100 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V14, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

47ronin
post Feb 10 2012, 12:28 PM

365 posts

Hi guys,

Your opinions on the following my planned UNIFI home setup is highly appreciated.

Objective:-

To offload wifi function at Asus RTN16 to 2 separate Wifi AP (G & N).

Wifi G - target user - Android tablets (diff SSID)
Wifi N - Laptops (diff SSID)

For switch, can I just use any switch.
Any recommendation?
Do I need to setup anything or just cucuk saje from RTN16 LAN port to Swicth LAN port?

Tq

izzat80
post Feb 10 2012, 01:16 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(47ronin @ Feb 10 2012, 12:28 PM)
Hi guys,

Your opinions on the following my planned UNIFI home setup is highly appreciated.

Any recommendation?
Do I need to setup anything or just cucuk saje from RTN16 LAN port to Swicth LAN port?

Tq

nice pic but why need offload rt n16? get too hot?
u know wireless is not part of "cpu" of rotuer... is separate part.. if u open router u see wireless card plug in the router inside.. just like adding graphics card in ur PC..

only one case need use outside AP is got new location far the router cannot reach so add ap using cable to reach far...otherwise no need bro... wasting electric and have extra router running no benefit

keep the other router/ap spare like new condition... maybe need it one day

also no need the switch... after u connect any ap/router to ur main router then all the ports r normal lan port...

rt n16 (1 port use STB, 1 port use AP, 1 port use player.. 1 left)
tp-link AP/router (1 port used to connect to rt n16.. 3 left)
and if u use wrt54g... u got 3 extra left aso
just showing how u can money savings.. performance drop = 0% smile.gif

Pain_X
post Feb 10 2012, 02:06 PM

244 posts

Hey guys need some help. My unifi connection was down for 20 mins yesterday around 1am and continued coming and going for the next hour.

Today morning it seems fine but the POTS light is permanently on. IIRC,POTS line shows if the phone is in use right?
How do i turn it off again?

Femi
post Feb 10 2012, 02:14 PM

Lady
739 posts

blush.gif Just wanted to know more, unifi has hypptv, what kind of tv set do I need so that I can view the hpptv channel? Coz mine is old 14" tv set... sweat.gif
soonwai
post Feb 10 2012, 02:56 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Femi @ Feb 10 2012, 02:14 PM)
blush.gif Just wanted to know more, unifi has hypptv, what kind of tv set do I need so that I can view the hpptv channel? Coz mine is old 14" tv set...  sweat.gif
If your old TV got Video/Audio in (the yellow, red, white RCA jacks) then can use already.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 10 2012, 03:18 PM
blindbox
post Feb 10 2012, 05:28 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Hi guys,

Any recommendation?

Tq

Why is your setup needlessly complex? I don't know about you but I could do everything on a TP-Link WR1043ND. Two SSIDs on one device, easily. Well, you do need to use a custom firmware though (OpenWRT's my pick).

soonwai
post Feb 10 2012, 05:34 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Feb 10 2012, 05:28 PM)
Why is your setup needlessly complex? I don't know about you but I could do everything on a TP-Link WR1043ND. Two SSIDs on one device, easily. Well, you do need to use a custom firmware though (OpenWRT's my pick).
I think TS wants to split the wireless APs into 2 in order to separate the BG clients from the N clients for performance reasons.

Added on February 10, 2012, 5:49 pm
Hi guys,

Any recommendation?
Any switch will do, just make you sure your uplink is plugged into Ethernet port1 or whichever is the master ethernet port on your switch, usually first port or could be the last port. Even if you don't, it's ok, just a very slight performance hit. For unmanaged switches, no need to configure anything, just cucuk only.

I understand you want to separate the WiFi G & N clients. Why not cut down on the number of routers and just run the WiFi G off the RTN16? Save some space and electricity.

My setup is similar to yours but I just have one AP.

BTU
RB750GL -> Airport Extreme (WiFi BGN) -> all my wired devices upstairs
DGS-1008D -> all my wired devices downstairs

My HyppTV STB is currently connected to the RB750GL via a pair of Homeplugs. I might replace them with a RB250GS switch and trunk both VLANs down my lone ethernet cable. Only prob is that I have 5 wired devices downstairs, 6 including the STB and the RB250GS only has 4 usable ports.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 10 2012, 05:54 PM
aberrant80
post Feb 10 2012, 08:02 PM

269 posts

Hi all,

Can I ask for a basic checklist of things I should change after unifi installation?

I changed the default router password oredi (default is no password...). Should I change the SSID? Network key? I'm not sure how to change the SSID (sry, noob).
blindbox
post Feb 10 2012, 08:07 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 10 2012, 05:34 PM)
I think TS wants to split the wireless APs into 2 in order to separate the BG clients from the N clients for performance reasons.
Only thing is, I've never seen someone doing a real life testing of having a wireless-g client and a wireless-n client connected to a single router and see whether the performance drops to the lowest common denominator. I do want to try this some day actually but I no longer have any wireless-G devices with me. Hmmm, maybe my brother's company laptop is wireless-G...

As for performance reasons, I have 10 wireless devices on my network and my router load never reached 1.00. That's why I'm saying it's needlessly complex.

Now I'm thinking I probably have the simplest setup ever.

BTU
TP-Link WR1043ND
Everything else, including IPTV.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Feb 10 2012, 08:09 PM
soonwai
post Feb 10 2012, 08:28 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Feb 10 2012, 08:02 PM)
Hi all,

Can I ask for a basic checklist of things I should change after unifi installation?

I changed the default router password oredi (default is no password...). Should I change the SSID? Network key? I'm not sure how to change the SSID (sry, noob).
1. Router password
2. WiFi password
3. Disable WPS (Google reaver-wps for more info)
4. Disable TR-069 protocol

SSID, up to you. Not much else to do.

Added on February 10, 2012, 8:34 pm
QUOTE(blindbox @ Feb 10 2012, 08:07 PM)
Only thing is, I've never seen someone doing a real life testing of having a wireless-g client and a wireless-n client connected to a single router and see whether the performance drops to the lowest common denominator. I do want to try this some day actually but I no longer have any wireless-G devices with me. Hmmm, maybe my brother's company laptop is wireless-G...

As for performance reasons, I have 10 wireless devices on my network and my router load never reached 1.00. That's why I'm saying it's needlessly complex.

BTU
TP-Link WR1043ND
LOL, not quite, the simplest setup would be DIR-615 in place of your TP-Link. 9 of 10 UniFi users would have no idea to do what you've done. Especially if they had to flash the WR1043ND themselves.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 10 2012, 08:34 PM
aberrant80
post Feb 10 2012, 09:31 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 10 2012, 08:28 PM)
1. Router password
2. WiFi password
3. Disable WPS (Google reaver-wps for more info)
4. Disable TR-069 protocol

SSID, up to you. Not much else to do.
Thanks! I can't find the TR-069 protocol though.
soonwai
post Feb 10 2012, 09:36 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Feb 10 2012, 09:31 PM)
Thanks! I can't find the TR-069 protocol though.
Oops, sorry, what router u using? For DIR-615, it's under Advanced/TR-069 tab.
aberrant80
post Feb 10 2012, 09:41 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 10 2012, 09:36 PM)
Oops, sorry, what router u using? For DIR-615, it's under Advanced/TR-069 tab.
DIR-615 oso. On my Advanced menu, no TR-069 tab though. I went through all the menus under Advanced, nothing that says "TR-069" biggrin.gif I guess it's doesn't matter. Thanks for your help.
deathbringer
post Feb 10 2012, 09:46 PM

I'll Pwn j00 !!
1,160 posts

any performance difference using the Asus RT-N16 vs RT-N12B1??

cheers.
blindbox
post Feb 10 2012, 09:52 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 10 2012, 08:28 PM)

Added on February 10, 2012, 8:34 pm
LOL, not quite, the simplest setup would be DIR-615 in place of your TP-Link. 9 of 10 UniFi users would have no idea to do what you've done. Especially if they had to flash the WR1043ND themselves.
Of course, I'm speaking topologically tongue.gif

EDIT: As for DIR-615, klseet's site has the config file that you can just upload to the router using its backup system and everything would be done for you.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Feb 10 2012, 09:53 PM
nidup
post Feb 10 2012, 10:17 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Feb 10 2012, 09:41 PM)
DIR-615 oso. On my Advanced menu, no TR-069 tab though. I went through all the menus under Advanced, nothing that says "TR-069" biggrin.gif I guess it's doesn't matter. Thanks for your help.
try to log in with superuser password
then u will see TR-069 under 'Advanced'

User: operator
Passw: h566UniFi
rockpoper
post Feb 10 2012, 10:23 PM

Intel Nvidia
582 posts

Just receive an email say Unifi user are entitled to TM Online Guard Plus for free.
Is the TM Online Guard Plus good or not?
soonwai
post Feb 10 2012, 11:13 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(hanny562 @ Feb 7 2012, 01:03 PM)
do u guys know where to buy the black and white optic fiber cable in penang?wanna use it to do internal wiring myself because my house wiring all are through wall and dont wan to drill any hole to install unifi
You might want to check on the price and availability of the fibre cutting tool first. That's probably harder to find than the cables.
rattan
post Feb 11 2012, 02:50 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(rockpoper @ Feb 10 2012, 10:23 PM)
Just receive an email say Unifi user are entitled to TM Online Guard Plus for free.
Is the TM Online Guard Plus good or not?
No point la bro. Nothing to shout about.

Added on February 11, 2012, 2:58 am
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 10 2012, 11:13 PM)
You might want to check on the price and availability of the fibre cutting tool first. That's probably harder to find than the cables.
The cable can find. Problem is the sockets and the optic cutter... need skills to install the connector. Not as easy as it seems.

This post has been edited by rattan: Feb 11 2012, 03:08 AM
rattan
post Feb 11 2012, 03:04 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Feb 10 2012, 08:07 PM)

BTU
TP-Link WR1043ND
Load is low because not all 10 clients is accessing the cloud at one go.

Try running torrents, http/ftp downloads and online gaming on all the clients thats connected to the wireless router and then u will really increase the load n put some stress on the routers processor. From my test the WR1043 can really take a lot of beating smile.gif

This post has been edited by rattan: Feb 11 2012, 03:07 AM

100 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:01 PM