125 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 08:15 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:39 PM)
who know what screw are being use on astro beyond decoder?

I am not using Byond PVR, only using Byond decoder. There are 3 crossed screws behind the Byond, one screw is holding the HDMI port.

If you have not lost ALL the 3 screws, and only lost 1... then remove one of the other 2 and find a replacement that matches this from a hardware shop.

Or, if you know an Astro installer and is able to contact him/her, maybe you can request that installer to help find the correct replacement screw.

Sorry for being not much help here. Maybe others here can offer better help.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 08:17 PM
kaspersky-fan
post Apr 17 2012, 08:16 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:39 PM)
who know what screw are being use on astro beyond decoder?
why dont u snap a photo of the screws and head down to jalan pasar to find? should be good.
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 08:21 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 17 2012, 08:16 PM)
why dont u snap a photo of the screws and head down to jalan pasar to find? should be good.

Snapping a photo is not enough because he needs to know how long is the screw and how thick is the thread lines on the screw. The best is to get the actual screw from the remaining ones and show it to the shopkeeper in Jalan Pasar. All the 3 screws behind the Byond decoder should be the same type. Hehe... he will have problem if he lost all 3 screws and have to bring the whole Byond decoder to the hardware shop to find one that fits.

ADDITION
Oops... you are right... he can always put a ruler next to the screw and snap a photo. Sorry.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 08:28 PM
KUROsaki23
post Apr 17 2012, 08:27 PM

330 posts

its strange coz in the middle got some tiny dot, i think its has to be an allen key but have to be hollow in the middle
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 08:56 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 08:27 PM)
its strange coz in the middle got some tiny dot, i think its has to be an allen key but have to be hollow in the middle

Funny, I did not find any tiny dot or small round hole at the back.

I snapped a photo of my Byond back as shown here (inside spoiler)...

I got my Byond in 2010 so your one maybe slightly different.

I hope you did not open up anything. If the "dot" is already there on the date of installation then maybe it is for technician use. I don't know the actual answer. When your Byond is working properly, it is better not to "touch" anything that you are not supposed to.

If you just want to know why the "dot" is there, then maybe you can ask your installer. I also don't know.

I am curious... so is it possible that you snap a photo of your Byond back and post it here ?

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 09:02 PM
KUROsaki23
post Apr 17 2012, 09:13 PM

330 posts

i mean this screw bro..

see that dot inside the screw?

This post has been edited by KUROsaki23: Apr 17 2012, 09:17 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 09:40 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 09:13 PM)
i mean this screw bro..

Oh I see !

My Byond have the same type of screws as yours (no pun intended).

Its actually a screw with a special head with 6 "fingers" in the shape of a flower. We need to have a special screwdriver to fit into this screw properly to open the casing. The special screwdriver have a tiny protusion in the centre to help it "grab" the screw better and prevent slipping.

Such screw heads make it more difficult for people to open the Byond casing eventhough it can be done. Nowadays, many products used special screw heads to make it difficult for anyone to open the casing.

This is what I believe so I may not be correct. I think its only important when we want to try opening the case, then damaged the screw or lost it.

I don't know what actually happened in your case. Yea... I am guessing that you have tried to unscrew, managed to do it and damaged the screw head... and cannot screw it back again ? If this is the problem... then you can just try to find a screw with a normal "cross" type head but the screw must be the same length, thickness and screw thread. I think the "tiny" hole is not important.

Yea... finding the exact screw head is difficult and you may never find it.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 09:51 PM
KUROsaki23
post Apr 17 2012, 10:04 PM

330 posts

in my case, i just wanna open the box
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 10:23 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 10:04 PM)
in my case, i just wanna open the box

Yes, understood. Hehe... I also want to know what is inside, such as what chips are used, etc. The only problem is to find the suitable screwdriver to open without damaging the screws and without showing any signs that the box have been opened ! The warranty sticker can be removed using special chemicals that can lift the sticker without damaging the sticker or glue, my installer friend told me.

The Byond box, Byond PVR box and smartcard technology is provided (and maybe manufactured) by Pace Ltd, a UK firm.

I google searched and could not find any photos of the insides of Byond box. I will continue to look for the photos.
KUROsaki23
post Apr 17 2012, 10:37 PM

330 posts

thats y i wanna open it, and share here too hehe..hope i can find the screwdriver soon huhu
chikana
post Apr 18 2012, 07:14 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 10:37 PM)
thats y i wanna open it, and share here too hehe..hope i can find the screwdriver soon huhu
The screwdriver is almost the same as allen key. You can find it at kedai hardware. Just bring your byond decoder to the shop and try a few screwdriver if you difficulties to explain it to them, like what I did : )
But remember, the warranty will void if you tamper the sticker once you open the box cover.
ronnie
post Apr 18 2012, 08:44 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 09:13 PM)
i mean this screw bro..

You need to look for Torx screwdriver to open it...
KUROsaki23
post Apr 18 2012, 10:22 AM

330 posts

ya torx that is, any special name for that type of screw?
its similar to this one

thnx ronnie

This post has been edited by KUROsaki23: Apr 18 2012, 10:23 AM
kimyee73
post Apr 18 2012, 01:38 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 18 2012, 08:44 AM)
You need to look for Torx screwdriver to open it...
This is a special version of Torx called Security Torx. Not easiliy found in hardware shop. Need to special order from internet. Normal Torx do not have the post in the middle.
KUROsaki23
post Apr 18 2012, 02:51 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:38 PM)
This is a special version of Torx called Security Torx. Not easiliy found in hardware shop. Need to special order from internet. Normal Torx do not have the post in the middle.
wah thnx for the info, now im know what to look for
Malaun
post Apr 18 2012, 02:54 PM

71 posts

1 day after changed to byond pvr, decoder sudah rosak!...does anyone have the same problem?
ronnie
post Apr 18 2012, 06:18 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Malaun @ Apr 18 2012, 02:54 PM)
1 day after changed to byond pvr, decoder sudah rosak!...does anyone have the same problem?
Just call Astro to get it replaced for free.
chikana
post Apr 18 2012, 06:51 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2012, 01:38 PM)
I found it in one of hardware shop smile.gif Attached Image
Qash-M
post Apr 18 2012, 10:05 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

TV stations to share broadcast contents of popular sporting events from May 1

TANJUNG MALIM: All free-to-air TV stations that do not have broadcasting rights for major sporting events of mass appeal, will be able to share the contents obtained by the rights holder from May 1.

Information, Communications and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said the move was to enable all sporting events that involved the interest of the country to receive wide coverage, so that all Malaysians can watch such action, instead of it being monopolised by the rights holder.

"Sports that have a mass appeal like the Olympics, badminton, football and other major sporting events would not be allowed to be monopolised by any one station but such broadcast contents must be shared," he told reporters after launching 'RTM Mobile' in conjunction with Radio dan Televisyen Malaysia's (RTM) 66th anniversary at Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris here Wednesday.

He added that if a specific sporting event was aired by a free-to-air TV station, the contents would be shared by pay TV stations.

The initiative would be carried out through the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998 and aimed to enable more Malaysians to view popular sporting activities that involved Malaysians, he said.

Rais said TV stations could choose what event they wanted to broadcast and request for such programmes accordingly from the station that held the rights.

Among the sporting events falling under the sharing programme are the Olympics, Commonwealth Games, Asian Games, Sea Games, Sukma, Thomas and Uber Cups, All England, BWF Super Series, AFC Asian Cup, Asean Football Federation Cup, Fifa World Cup (semifinals and final) and English Premier League.

The sporting events listed were chosen since they can function as a tool to enhance integration and unity in the spirit of 1Malaysia, he said.

For more information, people can surf the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission website.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...428&sec=nationv

chikana
post Apr 18 2012, 10:20 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 18 2012, 10:05 PM)
Ni menteri cakap je la, tapi action takde, macam cerita harga langganan hari tu. Kan dah dekat pilihanraya.....

125 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:16 PM