9 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Petaling Jaya (Johor Bahru) |
Apr 4 2012, 01:52 PM
53 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 4 2012, 12:40 PM) how much they cost you?, u first time keeping crs/shrimps?Added on April 4, 2012, 1:54 pm QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 4 2012, 11:43 AM) Rili shrimp , yes they are lovely shrimps, got 10 of those but pesticide in plant weep out 7 of them. This post has been edited by arrow: Apr 4 2012, 01:54 PM |
Apr 4 2012, 02:04 PM
3 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Apr 4 2012, 02:16 PM
Apr 4 2012, 02:25 PM
Apr 4 2012, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 4 2012, 02:25 PM) ya, is preferable as the soil will buffer the water ph and provide some mineral for the shrimps(depend on soil type).for shrimps soil ppl using brand GEX , Benibachi , BorneoWild , Advance Help shrimps soil & ADA soil for shrimps. Normal gravel will do but it depend how u gonna maintain the water parameter suitable for sensitive shrimps like CRS/CBS. U can't simply purchase those soil and put into ur current tank, some of the soil will leech ammonia which fatal to ur CRS, it need time to mature and cycled before can be use to house CRS/Shrimps. May i know ur current tank that house the CRS is new or cycled one? |
Apr 4 2012, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 4 2012, 02:54 PM) ya, is preferable as the soil will buffer the water ph and provide some mineral for the shrimps(depend on soil type). New one.. The soil.. It's hard to find at my place..for shrimps soil ppl using brand GEX , Benibachi , BorneoWild , Advance Help shrimps soil & ADA soil for shrimps. Normal gravel will do but it depend how u gonna maintain the water parameter suitable for sensitive shrimps like CRS/CBS. U can't simply purchase those soil and put into ur current tank, some of the soil will leech ammonia which fatal to ur CRS, it need time to mature and cycled before can be use to house CRS/Shrimps. May i know ur current tank that house the CRS is new or cycled one? |
Apr 4 2012, 03:42 PM
31 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 4 2012, 11:43 AM) I have some. But i dun realli like them....haha lolAdded on April 4, 2012, 3:44 pm QUOTE(weijie @ Apr 3 2012, 01:28 PM) It's very simple. Bcz some of my tanks are linked by a sharing filter. And the filter is connected to the chiller. So both of tank are sharing the same chiller. But the power output of the chiller will increase as well. Make sure the chiller is build for such capacity when using on linked tanks.Added on April 4, 2012, 3:47 pmSuper fire red blooming~~~ 5th batch babies are coming up~ Yeppie~ ![]() This post has been edited by L3()nZ: Apr 4 2012, 03:47 PM |
Apr 4 2012, 03:51 PM
9 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Petaling Jaya (Johor Bahru) |
QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 4 2012, 02:16 PM) rm10 , cheaper then kl , here around rm15 each. KL can get cheaper la. Don get it from shops. Get it from breeder. I got it for RM4 per piece for CRS last time, i am lucky because the breeder that time need to move house. that's why need to clear out.. But recently my tank for disaster. died almost half of it. u not using any shrimps soil? , only saw some black shiny gravel. |
Apr 4 2012, 04:28 PM
42 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
confirmed plant in my tank been pesticide. my otto eat like they will get paid. i just plant in japanese hairgrass and another plant (i dont know what the name for that plant). already done three time 40% WC, still same. when i put yamato. they swimming like crazy. take out and put in another tank, they work like otto. i dont want to throw that HG away since i bought it at rm16 for 2 pot.
how to clean the pesticide effect? heard that have to soak the plant in alkaline water about 2 to 48 hours. This post has been edited by flipmode: Apr 4 2012, 04:47 PM |
Apr 4 2012, 04:53 PM
66 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: currently in Malaysia |
yesterday went to NA to buy tubes,
saw alot of big bamboo shrimps under the cichlid tanks. wonder how can they get their food since they are like plankton feeder am i right? |
Apr 4 2012, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(flipmode @ Apr 4 2012, 04:28 PM) confirmed plant in my tank been pesticide. my otto eat like they will get paid. i just plant in japanese hairgrass and another plant (i dont know what the name for that plant). already done three time 40% WC, still same. when i put yamato. they swimming like crazy. take out and put in another tank, they work like otto. i dont want to throw that HG away since i bought it at rm16 for 2 pot. remove the plant from the tank and use activated-carbon in the filters.how to clean the pesticide effect? heard that have to soak the plant in alkaline water about 2 to 48 hours. Be aware that some of the surviving shrimps may continue to die in a week or more even it seem ok now in another tank, as happen to me last time. Added on April 4, 2012, 7:24 pm QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 4 2012, 04:53 PM) yesterday went to NA to buy tubes, i have 13 of those shrimps , they also known as banana shrimps. u can feed them with powdered fish fry food . brine shrimp fry , shrimplets food or micro guppy food.saw alot of big bamboo shrimps under the cichlid tanks. wonder how can they get their food since they are like plankton feeder am i right? Very easy to take care of and peaceful as well. They like to handout at place where there is lot of water movement/flow. Added on April 4, 2012, 7:32 pm QUOTE(TianYin86 @ Apr 4 2012, 03:51 PM) KL can get cheaper la. Don get it from shops. Get it from breeder. I got it for RM4 per piece for CRS last time, i am lucky because the breeder that time need to move house. that's why need to clear out.. But recently my tank for disaster. died almost half of it. can introduce the breeder to me ? Added on April 4, 2012, 7:36 pm QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 4 2012, 03:00 PM) You can get the soil online through aquashop in lelong and in this forum as well under petstore.you mean the tank is new but it is a cycled tank rite? cos if u keep crs in an uncycled tank they will goto heaven very soon once ammonia and nitrite start to build-up. This post has been edited by arrow: Apr 4 2012, 07:36 PM |
Apr 5 2012, 04:02 AM
5 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
I juz got a new 3 feet aquarium n plan to breed CRS n RCS. I use ADA soil, juz put moss in there bcause moss doesnt need Co2 injection rite? What brand n model of chiller u guys will recommend? Currently my shrimp is still in my old 1 ft tank, juz using fan. Pls giv me some tips n advise
Apr 5 2012, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 4 2012, 07:22 PM) remove the plant from the tank and use activated-carbon in the filters. Be aware that some of the surviving shrimps may continue to die in a week or more even it seem ok now in another tank, as happen to me last time. will add more active carbon in HOB filter. how long you wait to put the shrimp back? currently i move all shrimp to the other tank. GAE always pick a fight with em.... |
Apr 5 2012, 10:13 AM
18 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Equine park, Selangor |
QUOTE(darthsyaz @ Apr 5 2012, 04:02 AM) I juz got a new 3 feet aquarium n plan to breed CRS n RCS. I use ADA soil, juz put moss in there bcause moss doesnt need Co2 injection rite? What brand n model of chiller u guys will recommend? Currently my shrimp is still in my old 1 ft tank, juz using fan. Pls giv me some tips n advise moss does not need co2 injection to grow, but they wont be looking nice.chiller i would recommend Hailea, model 150a (just enough) or 250a (better) would suitable for 3feet tank. you need to cycle your aquarium for at least 1month to get stable water parameter. Added on April 5, 2012, 10:14 am QUOTE(flipmode @ Apr 5 2012, 10:07 AM) will add more active carbon in HOB filter. how long you wait to put the shrimp back? currently i move all shrimp to the other tank. GAE always pick a fight with em.... This post has been edited by weijie: Apr 5 2012, 10:14 AM |
Apr 5 2012, 10:32 AM
Apr 5 2012, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(flipmode @ Apr 5 2012, 10:32 AM) E.Aqua Midvalley, the pesticide leeched plant i also got from E.Aqua but from their Tmn Tun Hussien Onn branch. Guess their supplier never listen to the complain. Nowadays when i buy plant from any LFS i will put into a bucket and throw in 6 grass shrimp to test first. If got pesticide they will die in < 10min one by one or all in one shoot if very posionous.(that the main reason why i keep a bunch of grass shrimps as pet. Those pesticide won't affect fish much but deadly to shrimps/crabs. I remove the carbon after one week and put in a bag of 100g Seachem Purigen to remove organic pollutant and polish the water.(Really Good Stuff). |
Apr 5 2012, 04:37 PM
66 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: currently in Malaysia |
arrow, where you get ure feeder/glass/ghost shrimps?
Apr 5 2012, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 5 2012, 04:37 PM) i easily get it at most of the LFS in cheras, like 7 out of ten will have it. IF in subang , yesterday i did ask NA but not selling ,the nearest around 10km from NA is the Qian Hu pet Family shop in taman megah that have it. Or anyone staying in subang know any LFS in subang selling those feeder grass/glass shrimps ? |
| Change to: | 0.0349sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:57 PM |