, 06:20 PM)
Experiencing very frequent (every 5-10 minutes of normal drive), almost total drainage of battery (1-2 bar left), to charging up the battery (full bars), within 2-3 minutes of normal drive (not downhill). The battery bars are very unstable, can be full bars, then within 10 seconds drop to 2 bar, also from 2 bars, can be charged straight to full within a few minutes, it wouldn't gradually increase/decrease bar after bar, like it used to be.

When battery is below half, the car totally lack of power. Sluggish drive.

Yep notice my car having same issue too. I realized it at the red light, when it turn green I step the usual amount of throttle but the car won't move, extremely sluggish. When I look down ..battery is almost fully depleted.

Anyone know what is going on ?

CLL
post Apr 3 2012, 06:28 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(eltaria @ Apr 3 2012, 06:17 PM)
anyone noticing plenty of insight on the road nowadays?
At any one time, on the road, easy to see 5 more around me in ipoh.

Last time used to see 1 or 2.... feels like insight owners jumped at least 4x lately.
Totally agree. But I am just a new Insight owner. Never realized before buying, there were so many around here in Ipoh. Today I saw 3 already.

You may be one of them nod.gif nod.gif rclxms.gif

eltaria
post Apr 3 2012, 06:33 PM

GO GO GO
1,040 posts

On the battery going flat, i experienced that for the 1st time On sunday.
although I must say, i was stuck in shitty stuck and go traffic (station18 aeon), and blasting my stereo out loud... Could've drained up my 12V and then the main battery.

Noticed the auto stop didn't trigger, and the arrow pointing to Charging. Switch the display to the battery, and saw it's flatlined...

I sent my car for 15k service few days (thursday) before this happened.

After which, i got a peculiar call from the SC asking me, if the car and everything is fine... At 1st I thought it maybe just a courtesy call.. But come to think of it, my 1st 3 (albeit free) services, they didn't call back to ask if my car's fine...

Mmm.. will drive it a bit more and report in if got any issues...
gadgets2us
post Apr 3 2012, 06:41 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Apr 3 2012, 06:25 PM)
Yep notice my car having same issue too. I realized it at the red light, when it turn green I step the usual amount of throttle but the car won't move, extremely sluggish. When I look down ..battery is almost fully depleted.

Anyone know what is going on ?
No idea what's wrong with it, the service manager wanted to make a report to change IMA battery for me if the refomating/update didn't work. He claim, the software got hang/malfunction, that's why need to update/format.
So if it happens again, I'm gonna get the IMA battery replaced, maybe its the battery which is giving the problems to the IMA system.
Its bloody irritating to drive with power for 3-4 minutes, then bleh.. drop to kancil power. I wouldn't call that the power of dreams sweat.gif
mazda6mps
post Apr 3 2012, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 3 2012, 06:41 PM)
No idea what's wrong with it, the service manager wanted to make a report to change IMA battery for me if the refomating/update didn't work. He claim, the software got hang/malfunction, that's why need to update/format.
So if it happens again, I'm gonna get the IMA battery replaced, maybe its the battery which is giving the problems to the IMA system.
Its bloody irritating to drive with power for 3-4 minutes, then bleh.. drop to kancil power. I wouldn't call that the power of dreams  sweat.gif
poss replacing IMA batt? wow.... shocking.gif
joshuawong
post Apr 3 2012, 08:12 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Apr 3 2012, 06:41 PM)
Its bloody irritating to drive with power for 3-4 minutes, then bleh.. drop to kancil power. I wouldn't call that the power of dreams  sweat.gif
U r the first to replace IMA battery. Hmmm wonder this also happened to other country?

MsPotato
post Apr 4 2012, 09:31 AM

This morning while I was stucked in the jam on a small hill (the tropicana road cutting out to BU and Kayu Ara, if some of you guys may know where it is), it went auto stop at the uphill (which is normal). Yet, when I switched from pressing the brake and immediately to throttle with gear D, my car gone backwards!! Twice! Twice it happened when I was trying to move forward, and I had to switch the gear to S to move forward. The kelisa behind was honking me like hell (as if she was shouting out loud:" Oy! are you sleeping?"). Oh, I felt so embarrased! I thought our car has this creep and hill assist? doh.gif Somemore, mine is a FL! rclxub.gif

Help! Do you guys have this problem? shakehead.gif
ongdennis
post Apr 4 2012, 10:10 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(MsPotato @ Apr 4 2012, 09:31 AM)
This morning while I was stucked in the jam on a small hill (the tropicana road cutting out to BU and Kayu Ara, if some of you guys may know where it is), it went auto stop at the uphill (which is normal).  Yet, when I switched from pressing the brake and immediately to throttle with gear D, my car gone backwards!!  Twice!  Twice it happened when I was trying to move forward, and I had to switch the gear to S to move forward.  The kelisa behind was honking me like hell (as if she was shouting out loud:" Oy! are you sleeping?").  Oh, I felt so embarrased!  I thought our car has this creep and hill assist?  doh.gif  Somemore, mine is a FL! rclxub.gif

Do u step hard on ur brake when u stop?
if the slope is too high the hill assist will not work also. Try experience the hill assist on the slope at some where safe.
For me, I never trust it. I will pull handbrake before let go my brake even I know mine is working.
psyeo
post Apr 4 2012, 10:17 AM

2,605 posts

This morning while I was stucked in the jam on a small hill (the tropicana road cutting out to BU and Kayu Ara, if some of you guys may know where it is), it went auto stop at the uphill (which is normal).  Yet, when I switched from pressing the brake and immediately to throttle with gear D, my car gone backwards!!  Twice!  Twice it happened when I was trying to move forward, and I had to switch the gear to S to move forward.  The kelisa behind was honking me like hell (as if she was shouting out loud:" Oy! are you sleeping?").  Oh, I felt so embarrased!  I thought our car has this creep and hill assist?  doh.gif   Somemore, mine is a FL! rclxub.gif

hmm.. try stepping the brake harder when come to a stop for more hill assist. If the slope is too steep, it may be a better choice to get out of auto-stop before letting go the brakes (so far I hvnt come across a slope that I need to do that) - you can do this easily by pressing the front windscreen demister on and off to get out of auto stop.

takes time to get use to the hill assist, not that hard

This post has been edited by psyeo: Apr 4 2012, 11:57 AM
iphone
post Apr 4 2012, 10:35 AM

191 posts

I think he is not referring to creep assist. More like clutch slipping/not engaging yet. There is a delay from engine to full clutch engaging. Since the hill is steep and the drivetrain could not engage in time thus the car goes backward.
psyeo
post Apr 4 2012, 10:40 AM

2,605 posts

thus, turning the engine on from auto stop on "D" should solve the problem of delay before releasing brake, and creep aid/hill assist will help to hold the car for the delay as well if it is able to activate properly

This post has been edited by psyeo: Apr 4 2012, 10:41 AM
iphone
post Apr 4 2012, 11:39 AM

191 posts

even on D, can't fire up the engine without releasing the brake.
He need to engage handbrake, release brake pedal to fire up the engine before start moving.

Actually you will soon learn how to utilise the creep assist, i.e. when you apply brake and the car come to a stop on a slope, release the brake immediately (try NOT let the auto stop cuts in for too long by depressing the brake pedal).
MsPotato
post Apr 4 2012, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(iphone @ Apr 4 2012, 11:39 AM)
He need to engage handbrake, release brake pedal to fire up the engine before start moving.

Actually you will soon learn how to utilise the creep assist, i.e. when you apply brake and the car come to a stop on a slope, release the brake immediately (try NOT let the auto stop cuts in for too long by depressing the brake pedal).
But the car tend to start auto stopping when the speed goes slow below 10km/h, especially when it hits from 4-0. Unless I turn off the econ mode or switch to S gear? This is seriously not the first time I encounter this problem, the first time was when I was again stucked in a morning jam at Damansara, infront of the CIMB buildings.

This post has been edited by MsPotato: Apr 4 2012, 11:54 AM
psyeo
post Apr 4 2012, 11:55 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Apr 4 2012, 11:39 AM)

hmm, you actually can force fire up the engine without releasing the brake while on D

There are 2 ways that i know (was posted on this forum several times, by a few members)

1. turn on and turn off the front windscreen demister (easiest)
2. while on brake tap lightly on the accelerator (harder and more dangerous)

Added on April 4, 2012, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(MsPotato @ Apr 4 2012, 11:53 AM)
But the car tend to start auto stopping when the speed goes slow below 10km/h, especially when it hits from 4-0.  Unless I turn off the econ mode or switch to S gear?  This is seriously not the first time I encounter this problem, the first time was when I was again stucked in a morning jam at Damansara, infront of the CIMB buildings.
Auto-stop will still be activated occasionally when Econ mode is off and on S (on pre-facelift Insight, not too sure about facelift model)

L gear on the other hand will not have auto-stop afaik

This post has been edited by psyeo: Apr 4 2012, 12:05 PM
Eiraku
post Apr 4 2012, 12:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

This morning while I was stucked in the jam on a small hill (the tropicana road cutting out to BU and Kayu Ara, if some of you guys may know where it is), it went auto stop at the uphill (which is normal).  Yet, when I switched from pressing the brake and immediately to throttle with gear D, my car gone backwards!!  Twice!  Twice it happened when I was trying to move forward, and I had to switch the gear to S to move forward.  The kelisa behind was honking me like hell (as if she was shouting out loud:" Oy! are you sleeping?").  Oh, I felt so embarrased!  I thought our car has this creep and hill assist?  doh.gif   Somemore, mine is a FL! rclxub.gif

Learn to use the handbrake. That's what I do when I drive my parents pre-facelift Insect lol. But we didn't have hill assist so hurmmm... hmm.gif

"Creep aid" didn't aid much either lol, so yeah. "Sorry my creep aid failed" is really not something you wanna say to people you just rolled into lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 4 2012, 01:24 PM
izmel_s
post Apr 4 2012, 01:27 PM

29 posts

how to last the car for 5 years with all the problems coming within 1 yr .. my fren sold off his insight after 6 months n bought a civic .. no more nightmares bout the battery prob ...
iTrump
post Apr 4 2012, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(izmel_s @ Apr 4 2012, 01:27 PM)
how to last the car for 5 years with all the problems coming within 1 yr .. my fren sold off his insight after 6 months n bought a civic .. no more nightmares bout the battery prob ...
What are the problems your friend facing?
Just reached 1 year old for my Insight, clocked 33k, service n perform like normal car.
The bad thing is mental toward getting the best FC ... a little obsessed to drive eco-ly to maintain below 6L/100km / > 19km/L. If somehow not able to get the targeted FC for that tank of fuel, will be little sad...lol

This post has been edited by iTrump: Apr 4 2012, 01:48 PM

125 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:37 AM