Thinking of getting Ford Focus TDCi 2.0L, need urgent replies

ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 02:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 25 2011, 02:13 PM)
lol...u are comparing directly between a 1.5L and 2.0L car and yet they fair about the same...and rmb tat focus is heavier than vios/city and can deliver higher torque at little effort compare to vios/city...
focus got high torque but heavier mah .. at the end of day you got 320NM at low rpm but when you go point A to point B like 0-100 do you get 7-8seconds acceleration like those 3L petrol cars with 300NM?? or still back to around 10seconds? like a normal 2L petrol car?
rcracer
post Oct 25 2011, 02:33 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:29 AM)
focus got high torque but heavier mah .. at the end of day you got 320NM at low rpm but when you go point A to point B like 0-100 do you get 7-8seconds acceleration like those 3L petrol cars with 300NM?? or still back to around 10seconds? like a normal 2L petrol car?
doesn't matter both doesn't have space to do it in the city, otherwise buy a race car and take it to the track

low down torque is excellent for city driving and high speed overtaking, not getting from 0-100
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 02:34 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:00 PM)
The 2003 Toyota Vios 1.5L (1st generation), can give you about 15km/L for 100% highway driving at about 120kmph. But i would expect it to consume more on highways since the RPM at 120kmph is 3,000. 100% city driving can give you 13km/L.
Yours is only a 1.5litre engine and not even weights 1 ton.. My focus is 2000cc and weights 1440kg, see the big difference? Way more powerful, way more spacious, way more stability sweat.gif... I have owned & driven a city vtec for almost 7 years so I know how it is like to drive one icon_idea.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:29 PM)
To be honest, diesel is not about 0-100, it's more about pickup.. U must test drive once to know the difference, just very effortless going uphill or even uphill overtaking smile.gif

This post has been edited by Bliz: Oct 25 2011, 03:09 PM
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 02:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Oct 25 2011, 02:33 PM)
doesn't matter both doesn't have space to do it in the city, otherwise buy a race car and take it to the track

low down torque is excellent for city driving and high speed overtaking, not getting from 0-100
ah that's why you need a CVT lor.. cos gearbox is torque converter and engine is power plant..
with CVT, it dun matter if you got 300NM or 200NM, as long as your power cukup, you can drive low speeds just as well as higher torque discrete gearbox vehicles (meaning a number of fixed ratio gearbox like normal AT or Manual) ..

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 02:34 PM)
Yours is only a vios with 1.5litre engine and not even weights 1 tonne.. My focus is 2000cc and weights 1440kg, see the big difference?  doh.gif Way more powerful, way more spacious, way more stability  sweat.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:35 pm
To be honest, diesel is not about 0-100, it's more about pickup.. U must test drive once to know the difference, just very effortless going uphill or even uphill overtaking  smile.gif
u assume ppl never drive turbo diesel meh?
like wise I could say you should drive well balanced 50:50, RWD cars if you really like driving.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 25 2011, 02:39 PM
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 02:41 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:36 PM)
ah that's why you need a CVT lor.. cos gearbox is torque converter and engine is power plant..
with CVT, it dun matter if you got 300NM or 200NM, as long as your power cukup, you can drive low speeds just as well as higher torque discrete gearbox vehicles (meaning a number of fixed ratio gearbox like normal AT or Manual) ..
To be honest with u, i hate driving cvt gearbox car(no offense, my ex car also CVT gearbox), the sound of engine screaming at 6000rpm when i floor it is just annoying(speed increasing but engine speed stays the same).. Don't get me wrong CVT is excellent for smooth driving but for spirited driving it's just not gonna make it, driven an Audi A4 1.8T B7 with cvt gearbox the other day, has the same feeling as well sweat.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:36 PM)

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:39 pm
u assume ppl never drive turbo diesel meh?
like wise I could say you should drive well balanced 50:50,  RWD cars if you really like driving..  brows.gif
Yes i assume u never drive before cos seeing that u so anti diesel tongue.gif , just joking... turbo diesel cars are not that popular here hence i assume most people never drive one before biggrin.gif... I cannot afford 50:50, RWD car yet maybe u would like to let me have a ride in your car? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Bliz: Oct 25 2011, 02:43 PM
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 02:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 02:41 PM)
To be honest with u, i hate driving cvt gearbox car(no offense, my ex car also CVT gearbox), the sound of engine screaming at 6000rpm when i floor it is just annoying(speed increasing but engine speed stays the same).. Don't get me wrong CVT is excellent for smooth driving but for spirited driving it's just not gonna make it, driven an Audi A4 1.8T B7 with cvt gearbox the other day, has the same feeling as well  sweat.gif
yes I also driven the B7 CVT really weird rubberband feeling during traffic light launch, but the teana's xtronic doesn't behave that way.. it pulls linearly engine RPM to vehicle speed during low speed launches.. minimized rubberband effect.
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 02:45 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:43 PM)
yes I also driven the B7 CVT really weird rubberband feeling during traffic light launch, but the teana's xtronic doesn't behave that way.. it pulls linearly engine RPM  to vehicle speed during low speed launches.. minimized rubberband effect.
I guess i should test drive the teana one day, the Audi one really rubberband effect, so hard to drive smoothly at stop and go traffic but once it gets up to speed it's fine and comfortable brows.gif
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 02:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 02:41 PM)
Yes i assume u never drive before cos seeing that u so anti diesel  tongue.gif , just joking... turbo diesel cars are not that popular here hence i assume most people never drive one before  biggrin.gif... I cannot afford 50:50, RWD car yet maybe u would like to let me have a ride in your car?  brows.gif
no anti diesel la.. during late 90s era already driving turbodiesel Vectra across UK..
but for those pickup truck with high torque, carrying heavy body then high torque also not so shiok lor..

ok maybe this TDCI is pretty good, will make it a point to try it soon , acterly I want to try the latest 320d with upgraded 400NM torque. biggrin.gif drool.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 02:45 PM)
I guess i should test drive the teana one day, the Audi one really rubberband effect, so hard to drive smoothly at stop and go traffic but once it gets up to speed it's fine and comfortable  brows.gif
yeah weird rubberband.. was afraid ppl honk kau me for taking sweet time to move at traffic light.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 25 2011, 02:47 PM
acbc
post Oct 25 2011, 02:47 PM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:29 PM)
Diesel is all about long distance commute. U dare to cover 1000km on a Vios? How many times u need to refuel and stop? Focus TDCi has been proven to cover min 1000km on a full tank. I cover 2500km per month on my Triton and diesel fuel every month is RM 400. Remember, I need to haul 400kg of machinery and tools on my heavy truck (1750kg). I only need to refuel every Sunday.

This post has been edited by acbc: Oct 25 2011, 02:49 PM
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 02:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Oct 25 2011, 02:47 PM)
Diesel is all about long distance commute. U dare to cover 1000km on a Vios? How many times u need to refuel and stop? Focus TDCi has been proven to cover min 1000km on a full tank. I cover 2500km per month on my Triton and diesel duel every month is RM 400. Remember, I need to haul 400kg of machinery and tools on my heavy truck (1750kg). I only need to refuel every Sunday.
it;s ok I leave the long distance 1000km commute to you.. biggrin.gif fuel saving vehicle, no arguments there..

TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 02:53 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:46 PM)
no anti diesel la.. during late 90s era already driving turbodiesel Vectra across UK..
but for those pickup truck with high torque, carrying heavy body then high torque also not so shiok lor..

ok maybe this TDCI is pretty good, will make it a point to try it soon , acterly I want to try the latest 320d with upgraded 400NM torque. biggrin.gif  drool.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:47 pm
yeah weird rubberband.. was afraid ppl honk kau me for taking sweet time to move at traffic light..  tongue.gif
if u plan to test drive tdci try to ask the SA or manager if there is any price slash/increase in 2012 for 2011 tdci sports model...i'm hoping they will do the same like they did for 2010 models since it isn't a popular car over here...duno why people's mindset here cannot change..demand for this car in SG is quite good...
cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 02:59 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 25 2011, 02:13 PM)
lol...u are comparing directly between a 1.5L and 2.0L car and yet they fair about the same...and rmb tat focus is heavier than vios/city and can deliver higher torque at little effort compare to vios/city...
You mentioned in your earlier post that your Focus TDCI gives superb FC even compared to lower end models. Thus i provided figures for the 2003 Vios which show better FC if not similar. So your Focus got better FC based on the City VTEC only. Hence my point.

On highway drives, the weight of the car is somewhat neutralised by the much higher torque and lower RPM on maximum gear. In city drives, yes the higher cc cars are expected to consume more due to the extra weight.

Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 03:02 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:59 PM)
You mentioned in your earlier post that your Focus TDCI gives superb FC even compared to lower end models. Thus i provided figures for the 2003 Vios which show better FC if not similar. So your Focus got better FC based on the City VTEC only. Hence my point.

On highway drives, the weight of the car is somewhat neutralised by the much higher torque and lower RPM on maximum gear. In city drives, yes the higher cc cars are expected to consume more due to the extra weight.
City vtec and vios got pretty much the same FC ( previous generation, based on feedback from forumers ).. Do not compare to mine as i am a really heavy footer, if i can drive a more powerful car with better fc than a least powerful car I believe others should easily achieve that laugh.gif
cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 03:03 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 02:34 PM)
Yours is only a 1.5litre engine and not even weights 1 ton.. My focus is 2000cc and weights 1440kg, see the big difference? Way more powerful, way more spacious, way more stability  sweat.gif... I have owned a driven a city vtec for almost 7 years so I know how it is like to drive one  icon_idea.gif
We're only comparing fuel consumption (in reference to your point No 3 in your earlier post). Its pointless talking about spaciousness and stability. If a 940kg Vios is more stable than a 1440kg Focus then something is wrong somewhere. So its pointless mentioning the obvious rite?
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 03:03 PM)
We're only comparing fuel consumption (in reference to your point No 3 in your earlier post). Its pointless talking about spaciousness and stability. If a 940kg Vios is more stable than a 1440kg Focus then something is wrong somewhere. So its pointless mentioning the obvious rite?
Fuel consumption but then u are comparing a 2000cc car with a 1500cc car, and the bigger cc car is 400kg more than the smaller cc car, see the effect on fuel consumption? If the focus weights 400kgs less would u imagine the FC? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Bliz: Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM
cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 03:02 PM)
City vtec and vios got pretty much the same FC ( previous generation, based on feedback from forumers ).. Do not compare to mine as i am a really heavy footer, if i can drive a more powerful car with better fc than a least powerful car I believe others should easily achieve that  laugh.gif
Aiya now u say ure heavy footer. notworthy.gif

Anyway heavy footer on highway drives doesnt really affect much as compared to being a heavy footer in town driving.
cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 03:07 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM)
Fuel consumption but then u are comparing a 2000cc car with a 1500cc car, and the bigger cc car is 400kg more than the smaller cc car, see the effect on fuel consumption? If the focus weights 400kgs less would u imagine the FC?  smile.gif
If the Focus weighs 400kgs less, it wont have a 2L engine mind you. icon_idea.gif

Also, on 100% highway drives, higher cc cars should actually consume less fuel than a lower cc car. Of course dont compare with a Viva or something like that la.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 25 2011, 03:09 PM
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 03:08 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM)
Aiya now u say ure heavy footer.  notworthy.gif

Anyway heavy footer on highway drives doesnt really affect much as compared to being a heavy footer in town driving.
Constant acceleration and deceleration at highway speed will affect the FC a lot as well but not as much as city driving lah wink.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 03:07 PM)
If the Focus weighs 400kgs less, it wont have a 2L engine mind you.  icon_idea.gif
Yes, your point is true as well icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Bliz: Oct 25 2011, 03:08 PM
cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 03:16 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 03:08 PM)
Constant acceleration and deceleration at highway speed will affect the FC a lot as well but not as much as city driving lah  wink.gif
hence why i said it wont affect as much as city driving.

But thats where the extra torque comes in. Having a high horsepower alone doesnt help much if your torque is low. In the Focus, the higher HP and torque in the 2L engine helps offset the effects of the extra 500kg in weight.

But also remember, for cars the highest fuel consumption happens during acceleration from a dead stop. On highway drives, you usually slow down to about 60-70kmph (behind heavy vehicles) and then accelerate back up again to 120kmph above. Your higher torque will ensure you reach your intended speed faster than a 1.5L Vios for sure as at 70kmph, the Vios is already at 80% of its available torque.

Which is why, the Vios has excellent 0-100kmph acceleration rate (considering the 1.5L engine) but poor on mid range acceleration.

Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 03:18 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 03:16 PM)
hence why i said it wont affect as much as city driving.

But thats where the extra torque comes in. Having a high horsepower alone doesnt help much if your torque is low. In the Focus, the higher HP and torque in the 2L engine helps offset the effects of the extra 500kg in weight.

But also remember, for cars the highest fuel consumption happens during acceleration from a dead stop. On highway drives, you usually slow down to about 60-70kmph (behind heavy vehicles) and then accelerate back up again to 120kmph above. Your higher torque will ensure you reach your intended speed faster than a 1.5L Vios for sure as at 70kmph, the Vios is already at 80% of its available torque.

Which is why, the Vios has excellent 0-100kmph acceleration rate (considering the 1.5L engine) but poor on mid range acceleration.
Smaller cc car usually weights less, hence the less effort to get it moving but once it's on the move, hp and torque counts and that's when bigger CC car can smoke us sweat.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:48 AM