Thinking of getting Ford Focus TDCi 2.0L, need urgent replies

TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:05 PM, updated 15y ago

346 posts

hey guys,

i want unbiased opinion on Ford Focus Tdci 2.0L...lets just keep the discussion centered on this car although i know u guys will have other suggestions...

1. what do u think of this car?is it worth buying?
2. will it be able to sell off in the future since it is a diesel engine?
3. how is the fuel consumption rating?is it better than most of the currently available 1.8L and 2.0L cars in the market?
4. will it be good for daily city driving and as family car?

appreciate your prompt replies...need to decide in 1/2 days time

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 24 2011, 10:13 PM
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:16 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:10 PM)
many here recommend to buy..  though i dunno if they owned this TCDI or not..
how bout u?what are your thoughts?

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:12 PM)
did one today for coil mat

spoken to owner

if u wan comfort, it seems its a very good car , as claim by owner

fuel consumption is 0.9 per km ( according to him )

but one thing weird, to open the front hood sweat.gif

what's weird bout opening front hood?
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:22 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:17 PM)
blush.gif hard to explain here

but if u reli interested why not go check out the actual car
have alrdy test drove the focus tdci sports yesterday...it is like an all-round car lo...handling and power definitely beat those 2.0L petrol cars flat...interior and safety wise on par with what other 2.0L cars offer...NVH is surprisingly GOOD despite it's a diesel engine lol..

anyway try to explain lo...i dun mind u write a long story here...i need serious and helpful comments

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 24 2011, 10:23 PM
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:32 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:26 PM)
ford, dowan to touch (in ownership sense).. let alone "turbo" and "diesel"  laugh.gif

if someone else buy, then i dun mind driving..
do u mind to elaborate more?u hv any experience with ford cars before?
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 10:39 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 24 2011, 10:33 PM)
+1.. Just like Forte vs inspira.. I wonder how many are the real owners haha!
haha...true...i dun see many units on the road duh...but many units in sg
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 11:01 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2011, 10:57 PM)
how much for the car? around 130k or got some heavy promo price now?
2010 sedan 10k discount...2011 sports 7k discount...2010 sports no more stock...not sure correct or not but heard buy in 2012 can get 20k discount for 2011 sports...
TSyamasce
post Oct 24 2011, 11:05 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 24 2011, 11:01 PM)
So far what i get is 11k discount.. Some outlet even say no discount.

Penang Bukit Jambul SA tell me 5k discount.. Butterworth SA tell me 11k discount..

So it's just up to u to push the SA further..
the 11k discount is for sports or sedan?which model year?
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 12:06 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Oct 24 2011, 11:48 PM)
been driven a tdci for nearly 3 months and a bit frustrated for a few weeks of bought it.  The suspension a bit stiff even with 55 series tires just like my previous GT4 with 45 series tires . Sound of diesel engine really annoying me especially at the traffic light. Stock sound system also not to my liking.

But know it turn up side down , I really love my TDCi , even my wife said she more prefer sat in TDCi compare to mazda 3.
1. no doubt suspension abit stiff but still soak up small holes/bumps pretty well
2. of coz comfort level is inferior compare to altis la but then again it performs very well in handling and corner taking compare to altis
3. u hv to know it's diesel engine not petrol...dun expect it sound quiet like petrol lol...but in the car NVH level is pretty good man...it's quiet from inside the car when idling..like normal car..but the clacking sound will somewhat disappear after some time traveling on the road
4. oh well i'm not a fan of super bass or crisp sound system tongue.gif

so now i want to ask u...what is the reason u love this car very much? biggrin.gif share ur experience lo
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 12:40 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Oct 25 2011, 12:20 AM)
what I like... solid build up  , good handling at the corner and higher speed , lastly.. the great amount of torque that push me the seat every time i step in the gas.
yup...the car feels like a raging bull lol...very ruggard and the torque is DAMN!during the test drive i can't contain the urge to push the car to the max but got other passenger safety 1st sad.gif but i did try to accelerate for half a km speedometer can easily reach 140 km/h lol...now got addicted to the torque liao lol...can't wait for another test drive if i really plan to buy biggrin.gif
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 09:41 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:02 AM)
But i would also like to know from TS, why he chose the Focus TDCI in the first place? What criteria were you looking for and what supported this make in your mind?

I would think that for that price range (and if ure not prepared to fork out more), i would say the Altis would be a decent choice. As im beginning to find out on other threads, Ford's after sales service has alot of room for improvement. Not to mention the poor resale value associated with the Ford brand.
yes i dun deny their after sales service is not good at the moment but i believe they will improve in the long run..the problem doesn't lie in the ford rather it's due to the SD poor management and planning...outside of m'sia ford owners dun face alot issues but when come to m'sia lots of problem arise...u know who to blame...anyway i know tdci car build and its diesel engine quality is very ruggard and long-lasting...

well i'm not really worry bout resale value since i'm going to use the new car for long long time...any car after long long yrs their resale value not really matters anymore...it would be different case if u plan to use it for 5 yrs or so...then resale value is very important...more than 10 yrs...hmm not so...
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 10:16 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 10:05 AM)
is it reliable and cheap to repair, if planning to use it 10years or 200k milage? Conti wor.
this i'm not sure...that is the reason i created this topic lol...i wanted more inputs and feedback...most importantly they are coming from existing owners...
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 11:35 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 10:25 AM)
U sure u gonna keep more than 10 yrs? I would say that 7 years seem more realistic. Beyond that, the cost of maintenance and spare part replacement far outweigh your resale value.
yup...what's more realistic is i hv been using my proton for almost 10yrs now...no doubt there are some repairs needed especially past few months but not major changes/repair...my car still able to do its job fine...then again comparing ford to proton obviously ford hv much better quality lol...how well ur car behave in the future and how long it last very much depending on its user...u take care of it well it will last longer..u treat it like crap or make it like a F1 car-wannabe obviously u gonna get lotsa crap from ur car...cars hv feelings too u know tongue.gif

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 11:12 AM)
Some comments from a 6months old tdci user  tongue.gif

1. Slightly stiffer suspension setup compared to jap car but u get way better stability and handling, i found out its ok for me but might not be suitable for everyone.
2. Roadtax is the same as 2.0petrol.
3. Superb FC compared to the same class or even the class below! ( Can;t believe i am getting better FC compared to my old car--city vtec 2004 )
4. The solid feeling of the car just can't be replicated by other brand, just go for a test drive in various car then u will know what i mean.
5. Diesel clattery sound is annoying outside but u are driving inside u don't really hear it.
6. Servicing is the same as petrol but u dun need to change spark plugs.
7. The tyre wear is more than usual because of the immense 320Nm of torque.. if u are heavy footer like me don't expect the tyre to last more than 30k km..
8. After sales service is still ok currently but down the road i have no idea  sweat.gif .
9. Resale value i believe should be better than the petrol variant since it is gaining some popularity lately.
thx for ur feedback...really appreciate it...i believe in the future will be more diesel models coming in...BMW currently has alrdy started to bring in more of its diesel models...there will be fierce competition between EV and diesel models in the future...both hv their pros and cons but hey nothing's perfect...what's near perfect is teleportation technology...no need for transportation alrdy...fast, efficient and green as well...but lets juz keep things realistic biggrin.gif
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 11:50 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 11:37 AM)
Power + FC = Diesel engine, for petrol unless it's turbo it wont touch the performance of turbo diesel
yes i agree...with EV will be much worse...many people duno current diesel engine are way better than those petrol engines...things hv changed...
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 02:13 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 01:52 PM)
3) Generally, when i was driving my city vtec for full city drive it's around 10-11km/litre, highway drive is around 12km/litre... while for focus with same driving style, same road is around 10-12km/litre for full city, highway is around 13-14km/litre ( Aircond at coldest setting, fan at number 2 ) ... Once i tested from Melaka city-->Menara PGRM-->Lowyat Plaza-->Melaka city again i got 17km/litre for sedate driving, highway average speed from 110-120km/h, highway is around 80% of the time while 20% is city, total distance covered is around 260km ..

4) I am comparing against Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai..Peugeot cars feel solid as well i guess that's the trait of continental car? Of course cannot be compared against BMW/Mer/Audi... i have not driven any VW before, only sat in VW golf, i believe VW should feel more solid than Ford judging on reviews from the internet but then the focus (120k)should be only compared against golf (150k+)
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:00 PM)
The 2003 Toyota Vios 1.5L (1st generation), can give you about 15km/L for 100% highway driving at about 120kmph. But i would expect it to consume more on highways since the RPM at 120kmph is 3,000. 100% city driving can give you 13km/L.
lol...u are comparing directly between a 1.5L and 2.0L car and yet they fair about the same...and rmb tat focus is heavier than vios/city and can deliver higher torque at little effort compare to vios/city...

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:17 pmby the way anyone heard of any rumours/news whether ford will increase or decrease (give more discounts) price for 2011 sports focus tdci next year?

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 25 2011, 02:17 PM
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 02:53 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:46 PM)
no anti diesel la.. during late 90s era already driving turbodiesel Vectra across UK..
but for those pickup truck with high torque, carrying heavy body then high torque also not so shiok lor..

ok maybe this TDCI is pretty good, will make it a point to try it soon , acterly I want to try the latest 320d with upgraded 400NM torque. biggrin.gif  drool.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:47 pm
yeah weird rubberband.. was afraid ppl honk kau me for taking sweet time to move at traffic light..  tongue.gif
if u plan to test drive tdci try to ask the SA or manager if there is any price slash/increase in 2012 for 2011 tdci sports model...i'm hoping they will do the same like they did for 2010 models since it isn't a popular car over here...duno why people's mindset here cannot change..demand for this car in SG is quite good...
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 10:29 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(JAL811 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:58 PM)
Good to see this thread becos >>>>>>>>>> >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I am getting my TDCI after Deepavali !

hehehe...
lol...u r getting sports or sedan?how much discount u got in total?

Added on October 25, 2011, 11:12 pmby the way do anyone know which diesel fuel pump able to provide the oomph as well as better FC?i heard ppl has been mentioning BHP prevails in both areas

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 25 2011, 11:12 PM
TSyamasce
post Oct 26 2011, 09:33 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Oct 26 2011, 11:32 AM)
only filled up with biodiesel so far since the pump close to my resident.
where to get biodiesel?can go to any pump?
TSyamasce
post Oct 26 2011, 10:26 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Oct 26 2011, 09:47 PM)
i think most pump station along KL Seremban got it .

got mine at putrajaya..
QUOTE(JAL811 @ Oct 26 2011, 09:51 PM)
i'm planning to use biodiesel too, thinking klang valley should have but not sure where besides putrajaya
but i read somewhere biodiesel is more clean but no power and worse FC compared to normal diesel...worse still it will cause more slugs built up in the engine and breaks down rubber components faster

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 26 2011, 10:41 PM
TSyamasce
post Oct 27 2011, 09:56 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Oct 27 2011, 09:38 AM)
actually, i'm not too sure if it is even green in the first place
with less power and higher FC, you end up using more fuel

wonder what offer would the tdci focus will have mid next year

Added on October 27, 2011, 9:41 am

another point to consider is pick those station with high diesel sales volume
do u mean the new focus or new batch of shipment of focus?coz SD head of sales department told me new focus will hv the new ecoboost engine as seen in mondeo but will onli come earliest Q4 2012...it will be petrol version...then maybe in 2013 not sure when onli bring in tdci...

how to know which station has higher diesel sales volume?what is the reason behind by doing this?
TSyamasce
post Oct 27 2011, 10:37 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Oct 27 2011, 10:02 AM)
currently is considering the current model
but if by that time, there's firm plan to release maybe the 1.6 EcoBoost version, then probably will consider that
2.0 EcoBoost is a bit overkill for me

as for diesel, they absorb moisture from atmosphere and that is not good for the engine
how to find high sales volume? probably those that has many heavy vehicle going
lol...yea 2.0 tdci with ecoboost would b overkill...imagine current tdci alrdy has high torque and low FC if pair with ecoboost mayb can get the performance of 2.5L car but with better FC...

lol then i need someone to help me monitor which station has higher number of heavy vehicles...i'm not going to monitor each and every station...haha...juz kidding...won't know which station since there are plenty of them

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 27 2011, 10:39 AM

0.0278sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:11 AM