QUOTE(iPlay @ Feb 2 2007, 12:04 AM)
hi, anyone got idea what is the importance of having MKA Cert for dogs?
My friend want to sell me his shih tzu but no cert, so i'm like wondering
whether to buy from him or not!
If a dog without cert, how to apply for a cert & how much does it cost usually? ty!
Even if the parents have MKA, it is too late to apply for MKA for the pups. Your friend need to register for MKA when the parents of the pups mate, register again when the pups are born out, and register again later with all the details of the pup. Then, MKA will provide the microchip and next, you will wait for few months to obtain the MKA cert from MKA. If your friend did not register for MKA when the parents mate, then it is not possible for the pups to get MKA.
QUOTE(iPlay @ Feb 2 2007, 12:04 AM)
hi, anyone got idea what is the importance of having MKA Cert for dogs?
My friend want to sell me his shih tzu but no cert, so i'm like wondering
whether to buy from him or not!
If a dog without cert, how to apply for a cert & how much does it cost usually? ty!
If he's charging you RM 600 or below, then it's an okay price to get the pup but of course, the pup comes without MKA and microchip.
QUOTE(iPlay @ Feb 2 2007, 01:30 AM)
Both the parents got MKA Cert but dint register for wedding! thats wad my friend told me!
it's correct. There's alot of registration need to be done to get the pups to have the MKA. So maybe your friend didnt plan to mate his dogs (accident) or maybe he doesnt want to cause so much trouble in order to get the MKA for the pups, so he didnt register..
QUOTE(iPlay @ Feb 2 2007, 01:56 AM)
few more questions!
1) What is MKA in full?
2) What is microchip?
3) Male or female better?
4) What is the price range for shih tzu now?(purebreed)

1) MKA is Malaysia Kennel Association
2) MIcrochip contains a long serial number. THe mirochip is implanted in the neck or back of the pup. Why we need to implant a microchip into a pup? This is for us to identify our pup. FOr example, if we suspect our neighbor steal our pup, then we can take the pup for scanning and identify the pup.
3) Most people prefer male as they think female is too troublesome (with their period that occurs half a year once). Male pup is fun to have but he may grow up with rebellious attitude. For instance, when he sees a female dog, he will urine at places to mark territory. HE will do the same thing if he sees a male dog. For female dog, she's more obedient and clean. Though she may have her period one year twice, you can solve the problem by getting her a sanitary pants for dogs. Problem solved then.
4) Purebreed shih tzu with MKA is selling about RM 750-RM 1000. Depends on who is selling and what quality you want in the pup. WIthout MKA is only RM 600 or below.
QUOTE(iPlay @ Feb 3 2007, 11:45 AM)
if dun have MKA how much price range? if dun have mka can go make microchip?
RM 600 or below. I'm not quite sure about this. But i heard that only MKA dogs come with microchip. So i dont think your friend's pups can go for microchip.