Thinking of getting Ford Focus TDCi 2.0L, need urgent replies

TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:05 PM, updated 15y ago

346 posts

hey guys,

i want unbiased opinion on Ford Focus Tdci 2.0L...lets just keep the discussion centered on this car although i know u guys will have other suggestions...

1. what do u think of this car?is it worth buying?
2. will it be able to sell off in the future since it is a diesel engine?
3. how is the fuel consumption rating?is it better than most of the currently available 1.8L and 2.0L cars in the market?
4. will it be good for daily city driving and as family car?

appreciate your prompt replies...need to decide in 1/2 days time

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 24 2011, 10:13 PM
ar188
post Oct 24 2011, 10:10 PM

9,206 posts

many here recommend to buy.. though i dunno if they owned this TCDI or not..
Sh@rty 5
post Oct 24 2011, 10:12 PM

104 posts

did one today for coil mat

spoken to owner

if u wan comfort, it seems its a very good car , as claim by owner

fuel consumption is 0.9 per km ( according to him )

but one thing weird, to open the front hood sweat.gif

TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:16 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:10 PM)
many here recommend to buy..  though i dunno if they owned this TCDI or not..
how bout u?what are your thoughts?

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:12 PM)
did one today for coil mat

spoken to owner

if u wan comfort, it seems its a very good car , as claim by owner

fuel consumption is 0.9 per km ( according to him )

but one thing weird, to open the front hood sweat.gif

what's weird bout opening front hood?
Jim.tan
post Oct 24 2011, 10:17 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 24 2011, 10:05 PM)
hey guys,

i want unbiased opinion on Ford Focus Tdci 2.0L...lets just keep the discussion centered on this car although i know u guys will have other suggestions...

1. what do u think of this car?is it worth buying?
2. will it be able to sell off in the future since it is a diesel engine?
3. how is the fuel consumption rating?is it better than most of the currently available 1.8L and 2.0L cars in the market?
4. will it be good for daily city driving and as family car?

appreciate your prompt replies...need to decide in 1/2 days time
Test drive this car and Mazda 3.. Handling wise both bout the same.. Focus more power, and comfortable.. But Design not my type>.> i prefer M3 Design wink.gif

Anyway back to your question.

1. All car is worth it, as long as you like them smile.gif
2. Sorry>.> don't know bout the future.. but resale for Ford is not that strong in Msia.
3. Diesel - definitely save more money
4. Daily City drive is more the enough wink.gif Family Car.. not the best but acceptable.

Hope it help
Sh@rty 5
post Oct 24 2011, 10:17 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 24 2011, 10:16 PM)
what's weird bout opening front hood?
blush.gif hard to explain here

but if u reli interested why not go check out the actual car
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:22 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:17 PM)
blush.gif hard to explain here

but if u reli interested why not go check out the actual car
have alrdy test drove the focus tdci sports yesterday...it is like an all-round car lo...handling and power definitely beat those 2.0L petrol cars flat...interior and safety wise on par with what other 2.0L cars offer...NVH is surprisingly GOOD despite it's a diesel engine lol..

anyway try to explain lo...i dun mind u write a long story here...i need serious and helpful comments

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 24 2011, 10:23 PM
ar188
post Oct 24 2011, 10:26 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 24 2011, 10:16 PM)
ford, dowan to touch (in ownership sense).. let alone "turbo" and "diesel" laugh.gif

if someone else buy, then i dun mind driving..

TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:32 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:26 PM)
ford, dowan to touch (in ownership sense).. let alone "turbo" and "diesel"  laugh.gif

if someone else buy, then i dun mind driving..
do u mind to elaborate more?u hv any experience with ford cars before?
squareballs
post Oct 24 2011, 10:33 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:10 PM)
many here recommend to buy..  though i dunno if they owned this TCDI or not..
+1.. Just like Forte vs inspira.. I wonder how many are the real owners haha!
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:39 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 24 2011, 10:33 PM)
+1.. Just like Forte vs inspira.. I wonder how many are the real owners haha!
haha...true...i dun see many units on the road duh...but many units in sg
ar188
post Oct 24 2011, 10:57 PM

9,206 posts

how much for the car? around 130k or got some heavy promo price now?
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 11:01 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:57 PM)
how much for the car? around 130k or got some heavy promo price now?
2010 sedan 10k discount...2011 sports 7k discount...2010 sports no more stock...not sure correct or not but heard buy in 2012 can get 20k discount for 2011 sports...
squareballs
post Oct 24 2011, 11:01 PM

4,331 posts

So far what i get is 11k discount.. Some outlet even say no discount.

Penang Bukit Jambul SA tell me 5k discount.. Butterworth SA tell me 11k discount..

So it's just up to u to push the SA further..
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 11:05 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 24 2011, 11:01 PM)
So far what i get is 11k discount.. Some outlet even say no discount.

Penang Bukit Jambul SA tell me 5k discount.. Butterworth SA tell me 11k discount..

So it's just up to u to push the SA further..
the 11k discount is for sports or sedan?which model year?
scorgio
post Oct 24 2011, 11:29 PM

4,694 posts

For diesel engine, the most expensive parts to replace are the injectors & diesel pump.

But even if it fails, it'd already be like 200k km or above.

gahpadu
post Oct 24 2011, 11:48 PM

1,438 posts

been driven a tdci for nearly 3 months and a bit frustrated for a few weeks of bought it. The suspension a bit stiff even with 55 series tires just like my previous GT4 with 45 series tires . Sound of diesel engine really annoying me especially at the traffic light. Stock sound system also not to my liking.

But know it turn up side down , I really love my TDCi , even my wife said she more prefer sat in TDCi compare to mazda 3.
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 12:06 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Oct 24 2011, 11:48 PM)
been driven a tdci for nearly 3 months and a bit frustrated for a few weeks of bought it.  The suspension a bit stiff even with 55 series tires just like my previous GT4 with 45 series tires . Sound of diesel engine really annoying me especially at the traffic light. Stock sound system also not to my liking.

But know it turn up side down , I really love my TDCi , even my wife said she more prefer sat in TDCi compare to mazda 3.
1. no doubt suspension abit stiff but still soak up small holes/bumps pretty well
2. of coz comfort level is inferior compare to altis la but then again it performs very well in handling and corner taking compare to altis
3. u hv to know it's diesel engine not petrol...dun expect it sound quiet like petrol lol...but in the car NVH level is pretty good man...it's quiet from inside the car when idling..like normal car..but the clacking sound will somewhat disappear after some time traveling on the road
4. oh well i'm not a fan of super bass or crisp sound system tongue.gif

so now i want to ask u...what is the reason u love this car very much? biggrin.gif share ur experience lo
gahpadu
post Oct 25 2011, 12:20 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 25 2011, 12:06 AM)
1. no doubt suspension abit stiff but still soak up small holes/bumps pretty well
2. of coz comfort level is inferior compare to altis la but then again it performs very well in handling and corner taking compare to altis
3. u hv to know it's diesel engine not petrol...dun expect it sound quiet like petrol lol...but in the car NVH level is pretty good man...it's quiet from inside the car when idling..like normal car..but the clacking sound will somewhat disappear after some time traveling on the road
4. oh well i'm not a fan of super bass or crisp sound system  tongue.gif

so now i want to ask u...what is the reason u love this car very much?  biggrin.gif  share ur experience lo
what I like... solid build up , good handling at the corner and higher speed , lastly.. the great amount of torque that push me the seat every time i step in the gas.

TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 12:40 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Oct 25 2011, 12:20 AM)
what I like... solid build up  , good handling at the corner and higher speed , lastly.. the great amount of torque that push me the seat every time i step in the gas.
yup...the car feels like a raging bull lol...very ruggard and the torque is DAMN!during the test drive i can't contain the urge to push the car to the max but got other passenger safety 1st sad.gif but i did try to accelerate for half a km speedometer can easily reach 140 km/h lol...now got addicted to the torque liao lol...can't wait for another test drive if i really plan to buy biggrin.gif

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:56 PM