127 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

Mackiddo
post Jan 9 2012, 09:02 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 9 2012, 07:34 PM)
why engineers in this thread never talk technical stuffs as much as the
accountants/auditors?
maybe could also start low krass worker talk for low krass worker like me.
seantang
post Jan 9 2012, 09:11 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 9 2012, 08:46 PM)
Then what is your comment about him/her? better than someone with audit background?
I hired them, I trained them and one of them will succeed me one day. But as with all things in life, there are no absolutes.
totti 10
post Jan 9 2012, 09:18 PM

339 posts

you think mixing cement and piling up bricks like i do everyday
doesn't need skill and international exposure?
toughnut
post Jan 9 2012, 09:23 PM

3,239 posts

accountants/auditors?
reserved that for reports laugh.gif
totti 10
post Jan 9 2012, 09:41 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jan 9 2012, 08:47 PM)
haha... good way to start a chapter on engineering in Singapore.

I believe we have quite a number of engineers here in marine industry ..
I'm one here.. maybe we can sort of having simple intro . so to make easier reference next time for job hop of headhunt !!

so what industry u in totti ?
i'm in environmental industry
mostly our clients are marine company, jetty owners an power plant
i do very dirty work wan, everyday play with scrubber,
cleaning tanks

WyjSwmW
post Jan 9 2012, 09:51 PM

862 posts

Many ppl always says accountant are nerds.

Can't think out of the box, only know how to follow policies, always sign here, approve there... Whereas engineers and sales ppl use more of their brain and tend to be more creative.

Perhaps accountants always sits inside the office facing their PC and din keep in touch to the outside world unlike sales guys.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Jan 9 2012, 09:55 PM
ch_teo
post Jan 9 2012, 09:55 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 9 2012, 09:41 PM)
i'm in environmental industry
mostly our clients are marine company, jetty owners an power plant
i do very dirty work wan, everyday play with scrubber,
cleaning tanks
was mechanical engineer from consultant in M&E firm (plumbing, water pumpsets sizing for dam/reservoir/water treatment plant, fire protection system, acmv, lift, escalator, t&c, sat) , then oil & gas operations project engineer (setup/expand/relocate plant & the layout with autocad from 1 location to another location, machines relocation, operations process to fabricate API/premium connections, machines maintenance, casing & tubing qualification, drilling fluids, etc), then inter-dept switch to qhse project engineer (9001, APIQ1, TS29001, 14k/18k, RA, PT/MPT/UT/RT, etc).

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jan 9 2012, 09:58 PM
WyjSwmW
post Jan 9 2012, 10:05 PM

862 posts

And most of the bosses dun like accountants as they work in cost centres.

Accountants is the only profession in the world to work in cost centres compare to engineers, doctors, pilots etc unless u work in the Big4 or banking industries.
seantang
post Jan 9 2012, 10:37 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

cbb

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 9 2012, 10:51 PM
fbjkl
post Jan 9 2012, 10:53 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jan 9 2012, 09:55 PM)
was mechanical engineer from consultant in M&E firm (plumbing, water pumpsets sizing for dam/reservoir/water treatment plant, fire protection system, acmv, lift, escalator, t&c, sat) , then oil & gas operations project engineer (setup/expand/relocate plant & the layout with autocad from 1 location to another location, machines relocation, operations process to fabricate API/premium connections, machines maintenance, casing & tubing qualification, drilling fluids, etc), then inter-dept switch to qhse project engineer (9001, APIQ1, TS29001, 14k/18k, RA, PT/MPT/UT/RT, etc).
im involving in the designs of MRT stations and bored tunnels. 3 years of working experiences smile.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 9 2012, 10:54 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

accountants/auditors?
My thoughts exactly.

Anyone, I've got a chemical engineering fresh grad schoolmate (Monash Australia) trying to apply for job in singapore. Any good places to recommend?
fbjkl
post Jan 9 2012, 10:56 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 9 2012, 09:02 PM)
maybe could also start low krass worker talk for low krass worker like me.
u r one of the taikor in this LYN forum, henceforth, u r in high krass category. notworthy.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 9 2012, 09:18 PM)
you think mixing cement and piling up bricks like i do everyday
doesn't need skill and international exposure?
u need to master the art of taichi like me too. icon_rolleyes.gif

there's one useful quote by Harry Truman: if you cannot convince them, confuse them. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by fbjkl: Jan 9 2012, 10:58 PM
Mackiddo
post Jan 9 2012, 11:52 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 9 2012, 10:54 PM)
My thoughts exactly.

Anyone, I've got a chemical engineering fresh grad schoolmate (Monash Australia) trying to apply for job in singapore. Any good places to recommend?
first class honors ? ---> OnG companies
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 9 2012, 11:54 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 9 2012, 11:52 PM)
first class honors ? ---> OnG companies
Not first class woh. 2nd class upper with Hons nia. >< Ideally is oil & gas, but assuming that doesn't work out, what's the next best alternative? (considering the singapore environment)
ivanswk
post Jan 10 2012, 12:10 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 9 2012, 11:54 PM)
Not first class woh. 2nd class upper with Hons nia. >< Ideally is oil & gas, but assuming that doesn't work out, what's the next best alternative? (considering the singapore environment)
http://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/866-re...-engineers.html
unsure.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 10 2012, 12:45 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jan 9 2012, 10:05 PM)
And most of the bosses dun like accountants as they work in cost centres.

Accountants is the only profession in the world to work in cost centres compare to engineers, doctors, pilots etc unless u work in the Big4 or banking industries.
Seantang will not agree with you bro. My Spv can trace what errors are, and can save money millions from the carelessness of the other depts people in the coy. Ex: Transfer pricing, Hedging, Cost saving, Verification of raw material pricing, verification of PO. If he didn't trace all the mistakes, the coy will lose millions of dollar.
streetglow
post Jan 10 2012, 12:57 AM

i wish i could
652 posts

how fresh grad in malaysia can get into work in sg?
i'm fresh grad with advanced dip in accounting
partially acca

will be getting my degree soon

with my degree how to enter work in sg
i mean where to find work since i;m a malaysia
and how much the starting pay with a degree
icon_question.gif
sapapa
post Jan 10 2012, 01:39 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(streetglow @ Jan 10 2012, 12:57 AM)
how fresh grad in malaysia can get into work in sg?
i'm fresh grad with advanced dip in accounting
partially acca

will be getting my degree soon

with my degree how to enter work in sg
i mean where to find work since i;m a malaysia
and how much the starting pay with a degree
icon_question.gif
google is your friend
keelim
post Jan 10 2012, 07:18 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jan 9 2012, 12:29 AM)
Ah thanks. I am hoping the causeway is free from congestion in the wee hours.
WyjSwmW
post Jan 10 2012, 08:14 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 10 2012, 12:45 AM)
Seantang will not agree with you bro. My Spv can trace what errors are, and can save money millions from the carelessness of the other depts people in the coy. Ex: Transfer pricing, Hedging, Cost saving, Verification of raw material pricing, verification of PO. If he didn't trace all the mistakes, the coy will lose millions of dollar.
How does verification of PO save money?
And verification of raw mat price is done by the purchasing dept.
Ok, I agree with u on transfer pricing, hedging, nego with bankers to reduce term loans rates, perhaps u do ur own tax comp to even help the company to save tax agent fees etc... But all these are not enough to be reflected in ur PL for the bosses to appreciate.

Unless u show them 2 PL side by side 1 without savings and 1 with savings, but in practice which dump do that?

Compare to engineers for instance, if there's a technology breakthrough this month that increase ur top and btm line vs last mth actual....then it is a different story altogether esp to top management that only see the actual figures.

127 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:23 AM