125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

Qash-M
post Mar 13 2012, 06:17 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 13 2012, 05:02 PM)
Mmm, smileguy... good question... will ABN go nationwide later ? Not only do I have doubts, I am very pessimistic that ABN will go nationwide in the future so I do hope it does not close before that !

Ya loh, waited and waited for MegaTV to go nationwide, then dissapointment. Then U TV, dissapointment again when they migrated to U Mobile ! I can't be blamed for being so pessimistic!

I believe MegaTV used terrestrial over-the-air transmission using special aerial for reception. I think the transmission was in digital. Don't think its in HD at that time, as HD TV commercial channels were only launched in other countries only recently sometime on or after 2007. MegaTV was not nationwide so I was one of the millions that were shut out.

I am not a telecommunications engineer. I suspect that there maybe many limitations for terrestrial over-the-air transmission of HD channels because of more and more data which needs to be fed to a transmission line such as broadband internet with faster and faster Mbit speed required, 1080i/720p resolution video, 5.1 surround sound, 3D active shutter interlaced videos, blah, blah, blah. I shall simply call it as "huge bandwidth" which terrestrial over-the-air HD transmission may not be able to carry. This is where Fibre Optic Cable can do the job by providing the "huge bandwidth" needed and also allowing for broadband internet which requires 2-way synchronous traffic. Over-the-air transmission is one way to our TV so FULL internet access is not possible.

I remember the time in the early 1990 when ATUR 450 MHz mobile phones (Dai Kor Dai, in cantonese) were used. At that time, single RBS (Radio Base Station) tower can cover a much wider circular area but when changed to ART 900 and higher frequencies, the coverage area of each RBS have significantly been reduced. This is why we see so many of such "mini towers" in different parts of town. Ok... For HD channels, I do suspect that there may be problems building even more towers at closer distances due to shorter coverage area and more powerful transmitters required to carry the "high bandwidth" of HD channels. Please correct me if I am be wrong.

In my unqualified opinion, because of such "bandwidth" limitations and technical problems of such over-the-air HD transmission, such companies would NOT choose to build such infrastructure that are not future proof, that require too much upgrade costs. Look at what happened for older shared satellite dish installed in older condos/apartments with in-wall cabling. When a building is under construction, its easier to install in-wall cabling to support both the normal Astro and the latest Byond HD. But not so easy to upgrade or have problems after the building construction have completed.

We have seen a few failures before when a few TV networks closed before they can go nationwide. Two exceptions are TV3 and NTV7 which are now nationwide but when will they go HD with 5.1 audio plus other goodies ? RTM already tested telecast in HD for the opening and closing ceremony of the Beijing Summer Olympics 2008. My opinion...maybe wait for Wawasan 2030 or 2040 ? Or wait for 2013 to see what happens because the Malaysian Government have set that date for all analogue transmission to be changed to digital, SD and HD. This will release and free the frequency spectrum for use by 4G mobile networks. TV channels have already migrated to digital transmission only (SD and HD) in such countries as Britain, US and Hong Kong since 2008.

Ya loh, what I have mentioned above are only my "kopitiam" talk at "Coffee Bean" shop so some info may not be accurate or based on wrong facts. Just my opinion for discussion, hehe.
Probably last minute between 2013-2016. laugh.gif laugh.gif
zeone
post Mar 13 2012, 08:22 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

ABN nationwide? Dream on ... whistling.gif
TV3, ntv7 fully digital? HD? Continue dreaming... tongue.gif

Will NOT b in near future...
So dreaming is ok! rolleyes.gif

While waiting, do enjoy Astro...
Enjoy Astro? Ya lo...wat choice we got??? doh.gif
Qash-M
post Mar 13 2012, 09:58 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

5 (ch.309, ch.310, ch.393, ch.438 & ch.729) is subtitled, 10 more HD channel to be subtitled left. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Mar 13 2012, 10:00 PM
pokemon
post Mar 13 2012, 10:21 PM

2,717 posts

CM HD movies keep repeating and getting bored with it. CM SD programming is much better.
Qash-M
post Mar 13 2012, 10:23 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 13 2012, 10:21 PM)
CM HD movies keep repeating and getting bored with it.  CM SD programming is much better.
And that's why it should remain in HD basic package. tongue.gif brows.gif
skylinelover
post Mar 14 2012, 07:57 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,241 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 13 2012, 10:21 PM)
CM HD movies keep repeating and getting bored with it.  CM SD programming is much better.
haha i notice all HD channels r like that compare with SD counter parts laugh.gif doh.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Mar 14 2012, 09:09 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 14 2012, 07:57 PM)
haha i notice all HD channels r like that compare with SD counter parts laugh.gif doh.gif
Star World HD seems to follow with their SD exactly? So as HBO HD & Fox Movies Premium HD?
ainuddin
post Mar 14 2012, 09:20 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

guys, if my astro b.yond remote faulty and i want to open it myself to repair, how ah? can see no screws.
pokemon
post Mar 14 2012, 09:32 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Mar 14 2012, 09:20 PM)
guys, if my astro b.yond remote faulty and i want to open it myself to repair, how ah? can see no screws.
Bring it to Assthrow customer service office to exchange 1 to 1
jamesleetech
post Mar 14 2012, 09:39 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 14 2012, 07:57 PM)

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Mar 14 2012, 09:09 PM)
Star World HD seems to follow with their SD exactly? So as HBO HD & Fox Movies Premium HD?

Celestial HD keeps on repeating about 15 movies for two weeks now. Maybe we only get about only 15 repeat movies for each month ! I already expected the super-repeats and some "bad shows" when Astro added Celestial HD and Kix HD "free" for all HD service subscribers. Hehe... free meals comes with not so delicious food. ADDITION : Not actually free as we pay for package subscriptions ... what I mean is ... added new HD channels with no extra charge.

But NOT all HD channels are like that loh.

These are the HD channels which shows exactly the same programs as their SD counterparts...
HBO HD, Fox Movies Premium HD, AXN HD, Star World HD, Astro Supersport HD and Astro Supersport HD 2, ESPN HD

Discovery HD World, History HD do repeat shows but not so much and is better than Celestial HD. Zhi Zun HD programs are mostly different from Wah Lai Toi but Zhi Zun HD have lesser repeats with some good series such as the Glamourous Imperial Concubine (mandarin), Who's The Hero (ATV production), etc

cool.gif

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Mar 14 2012, 09:56 PM
kaspersky-fan
post Mar 14 2012, 10:14 PM

1,602 posts

If I'm not wrong, the Discovery, NGC and History HD seems to be europe's clone... slightly different content which is nice and allows variety
post Mar 14 2012, 11:22 PM

50 posts

just installed astro byond last week.now my remote control can only select channels.other buttons like home,info,tv,etc are totally not working!!anyone with the same problem?
jamesleetech
post Mar 14 2012, 11:35 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(940108 @ Mar 14 2012, 11:22 PM)
just installed astro byond last week.now my remote control can only select channels.other buttons like home,info,tv,etc are totally not working!!anyone with the same problem?

This should not happen to a new remote. My Byond remote is working properly.

You should have the installer phone number. The best way is to call the installer tomorrow to come personally to check. Under warranty so its the installer's responsibility. I suspect maybe the remote is faulty or something wrong with your Byond decoder but don't know unless the installer check it. All of us here won't know and can only guess loh. blush.gif

ADDITION
Completely switch off power to Byond. Wait about a minute, then switch on and don't touch anything... wait ... "Boot" shown on Byond unit. If update message shown and started, don't touch anything and wait until update completes. If time shown, then no update needed and maybe not old software causing your problem.

Also... maybe Byond got "jam" somewhere which cause no response from many of your remote buttons so the Byond complete restart and reboot (not standby) may be able to clear the jam, hehe. Only guessing. On the first week I got my Byond, once happened when all the channels were shown in squeezed size to about 2 inch vertically with big black areas on top and bottom. I thought my Byond set was spoilt. I tried to put it in standby many times, also changed cables, switched amplifier and TV off and on but still the same. Then I completely switched off Byond and waited about 5 minutes and switched on... screen goes back to correct size. Phew !! After that, no more problems. Mmm... maybe something got crazy and jammed inside the Byond set.

Oh, sorry if I sound stupid... check if the batteries + and - is correctly inserted in the remote. Do the remote red light flashes many times when CH + is pressed ? If flashes, should be batteries low current... anyway, your batteries should be new.

Just my stupid guesses only. And wait for installer to check.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Mar 15 2012, 12:01 AM
Qash-M
post Mar 15 2012, 02:36 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thrill_(TV_channel)

Lol on B.yond ch.728 soon... laugh.gif laugh.gif
smileguy
post Mar 15 2012, 06:43 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 15 2012, 02:36 AM)

Lol on B.yond ch.728 soon... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Possible pal, afterall its astro's channel like KIX !! yawn.gif
michaelkkl
post Mar 15 2012, 11:16 AM

362 posts

astro njoi dish compared with astro byond dish
astro njoi set-top box similar with astro byond set-top box
same as astro byond

Images were came from Invest and Travel NJOI: Free satellite TV

This post has been edited by michaelkkl: Mar 15 2012, 11:18 AM
skylinelover
post Mar 15 2012, 11:21 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,241 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 14 2012, 09:39 PM)
These are the HD channels which shows exactly the same programs as their SD counterparts...
HBO HD, Fox Movies Premium HD, AXN HD, Star World HD, Astro Supersport HD and Astro Supersport HD 2, ESPN HD

nope...these channel r way different...we dont c sportcenter in HD wey laugh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 15 2012, 11:44 AM
jamesleetech
post Mar 15 2012, 12:26 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 15 2012, 11:21 AM)
nope...these channel r way different...we dont c sportcenter in HD wey laugh.gif doh.gif

Whether you see "Astro Supersport HD and Astro Supersport HD 2, ESPN HD" is not really HD is NOT my point here.

"...these channel r way different" ? In what way ? Both Astro Supersport and Astro Supersport HD show exactly the same sports telecast so no difference for the programs shown. Is Astro Supersport HD having a higher or lower picture quality than the SD counterpart ? Is it because SD with 4:3 fullscreen looks better than HD with 16:9 widescreen ? "Way different" means a lot of difference... maybe only audio or picture quality, therefore not lots of difference. Astro Supersport SD shows better programs ? ... No, as Astro Supersport (SD) shows the same programs as the HD counterpart.

Pokemon was correct to say for Celestial HD channel... CM HD movies keep repeating and getting bored with it.  CM SD programming is much better.
But skylinelover answered... haha i notice all HD channels r like that compare with SD counter parts laugh.gif doh.gif

You, skylinelover, earlier commented that ALL HD shows are like that... which means all the HD channels follow the same way as Celestial HD with only about 15 (I think) films shown for these 2 weeks. When Pokemon mentioned that "CM SD programming is much better", it means the Celestial (SD) channel programs are better and different from Celestial HD. So when you compared all HD channels to the SD counterparts, its not correct that all SD channels shows different programs than their HD ones. This is why I mentioned that there are some HD channels that DO show exactly the same programs as the SD ones with the same repeats like a "mirror".

I don't know whether the sports HD channels are up to HD quality since I don't subscribe to Sports Package. But since Astro put them as HD channels, then I also put them as HD ones eventhough they may not be HD quality in your opinion. Of course I do respect your opinion because everyone have the right to express their own opinions based on reasonably accurate "facts and assumptions". Again... thats not my point. My point is that the some sports SD channels do show EXACTLY the same sports programs as their HD counterparts. That is, Astro Supersport HD shows the same programs as Astro Supersport (SD), loh. Note : Astro Sportcenter is the production studio in the All Asia Broadcasting Centre building complex.

Peace smile.gif

ADDITION : Oops... I may be a bit harsh here so I sincerely apologise to you (skylinelover) if I made any mistakes, misunderstood you or offended you here. I don't mean any offense to anyone here. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Mar 15 2012, 02:08 PM
jamesleetech
post Mar 15 2012, 01:42 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 15 2012, 02:36 AM)

Lol on B.yond ch.728 soon... laugh.gif  laugh.gif

I am not surprised that "Thrill" SD channel 728 will be launched soon since ASTRO Holdings Sdn. Bhd owns part of it. Its a complex group of different companies which have ownership of the many various satellite channels and services which included IPTV, Live Event production (such as live concerts), In-House Audio Dubbing production (such as dubbing to Bahasa Melayu audio for the US TV series "Terranova"), FM terrestrial radio stations, and so forth.

As I have earlier mentioned on 05-03-12 (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2114557/+820#), ASTRO Holdings Sdn. Bhd owns part of Thrill, Celestial HD and Kix channels. I repeat part of my comments below for reference...

Just the simple name of Astro means a very diverse, vast and complicated network of different services which include satellite TV channels. So how many other satelite/cable TV companies can provide serious competition ? In Malaysia, others are NOT allowed to compete with Astro so no comnpetitors, BUT I can only keep on dreaming that this happens in 2017 because competition is good for us.

Again but... Astro monopoly the satellite TV services in Malaysia because of the exclusive license from our Malaysian Government for satellite DTH transmissions until 2017 ! ABN (Asian Broadcasting Network, Malaysia) have to wait for about 5 years and cannot even touch the satellite TV services with no satellite "broadcast" license from our bad-ass 1Malaysia government!

I believe most of the other operators in our South East Asia region are localised to their own countries such as StarHub Cable TV (Singapore), mio TV (IPTV, Singapore), Indovision Pay TV (using their own IndostarII Satellite, Indonesia) but these operators cannot offer their services in Malaysia because our Malaysian government only give exclusive license to Assteruk ! Probably to protect the billions of ringgit already invested into our MEASAT satellites which include the All Asia Broadcast Centre (ABC) and Cyberjaya Broadcast Centre (CBC). Many critics may shout unfair monopoly with no competition in the satellite TV arena !

I think that few of us will read the detail background of Assteruk. You can read the details at... http://www.astro.com.my/portal/about-astro. There are also some interesting info such as the satellite orbital location and transponder frequency.

Its interesting that Astro Holdings S/B subsidiary company, Celestial Tiger Entertainment, bought the entire Shaw Brothers Film Library which is currently the world’s largest Chinese film library ! This means thousands of Shaw Production films that include from the Sixties, Seventies, etc and most were digitally remastered to high HD quality. The library includes P. Ramlee black & white films and Jins Shamsuddin (Malaysia James Bond) colour films produced by Shaw or its subsidiary, Cathay Keris. Because of the poor preservation of the original masters of P. Ramlee films (such as "Keluarga 69", "Sergeant Hassan") the quality may not be perfect. Mmm... I wonder why Celestial HD is ONLY showing repeats of less than 18 films for more than 2 weeks now !

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Mar 15 2012, 02:28 PM
Qash-M
post Mar 15 2012, 02:05 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 15 2012, 01:42 PM)
I am not surprised that "Thrill" SD channel 728 will be launched soon since ASTRO Holdings Sdn. Bhd owns part of it. Its a complex group of different companies which have ownership of the many various satellite channels and services which included IPTV, Live Event production (such as live concerts), In-House Audio Dubbing production (such as dubbing to Bahasa Melayu audio for the US TV series "Terranova"), FM terrestrial radio stations, and so forth.

As I have earlier mentioned on 05-03-12 (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2114557/+820#), ASTRO Holdings Sdn. Bhd owns part of Thrill, Celestial HD and Kix channels. I repeat part of my comments below for reference...

Just the simple name of Astro means a very diverse, vast and complicated network of different services which include satellite TV channels. So how many other satelite/cable TV companies can provide serious competition ? In Malaysia, others are NOT allowed to compete with Astro so no comnpetitors, BUT I can only keep on dreaming that this happens in 2017 because competition is good for us.

Again but... Astro monopoly the satellite TV services in Malaysia because of the exclusive license from our Malaysian Government for satellite DTH transmissions until 2017 ! ABN (Asian Broadcasting Network, Malaysia) have to wait for about 5 years and cannot even touch the satellite TV services with no satellite "broadcast" license from our bad-ass 1Malaysia government!

I believe most of the other operators in our South East Asia region are localised to their own countries such as StarHub Cable TV (Singapore), mio TV (IPTV, Singapore), Indovision Pay TV (using their own IndostarII Satellite, Indonesia) but these operators cannot offer their services in Malaysia because our Malaysian government only give exclusive license to Assteruk ! Probably to protect the billions of ringgit already invested into our MEASAT satellites which include the All Asia Broadcast Centre (ABC) and Cyberjaya Broadcast Centre (CBC). Many critics may shout unfair monopoly with no competition in the satellite TV arena !

I think that few of us will read the detail background of Assteruk. You can read the details at... http://www.astro.com.my/portal/about-astro. There are also some interesting info such as the satellite orbital location and transponder frequency.

Its interesting that Astro Holdings S/B subsidiary company, Celestial Tiger Entertainment, bought the entire Shaw Brothers Film Library which is currently the world’s largest Chinese film library ! This means thousands of shaw production films that include from the Sixties, Seventies, etc and most were digitally remastered to high HD quality. The library includes P. Ramlee black & white films and Jins Shamsuddin (Malaysia James Bond) colour films produced by Shaw or its subsidiary, Cathay Keris. Because of the poor preservation of the original masters of P. Ramlee films (such as "Keluarga 69", "Sergeant Hassan") the quality may not be perfect. Mmm... I wonder why Celestial HD is ONLY showing repeats of less than 18 films for more than 2 weeks now !
I wouldn't mind to watch it in HD, even with many repeats. The question is, when will one permenant HD channel for malay is launched? hmm.gif

125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:51 PM