151 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Neocaridina Shrimp, cherry, fire red, yellow, snow....etc

flipmode
post Mar 26 2012, 03:45 PM

42 posts

can anyone identify this plant? damn suddenly increase my pH in shrimp tank..all the shrimp go carzy flying inside the tank..nearly kill entire colony of the tank. From 6.9 to 8.2..lucky i was able to create another temporary tank with low pH. does certain plant increase water pH or the water from the plant that increase the pH? really terrifying. sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif cry.gif cry.gif
kurangak
post Mar 26 2012, 05:25 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Mar 26 2012, 03:45 PM)

can anyone identify this plant? damn suddenly increase my pH in shrimp tank..all the shrimp go carzy flying inside the tank..nearly kill entire colony of the tank. From 6.9 to 8.2..lucky i was able to create another temporary tank with low pH. does certain plant increase water pH or the water from the plant that increase the pH? really terrifying. sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

does it looks like any of this plant?
myak9
post Mar 26 2012, 05:49 PM

can anyone identify this plant? damn suddenly increase my pH in shrimp tank..all the shrimp go carzy flying inside the tank..nearly kill entire colony of the tank. From 6.9 to 8.2..lucky i was able to create another temporary tank with low pH. does certain plant increase water pH or the water from the plant that increase the pH? really terrifying. sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Ahhhhh...

soooo... that's why my shrimp die...

bought few last week... after planting... my cherry and brown bees started to die...

will pull out when I get home...
LuQEE
post Mar 26 2012, 06:34 PM

66 posts

might be another cabomba sp. but definitely not c. carolina sp.

or Asian Ambulia/Asian Marshweed (Limnophila sessiliflora) variation? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Mar 26 2012, 06:40 PM
kurangak
post Mar 26 2012, 09:38 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

btw im not sure if any plant can increase pH lvl... but ammonia does (since it is basic in nature)...

edit:- scratch that...found this, plant DO increase pH lv in water...

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 26 2012, 10:20 PM
arrow
post Mar 26 2012, 10:25 PM

53 posts

never encounter plant alternate PH. some more you buy is those rm2 potless plant. no gravel no soil at all.

i suspect pesticide in the plant or the plant leech some sap/liquid when be cut/damaged during handling that kill your shrimp. try buy some rm1 a bag feeder/grass shrimp. take like 10 and dump in a bucket with that plant. see how they fare.
i keep those feeder/grass shrimp in my crayfish tank with a PH of 8++, they are very very very hardy......an cycling tank with 5.0ppm ammonia and high nitrite also won't kill them ... i still have them and they grow double their size.

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 26 2012, 11:35 PM
LuQEE
post Mar 26 2012, 11:39 PM

66 posts

i wish ppl still selling ghost shrimps within my area~
arrow
post Mar 27 2012, 12:01 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 26 2012, 11:39 PM)
where you stay. y so pathetic the lfs in ur area. ghost/grass/feeder shrimp
are abundant here. some even allow rm0.50 minimum purchase.
LuQEE
post Mar 27 2012, 12:06 AM

66 posts

im in subang, they have been no demands these past few years, thats what ive been told by all the lfs owners~
arrow
post Mar 27 2012, 12:40 AM

53 posts

do you mind driving to PJ , if my memory still intact i remember QIAN HU THE PET FAMILY in taman megah PJ selling those feeder shrimp.
u can call them up first to check , in case oldman here, memory lost since i be to a couple of LFS that day b4 i visit Qian Hu.
address : Lot 10991, Jalan SS 24/8, Taman Megah, Petaling Jaya, 47301
03-7805-2342

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 27 2012, 12:41 AM
flipmode
post Mar 27 2012, 07:54 AM

42 posts

i think maybe the water/ sponge that hold the plant have something to do with it. after i soak for about 4 hours in normal tap water, replant in the tank, check back the pH. surprisingly, the pH is 6.9. i got 2 red cherry shrimp die eventhough i change their tank. sad.gif

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 26 2012, 11:39 PM)
i got 1 bigger than harlequin rasbora! hahaha..dont buy la..they will mess up your tank. even eat the plant in your tank.already throw them in the river. only 1 left as a scavenger.

This post has been edited by flipmode: Mar 27 2012, 07:59 AM
LuQEE
post Mar 27 2012, 09:24 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Mar 27 2012, 07:54 AM)
i think maybe the water/ sponge that hold the plant have something to do with it. after i soak for about 4 hours in normal tap water, replant in the tank, check back the pH. surprisingly, the pH is 6.9. i got 2 red cherry shrimp die eventhough i change their tank. sad.gif
maybe the corrode zinc metal that tying up the sponge may be the cause of it or the little stone that act as the weight wrapped inside the sponge might leaked something?

flipmode
post Mar 27 2012, 09:52 AM

42 posts

i guess so. now the pH maintain at 6.9. will monitor for every 6 hours. 60% of old tank water, 40% new aged water. how long should i wait?

Added on March 29, 2012, 8:00 amnot lucky today...7 of my shrimp gone in a night..i try to put that plant back in the tank..at 1st hour..seem like no problem..but after wake up this mornin..all of them lying in the tank bottom... cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by flipmode: Mar 29 2012, 08:00 AM
wkeongabguide
post Apr 2 2012, 09:54 PM

will nerite snails harm shrimp? wanna add them to clear some algae smile.gif good idea?

any recommendations for carpet plants for shrimp tank without co2? (except mosses and fern)

thankyou~

arrow
post Apr 3 2012, 02:55 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(wkeongabguide @ Apr 2 2012, 09:54 PM)
will nerite snails harm shrimp? wanna add them to clear some algae smile.gif good idea?

any recommendations for carpet plants for shrimp tank without co2? (except mosses and fern)

thankyou~
nerite snails won't harm shrimps, but there is claim they laid unhatchable egg all round the tank which are eyesores.
however so far those nerite snail in my tank haven't laid a single eggs , guess maybe they need to grow to certain size.

i remove all glosso , hc , fern from my shrimps tank , only left moss & crypt so can't help u.
L3()nZ
post Apr 3 2012, 09:48 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(wkeongabguide @ Apr 2 2012, 09:54 PM)

thankyou~
Yea you can add nerite snails. Dun worry they are harmless to your shrimps.
Most carpet plants requires bright lighting and high CO2. Unless u go for riccia...but i dun really like them as when the shrimps will unroot them eventually now and then....and it will be floating around the tank. haha this is just my experience.

Added on April 3, 2012, 9:51 am
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 26 2012, 12:08 PM)
can i share 2 tank with a chiller?
can no problem. Just that the electric bill will increase abit.

This post has been edited by L3()nZ: Apr 3 2012, 10:16 AM
weijie
post Apr 3 2012, 01:28 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Apr 3 2012, 09:48 AM)

Added on April 3, 2012, 9:51 am

can no problem. Just that the electric bill will increase abit.
how to share? would you mind post some pictures to explain?
pileew
post Apr 3 2012, 09:02 PM

hi new to shrimp

arrow
post Apr 4 2012, 11:14 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 3 2012, 09:02 PM)
hi new to shrimp

those black crystal shrimps , u got it from East Aqua?
LuQEE
post Apr 4 2012, 11:43 AM

66 posts

Rili Shrimp anyone?

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Apr 4 2012, 11:45 AM

151 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0381sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:13 PM