Prius C, coming to Malaysia

turbocharged
post Feb 23 2012, 10:15 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 23 2012, 10:13 PM)
Yala... Even car also got fake 1.. Fake merc , fake crv from mainland....  N fake lancer here... tongue.gif
yaya, damn, the market is flooded by fake stuff.

and toyota website is still down.....sigh.....
alrasla
post Feb 23 2012, 10:19 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(2323 @ Feb 23 2012, 08:53 PM)
Battery warranty only one year ?? then i dun consider to buy  shakehead.gif  Why Toyota have no confident on their battery build ??? What is the battery cost ahh.. ?
In Malaysia, UMW Toyota provides 3 years warranty or 100,000km which also covers the battery.

One of the concern of hybrid car is on the battery replacement cost. In November 2010, there is an article from the STAR on this issue for Toyota Prius and Honda Civic Hybrid in Malaysia. Let see what they said on this.

The manufacturer’s warranty for the vehicle, including the hybrid system and battery, is three years/100,000km, whichever comes first, like that of all vehicles purchased from UMW Toyota Motor. Based on our experience in the United States, the largest hybrid vehicle market in the world, Toyota has not replaced a single battery due to wear and tear since the Prius went on sale in 2000.
The Prius have been used as taxis since 2000, beginning in North America, and they operate under the harshest conditions with frequent starts/stops, low speed driving, and long idling. The taxis with the highest mileage have clocked more than 400,000km without any hybrid component failure.
In Australia, the Prius taxi with the highest reported mileage was 550,000km, and it only needed a battery replacement at 500,000km due to a low voltage reading.
The cost of batter in malaysia given today’s exchange rate and duty structure, it will be RM11,500

This will give some ideas on the maintenance cost, especially on the battery replacement for Toyota Prius Hybrid and Honda Civic Hybrid.
sleepwalker
post Feb 23 2012, 10:30 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 23 2012, 04:25 PM)
explain then
It is rather interesting to see people argue and yet can't come to a simple conclusion. To make it easy to explain, a full hybrid system means the electric motor can propel the on its own without the aid of the engine. It can also move the car from a standstill and run completely on battery alone. That is the Prius.

The Insight cannot move from standstill without assistance from the engine as the integrated motor is not powerful enough to do so. The integrated motor is to assist the engine and not replace it totally like the Prius. It only can run on the electric motor for very short distance on cruising speed and this confuses most people as they can't tell the difference between the 2 technology.

These are the only 2 important differences when it comes to hybrid, whether you can power from 0km/h with or without assistance from the engine. These are the 2 biggest differences between hybrid systems that's worth discussing about.

The next gen Prius will add a 3rd element into the equation with the term Plug-in Hybrid where you can run 100% on a separate battery charged from home plug or charging station without the need of the engine (limited to below 25 mph).

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Feb 23 2012, 10:32 PM
BuFung
post Feb 23 2012, 10:33 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Feb 23 2012, 10:30 PM)
It is rather interesting to see people argue and yet can't come to a simple conclusion. To make it easy to explain, a full hybrid system means the electric motor can propel the on its own without the aid of the engine. It can also move the car from a standstill and run completely on battery alone. That is the Prius.

The Insight cannot move from standstill without assistance from the engine as the integrated motor is not powerful enough to do so. It only can run on battery for very short distance during cruising.

These are the only 2 important differences when it comes to hybrid, whether you can power from 0km/h with or without assistance from the engine. These are the 2 biggest differences between hybrid systems that's worth discussing about.

The next gen Prius will add a 3rd element into the equation with the term Plug-in Hybrid where you can run 100% on a separate battery charged from home plug or charging station without the need of the engine (limited to below 25 mph).
There is only 1 person in the entire thread cannot come to conclusion of it... And still creating term like part hybrid, full link hybrid etc to syiok sendiri... =.=". Which I think wasting gas to explain to... Just wanna stop those long article to confuses more forumers...
turbocharged
post Feb 23 2012, 10:38 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 23 2012, 10:33 PM)
There is only 1 person in the entire thread cannot come to conclusion of it...  And still creating term like part hybrid, full link hybrid etc to syiok sendiri...  =.=". Which I think wasting gas to explain to...    Just wanna stop those long article to confuses more forumers...
yes, thats worse than fanboi, fanboi dont make up fact.
watonk
post Feb 23 2012, 10:45 PM

QUOTE(infi_nity @ Feb 23 2012, 03:47 PM)
inferior technology means inferior technology la...what some more u want to TC?
Honda Insight's biggest selling point as a hybrid is the price alone...if a person has money and has slightly more brains than yourself, Prius is the clear choice...

congratulations, you are the most stupid person in this LYN forum i think...
you have reached the level of Jessie Ooi, the Selayang BN coordinator...
if this thread was a televised event, you would find yourself insinuated with messages calling you all kinds of unsavory names, deservedly so too...
not even Honda salesman dares to twist and try sell such bullshit to its customers...while you have shamelessly sneaked in the term full hybrid into Honda's IMA equation...wonder-f***ing-fool indeed...
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 23 2012, 04:56 PM)
then correct me smile.gif see stupid (did not even read the braket) I ress my case
How dare you talked about superior luxury hybrid car like that. tongue.gif
Should've warn u earlier.

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 23 2012, 06:32 PM)
dedicate photo for some pro...

Chicken picture, bangla avatar, patriot summore. Prius C sales is in safe hands thumbup.gif

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 23 2012, 09:41 PM)
electrical modification ......dont play play. car might caughtfire
Couldn't be as hot as compressor off in traffic jams tongue.gif

Added on February 23, 2012, 10:50 pmLeaf is coming. So we're all nonsense tongue.gif

Full Hybrid vs Full Electric anyone?

This post has been edited by watonk: Feb 23 2012, 11:23 PM
Kiding
post Feb 23 2012, 11:55 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 23 2012, 09:41 PM)
electrical modification ......dont play play. car might caughtfire
No modification if someone able to bring in original battery pack, then the battery should be able to be replaced by reconnecting the wires. of course it is better let the professional to do it.
ar188
post Feb 24 2012, 12:00 AM

9,206 posts

There is only 1 person in the entire thread cannot come to conclusion of it...  And still creating term like part hybrid, full link hybrid etc to syiok sendiri...  =.=". Which I think wasting gas to explain to...    Just wanna stop those long article to confuses more forumers...
no the best is toyota salesman twist the term around.. laugh.gif
cloud8318
post Feb 24 2012, 02:08 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

just went to showroom saw the prius C....the interior is really ugly with the advance meter doh.gif

but the facelift prius really impress me, the front part is sooo nice :thumb: but the rim...aiyo...with alloy rim, why still but a ulgy rim cover!!! doh.gif

lunchtime
post Feb 24 2012, 07:22 AM

487 posts

support BuFung kaw kaw thumbup.gif
ckk125
post Feb 24 2012, 07:34 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Feb 24 2012, 02:08 AM)
just went to showroom saw the prius C....the interior is really ugly with the advance meter doh.gif

but the facelift prius really impress me, the front part is sooo nice :thumb: but the rim...aiyo...with alloy rim, why still but a ulgy rim cover!!! doh.gif
aerodynamic purpose ma..
electron
post Feb 24 2012, 08:11 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Feb 23 2012, 07:04 PM)
Just paid a visit to Subang Toyota showroom, saw an orange color Prius C already display in the show room, but it is not allowed to perform test drive, test drive is only available in March.

My First impression

The prius is definitely bigger than Myvi, it is not like Myvi which is fat and short feeling (No offend to Myvi fan, just personal feeling), the body shape is more streamline than Myvi.

Cabin space is slightly bigger than Myvi, but feeling not as wide as Vios, back seat leg room is quite good, I'm 172cm and it still has around 8-10cm space when sit in the back seat, head room also pretty ok, felt like still has 8-10cm space in between. however, it is still a small car, fit in five persons will be very tight!

Dashboard is kinda simple, quality feel like so so only  hmm.gif  Prius is way better than it.

Build quality looks good and solid.

The only disappointing part is the hybrid battery warranty, it is only 1 year warranty, *** !!!  doh.gif car itself is 3 years or 100,000KM warranty.

Retail price is 94,307 without insurance, those who has 55% NCD will only need to pay 95,5xx to own this car.

Maintenance is 1K,5K,10K,20K,30K interval, maintenance cost is around RM100+ per service.

so overall, it is for single or young guy who doesn't have big family, wanna try the high tech driving and save the earth, don't mind the small boot space and interior, than it is the car that can seriously consider.

The waiting list of this car is currently around 3 months, I paid a RM800 booking fee (fullly refundable), if test drive is good, will get it in May/June.
i think the 1 year warranty is for the 12V battery that traditionally sits in the engine bay of most car
infi_nity
post Feb 24 2012, 08:53 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Feb 23 2012, 07:04 PM)
The only disappointing part is the hybrid battery warranty, it is only 1 year warranty, *** !!!  doh.gif car itself is 3 years or 100,000KM warranty.

Bro, i think the battery 1 year waarnty is for the normal battery not the hybrid battery one...that one is 3 years...

btw, I own a Prius...so, about this car, i have quite some experience and knowledge la...not like some Insight ppl here who never ever sat in one b4 but come with their standard anti-toyota nonsense...
in reality, Honda and Toyota both have different directions in their car philosophies...
Toyota markets its realiability although this reputation has been in tatters since the fiasco in the US in 2009....but still way more realiable than a Honda car...
Honda menwhile targets the younger crowd and is definitely better than Toyota if you're a person who prefers good handling in a car...
so, Toyota attracts an older crowd and Honda attracts the younger ones or the petrolheads...

so, there is no argument in this area about both brands...
but for Hybrids, it's a different matter altogether...Toyota has the clear advantage and is definitely a better technology...
and this is where Honda loses out simply because of its car philosophy...
hybrid owners are usually ppl who are more enviromentally aware and not petrolheads and does not mind a reduced handling comfort in a car...
Thus, to hear shit from Honda Insight guys saying that handling is bad in a Prius and Prius has no power is just silly...
the handling part is for sure correct (why would u take corners aggressively in a hybrid though?) but the Power part is nonsense since Toyota has cleverly given a Power mode for its car and most Honda Insight owners do not know this i guess (henceforth u get such misinformed posts in this thread) and are saying this based on traditional knowledge of Toyota cars...

so, there u go! buy a Prius if you are not planning to take corners aggressively and want to save fuel...any other reasons, please go get yourself a Ferrari or something...
watonk
post Feb 24 2012, 09:19 AM

'Toyota attracts an older crowd'... laugh.gif

Oldman choose Camry. Younger generation likes hybrid and of course they will drive slow (till end up at the barrier). rclxms.gif

Added on February 24, 2012, 9:22 am
QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Feb 24 2012, 02:08 AM)

Yeah. Even if they wanna cost down, at least they could reuse Vios or Altis or Yaris dashboard.
doh.gif

This post has been edited by watonk: Feb 24 2012, 09:22 AM
turbocharged
post Feb 24 2012, 09:23 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(infi_nity @ Feb 24 2012, 08:53 AM)

so, there u go! buy a Prius if you are not planning to take corners aggressively and want to save fuel...any other reasons, please go get yourself a Ferrari or something...
there was once i saw a prius accelerated in straight line, and i must say, i am impressed. its really powerful. the instance torque/lure reminds me of a caldina turbo. just that moment.

all those basher, why not a test drive for prius? test drive is free.
jphlau
post Feb 24 2012, 09:27 AM

1,202 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 23 2012, 10:15 PM)
yaya, damn, the market is flooded by fake stuff.

and toyota website is still down.....sigh.....
the website is up now, updated with the new price for prius and prius c
calvin_ng
post Feb 24 2012, 10:08 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

I'll take Nissan Leave anytime if my apartment have a power outlet at the carpark... or my office have a power outlet for me to steal electric...

Added on February 24, 2012, 10:11 am
QUOTE(alrasla @ Feb 23 2012, 10:19 PM)
In Malaysia, UMW Toyota provides 3 years warranty or 100,000km which also covers the battery.

One of the concern of hybrid car is on the battery replacement cost. In November 2010, there is an article from the STAR on this issue for Toyota Prius and Honda Civic Hybrid in Malaysia. Let see what they said on this.

The manufacturer’s warranty for the vehicle, including the hybrid system and battery, is three years/100,000km, whichever comes first, like that of all vehicles purchased from UMW Toyota Motor. Based on our experience in the United States, the largest hybrid vehicle market in the world, Toyota has not replaced a single battery due to wear and tear since the Prius went on sale in 2000.
    The Prius have been used as taxis since 2000, beginning in North America, and they operate under the harshest conditions with frequent starts/stops, low speed driving, and long idling. The taxis with the highest mileage have clocked more than 400,000km without any hybrid component failure.
    In Australia, the Prius taxi with the highest reported mileage was 550,000km, and it only needed a battery replacement at 500,000km due to a low voltage reading.
    The cost of batter in malaysia given today’s exchange rate and duty structure, it will be RM11,500

This will give some ideas on the maintenance cost, especially on the battery replacement for Toyota Prius Hybrid and Honda Civic Hybrid.
Think Toyota Hybrid NIMH is 3 years... it is by panasonic company that develop for them... it is custom size and shape...

Honda give 5 years for NIMH battery and made by SANYO it is normal D-cell Battery soldered together (much like notebook battery soldering) in serial... I think they have around 88 D cell NIMH in Insight (Maybee more / maybee less) haha

There is 12v Acid Battery at all car (Hybrid/or not hybrid) at the moment Honda give 24month warranty for 12v lead acid battery and toyota give 12 month... outside replacement usually give 6 month

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Feb 24 2012, 10:11 AM
infi_nity
post Feb 24 2012, 10:13 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 24 2012, 10:08 AM)
I'll take Nissan Leave anytime if my apartment have a power outlet at the carpark... or my office have a power outlet for me to steal electric...
ei, u stick with the FULL HYBRID laaaa...
u not scared the salesman twist the "facts" ar???

calvin_ng
post Feb 24 2012, 10:18 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

FULL HYBRID kuasa to wife I take FULL ELECTRIC can zap flies....
ckk125
post Feb 24 2012, 10:28 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Feb 24 2012, 09:19 AM)
'Toyota attracts an older crowd'... laugh.gif

Oldman choose Camry. Younger generation likes hybrid and of course they will drive slow (till end up at the barrier). rclxms.gif

Added on February 24, 2012, 9:22 am

Yeah. Even if they wanna cost down, at least they could reuse Vios or Altis or Yaris dashboard.
doh.gif
if anything, insight's interior aint too good to start with. the door for one is worse than honda city, not to mention the driver armrest, which is a joke.

60 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0403sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:19 PM