79 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Short Review on the Exora Bold

mat79
post Feb 21 2012, 01:46 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Feb 19 2012, 08:19 AM)
im 100% city driving. Rpm around 2-3k. Haven't do my 1st service yet. So that's y a bit high fc I think.
Will report back how's the fc improve after the service.

Added on February 19, 2012, 8:26 am

Cps with turbo + cvt should be more fuel saver I think.
But my sa told me, according to the manufacture technical said, its using old campro engine addon with turbo. The cps engine cannot add turbo otherwise will crash the engine. that's what he told me la.
wow,u r driving 2-3k rpm on town :-), so fast meh. Actually, u r forcing the engine to go beyond 120kmh on town. Need to learn how to adapt cvt,then ull get better fc, eventhough it is normal to get high fc for campro based engine before 5k service.

Try to drive below 2k rpm in town coz it is enough to propel the mpv. 2k rpm is already more than 90kmh. Punch cvt has economy mode which activate when u driving engine rpm at speed below 80kmh, meaning below 2k rpm(sat mode dont have economy mode,so avoid sat). Add, turbine spooling at 2k rpm causing the af ratio change is bigger due to more air,need more fuel to burn for complete combustion.
Just depend on intake vvt when driving around town which advancing below 2k rpm, which already good enough for town driving. Remember,@1.5k rpm, cfe produce more torque than cps@4.5krpm, so,no need to worry. Only go region beyond 2k rpm when needed.

Learn to press the pedal gradually. Let the rpm rise gradually, but of course,hard to resist beyond 2k rpm when driving even in town.
ultramaman
post Feb 21 2012, 01:52 PM

168 posts

hey mat, welcome back....
cracksys
post Feb 21 2012, 01:54 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(crthompson @ Feb 19 2012, 08:55 AM)
if exora bold or prime export to england komfom p1 rivals there tulan already

lol. cherry eastar also said the same thing last time.

look at how it fare now in malaysia.

QUOTE(mat79 @ Feb 21 2012, 01:46 PM)
Try to drive below 2k rpm in town coz it is enough to propel the mpv. 2k rpm is already more than 90kmh.
<snip>
Learn to press the pedal gradually. Let the rpm rise gradually, but of course,hard to resist beyond 2k rpm when driving even in town.

lol. you're talking as if exora have only 1 gear.

This post has been edited by cracksys: Feb 21 2012, 01:57 PM
2die4
post Feb 21 2012, 02:09 PM

202 posts

what i've learned on EB was i need to controlled my right foot so that RPM not go beyond 2k RPM... it was tough job for me... hahahaha...
ultramaman
post Feb 21 2012, 02:14 PM

168 posts

usually, if and when i can manage, i'll set the autocruise on...
ben_panced
post Feb 21 2012, 02:17 PM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 21 2012, 01:54 PM)
lol. you're talking as if exora have only 1 gear.
hahahahaha laugh.gif
cvt does only have 1 gear but with unlimited ratio..
cracksys
post Feb 21 2012, 02:48 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Feb 21 2012, 02:17 PM)
hahahahaha  laugh.gif
cvt does only have 1 gear but with unlimited ratio..

which means 2k RPM isn't always equal to 90kmh, ain't it?
ultramaman
post Feb 21 2012, 02:55 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 21 2012, 02:48 PM)
which means 2k RPM isn't always equal to 90kmh, ain't it?
actually,based on my observation, the cvt gearbox adjusts its ratio based on the engine speed. so by the time ur car hit 90~ 100 km/h , ur engine speed will be in circa of 2k. Only if u switch on SAT would the box simulate the more normal behaviour of a fixed ratio gearbox.

get it ?
mat79
post Feb 21 2012, 05:23 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Feb 21 2012, 01:52 PM)
hey mat, welcome back....
tq bro,

to bro cracksys, i dont say that exora bold has 1 gear only, what i said that is the engine speed, revolution per minute.

Cvt has infinte ratio coz using belt attach to pulley,its actually not real ratio, but still call as ratio since still has min n max ratio.

It can be more than 7, but too much step not really comfy if u choose to drive it manually in town if applicable.

Application cvt n conv at is quite diff. Thats why u need to control it. While in normal at u can choose to rev lower gear with high rpm to achieve better torque, while cvt already give u optimum torque at designated rpm, regardless which ratio it used. U already get full n flat torque when u step the throttle at 2k rpm in bold cfe case, but if choose sat(simulation), the torque will rise up n down depend on rpm, so u loose power n torque everytime it slot in diff gear. Thats why understanding how cvt operated, can make u achieve better fc, n better power.

Such in flx se, max torque is around 4k rpm, so,just for overtaking purpose,speed below 140kmh, rev up to 4k rpm is enough than pedal to metal coz max torque is at 4k rpm, n u can achieve up to 140kmh at 4k rpm. Meaning that u can do almost same century sprint time rev to 4k rpm n pedal to metal. While rev 4k rpm given u better torque than pedal to metal coz it is the optimum torque to power,unless u want to speed up beyond 140kmh, pedal to metal rule is needed. Remember, torque is pulling power which u need the most for overtaking,especially during full load condition while hp more to achieving top speed.
diablos
post Feb 21 2012, 11:08 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(2die4 @ Feb 21 2012, 02:09 PM)
what i've learned on EB was i need to controlled my right foot so that RPM not go beyond 2k RPM... it was tough job for me... hahahaha...
me too..... so hard to control my right foot......
wedwed
post Feb 23 2012, 09:03 AM

rpm, cfe produce more torque than cps@4.5krpm, so,no need to worry. Only go region beyond 2k rpm when needed.

[/quote]
Yo Mat, does it mean that we should engage sat mode when we are driving above 80km/h? By the way, eb max torque arrive at what rpm? How about max hp also? It arrives at what rpm?

This post has been edited by wedwed: Feb 23 2012, 09:07 AM
ultramaman
post Feb 23 2012, 09:59 AM

168 posts

max torque is between 2k to 4k . thats why mat has been preaching about keeping your engine rev below 2k if possible.

max hp: that really important ? its an mpv, as long as i am able to cruise around 130~140, im a happy camper.
karlbum
post Feb 23 2012, 11:48 AM

352 posts

max hp is at 5k rpm if not mistaken....
2die4
post Feb 23 2012, 12:40 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Feb 23 2012, 09:59 AM)
max torque is between 2k to 4k . thats why mat has been preaching about keeping your engine rev below 2k  if possible.

max hp: that really important ? its an mpv, as long as i am able to cruise around 130~140, im a happy camper.
Yup agreed... thumbup.gif
bskhoo
post Feb 23 2012, 11:34 PM

Hi, I notice Exora Bold CVT gearbox give out a noise 'un.un..un...' when we lift our right foot from the accelerator pedal(slow down). Usually during low speed(10 ~ 30km/h).
Is this normal ?
2die4
post Feb 24 2012, 09:07 AM

202 posts

not sure... coz did not hear any sound... will test it today...
Longy
post Feb 24 2012, 09:07 AM

Is the change in Management and the uncertainties in Proton affecting its production? It is been 2 months since I have booked EBP and still waiting for delivery. The dealer is unable to give me the answer when we can expect the delivery !. Will it be too difficult for the Proton to calculate estimated time of delivery based on the productions and bookings?
2die4
post Feb 24 2012, 09:16 AM

202 posts

not sure coz i've got my EB only 2 weeks... or can considered only few working days only coz i've book on 20/01/2012... then lots of Public Holidays (Chinese New Year & Federal Territory)... Got my EB on 3rd Feb from SA (actually my car was registered on 30/01/2012)...

That was my situation...

Maybe in your case, the SA unable to get the color of your choice... Try push ur SA or just meet with the Branch Manager... it might help you...
karlbum
post Feb 24 2012, 09:32 AM

352 posts

Heard something about some vendor change.. That may be the cause
mat79
post Feb 24 2012, 10:10 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(bskhoo @ Feb 23 2012, 11:34 PM)
Hi, I notice Exora Bold CVT gearbox give out a noise 'un.un..un...' when we lift our right foot from the accelerator pedal(slow down). Usually during low speed(10 ~ 30km/h).
Is this normal ?
is it in sat mode@cvt mode? If in sat mode,its gear is shifting down during that rpm coz it is in sat n its normal, but its not supposed to be loud. In full cvt,of course cvt will have a little sound(cvt sound) due to belt, but it supposed to be unnoticable. But if its too loud,better send for checking during service(if not service yet),if already, send it for checking.

79 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:26 AM