my tank , feeding time.

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 20 2012, 12:19 AM
arrow
post Mar 21 2012, 02:21 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(ngweileon @ Mar 21 2012, 01:13 AM)
thx for ur info.. ya.. coz the guy told me CRS is easier than RCS.. then i buy with him.. 10 shrimps and all dying in the next few days.. quite sad and waste..

the steps i know it and mostly i will do it when i bought new fishes and shrimps also.. so what u suggest me to buy on the grade?? and if i buy on lowyat forum... is the quality ok?? coz i cannot view on the shirmps' quality..
maybe he tell u the other way round, my first CRS die in 10min after throw the poor fella into an non-cycle tank(noob time). the RCS in that hell tank
fair longer, 20pcs in total,each day 1 or 2 goto heaven till one left and together with a green shrimp both survive till her master graduate from the noob school.
so make sure u cycle the tank and have all the basic/necessary component b4 getting ur shrimp.
beside RCS , green shrimp is quite tough too.

How red is ur RCS beside their own gene & grade also depend on your water parameters. for example at the LFS where i brought the RCS, almost all look pale or colorless in their poor man tank(the staff told me it already >a week they look like that). After i acclimate them into my tank for a day, the red color only show up, got 1 or 2 which are deep red. smile.gif

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 21 2012, 02:29 AM
arrow
post Mar 21 2012, 02:10 PM

53 posts

do you guys put Catappa Leaves in ur CRS shrimps tank?
i don't like the amber water color they produce.
but if benefit > cosmetic outlook, may consider.
arrow
post Mar 22 2012, 12:29 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(naoki666 @ Mar 21 2012, 11:47 PM)
Local Fish Shop / fish shop around your area. Try AI if you want, I buy 10 one shot and cost about RM15 from Aquatic International and I heard from my brother in law that you can get lower if you get even more or know how to negotiate... haven't try yet.. but very cheap for me compare to getting 10 for RM20 from the LFS around my area.. but of course... they don't care about the redness... so the shrimp varies in color some red some pale... you can try Natural Aquatic too if you want... at SS19 if i'm not mistaken, but heard the tank is infested with planaria....
Though that is good for Arowana or fighting fish.. biggrin.gif hm.. I can try when i get the mandarin shrimp... might look even orange...
Natural Aquatic World shrimp tank planaria all gone, the staff there put no-planaria powder to clear it off, but the cherry shrimp all sold out,
only left fire red at rm8 each, color seem ok and some crs/cbs and yamato. Be there yesterday.

The catappa leaf is used by those breeder that supply shrimps to the LFS, the leaf came with the shrimp.

Quote from the net: http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Catappa-Leaf-fo...=item3a657c7bd2

The size for each leave is about 18 to 20 cm length, 9 to 10 cm wide.
Superb for Health, Vitality, and Successful Breeding!

Scientific Name: Terminalia Catappa Leaves
Common Name: Indian Almond Leaves, Tropical Almond Leaves, Sweet Almond Leaves, Wild Almond Leaves, Sea Almond Leaves, Catappa Leaves, Java Almond Leaves, Ketapang Leaves.

We hand picked the leaves from live pesticide-free Catappa trees. The thick and matured leaves are sanitized & sun-baked for 3 days to produce the highest grade product for your beloved fishes. Preparing and sorting these leaves need plenty of time and dedication. Smell them and be amazed by the fragrance.

We also supply to Germany and Spain Catappa resellers. Because of strict quality control, limited stock supply and overwhelming support, we often run out of stock. Right now we are doing our best to increase our production to meet the demand of both resellers and customers.

Indian almond leaves have been widely used by Asian breeders of tropical fish (Angel fish, Arowanas, Cardinals, Corydoras, Discus, Betta etc) to stimulate breeding and promote health and vitality in tropical fish. They love it! We have feedback from customer that her betta is making bubble nest immediately after she placed the first leaf into her tank. Shrimps like to feed on the nutricious leaf after it softens in water. You can add the leaf directly into the tank or may be boiled and the extract to be added into the tank.

Other Benefits

-Simulate black water condition which is the natural environment for the tropical fish and shrimps.
-Cure sick fish of bacterial infections and to help speed up healing of damaged fins or body injuries. However it is not a magic "cure-all", especially when dealing with diseases like dropsy, velvet etc. think of it as more of a preventative medicine.
-Enhance fertility of fishes
-Contain humic acids and tannins which have anti-bacterial & anti-fungal properties.
-Contains chemical that will bind with ammonia in the water.
-Contains calcium needed to activate the muscles and to develop strong bones, teeth and scales.
-Enhances the natural color of the fish
-Lowers the pH of the water and absorbs harmful chemicals.
-Adds essential trace elements to the water.
-Recommended for all fresh water fishes kept in small containers without filters, specially during transportation.
-Dosage: Put one leaf in a 10 - 15 gallon tank. Discard the leaf after 1 week and replace with a new leaf.

arrow
post Mar 26 2012, 12:00 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 24 2012, 09:25 PM)
just went to NA today..
there is still planaria (1cm long) in yamato,CRS and fire red tanks.. so beware..
they also resotcked their RCS...but cant find any planaria in them..

i also go NA on 24 mar around 8pm, planaria outbreak is on again , guess their egg hatched, that RCS tank got planaria just a bit less.

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 26 2012, 12:00 PM
arrow
post Mar 26 2012, 12:02 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(wkeongabguide @ Mar 26 2012, 12:00 PM)
any recommendations for brands for chiller?
i using hailer, seem ok but a bit noisy when it kick-in , not as silent as they claim.
arrow
post Mar 26 2012, 01:12 PM

53 posts

i don't c a problem if u can hook 2 tank together and the chiller can handle the load , i'm using hailer 28A , max is 200L. but of course is not advisable
to push to the max capacity as this will reduce the life-span and lead to higher electric .bill.
i should have topup rm300 to get the 400L but my pathetic eheim 2213 just can't handle it.
arrow
post Mar 26 2012, 10:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Mar 26 2012, 03:45 PM)

can anyone identify this plant? damn suddenly increase my pH in shrimp tank..all the shrimp go carzy flying inside the tank..nearly kill entire colony of the tank. From 6.9 to 8.2..lucky i was able to create another temporary tank with low pH. does certain plant increase water pH or the water from the plant that increase the pH? really terrifying. sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
never encounter plant alternate PH. some more you buy is those rm2 potless plant. no gravel no soil at all.

i suspect pesticide in the plant or the plant leech some sap/liquid when be cut/damaged during handling that kill your shrimp. try buy some rm1 a bag feeder/grass shrimp. take like 10 and dump in a bucket with that plant. see how they fare.
i keep those feeder/grass shrimp in my crayfish tank with a PH of 8++, they are very very very hardy......an cycling tank with 5.0ppm ammonia and high nitrite also won't kill them ... i still have them and they grow double their size.

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 26 2012, 11:35 PM
arrow
post Mar 27 2012, 12:01 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 26 2012, 11:39 PM)
i wish ppl still selling ghost shrimps within my area~
where you stay. y so pathetic the lfs in ur area. ghost/grass/feeder shrimp
are abundant here. some even allow rm0.50 minimum purchase.
arrow
post Mar 27 2012, 12:40 AM

53 posts

do you mind driving to PJ , if my memory still intact i remember QIAN HU THE PET FAMILY in taman megah PJ selling those feeder shrimp.
u can call them up first to check , in case oldman here, memory lost since i be to a couple of LFS that day b4 i visit Qian Hu.
address : Lot 10991, Jalan SS 24/8, Taman Megah, Petaling Jaya, 47301
03-7805-2342

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 27 2012, 12:41 AM
arrow
post Apr 3 2012, 02:55 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(wkeongabguide @ Apr 2 2012, 09:54 PM)
will nerite snails harm shrimp? wanna add them to clear some algae smile.gif good idea?

any recommendations for carpet plants for shrimp tank without co2? (except mosses and fern)

thankyou~
nerite snails won't harm shrimps, but there is claim they laid unhatchable egg all round the tank which are eyesores.
however so far those nerite snail in my tank haven't laid a single eggs , guess maybe they need to grow to certain size.

i remove all glosso , hc , fern from my shrimps tank , only left moss & crypt so can't help u.
arrow
post Apr 4 2012, 11:14 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 3 2012, 09:02 PM)
hi new to shrimp

those black crystal shrimps , u got it from East Aqua?
arrow
post Apr 4 2012, 01:52 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 4 2012, 12:40 PM)
I bought them from king kong melaka
how much they cost you?, u first time keeping crs/shrimps?

Added on April 4, 2012, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 4 2012, 11:43 AM)
Rili Shrimp anyone?
Rili shrimp , yes they are lovely shrimps, got 10 of those but pesticide in plant weep out 7 of them. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arrow: Apr 4 2012, 01:54 PM
arrow
post Apr 4 2012, 02:16 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 4 2012, 02:04 PM)
A famous fish shop in melaka with their arapaima gigas and Arowana.

1st time keeping them, rm10 each..
rm10 , cheaper then kl , here around rm15 each.
u not using any shrimps soil? , only saw some black shiny gravel.

arrow
post Apr 4 2012, 02:54 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 4 2012, 02:25 PM)
Yup they need it? Where can I get it?
ya, is preferable as the soil will buffer the water ph and provide some mineral for the shrimps(depend on soil type).
for shrimps soil ppl using brand GEX , Benibachi , BorneoWild , Advance Help shrimps soil & ADA soil for shrimps.
Normal gravel will do but it depend how u gonna maintain the water parameter suitable for sensitive shrimps like CRS/CBS.
U can't simply purchase those soil and put into ur current tank, some of the soil will leech ammonia which fatal to ur CRS, it
need time to mature and cycled before can be use to house CRS/Shrimps.
May i know ur current tank that house the CRS is new or cycled one?
arrow
post Apr 4 2012, 07:22 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Apr 4 2012, 04:28 PM)
confirmed plant in my tank been pesticide. my otto eat like they will get paid. i just plant in japanese hairgrass and another plant (i dont know what the name for that plant). already done three time 40% WC, still same. when i put yamato. they swimming like crazy. take out and put in another tank, they work like otto.  i dont want to throw that HG away since i bought it at rm16 for 2 pot. 

how to clean the pesticide effect?  heard that have to soak the plant in alkaline water about 2 to 48 hours.
remove the plant from the tank and use activated-carbon in the filters.
Be aware that some of the surviving shrimps may continue to die in a week or more even it seem ok now in another tank,
as happen to me last time. cry.gif

Added on April 4, 2012, 7:24 pm
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 4 2012, 04:53 PM)
yesterday went to NA to buy tubes,
saw alot of big bamboo shrimps under the cichlid tanks.
wonder how can they get their food since they are like plankton feeder am i right?

i have 13 of those shrimps , they also known as banana shrimps. u can feed them with powdered fish fry food . brine shrimp fry , shrimplets food or micro guppy food.
Very easy to take care of and peaceful as well.
They like to handout at place where there is lot of water movement/flow.

Added on April 4, 2012, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(TianYin86 @ Apr 4 2012, 03:51 PM)
KL can get cheaper la. Don get it from shops. Get it from breeder. I got it for RM4 per piece for CRS last time, i am lucky because the breeder that time need to move house. that's why need to clear out.. But recently my tank for disaster. died almost half of it.  cry.gif
can introduce the breeder to me ? laugh.gif

Added on April 4, 2012, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 4 2012, 03:00 PM)
New one.. The soil.. It's hard to find at my place..
You can get the soil online through aquashop in lelong and in this forum as well under petstore.
you mean the tank is new but it is a cycled tank rite? cos if u keep crs in an uncycled tank they will goto heaven very soon once
ammonia and nitrite start to build-up. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by arrow: Apr 4 2012, 07:36 PM
arrow
post Apr 5 2012, 04:04 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Apr 5 2012, 10:32 AM)
the only FS in midvalley.. vmad.gif
E.Aqua Midvalley, the pesticide leeched plant i also got from E.Aqua but from their Tmn Tun Hussien Onn branch.
Guess their supplier never listen to the complain.
Nowadays when i buy plant from any LFS i will put into a bucket and throw in 6 grass shrimp to test first. If got pesticide they will die in < 10min one by one or all in one shoot if very posionous.(that the main reason why i keep a bunch of grass shrimps as pet. rclxm9.gif
Those pesticide won't affect fish much but deadly to shrimps/crabs.

I remove the carbon after one week and put in a bag of 100g Seachem Purigen to remove organic pollutant and polish the water.(Really Good Stuff).
arrow
post Apr 5 2012, 05:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 5 2012, 04:37 PM)
arrow, where you get ure feeder/glass/ghost shrimps?
i easily get it at most of the LFS in cheras, like 7 out of ten will have it. IF in subang , yesterday i did ask NA but not selling ,the nearest around 10km from NA is the Qian Hu pet Family shop in taman megah that have it.
Or anyone staying in subang know any LFS in subang selling those feeder grass/glass shrimps ?
arrow
post Apr 5 2012, 06:18 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 5 2012, 05:56 PM)
cant find any in subang currently sigh..
you think AI sells them?
not very familiar with taman megah area, not very good with maps~

u mean -> Aquatics International Sdn. Bhd
260A, Jalan 1A, Kampung Baru Subang, Shah Alam, Selangor, 40150, Malaysia
Tel: 7846 3559 | Fax: 78463864

going there a pain , dirt road , full lot of pole hole. But very big , lot of stuff though , got breeding section & retails, but staff there not that friendly rolleyes.gif
call them first b4 u go , normally the fella at the counter will pass the line to the foreign workers to answer your questions, that is
how rude/lazy/arrogant those management staff are. And u are like Duck talk to chicken, they speak #%^& kind of malay. rclxub.gif
I didn't buy anything there cos they can't give the price and rudely said not fixed price yet so won't sell now and turn face around(muka masam juga) . vmad.gif , some of those fish/etc there also look not that healthy, tightly cramped.
arrow
post Apr 6 2012, 02:24 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Apr 5 2012, 09:25 PM)
Do any1 try GEX soil green pack with CRS before?mind to share the experience for keeping shrimp?I plan to invest my current tank with CRS and moss.ADA soil will keep for my planted root tank instead of moss
where you brought the GEX soil green? saw some GEX soil in NA but didn't check it out. Got the benibachi shrimp soil instead(not yet use laugh.gif ).
Came across a guy in singapore using the GEX green soil + ADA aquasoil in the tank, he updating his tank progress..maybe u can follow it.
http://www.aquaticquotient.com/forum/showt...ons-4-feet-tank

31 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0624sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:31 AM