Are property prices going to up further? V4, nothing's gonna stop us now

SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 16 2012, 09:06 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(PradaLee @ Apr 16 2012, 08:34 AM)
A bit contradictory. If the bubble already burst, why do we need more curbs? Maybe you meant the bubble has already formed, waiting to burst?
How to determine "burst"? it is very subjective too, I had said our mkt has experienced multiple "price correction" since 1997 (except 2010-2011), it just happen at different place, different mkt sector at different time. For one to wait for a real mkt collapse, IMHO it will only happen when it comes to mkt depression like wat happen in US in 1929. Are we heading to that? I dun think so. Even in 2011, I hv totally stop considering highrise as a good investment as I am quite sure the strata supply will reach the peak (over supply) by 2014, current number of strata property in KL is 303K unit, it will reach 750K-900K by 2015, which I think is too much unless we hv :-
1) Booming in city population to 2 mil (by 2015) Or
2) Booming in foreign workers (expat)like Singapore
3) Booming in Torism industry (which I think it's still possible but definitely not under the regime of BN hoodlum)

The above three are unlikely to happen

This post has been edited by UFO-ET: Apr 16 2012, 09:08 AM
kidmad
post Apr 16 2012, 01:43 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(DeepValue @ Apr 16 2012, 12:45 AM)
well, i am not an expert in property and is not in the business of investing in it to make money either.  Though i am involve in plenty of speculation nonetheless...  The first step is to identify and recognize the issue.  Here i see the main risk as twofold - political and the banking system.  Politically, BNM, although Zeti, well regarded in the region as independent, will still be subjected to the ruling party's  agenda.  Very much like China, there will be widespread unrest, if property price were to continue the appreciation trajectory of 2005-20010;  thus with the crisis in Europe and the monetary tightening measures in China, coupled with outright regulation on property, pxs came off and is in check.  The Chinese took two very important measures to stir the market lower (the measure were introduced before but the timing of the cooling actually coincides with the default of greece - The Communist party will claim full credit nonetheless), one direct regulation on property ownership and restrict lending on 2nd or 3rd property -think foreigners are shut out of local financing also.. cant be too sure of the details... Second, they turn the tap off for developers, directing the banks to NOT lend to developers.  Well, but frankly we can only control supply side and liquidity but DEMAND is stochastic.  ie, if SNP breaks 2008 high, or China A shares sky rocket 200%, be sure that DEMAND will pick up regardless.  on the flipside, if Italy or Spains next to blow up.. more measures on property may be not the right Medicine. 

For the banking system, the risk is if banks takes took large a hit on the loan portfolio which ultimately will than force BNM to bail them out.  Local banks have transform their books from predominantly corporate to household loans..  the rapid increase in household debt is unprecedented (this is consistent with many developing countries but Msia is up there on the most impressive year on year increase).  The good news is the country treasury is abundance, and if theres a need for bail out, it should still be manageable if its not widespread.  This time unlike 1997, the trigger will not be corporate debt defaulting, but household. 

If we could turn back time, with the benefit of hindsight, the following can work

A - We want inflow, and we applaud the marketing (Najib and his crew has been infront of the foreign investors since 2009 when they start communicating their willingness for a strong ringgit - which most asian countries try to stir away as a stronger local currency will hurt exports) to bring in more capital inflows .  But if this is flowing into property and unintentional consequences, than intervention is needed.  We can slap duty/ tax on purchase of sales within x amount of time.  ie if sold within 2 yrs, the stamp duty even for the seller would be x %, if 3 yrs y% etc.

B - More Regulations governing banks lending to developers or household on properties not finished yet.  Stop financing 5% down payment with 0% financing during construction period programmes. 

C - If you want to help young middle class, make it official instead of doing it at the developer level.  Create a  government body which can make up the difference for the required 30% downpayment.  Ie, the govenrnment body pays 25%, and the couple pays 5%.  For the 25%, the couple will have to pay a set interest rate determined by the government body.  Thus the bank will be safeguarded and the government takes the first 25% hit, if the property falls in value.  

These are some to share for now...  notice i said if we can turn back time.. at the moment i think more careful consideration is needed before more measures are implemented.  The bubble has already burst.  I suspect if anything, there will be more curbs post election as policymakers for sure is taking into account that the election is a 'risk point'.
Nice read, yup i do agree with your points. We seriously need more valuable comment such as this. In this case what will you predict in the near future? Let's not talk about 3 - 5 years. maybe this year and next year?

Added on April 16, 2012, 1:48 pm
QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 16 2012, 09:06 AM)
How to determine "burst"? it is very subjective too, I had said our mkt has experienced multiple "price correction" since 1997 (except 2010-2011), it just happen at different place, different mkt sector at different time. For one to wait for a real mkt collapse, IMHO it will only happen when it comes to mkt depression like wat happen in US in 1929. Are we heading to that? I dun think so. Even in 2011, I hv totally stop considering highrise as a good investment as I am quite sure the strata supply will reach the peak (over supply) by 2014, current number of strata property in KL is 303K unit, it will reach 750K-900K by 2015, which I think is too much unless we hv :-
1) Booming in city population to 2 mil (by 2015) Or
2) Booming in foreign workers (expat)like Singapore
3) Booming in Torism industry (which I think it's still possible but definitely not under the regime of BN hoodlum)

The above three are unlikely to happen
Bro but the total population in KV is > 6.5m. Considering if we are still being paid peanuts won't you think the middle class and younger generation would continue to focus on high rise condo? I think RM600k for a double storey is really out of the equation for this group of ppl.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Apr 16 2012, 01:48 PM
sampool
post Apr 16 2012, 03:09 PM

2,294 posts

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...12&sec=business
SUSNew Klang
post Apr 16 2012, 03:53 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Apr 16 2012, 03:09 PM)
Will implementation of mega projects result in tight supply and higher prices?
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...5&if_height=668
debtismoney
post Apr 16 2012, 03:54 PM

607 posts

http://usa.chinadaily.com.cn/business/2012...nt_15007548.htm

Beijing housing prices 21% down in Q1

"Prices for newly-built residential houses in Beijing averaged at 12,326 yuan ($1,948) per square meter in the first quarter, down 20.7 percent year-on-year, Shanghai Securities News reported on Monday.

As a sluggish scenario looms large in the coming months, discount sales became the first resort for developers to boost their market share. Eight out of the ten top house sellers in the first quarter slashed their prices, according to Chen.

Chen also predicted that the housing market would continue to fall lower and discount sales would also be inevitable in the months to come,

price-cuts would be the only way out for developers, who have been stuck between the pressure of capital turnover and the stubbornly high inventory of commercial houses, Chen added.
Residential housing sales dropped 14.2 percent year-on-year to 18,000 units, a record low since 2007."

Will Chinese investors keep buying property in bolehland while their housing bubble back home is bursting?

This post has been edited by debtismoney: Apr 16 2012, 04:00 PM
Vincent Pang
post Apr 16 2012, 03:55 PM

1,764 posts

well, i am not an expert in property and is not in the business of investing in it to make money either.  Though i am involve in plenty of speculation nonetheless...  The first step is to identify and recognize the issue.  Here i see the main risk as twofold - political and the banking system.  Politically, BNM, although Zeti, well regarded in the region as independent, will still be subjected to the ruling party's  agenda.  Very much like China, there will be widespread unrest, if property price were to continue the appreciation trajectory of 2005-20010;  thus with the crisis in Europe and the monetary tightening measures in China, coupled with outright regulation on property, pxs came off and is in check.  The Chinese took two very important measures to stir the market lower (the measure were introduced before but the timing of the cooling actually coincides with the default of greece - The Communist party will claim full credit nonetheless), one direct regulation on property ownership and restrict lending on 2nd or 3rd property -think foreigners are shut out of local financing also.. cant be too sure of the details... Second, they turn the tap off for developers, directing the banks to NOT lend to developers.  Well, but frankly we can only control supply side and liquidity but DEMAND is stochastic.  ie, if SNP breaks 2008 high, or China A shares sky rocket 200%, be sure that DEMAND will pick up regardless.  on the flipside, if Italy or Spains next to blow up.. more measures on property may be not the right Medicine. 

For the banking system, the risk is if banks takes took large a hit on the loan portfolio which ultimately will than force BNM to bail them out.  Local banks have transform their books from predominantly corporate to household loans..  the rapid increase in household debt is unprecedented (this is consistent with many developing countries but Msia is up there on the most impressive year on year increase).  The good news is the country treasury is abundance, and if theres a need for bail out, it should still be manageable if its not widespread.  This time unlike 1997, the trigger will not be corporate debt defaulting, but household. 

If we could turn back time, with the benefit of hindsight, the following can work

A - We want inflow, and we applaud the marketing (Najib and his crew has been infront of the foreign investors since 2009 when they start communicating their willingness for a strong ringgit - which most asian countries try to stir away as a stronger local currency will hurt exports) to bring in more capital inflows .  But if this is flowing into property and unintentional consequences, than intervention is needed.  We can slap duty/ tax on purchase of sales within x amount of time.  ie if sold within 2 yrs, the stamp duty even for the seller would be x %, if 3 yrs y% etc.

B - More Regulations governing banks lending to developers or household on properties not finished yet.  Stop financing 5% down payment with 0% financing during construction period programmes. 

C - If you want to help young middle class, make it official instead of doing it at the developer level.  Create a  government body which can make up the difference for the required 30% downpayment.  Ie, the govenrnment body pays 25%, and the couple pays 5%.  For the 25%, the couple will have to pay a set interest rate determined by the government body.  Thus the bank will be safeguarded and the government takes the first 25% hit, if the property falls in value. 

These are some to share for now...  notice i said if we can turn back time.. at the moment i think more careful consideration is needed before more measures are implemented.  The bubble has already burst.  I suspect if anything, there will be more curbs post election as policymakers for sure is taking into account that the election is a 'risk point'.
1) Why would the government get the 25% hit first? I have never seen government lending money to the rakyat in the first place. Even Bank Negara doesn't do that.

2) Then there will be a conflict of interest for the government to make sure the property will go up.

3) to be fair, the safe guard is the human spending habit. If people doesn't change the way they spend money, it doesn't matter even if it's 0% entry or 30% downpayment, they will not be able to repay at some point of time and will end up having debts/credits.

4) the problem with bank is also they should have do with net salary even without BNM telling them to do so as it is simply impossible for someone who earn RM 3k gross and have a RM 2.5k loan repayment. But bank doesn't matter, the more you owe them money, the better it is cause bank would not be making money if no one owe them money. You will then forced to lelong your house to settle your debt at higher %
izzudrecoba
post Apr 16 2012, 04:31 PM

749 posts

sampool
post Apr 16 2012, 04:34 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Apr 16 2012, 04:54 PM)
http://usa.chinadaily.com.cn/business/2012...nt_15007548.htm

Beijing housing prices 21% down in Q1

"Prices for newly-built residential houses in Beijing averaged at 12,326 yuan ($1,948) per square meter in the first quarter, down 20.7 percent year-on-year, Shanghai Securities News reported on Monday.

As a sluggish scenario looms large in the coming months, discount sales became the first resort for developers to boost their market share. Eight out of the ten top house sellers in the first quarter slashed their prices, according to Chen.

Chen also predicted that the housing market would continue to fall lower and discount sales would also be inevitable in the months to come,

price-cuts would be the only way out for developers, who have been stuck between the pressure of capital turnover and the stubbornly high inventory of commercial houses, Chen added.
Residential housing sales dropped 14.2 percent year-on-year to 18,000 units, a record low since 2007."

Will Chinese investors keep buying property in bolehland while their housing bubble back home is bursting?
Q1 haven't finished already drop 21%.... biggrin.gif

arthurlwf
post Apr 16 2012, 04:38 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Apr 16 2012, 04:34 PM)
Q1 haven't finished already drop 21%....  biggrin.gif
Is property situation in China similar to Malaysia?
Doubt so as as there are plenty of speculator that goreng KL/PG property
sampool
post Apr 16 2012, 04:47 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Apr 16 2012, 05:38 PM)
Is property situation in China similar to Malaysia?
Doubt so as as there are plenty of speculator that goreng KL/PG property
http://biz.sinchew-i.com/node/59230?tid=8

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/187904?tid=5

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/187769?tid=6

recently so many article about prop expensive.. u think Barang Naik will scare the impact... to the GE.. or they will take action on it... studay carefully... a perfect storm.

cherroy
post Apr 16 2012, 04:51 PM

25,802 posts

A) Yes, quite agree, that's why I always support RPGT. Earn profit, pay tax, reduce excessive short term speculation. Win-win-win situation, no one is hurt in RPGT.

B) Yes, 0% financing, no down payment or little down payment is always a big no.

C) I don't quite agree with gov body to interfere, it is like try to create another version of Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae?
Gov cannot take all the risk, while the buyer and banks are excluded the risk of first 25%, it may prompt irresponsibility behaviour afterwards, since the buyer and bank only bare small risk.
The one who apply the loan and the one approve the loan should be bare the risk, if not, bank do not afraid to release the loan, as long as the property price doesn't fall more than 25%.
It may prompt another version of subprime lending.
Why banks do not afraid to do subprime back then?
Because the risk of the subprime mortgage default can be transferred through securitisation of mortgages aka the one release the loan is not the one bare the risk of the loan.
It is very dangerous to have that aka "the one doing the business and gain profit out of it by giving out loan, is excluded the risk of defaulting of the loan".

Banks should not be safeguarded totally from the loan they are giving out, if not, it may drive excessive loan being given out. Banks business is simple, the more loan being given out, the more profit can be made as long as there is no default on the loan or bare the loss of loan defaulting
If there is excessive loan being given out, if there is something wrong on economy, or massive loan defaulting, there may no way of turning back, but need bail out from gov, which come from tax payer and ordinary people hard earned money only.

Yes, I applaud the effort to help the middle class affordability, but personally I don't think it is an appropriate way, it could have a backlash of another version of subprime.
We have seen how the repayment rate of PTPTN as well which give you a hint. No doubt PTPTN is beneficiary and helpful in nature.
Gov shouldn't interfere too much, unless through like Sg HDB flat concept.

Bubble has burst?
I do not think so.
Properties price is still high, and may be a bit slow, some corrected, but not seen any bursting effect at all.
ericwen
post Apr 16 2012, 04:58 PM

357 posts

I am very confused with the epf 2nd account, please help!

heard so many stories, i also don't who is right now.

1) can i withdraw all my 2nd account money? or is it dependent on the property i am buying, say 250k or 500k?

2) if i do withdraw all the money, will i get the money in my bank account? coz if i use own money 10%, very sakit. If can't get back the money, too risky?

coz rumours tell me i can't get the money directly, they said epf will pay the developer or bank

some even said i only get phase by phase? aiyoyo!

any help? Thanks.
arthurlwf
post Apr 16 2012, 04:59 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Apr 16 2012, 04:47 PM)

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/187904?tid=5

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/187769?tid=6

recently so many article about prop expensive.. u think Barang Naik will scare the impact... to the GE.. or they will take action on it... studay carefully... a perfect storm.
Do you think Barang Naik have time to implement policy to curb speculator that goreng the property price? Or implement policy on the developer side/etc.

arthurlwf
post Apr 16 2012, 05:05 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(Chung80 @ Apr 16 2012, 05:02 PM)
Is it implemented already? or still in kopitiam stage???
Chung80
post Apr 16 2012, 05:08 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Apr 16 2012, 04:58 PM)
I am very confused with the epf 2nd account, please help!

heard so many stories, i also don't who is right now.

1) can i withdraw all my 2nd account money? or is it dependent on the property i am buying, say 250k or 500k?

2) if i do withdraw all the money, will i get the money in my bank account? coz if i use own money 10%, very sakit. If can't get back the money, too risky?

coz rumours tell me i can't get the money directly, they said epf will pay the developer or bank

some even said i only get phase by phase? aiyoyo!

any help? Thanks.
1) http://www.kwsp.gov.my/index.php?ch=p2memb...rawtype&ac=1850
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/index.php?ch=p2memb...rawtype&ac=2684

2) http://www.kwsp.gov.my/index.php?ch=p2memb...rawtype&ac=2686
debtismoney
post Apr 16 2012, 05:12 PM

607 posts

See the parabolic/hockey stick chart of house price index in Selangor? Scary! I really doubtful why KL didn't have a similar curve?

My friendly advice is, do not touch anything that has a chart like this... cool2.gif pops pops

QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Apr 16 2012, 04:31 PM)
sampool
post Apr 16 2012, 05:24 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Apr 16 2012, 06:12 PM)
See the parabolic/hockey stick chart of house price index in Selangor? Scary! I really doubtful why KL didn't have a similar curve?

My friendly advice is, do not touch anything that has a chart like this...  cool2.gif  pops pops
the chart is similar like gold rally pattern... pending to crash.. now seem stagnant. biggrin.gif

kh8668
post Apr 16 2012, 05:24 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

this say different thing wor blink.gif

"產業重鎮已達飽和

當然,產業供應成長率的下跌,是意料中事,大馬產業市場重鎮,例如巴生河流域、柔佛與檳城,已經達到某種程度的飽和,供應已追上市場的需求,吉隆坡與檳城住宅產業的不足並不顯著,這是兩個幾乎已全面城市化的市場。

柔佛與雪蘭莪仍面對住宅產業不足應付需求的局面,其他州屬也存在供應不足的情況,只有森美蘭州除外,全國不足的總數接近200萬個單位,許多大馬人仍住在店屋、非法屋、長屋及非石磚房屋。"

hidzwan
post Apr 16 2012, 05:25 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Apr 16 2012, 05:12 PM)

My friendly advice is, do not touch anything that has a chart like this...  cool2.gif  pops pops
touch in a sense of what?
sampool
post Apr 16 2012, 05:27 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Apr 16 2012, 06:24 PM)
this say different thing wor  blink.gif

"產業重鎮已達飽和

當然,產業供應成長率的下跌,是意料中事,大馬產業市場重鎮,例如巴生河流域、柔佛與檳城,已經達到某種程度的飽和,供應已追上市場的需求,吉隆坡與檳城住宅產業的不足並不顯著,這是兩個幾乎已全面城市化的市場。

柔佛與雪蘭莪仍面對住宅產業不足應付需求的局面,其他州屬也存在供應不足的情況,只有森美蘭州除外,全國不足的總數接近200萬個單位,許多大馬人仍住在店屋、非法屋、長屋及非石磚房屋。"
come on... not all the contain is -ve lah.. some still +ve.. if all negative.. once really big correction will heading to burst... at least +ve news still got turning back after correction..

2 cents

124 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 >Top

0.1951sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:19 AM